Dragular

Galaxy Note 9 Benchmarked: iPhone X Is Still Faster

Postby Dragular » August 10th, 2018, 6:02 pm

Coppershot

Re: Galaxy Note 9 Benchmarked: iPhone X Is Still Faster

Postby Coppershot » August 10th, 2018, 7:24 pm

Meh...don't care about performance [newest [manufacturer] android phone] vs current [iphone] because with Android the competition is so intense, they should be about 5 android phones by the end of the year passing iphone x performance.

Samsung not worrying about iphone, they are worried about Xiaomi and Huawei.

https://www.livemint.com/Technology/zg3jN0cuDv09ucv5O5OtAJ/How-Huawei-Xiaomi-Oppo-taking-on-Apple-Samsung.html
https://www.gsmarena.com/counterpoint_samsung_shipped_the_most_smartphones_in_q1_of_2018-news-31624.php

Postby tr1ad » August 12th, 2018, 8:12 am

with that "speed".... saving a millisecond adds up right?

Postby De Dragon » August 13th, 2018, 1:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:with that "speed".... saving a millisecond adds up right?

Gots to have that pips factor in the useless Apple vs Samsung debate yo!

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 1:28 pm

Only the cool kids have iPhones .. :lol: :lol:

Postby Slartibartfast » August 13th, 2018, 1:54 pm

Coppershot wrote:Samsung not worrying about iphone, they are worried about Xiaomi and Huawei.
This is the truth right here. I'm also hoping that specialised smartphones become a thing. I'm waiting to say what that ASUS ROG phone saying when it comes out. I've been using the Samsung Galaxy S line for the past 5 years and honestly kind of tired of it.

https://www.asus.com/us/Phone/ROG-Phone/

BTW, apple figured out how to make use of a micro usb card or allow you to copy stuff to and from your phone like an external drive as yet? You know, like what literally all other companies learned to do since coloured screens on a phone became a thing.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 13th, 2018, 2:03 pm

They likely don't want anyone doing any form of USB Mass storage transfers because It'll open the door to way too much Data transfer options. It opens the ecosystem..and thats kinda a selling point for apple at the moment

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:11 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Coppershot wrote:Samsung not worrying about iphone, they are worried about Xiaomi and Huawei.
This is the truth right here. I'm also hoping that specialised smartphones become a thing. I'm waiting to say what that ASUS ROG phone saying when it comes out. I've been using the Samsung Galaxy S line for the past 5 years and honestly kind of tired of it.

BTW, apple figured out how to make use of a micro usb card or allow you to copy stuff to and from your phone like an external drive as yet? You know, like what literally all other companies learned to do since coloured screens on a phone became a thing.

Why would you want mass storage on an iPhone ?

256 GB is enough .

Then there is iPad and MAC Pro .

You have to understand how Apple makes it's billions :D

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 13th, 2018, 2:13 pm

S9+ beat the note 9 in benchmarks also. So basically you paying for a pen. That's about it

Postby Slartibartfast » August 13th, 2018, 2:20 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Why would you want mass storage on an iPhone ?

256 GB is enough .

256GB may be enough for now but what apple charges for it is criminal. Also, it's just nice having the option to future proof the phone.

15 years ago people used to say 4GB is more than enough
10 years ago people used to say 32GB is way more than you will ever need
5 years ago 64GB was the gold standard that humans would never surpass
3 years ago it was 128GB

... see where I'm going with this?

With the amount of money I paying for a phone I don't want to have to worry about something silly like internal storage. Also, I'm more into gaming than media editing so I don't have much reason to go with apple for anything.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 13th, 2018, 2:20 pm

iPhone will always be king, Android ain't bad but I'm so much quicker and more productive on my Apple devices

Daran

Postby Daran » August 13th, 2018, 2:22 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

256 GB is enough .

256GB may be enough for now but what apple charges for it is criminal. Also, it's just nice having the option to future proof the phone.

3 years ago it was 128GB

With the amount of money I paying for a phone I don't want to have to worry about something silly like internal storage. Also, I'm more into gaming than media editing so I don't have much reason to go with apple for anything.

Fair but with cloud storage it's rare anyone will ever need more than 256gb if you do, you are the exception.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:23 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

256 GB is enough .

3 years ago it was 128GB

iPhone is NOT for gaming .

Is like saying Tiida is for a Wetman

death365

Postby death365 » August 13th, 2018, 2:25 pm

benchmarks literally means nuthin now-a-days. its speed in hand that matters

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:28 pm

death365 wrote:benchmarks literally means nuthin now-a-days. its speed in hand that matters

Speed to do what ? Exactly what ?

You like driving on the shoulder with your Tiida ?

Postby Slartibartfast » August 13th, 2018, 2:31 pm

Daran wrote:Fair but with cloud storage it's rare anyone will ever need more than 256gb if you do, you are the exception.
Can't argue with that. I use my phone for everything. I've always like the iPhone but can't see myself getting one because of the whole eco-system it is locked into. I always rather something with less restrictions.

Did apple ever include the feature where you can just plug your phone into any computer by USB and drag a song into the songs folder? Without having to sync anything or use any additional software like iTunes I mean.

RedVEVO wrote:iPhone is NOT for gaming .

Is like saying Tiida is for a Wetman

Exactly. I could use my android for gaming or download a season of netflix shows in HD to have available for playback offline or use it as an external hard drive if I want to transfer large folders or backup a bunch of stuff or just copy some music albums or a large music mix for later.

Just curious... what is an iPhone good for then?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 13th, 2018, 2:44 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Exactly. I could use my android for gaming or download a season of netflix shows in HD to have available for playback offline or use it as an external hard drive if I want to transfer large folders or backup a bunch of stuff or just copy some music albums or a large music mix for later.

AFAIK You can download Netflix content to an iPhone
I can use an iPhone for over a year and experience minimal OS slowdown. Battery life remains very good too.

I've yet to experience that on android.

Ive never felt the need to use any phone as an external hard drive, but you have a point there.
and you can play games on an iPhone. I've never had an issue with that

Postby Slartibartfast » August 13th, 2018, 2:53 pm

rodfarva wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Exactly. I could use my android for gaming or download a season of netflix shows in HD to have available for playback offline or use it as an external hard drive if I want to transfer large folders or backup a bunch of stuff or just copy some music albums or a large music mix for later.

I can use an iPhone for over a year and experience minimal OS slowdown or significant Battery issues.

Ive never felt the need to use any phone as an external hard drive, but you have a point there.
Netflix comment was more about available storage than the ability of the phone.

At this point I honestly think it all comes down to preference between flagships. People like me are outliers in the market. I think Huawei noticed that first and has capitalised on it before any one else understood what they were doing. I'm sure that right now the majority of people are not utilising any performance beyond what the Galaxy S4 (assuming no slowdown) used to deliver.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:56 pm

rodfarva wrote:

I can use an iPhone for over a year and experience minimal OS slowdown. Battery life remains very good too.

Iphone - Communication, photos basically .
Really never had the urge to game on an iPhone.

But as I always say " How'd you solve the iceing problem? "

Daran

Postby Daran » August 13th, 2018, 4:20 pm

I do game on my phone a lot too and it's fine. A phone isn't for real gaming anyway.

I've got an S8 and and iphoneX. Firstly, no idea what is wrong with all android keyboards but they suck so much for typing.

Secondly, I do prefer some things about Android but overall I'm so much faster on the iphoneX, simple things like switching between apps, taking lots of pics and swapping back from gallery to camera, sharing stuff, it's like 3 times faster on even my old iPhone 6s. Android is good I have little complaints honestly, I just do prefer the smoothness of iOS

Postby Slartibartfast » August 14th, 2018, 12:16 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Iphone - Communication, photos basically .
Really never had the urge to game on an iPhone.

But as I always say " How'd you solve the iceing problem? "
Yeah. Most apple owners I know just buy the iPhone because it's iPhone. A normal meeto would satisfy all your needs. Come to think of it ... most Galaxy S owners I know buy the Galaxy S phone just because it is a Galaxy S. It's almost as though the actual performance of the phone does not matter as much as the brand and model.

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2018, 12:23 pm

Daran wrote:I do game on my phone a lot too and it's fine. A phone isn't for real gaming anyway.

I've got an S8 and and iphoneX. Firstly, no idea what is wrong with all android keyboards but they suck so much for typing.

Secondly, I do prefer some things about Android but overall I'm so much faster on the iphoneX, simple things like switching between apps, taking lots of pics and swapping back from gallery to camera, sharing stuff, it's like 3 times faster on even my old iPhone 6s. Android is good I have little complaints honestly, I just do prefer the smoothness of iOS

i use the gboard on both the x and s8+ much better than stock for both devices

as for speed, either one works the same; i prefer the camera quality of almost every other manufacturer except iphone

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2018, 12:32 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

there are third party adapters and cases that have allowed you to do this for years....

the reason apple probably wont do it is because it will make it much easier to bypass security on a phone if you can allow it to read from a micro sd or external hard drive

Postby Slartibartfast » August 14th, 2018, 2:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:there are third party adapters and cases that have allowed you to do this for years....

the reason apple probably wont do it is because it will make it much easier to bypass security on a phone if you can allow it to read from a micro sd or external hard drive
When you say "security" what do you mean exactly? Do you mean security that may make it easier to hack the iPhone (and if yes has this been a prevalent problem with android devices)? Or do you mean that it may make it easier to bypass "security" that restricts the (often questionable) ways in which you can use the device (like copying pirated software/ files onto your phone)?

Postby tr1ad » August 14th, 2018, 2:35 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:there are third party adapters and cases that have allowed you to do this for years....

When you say "security" what do you mean exactly? Do you mean security that may make it easier to hack the iPhone (and if yes has this been a prevalent problem with android devices)? Or do you mean that it may make it easier to bypass "security" that restricts the (often questionable) ways in which you can use the device (like copying pirated software/ files onto your phone)?

i'd say the latter

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » August 14th, 2018, 4:26 pm

Iphone faster marginally by processor way slower in Internet connection speed via mobile networks.

Postby RedVEVO » August 14th, 2018, 5:10 pm

Coincidentally , the Chinese make remarkable iPhone X clones ..

Even better than iPhone X ..

https://www.mi.com/en/

Postby Slartibartfast » August 15th, 2018, 2:12 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Coincidentally , the Chinese make remarkable iPhone X clones ..

LMAO! You want to move manufacturing to China? China don't give a sh*t! They pipin the shop drawings and cloning that normal normal. Never underestimate the Chinese.

I know for stuff like shades (ray ban, prada etc.) the clones made in the same factory as the originals. In plenty cases the only difference is the price tag. I want to see a performance head to head between the iPhone and the clone.

Postby RedVEVO » August 15th, 2018, 2:16 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Coincidentally , the Chinese make remarkable iPhone X clones ..

LMAO! You want to move manufacturing to China? China don't give a sh*t! They pipin the shop drawings and cloning that normal normal. Never underestimate the Chinese.

I know for stuff like shades (ray ban, prada etc.) the clones made in the same factory as the originals. In plenty cases the only difference is the price tag. I want to see a performance head to head between the iPhone and the clone.

Better performance :)

Daran

Postby Daran » August 15th, 2018, 2:21 pm

Still doesn't have iOS so no