T&T Police say it's illegal for security to clamp your car

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2018, 1:59 pm

The Trinidad & Tobago Police Service TTPS say it is illegal for a security guard, mall or business to clamp a vehicle on their compound and even more so to charge a fee to release it. He says the security, business or mall owner should instead call the police to remove the vehicle.

Re: T&T Police say it's illegal for security to clamp your car

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 16th, 2018, 2:01 pm

The right frothup is forthcoming and retraction imminent

Postby Ben_spanna » August 16th, 2018, 2:11 pm

All dis cause some fugly Krant-hole wukking Ministry who cyah park geh clamped and then she put it on fcebook and got her a55 bashed in because she showed the whole country that she cant make a simple park properly!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 16th, 2018, 2:13 pm

Page 1

Postby 88sins » August 16th, 2018, 2:16 pm

spot for rent

Postby hydroep » August 16th, 2018, 2:17 pm

Hmmm...interesting. That means plenty people may have legitimate cases against these establishments. Ms. Ministry will probably re-surface to say she has been vindicated...:|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 16th, 2018, 2:18 pm

So uwi right or wrong....or becuz is uwi poleecee deh right

Postby Les Bain » August 16th, 2018, 2:31 pm

hydroep wrote:Hmmm...interesting. That means plenty people may have legitimate cases against these establishments. Ms. Ministry will probably re-surface to say she has been vindicated...:|

For her parking skills or her take on race relations?

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2018, 2:37 pm

So ppl can request refunds ?

Postby 88sins » August 16th, 2018, 2:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So uwi right or wrong....or becuz is uwi poleecee deh right

UWI police are EC's, not not TTPS. so dey would be wrong to boot a vehicle

recently a security in a supermarket car park tell me they using the boot on cars that park up there too long, iirc he say 3hrs is the free parking limit.
So I stopped & we started talking about it & I ask him, if I park there & they put that on my wheel, what exactly is to stop me from leaving with my car & their boot, where I could just destroy the boot at my leisure when I get my car home. He say d car go cyah drive. When I I tell him, I don't need to drive the car for me to leave with it, that's what wreckers & dollies are there for.
d man jaw literally drop when he realize what i telling him & he start to laugh.
then he ask me if it worth the wrecker fee, & he say it easier to just pay the lil $200. I tell him, it worth it to me, cuz the wrecker from there to home by me is about the same $200, & I sure they paid PLENTY more for that boot that they not gonna ever get back than I'll pay for the wrecker to pull my car home.

but all that aside eh. ppl like to teef a park in this country. they will pull up in a car park & lie for a parking spot. Or pull up in a private parking lot you have for your customers & park where ever/however they want & leave & go Toco. When asking politely & following instructions, or paying for a space is so much easier

Advent

Postby Advent » August 16th, 2018, 3:30 pm

so seeing as parkade is a gov owned parking place , and they do clamp , is that illegal ?

Postby rollingstock » August 16th, 2018, 3:41 pm

I see persons here not aware of the Constitution of the country.

Postby bluefete » August 16th, 2018, 3:59 pm

Please enlighten them.

rollingstock wrote:I see persons here not aware of the Constitution of the country.

android79

Postby android79 » August 16th, 2018, 4:39 pm

bluefete wrote:Please enlighten them.

rollingstock wrote:I see persons here not aware of the Constitution of the country.
Nah they too lazy let them go and read.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2018, 4:49 pm

We don't teach the constitution in schools

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 16th, 2018, 4:49 pm

ppl want joistess...

Postby toyolink » August 16th, 2018, 5:59 pm

I have always wondered about the legality of these clamps or boots in malls etc.
I actually was of the view that appropriate authorization was in place.
Clearly, the owners of malls need to do proper homework and ensure what they are doing don't contravene the laws.
What is also very important is getting designated handicap parking spaces properly legitimized and supported with proper regulations.

Postby rollingstock » August 16th, 2018, 6:17 pm

Never again with the free advice.
Too many critical little cornts on this site that think they know all.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 16th, 2018, 7:50 pm

wey i cud get one ah dem clamp tuh buy ? it cheaper dan car search and gps. ah go jus clamp meh wheel and leave the car all in pos too so the wrecker cyah take meh, poleece go cyah fine meh to gimme d ticket and in the malls etc the teif go cyah teif the car, dem mite take d ole radio etc but the car go still be dey.

Postby Rovin » August 16th, 2018, 7:58 pm

what about d boldfacedness of trinis who park up in d ppl mall\property\front somebody driveway everyday while u gone in ur store down d road whole day & u doing that everyday .... is d property owner suppose to call police & d police actually have a wrecker & driver on stand by coming to move d offending vehicle free of charge or u hadda pay d wreckerman & d offender will have to pay back d wreckerman then u will have to go collect back d fee u paid d wrecker ? ......

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 16th, 2018, 8:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So uwi right or wrong....or becuz is uwi poleecee deh right

UWI police are EC's, not not TTPS. so dey would be wrong to boot a vehicle. . .

I thought UWI Police and other "Estate" type police have all the powers of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, with the exception of a few duties. You could check Chapter 15:02 - Supplemental Police Act to see the duties and powers of Estate Police.

So once the security organisation is registered legally as Estate Police, they should be able to clamp the cars.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 16th, 2018, 8:43 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:what about d boldfacedness of trinis who park up in d ppl mall\property\front somebody driveway everyday while u gone in ur store down d road whole day & u doing that everyday .... is d property owner suppose to call police & d police actually have a wrecker & driver on stand by coming to move d offending vehicle free of charge or u hadda pay d wreckerman & d offender will have to pay back d wreckerman then u will have to go collect back d fee u paid d wrecker ? ......

nah, you don't have to pay.
The offender has to pay to get back their vehicle.