Re: WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby phreakazoid » February 6th, 2018, 6:28 pm

Dave wrote:Looks like a good unit. Please tell us about it

Didn't receive it yet but will post reviews subsequently

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 6th, 2018, 11:29 pm

This is our 30gal install. What you guys think? Any comments or recommendations, if any?
20180205_065937.jpg

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 7th, 2018, 7:55 am

Is that a checkvalve next to the union on the cold water inlet line?
That checkvalve is essential.

Also pipe out the T&P away from the heater, the body of that heater will rust is water comes into contact with it.

striver

Postby striver » February 7th, 2018, 9:16 am

b5er wrote:
striver wrote:Where can u get d lpg heater

Online via ebay, amazon, etc., do a little research and choose wisely.
Which 1 u have

b5er

Postby b5er » February 8th, 2018, 10:15 am

striver wrote:Which 1 u have

I can help you select one, but they are not cheap, its gonna be alot cheaper to install a 40Gal electric.
I spent about $10,000 for everything that included purchase, Duties/taxes, and installation.
A 40Gal is gonna cost about $3500-$4500.

Still interested?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 16th, 2018, 11:15 am

Wheelbarrow, thanks for the tip bro. We will make the necessary adjustments!

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2018, 4:47 pm

heat should be put off the ground just in case of any water on ground etc
as mentioned to avoid any rusting of the body.

b5er

Postby b5er » February 16th, 2018, 6:36 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:What is the gas supply for those water heaters? 100lb LPG cylinder or 20lb LPG cylinder? How long does a tank of gas last? How do you vent it? Similar to a clothes dryer vent?

You can use either one, I started out with a 20Lb to get an average of the gas usage per cylinder and it worked out to be about 3 to 4 weeks on one 20lb cylinder. Then I had the gas installer come in and run the copper lines to the unit, so now it works from the two 100Lb tanks which serve the stove.
I'm sure it has paid back for itself already, if not, I'm close to it.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » February 17th, 2018, 6:51 pm

phreakazoid wrote:

Cost me just over 1k landed.... Time to install and update on performace

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 17th, 2018, 9:12 pm

phreakazoid wrote:

TT dollars?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » February 18th, 2018, 6:14 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:
phreakazoid wrote:

TT dollars?

Yup

striver

Postby striver » February 18th, 2018, 7:01 pm

Info plz

low-profile

Postby low-profile » February 19th, 2018, 5:07 pm

Imported and installed an Eco Smart 18 tankless myself a couple months ago. It delivers to 3 showers, 3 face sinks , washer and kitchen sink. works great so far
runs on 2 x 40amp d/p breakers
cost around $2600 landed as i got it on sale . reg price locally is $6195 but with 5 yrs warranty at samlal seepersad hardware in marabella

28217874_10160114192810553_1979620869_o.jpg

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » February 19th, 2018, 8:47 pm

agent007 wrote:This is our 30gal install. What you guys think? Any comments or recommendations, if any?20180205_065937.jpg

Bought this same exact unit carnival weekend. Cost me $2690 ( sale price)
The old Reliance single element 30 gal. unit I had to replace lasted 18 years of daily use with one replacement of the element 2 years ago !! Can't complain about that. Wanted another Reliance to replace but couldn't find one over the Carnival weekend so bought the State Select instead.

aidan

Postby aidan » July 3rd, 2018, 5:43 pm

looking for a lpg heater for use in one shower only. any recommendations?

kstt

Personal Reviews on Tankless Electric Water Heater - STIEBEL ELTRON

Postby kstt » August 18th, 2018, 7:35 pm

Any personal reviews on the STIEBEL ELTRON Tankless Electric Water Heaters?

Is it worth the investment? Does it work as it is supppsed to? Or is the regular water heater the better investment?

Need your advice.
Last edited by kstt on August 20th, 2018, 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

antlind

Re: Personal Reviews on Tankless Electric Water Heater - STIEBEL ELECTRON

Postby antlind » August 18th, 2018, 10:40 pm

I’ve had one of these for the past 5 years. It works just as good today as it did when I installed it.
I’ve found that there are some temperature fluctuations, particularly when I’m using water from the tank via electric pump. But apart from that I think it’s more economical than having a full water heater.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » August 18th, 2018, 10:54 pm

If your single then that's for you but if your a family Guy then consider the tank type

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2018, 11:19 pm

They work best when very close to the faucet/shower it is supplying
Otherwise it takes a while for the water to reach as the piping it uses internally is small volume.

I had one and it did save some money on bill but it eventually went bad just after warranty,
One of the heater elements died so only produced warm water.

A padna who has one had his pressure switch in it stick so it would run very hot then trip the breaker built in to it.
I used the switch from mine on his and it works still.

kstt wrote:Any personal reviews on the STIEBEL ELECTRON Tankless Electric Water Heaters?

Is it worth the investment? Does it work as it is supppsed to? Or is the regular water heater the better investment?

Need your advice.

kstt

Postby kstt » August 19th, 2018, 12:29 am

From what I heard it economical in terms of electricity bill because you don't have to hear up water constantly like a tank heater but only when u need to see it.

Placement close to the shower, any idea of the recommended maximum distance? Also is the heater to placed internally or extenally of your home?

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 19th, 2018, 4:34 am

Anyone here supplies and installs good 29 g water heaters

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2018, 5:32 am

Close meaning like within 20ft or so,
Many persons have them on exterior wall outside shower/kitchen

Btw you need a good 50amp 220v supply also.

kstt wrote:From what I heard it economical in terms of electricity bill because you don't have to hear up water constantly like a tank heater but only when u need to see it.

Placement close to the shower, any idea of the recommended maximum distance? Also is the heater to placed internally or extenally of your home?

kstt

Postby kstt » August 19th, 2018, 6:22 am

pugboy wrote:Close meaning like within 20ft or so,
Many persons have them on exterior wall outside shower/kitchen

Btw you need a good 50amp 220v supply also.

Didn't know that. Thx.

kstt wrote:From what I heard it economical in terms of electricity bill because you don't have to hear up water constantly like a tank heater but only when u need to see it.

Postby gastly369 » August 19th, 2018, 7:19 am

Changed to tankless model dhc-e 12 from using the tank heats for over 20 years... Going into 2 years use and no complaint so far ..two showers and kitchen supplied with constant set temp hot water when on

Postby rspann » August 19th, 2018, 9:39 am

Now changed one after fifteen years, never had a problem except a small part changed one time. they said it's still good but I changed it as I'm doing renovations. Btw, it's Eltron.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 19th, 2018, 10:50 am

DHC 10 going on 7 years with no issues

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2018, 11:00 am

allyuh fellas realy lucky
when one of the element in mine gone, the cost to replace that part is more than half price of a new unit

there is another brand on the market I see also

Nexus

Postby Nexus » August 19th, 2018, 11:35 am

Had one installed about 8 mths ago for two baths, kitchen and laundry sinks. It's located outside one of the bathroom; all of them gets good hot water supply. As someone mentioned, if water pressure low or fluctuating you does get some trouble, it will go extremely hot and then cold, have to fiddle with the faucet a bit and step aside.

airuma

Postby airuma » August 19th, 2018, 1:33 pm

I have a "DHC 8" over 7 years now and no issues. I wound not advise it for more than a single bath use though. I bought a DHC-E10 about two years ago and no issues also. IMHO, having any water heater far from where you use the heated water would introduce a delay before the heated water reaches because the heater does not heat the water in the pipe between the heater and the outlet. The tankless has two main advantages
1. small size
2. heats on demand (rather than all day)
The drawback would obviously be how much heated water it can supply at one time. If your demand for heated water is high (regular laundry, multiple long shower/s and kitchen simultaneously dictating a continuous use because of your family structure), my advice is go with a "tank" water heater but use a timer to cut it off (put on giving enough time to heat up before use) when you don't need it (when you are out or sleeping). If your demand is small, up to three persons having a shower, with not extended use of the water heater, go tankless.
The biggest potential problem with the tankless is that the water and electrics reside in a small unit and they are not sufficiently isolated/ water proof in my opinion (electrical connections not encapsulated in epoxy), therefore I will still place it outdoors (but in a covered area) and apply some preventive maintenance to it.
Other than that, you need good water pressure and you need to ensure that you bleed it properly since it is activated when water flows through it, if the pressure is too low, it may not turn or will heat up too much which I believe would cause premature failure of the heating element and internal damage since the housing is mainly plastic, it may even be possible for the housing to be damaged from using continuously for long periods too (I'm not sure if there is a maximum time to use it or if there is any thermal protection, like power tools).
BTW, I am no expert so do research my contribution to achieve your required level of acceptance.
Last edited by airuma on August 23rd, 2018, 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

kstt

Re: Personal Reviews on Tankless Electric Water Heater - STIEBEL ELTRON

Postby kstt » August 20th, 2018, 2:03 pm

Thanks for the reviews thus far