Using Scotiabank travel miles

nightcrawler

Using Scotiabank travel miles

Postby nightcrawler » August 12th, 2018, 3:51 pm

Need some info on how I go about using my Scotiabank travel miles pls. Would like to surprise the family with a trip to Disney for the Christmas. I have about 62000 miles on my card. Travel to mco is 20000 miles. Who do I contact to use the miles on the card? One return ticket is 800US . I know the miles doesn't cover some fees. Any ideas how much $ a ticket will cost me. Thanks

Re: Using Scotiabank travel miles

Postby pete » August 12th, 2018, 4:08 pm

Step 1. Check Expedia to see what flights are available and choose when you want to go and write it down.
Step 2. Call 627-2684 and follow the menu to aero rewards and let them know you want to redeem your points on the flights you chose.

You just pay taxes and it's probably around $1200. You can see what the taxes are on Expedia and for aero they are just a little more.

white e90

Postby white e90 » August 12th, 2018, 6:25 pm

You should confirm that MCO is 20000 miles.. I think only MIA and Ft Lauderdale qualifies for that.

But as Pete said, just call the number 2 weeks prior and tell them the dates and flight info. Taxes is usually about 1200 per ticket.

It works out better to use the miles during peak times.. more savings..

Off peak it may just be cheaper to pay for your own ticket as sometimes flights drop to $2k during December.

Postby pete » August 12th, 2018, 6:35 pm

New York, miami, fort Lauderdale and Orlando are all 20k Scotia points. Used points to go Orlando in February this year.

Postby A172 » August 12th, 2018, 8:37 pm

pete wrote:Step 1. Check Expedia to see what flights are available and choose when you want to go and write it down.
Step 2. Call 627-2684 and follow the menu to aero rewards and let them know you want to redeem your points on the flights you chose.

You just pay taxes and it's probably around $1200. You can see what the taxes are on Expedia and for aero they are just a little more.

thx for this, was wondering how to go about it

since i got the scotia card earlier this yr anytime i use scotia online it always says "points earned: 0" so i never study it
only from talking to the scotia credit card ppl over the phone the other day the girl mention i have over 150k points & why i dont use it
not sure why it not showing up on online banking

Postby rspann » August 12th, 2018, 10:45 pm

You can use points to pay the taxes too.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 12:53 am

rspann wrote:You can use points to pay the taxes too.

Common Fowl what does this have to do with Travel Miles , DA ?

OP, RBC has a web site where you can redeem your points.

Check and see if Scotia have same .

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 6:13 am

Well you now prove who is the dum bass . Its either you dont know about scotiabank aero card or you just plain retarded. Read back where pete said about redeeming points for tickets. Also read where A172 said he has150000 POINTS .You dont know anything about the topic but jumping in with misinformation as usual. Scotia aero gives points for every dollar spent, which can be redeemed for tickets . You can also pay the taxes on the tickets with it. DA. Broke ass poser.
Last edited by rspann on August 13th, 2018, 6:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 6:17 am

Every thread so DA?

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 13th, 2018, 9:21 am

nightcrawler wrote:Need some info on how I go about using my Scotiabank travel miles pls. Would like to surprise the family with a trip to Disney for the Christmas. I have about 62000 miles on my card. Travel to mco is 20000 miles. Who do I contact to use the miles on the card? One return ticket is 800US . I know the miles doesn't cover some fees. Any ideas how much $ a ticket will cost me. Thanks

Used my RBC Credit card miles for POS-JFK -POS for 2 persons TT$1236.00 for taxes only .

My guide is to book well in advance as seats for miles redemption is limited. eg: choose a date and have to travel 2 days earlier as no miles seats were available for my chosen dates.

Note without miles the total cost would have been ~TT$8000, for both tickets.
Last edited by INDAVID WORKSHOP on August 13th, 2018, 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » August 13th, 2018, 10:16 am

rspann wrote:Well you now prove who is the dum bass . Its either you dont know about scotiabank aero card or you just plain retarded. Read back where pete said about redeeming points for tickets. Also read where A172 said he has150000 POINTS .You dont know anything about the topic but jumping in with misinformation as usual. Scotia aero gives points for every dollar spent, which can be redeemed for tickets . You can also pay the taxes on the tickets with it. DA. Broke ass poser.
if everyone just ignores every single one of its posts it would stop posting guaranteed
really wish everyone would try it

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 13th, 2018, 10:48 am

A172 wrote:thx for this, was wondering how to go about it

since i got the scotia card earlier this yr anytime i use scotia online it always says "points earned: 0" so i never study it
only from talking to the scotia credit card ppl over the phone the other day the girl mention i have over 150k points & why i dont use it
not sure why it not showing up on online banking

Your normal scotia online doesn't show the miles, its printed on the paper statement or there is a separate miles website you can see it and also make bookings from there but its faster to do it over the phone. http://www.scotiabankaerorewards.com

Also something to note, when using the miles to book thru the program, its usually done by the bank thru a travel agency. Please confirm your flights with the airline prior to departure. Used miles to travel recently, only when i got to the airport counter I found out the flight was cancelled. The airline claimed they didn't have my contact info and it was the agency's responsibility to notify me.

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » August 13th, 2018, 11:53 am

I used Scotia Aero Points to travel for the past 4 years.
IMO it's not worth it to use the points to pay for the taxes. Better to use them for the discounted redemption at MCO, MIA, FLL, JFK AND LGA and pay the taxes cash.
Your points balance are also on your statement you get in the mail. As was mentioned before, find the flights you want and contact them via telephone to book. Process is simple

Postby De Dragon » August 13th, 2018, 12:09 pm

rspann wrote:Well you now prove who is the dum bass . Its either you dont know about scotiabank aero card or you just plain retarded. Read back where pete said about redeeming points for tickets. Also read where A172 said he has150000 POINTS .You dont know anything about the topic but jumping in with misinformation as usual. Scotia aero gives points for every dollar spent, which can be redeemed for tickets . You can also pay the taxes on the tickets with it. DA. Broke ass poser.

Think this was proven long before spann.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 1:47 pm

A172 wrote:
if everyone just ignores every single one of its posts it would stop posting guaranteed
really wish everyone would try it

Only sufferers pay tax with points :!:

Imbert have common fowl in a 69 lock down.

Postby pete » August 13th, 2018, 1:50 pm

The points show up on the bottom of my credit card statement.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 1:53 pm

pete wrote:The points show up on the bottom of my credit card statement.

Random question :D

Would you use your points to pay taxes ?

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 2:32 pm

No dumbass ,but The point I was making is that you can if you want to.. Go on youtube and check out the song about you by DJ Khaled. Young Dumb and Broke.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:38 pm

rspann wrote:No dumbass ,but The point I was making is that you can if you want to.. Go on youtube and check out the song about you by DJ Khaled. Young Dumb and Broke.

Ok and you have a nice day :D

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 2:43 pm

RuPAUL, you even have an Aero card? Or know what it is? Don't mind kissing your WA though . Your MA too big and square for me.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:45 pm

Grease monkeys are not here on planet T&T to give finance advice .

Would anybody use points to pay taxes ?

You have to have the thinking of a flea invested common yard fowl with aids to pay politicians
with your points .

Get my point ?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 13th, 2018, 3:34 pm

rspann wrote:No dumbass ,but The point I was making is that you can if you want to.. Go on youtube and check out the song about you by DJ Khaled. Young Dumb and Broke.
As an aside its just Khalid. DJ Khaled is a fat man who randomly shouts his name out for no reason.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 3:36 pm

Thanks.

linton

Postby linton » August 13th, 2018, 3:52 pm

If you can pay for a ticket with points, why can't you pay the taxes with it? Not understanding redrevo's logic.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 3:55 pm

Monkey/Donkey logic.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2018, 4:02 pm

also see this topic
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=701025

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 4:07 pm

linton wrote:If you can pay for a ticket with points, why can't you pay the taxes with it? Not understanding redrevo's logic.

Would YOU pay taxes with your points ?

linton

Postby linton » August 13th, 2018, 4:46 pm

If I buy the ticket with points instead of cash, why can't I use points instead of cash to pay the taxes? The points have a cash value and can be used anyway I deem fit. The points are just a benefit I accrued and I can even get cash back if I don't travel. Please explain Why you think I cannot use it that way.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 13th, 2018, 5:24 pm

How ppl pay air travel taxes doh matter one way or the other.

Unless u paying from a company account...taxes are an out of pocket expense.

Pay with points...cash...or pay with credit...same ting.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 5:35 pm

linton wrote:If I buy the ticket with points instead of cash, why can't I use points instead of cash to pay the taxes? The points have a cash value and can be used anyway I deem fit. The points are just a benefit I accrued and I can even get cash back if I don't travel. Please explain Why you think I cannot use it that way.

What wrong with you ? Explain what ?

Use your points for travel and gifts and food.