Adult Toys ILLEGAL in T&T?

nick639v2

Adult Toys ILLEGAL in T&T?

Postby nick639v2 » August 21st, 2018, 5:20 pm

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/dr-raj-sends-legal-letter-to-customs-on-sex-toys/article_a7300afe-a4e0-11e8-91f8-a34d9a93ba63.html

[Quote] Attorneys representing well-known “sex doctor” Giriraj Ramnanan have written to the Comptroller of Customs stating that they are of the view that there is no legal basis for the prohibition of adult toys.

Attorney Kiel Taklalsingh, acting on behalf Ramnanan and Total Image Inc Ltd, stated that the team of lawyers involved has reviewed the Customs Act and, in particular, section 45, which details an exhaustive list of prohibited goods for the purposes of importation and “we are of the respectful view that there is no legal basis for the prohibition of adult toys, therapeutic sex items or other articles of that genre”. [\quote]

ProtonPowder

Re: Adult Toys ILLEGAL in T&T?

Postby ProtonPowder » August 21st, 2018, 6:23 pm

Today, the entirety of trinidad was the vibrator

Postby Dizzy28 » August 22nd, 2018, 1:16 pm

Interesting!!!

Imbert: What are adult toys?

The finance minister is questioning on what grounds a courier company issued a statement indicating that adult toys are banned from being imported.

He says the law does not mention adult toys.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/imbert-what-are-adult-toys

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2018, 1:56 pm

So what made websource et al. to issue such a policy? Were the customs officers who were clearing their shipments making the adult toys classification and seizures, and they took steps to help their customers? Or they just decided that they want to lose money on their own?

Postby wagonrunner » August 22nd, 2018, 2:04 pm

maj. tom wrote:So what made websource et al. to issue such a policy? Were the customs officers who were clearing their shipments making the adult toys classification and seizures, and they took steps to help their customers? Or they just decided that they want to lose money on their own?

Management possibly made a decision based on their own sensitivities or that of their employees

Postby maj. tom » August 22nd, 2018, 2:06 pm

Btw the camo clothing law may hold merit for how color blind or low vision people can interpret different colors like pink camo, etc. Not sure about the ignorance on game controllers and other types of accessories. They don't want anyone impersonating Army, or using camo clothes that you can dye at home, or restitch pieces from different items to do anything like that.
In the USA, thanks to the 1st amendment, you can wear what you want. And that's not applicable here at all.

But it still needs to be reviewed in modern law.
The entire constitution needs to be revised, which should have started years ago. That's not an overnight process, or even a single election term process.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 22nd, 2018, 2:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:So what made websource et al. to issue such a policy? Were the customs officers who were clearing their shipments making the adult toys classification and seizures, and they took steps to help their customers? Or they just decided that they want to lose money on their own?

Either someone got board and decide to alert customers of a law that isn't being enforced or things got siezed.

I've brought down toys for meh girl and camo outfits mant times and nothing got siezed.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2018, 3:49 pm

With WS...its a homeland security issue.

Someone at swissport told me a few years ago they got a shipment stopped for ammunition and since then, they got banned from shipping any airgun acessories (scopes/pellets, etc) and small restricted, which they used to ship before or let pass.

Even amazon recognises their miami warehouse as a restricted address.
If you try to ship any gun related items, amazom shows it as a restricted zone for delivery.

So, seeing that is they who sent the initial alert, they probably get busted again for some thing.

Postby skylinechild » August 22nd, 2018, 4:00 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Interesting!!!

The finance minister is questioning on what grounds a courier company issued a statement indicating that adult toys are banned from being imported.

if imbert doesn't know what an adult toy is...

thats like a banker asking what isan amortized payment....a mechanic asking about an injector....a doctor asking whats a migraine......

clearly this man not fit to lead / guide a ministry that falls under his purview. please step down and let someone else do the job you obviously cannot perform.

save yourself the embarrassment.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 22nd, 2018, 4:36 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Interesting!!!

if imbert doesn't know what an adult toy is...

thats like a banker asking what isan amortized payment....a mechanic asking about an injector....a doctor asking whats a migraine......

clearly this man not fit to lead / guide a ministry that falls under his purview. please step down and let someone else do the job you obviously cannot perform.

save yourself the embarrassment.

You misunderstand completely. Imbert isnt saying that adult toys do not exist. He is arguing that adult toys have zero legal definition.

We know that nobody like Imbert, but at least give me man a lil props when he do the proper thing for once.

Postby skylinechild » August 22nd, 2018, 4:47 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
You misunderstand completely. Imbert isnt saying that adult toys do not exist. He is arguing that adult toys have zero legal definition.

We know that nobody like Imbert, but at least give me man a lil props when he do the proper thing for once.

i understood what his argument was trying to do.
what he is in fact doing is taking the laws ambiguity and lack of clear concise definition of "what is" and "what is not" allowed and using it as a scape goat for the issue...

cause it not explicitly listed as allowed - it should be banned.?
cause of some old descriptive law that hasnt been updated in 30+ yrs says lwed and suggestive - it should be banned.

give jack his jacket.. the lawis old and outdated....needs to be fixed.

so then a ps3 controller outfitted with hot pink camo design should be sized as well - not so.??
after all we do not want it confused with TTDF regimental issue of uniforms.

remind me again how does the tint law work again ???

unless those in office seek to revamp out old stale dated laws we will forever be backward....feel free to vote how u like in 2 yrs time.

websource

Postby websource » August 22nd, 2018, 6:09 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
With WS...its a homeland security issue.

Someone at swissport told me a few years ago they got a shipment stopped for ammunition and since then, they got banned from shipping any airgun acessories (scopes/pellets, etc) and small restricted, which they used to ship before or let pass.

Even amazon recognises their miami warehouse as a restricted address.
If you try to ship any gun related items, amazom shows it as a restricted zone for delivery.

So, seeing that is they who sent the initial alert, they probably get busted again for some thing.

Homeland security? Ammunition?
Errr... yuh sure about that? If we received ammunition, there wouldn't be a Web Source today. Some of us would be in jail AND paying fines..and we certainly wouldn't have permission to clear cargo.

Retricted Zone??
Amazon knows we're a Freight Forwarder and they advise their sellers as part of their Freight Forwarder policy which in some cases removes Amazon's responsibility for any claims by our customers i.e. those claims are settled by the sellers themselves e.g. returns, delivered damaged to Miami, received in Miami with missing items.

And to test the "Restricted Zone", we just went up as far as the checkout page (screenshot below) and got no warning. Unless maybe a paintball gun isn't the type of gun-related item in question. We're not going to push the limits though.
test purchase.jpg

Forget the semantics. The toys bear different names and we've received questions about almost all e.g. dildos, flesh lights, peecocks (yes that's the spelling and wow, science and 3D printing is amazing) etc. Simply put, adult toys have been and continue to be seized just as much as many are permitted. We have an obligation to keep our customers informed of what occurs. There's no logical reason for a shipping company to arbitrarily decide to discourage customers from shipping. i.e. We know that you know that we didn't just make this up.

It's great that there's so much attention to the issue. Maybe it'll prompt a review of the law and remove the vague parts. Or maybe not. Either way, we can't be knowingly shipping items that risk being seized and then popping the bad-news-surprise to our customers.
Hope this clarifies and doesn't further confuse.

If anyone wants to contact us for any query, our website's contact page has the best methods.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 22nd, 2018, 6:49 pm

As for the homeland issue, thats the talk in swissport, i asked someone working there about certain issues regarding shipping of "contraband" and that was the answer.

And as for restricted zone...

Screenshot_2018-08-22-18-44-34-1.jpeg

Fyi, other skyboxes can still ship it to trinidad, customs will seize it upon entry and you can go with your permit and collect it.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 22nd, 2018, 6:53 pm

skylinechild wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

i understood what his argument was trying to do.
what he is in fact doing is taking the laws ambiguity and lack of clear concise definition of "what is" and "what is not" allowed and using it as a scape goat for the issue...

cause it not explicitly listed as allowed - it should be banned.?
cause of some old descriptive law that hasnt been updated in 30+ yrs says lwed and suggestive - it should be banned.

give jack his jacket.. the lawis old and outdated....needs to be fixed.

so then a ps3 controller outfitted with hot pink camo design should be sized as well - not so.??
after all we do not want it confused with TTDF regimental issue of uniforms.

remind me again how does the tint law work again ???

unless those in office seek to revamp out old stale dated laws we will forever be backward....feel free to vote how u like in 2 yrs time.

I know that whichever way I vote, everything will stay the same. We have a former works minister crying about the lack of proper building codes in TnT, but did nothing to affect such while in the office.

Remember that monkey know which tree to climb eh. Fixing ambiguity in importing camo wouldnt earn them a single vote, but speaking out against bans on sex toy imports will certainly earn them some.

websource

Postby websource » August 22nd, 2018, 9:34 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:As for the homeland issue, thats the talk in swissport, i asked someone working there about certain issues regarding shipping of "contraband" and that was the answer.

And as for restricted zone...

Screenshot_2018-08-22-18-44-34-1.jpg

Fyi, other skyboxes can still ship it to trinidad, customs will seize it upon entry and you can go with your permit and collect it.

Ah. Now understand what you were referring to with the restricted zone. And yes, our Miami office sent back so many scopes, camouflage, tasers (by the dozen) and a lot of other items that would get seized locally so Amazon tries to help the customer by not shipping it to us in the first place.

I guess I can understand why you'd speculate about us being "busted". But seriously, that never occurred and untrue "talk" like that will easily tarnish a reputation that the people here work hard to build and maintain. Think about it. A while back there was a news report where two scrap iron guys were arrested for being in possession of spent ammunition. How in the world would we be let off?

http://www.tobagotoday.co.tt/news/2014-06-20/two-held-crocus-bag-spent-shells

Just wanted to clarify some more, but everyone's entitled to his own view so it's still all good... and thanks to all the tuners who give us a fair shake.

Postby rspann » August 24th, 2018, 12:41 pm

So if I import FD3S Accessories ,they going to be seized?

Postby maj. tom » August 24th, 2018, 1:13 pm

https://youtu.be/oLNwL_Vn1eE?t=1m1s

Since they're not defined in the law.

Postby gastly369 » August 24th, 2018, 3:11 pm

So dem body massage wands included?

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 24th, 2018, 2:34 pm

toys illegal n homosexuality legal....ok

Postby hydroep » March 17th, 2019, 3:01 pm

I guess this answers my question...:lol:

Sex doll seized by Customs
Judge grants e-commerce consultant leave to challenge decision
Jada Loutoo

AN e-commerce consultant is suing the Comptroller of Customs after a sex doll he tried to import was seized by customs officials in December.

The man, from Chaguanas, has received the permission of a high court judge to challenge the seizure and on Friday, Justice Ricky Rahim granted him leave to apply for judicial review.

The consultant has asked that his name not be used, but in his lawsuit, he said he imported the plastic mannequin on December 28.

It arrived in TT but was told by customs it was being detained as it was considered to be in breach of section 45 (1) (L) of the Customs Act Chapter 78:01.

He said a notice of seizure was issued to him pursuant to section 220 of the Customs Act, which said the item was seized because it was deemed to be a prohibited item “namely an indecent/obscene article” contrary to section 45 (1) of the Act.

The law, Chapter 78:01, Section 45 (l) of the Customs Act, state, however, among other things, it is prohibited to import “indecent or obscene prints, paintings and photographs, books cards, lithographic and other engravings, gramophone records or any other indecent or obscene articles or matter.

The consultant, who is represented by attorneys Jagdeo Singh, Dinesh Rambally, Kiel Taklalsingh, Stefan Ramkissoon and Kavita Roop-Boodoo, said he was told in February, that the comptroller was obligated to institute forfeiture proceedings since the notice of seizure had been issued.

His lawsuit also said his attorneys asserted that based on a related matter, the Customs and Excise Division had adopted a policy that any item resembling male or female genitalia would be prohibited as it would be considered indecent and/ or obscene.

He said before he imported the mannequin, he searched the division’s website and found no policy or guidance in relation to the importation of such items.

His lawsuit intends to challenge the decision by the comptroller to classify items like the mannequin “as obscene and/ or indecent and therefore prohibited,” and that the continued detention of the item is unlawful.

He also wants the mannequin to be returned to him and compensation.

In August, sexologist Dr Raj Ramnanan challenged a similar decision to seize sex toys he had imported.

His lawsuit said there was no legal basis for a ban on sex toys, and came after local courier companies began informing their customers that a list of items, including adult toys, are illegal to import and will be seized by the Customs and Excise Division if they are imported.

Ramnanan owns and operates Total Image, a clinic that treats with sexual dysfunctions and issues, where he also sells sex toys.

His lawsuit also seeks answers from the comptroller on if there is a complete ban on adult toys, what provision of law the division was relying on to impose any ban, the policy in place to guide custom officers of what items are considered to be obscene or indecent, and who are the offices who have “decided to impose their opinions on the entire society by deeming adult toys as indecent or obscene.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/03/17/sex-doll-seized-by-customs/

Postby matr1x » March 17th, 2019, 3:22 pm

Yet we have a dildo still as PM.

Postby zoom rader » March 17th, 2019, 3:39 pm

What rubbish laws in trini.

Postby MaxPower » March 17th, 2019, 3:48 pm

Yuh know how them customs officer done like little pigs already....them already beat out that doll

Postby zoom rader » March 17th, 2019, 3:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Yuh know how them customs officer done like little pigs already....them already beat out that doll
Seems the custom menfolk are beating out the dilos.

Postby matr1x » March 17th, 2019, 6:16 pm

Ever noticed our president has this...look?

Postby redmanjp » March 18th, 2019, 12:37 pm

supernedd wrote:toys illegal n homosexuality legal....ok

take it to court like they did- if they have a right to privacy which i think was the argument then any person with a sex doll should also have

Postby matr1x » March 18th, 2019, 1:25 pm

We have a broken dildo as a PM, what's new?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » July 26th, 2019, 1:34 pm

67407728_895687660800383_9131554453634154496_o-1.jpg

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 27th, 2019, 12:02 am

the thing is why should tax payers have to foot this bill

Postby 88sins » July 27th, 2019, 8:27 am

hong kong phooey wrote:the thing is why should tax payers have to foot this bill

because your "supreme leader" deemed it so decades ago

next question