VS Naipaul dies at 85

Postby K74T » August 11th, 2018, 7:00 pm

Nobel Prize-winning author VS Naipaul dies at age 85

The British author VS Naipaul has died at his home in London aged 85, his family said in a statement.

Lady Naipaul said: "He was a giant in all that he achieved and he died surrounded by those he loved having lived a life which was full of wonderful creativity and endeavour."

Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul was born in Trinidad, publishing more than 30 books ranging from comic novels set in his homeland to memoir and travel writing.

He moved to Britain to study at Oxford in 1950 after winning a government scholarship to study at any Commonwealth university in the world.

He was knighted by the Queen in 1990 for a career distinguished by extravagant critical praise for works such as A Bend in the River and A House for Mr Biswas.

He was awarded the 1971 Booker Prize for his novel In a Free State and in 2001 won the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Yet his approach to detailing life in former British colonies split audiences. While to many readers in Britain and the US he offered a way into reading about African or Caribbean nations, he generated hostility among people who thought he had left them behind.

As Edward Said, a former professor of English and comparative literature at Colombia University, once put it, although Naipaul, in the West is seen as "a master novelist and an important witness to the disintegration and hypocrisy of the third world, in the postcolonial world he's a marked man as a purveyor of stereotypes and disgust for the world that produced him - though that doesn't exclude people thinking he's a gifted writer."

Fans of his writing also had to reconcile his elegant prose with a complex private life when it emerged he kept a mistress for 24 years before leaving his first wife.

He later admitted that his mental cruelty to Patricia Naipaul may even have killed her.

"I think that consumed her. I think she had all the relapses and everything after that," he said in a 2001 biography.

"She suffered. It could be said that I killed her. It could be said. I feel a little bit that way."

In later life, he also became embroiled in a bad-tempered literary feud with Paul Theroux. Their friendship was shattered in 1996 when Naipaul offered personally-signed and dedicated copies of Theroux's books for auction.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/books/news/nobel-prize-winning-author-vs-naipaul-dies-age-85/

Re: VS Naipaul dies at 85

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 11th, 2018, 7:04 pm

Rip

Daran

Postby Daran » August 11th, 2018, 7:12 pm

sheit.....RIP the legend

Postby Dizzy28 » August 11th, 2018, 7:26 pm

Flawed genius as many them tend to be. Miguel Street remains one of favourite local books. RIP!!

Postby RedVEVO » August 11th, 2018, 7:30 pm

RIP

Miguel Street :!:
A House for Mr Biswas :!:

Now have plenty crime, no street light ..
And it was broken into ..
He exiled himself from Trinidad.

Postby hydroep » August 11th, 2018, 7:42 pm

I remember the time he "rough up" a SAGHS student for asking what was in his opinion a stupid question...:|

Eccentricity is not an excuse for being an arsehole.

R.I.P.

Postby RedVEVO » August 11th, 2018, 7:47 pm

hydroep wrote:I remember the time he "rough up" a SAGHS student for asking what was in his opinion a stupid question...:|

R.I.P.

He was NOT an arsehole , you illiterate DA.

RIP Genuis :wink:

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » August 11th, 2018, 8:38 pm

Rip, Sir Vidya Naipaul, I'll always remember Miguel Street.

antlind

Postby antlind » August 11th, 2018, 8:54 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
hydroep wrote:I remember the time he "rough up" a SAGHS student for asking what was in his opinion a stupid question...:|

R.I.P.

He was NOT an arsehole , you illiterate DA.

RIP Genuis :wink:

Genius he may have been, but he had a reputation for being arrogant and rude. RIP.

antlind

Postby antlind » August 11th, 2018, 8:56 pm

71A5EE59-7729-45B5-BAF6-FD58F86E43CA.png

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 11th, 2018, 9:42 pm

Sad to say....page 1...because that post^ ....going n stir some loins up in here

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2018, 9:49 pm

Dodds kidney pills ftw

Postby Gem_in_i » August 11th, 2018, 9:57 pm

Hmmm well

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » August 11th, 2018, 10:23 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Hmmm well

Goodbye and good riddance. Was a rude and pompous man.

Postby RedVEVO » August 11th, 2018, 11:47 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Hmmm well

Goodbye and good riddance. Was a rude and pompous man.

Look into a mirror ..

But without the genius part .. :lol:

" The world is what it is; men who are nothing, who allow themselves to become nothing, have no place in it .. " VS Naipaul .

Postby skylinechild » August 12th, 2018, 5:31 am

aww...RIP Sir. you are a son of the soil

Postby aaron17 » August 12th, 2018, 7:46 am

No rip from me....

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2018, 7:51 am

Any of you guys read his books?

Biswas was a very long read but excellent

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2018, 8:26 am

pugboy wrote:Any of you guys read his books?

Biswas was a very long read but excellent

Miguel street...because I had to...fun book doh

Postby bluefete » August 12th, 2018, 8:48 am

My mother got a cow in Miguel Street - " ... when yuh pee turn to froth". LOL.

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2018, 9:01 am

RIP.
Great author,
but seems hydroep is correct-if a bit understated.

airuma

Postby airuma » August 12th, 2018, 1:47 pm

RIP.... whether he is arrogant or not should not take away what he offered through his writing. I'm sure a similar attitude is common amongst the "achievers" in our nation and many of us would treat them just short of gods even though their achievements have not gone beyond our shores. We should be proud that one of our nationals achieved one of the WORLDS highest awards. IIRC, Obama stated publicly that he is a fan of his book "A bend in the river".

Daran

Postby Daran » August 12th, 2018, 2:00 pm

airuma wrote:RIP.... whether he is arrogant or not should not take away what he offered through his writing. I'm sure a similar attitude is common amongst the "achievers" in our nation and many of us would treat them just short of gods even though their achievements have not gone beyond our shores. We should be proud that one of our nationals achieved one of the WORLDS highest awards. IIRC, Obama stated publicly that he is a fan of his book "A bend in the river".

Fully agreed

Postby RedVEVO » August 12th, 2018, 2:03 pm

" .. Among his widely quoted comments: He called India a "slave society," quipped that Africa has no future, and explained that Indian women wear a colored dot on their foreheads to say "my head is empty." He laughed off the 1989 fatwa against Salman Rushdie as "an extreme form of literary criticism ... "

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/europe/europe ... li=BBKxOg5

He was 100 % correct .

Postby RedVEVO » August 12th, 2018, 2:13 pm

Daran wrote:
airuma wrote:RIP.... whether he is arrogant or not should not take away what he offered through his writing. I'm sure a similar attitude is common amongst the "achievers" in our nation and many of us would treat them just short of gods even though their achievements have not gone beyond our shores. We should be proud that one of our nationals achieved one of the WORLDS highest awards. IIRC, Obama stated publicly that he is a fan of his book "A bend in the river".

Fully agreed

" .. Naipaul was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2001 "for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories .. "

" In 1950, Naipaul was awarded one of a few available government scholarships to study in England, and he left his family to begin his studies in English literature at University College, Oxford .. "

" .. "I was born there, yes," he said of Trinidad to an interviewer in 1983. "I thought it was a great mistake."

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/europe/europe ... li=BBKxOg5

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2018, 4:56 pm

This is pretty succinct description of his life, successes and his weaknesses which didn't really make him a decent human being.

Obituary: VS Naipaul -m http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-44820536

Postby Redman » August 12th, 2018, 5:03 pm

He was a great author.
And and arsehole.

Neither takes away from the other.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2018, 5:45 pm

Redman wrote:He was a great author.
And and arsehole.

Neither takes away from the other.
From that obit he was more than an a$$hole. He was also an islamophobe and a racist. I'd be surprised if the SJWs don't ask for a boycott of his works.

Postby shogun » August 12th, 2018, 8:26 pm

Deeply flawed man with a literary gift. Such is the human condition.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 1:07 am

shogun wrote:Deeply flawed man with a literary gift. Such is the human condition.

How was he deeply flawed ? You are a Judge and a Priest ?

Lil youth man did you ever win a Noble Prize for Literature ?

V.S. Naipaul was a genius .

He was human and a man .