T&T Earthquake Thread

Re: T&T Earthquakes (21/22/23 Aug 2018)

Postby The_Honourable » October 28th, 2018, 12:39 pm

Mag 4.1. Them earthquakes flirting with us boi...

Postby maj. tom » October 28th, 2018, 12:42 pm

suppose they are all very ominous foreshocks... :|

SRASC

T&T Earthquakes (21/22/23 Aug 2018)

Postby SRASC » October 28th, 2018, 12:48 pm

Some of them in the past week.

5/6 in the last 7 days

5.1, 22nd
4.2, 22nd
4.8, 25th
3.8, 26th
4.1, 28th

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » October 28th, 2018, 1:05 pm

maj. tom wrote:suppose they are all very ominous foreshocks... :|
This is actually a blessing in disguise, because the pressure is being released little by little, as opposed to being allowed to build and release all at once in a massive shake up

Postby hydroep » October 28th, 2018, 2:31 pm

They better start saving-up because $25M and free KFC eh go cut it...:|

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 28th, 2018, 2:36 pm

Lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2018, 2:42 pm

Is how shallow dem thing is.....hopefully the big one not as shallow nuh

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2018, 3:07 pm

WarrLordd wrote:You feel the government going and waste money on that I sure uwi prob done ask for the funding but like the leader say in natural disaster were okay we dont need any help. Maybe we can ask some obeya man to predict it for us.

perhaps CARICOM also as they are responsible for the region as a whole, maybe Venezuela as the 6.9M quake occured there they could benefit from it too.

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2018, 3:19 pm

Everyone needs to stop & think what is their plan for whether they are in their house (DCH- Drop, Cover, Hold on), outside, (move away from buildings. power lines) office (DCH) etc. if 'the big one' is on the horizon. and make sure all your family members know what to do.

In the last strong one in August I was in the 6th floor in a building in POS- no way I had enough time to get out otherwise I could have been injured if I was trying to get out DURING that violent shaking (elevators can't be used) so I had to DCH. and then make sure it stop completely before evacuating- that one was kinda tief head- it pretended to stop for a couple seconds and I sure ppl would have tried to escape when suddenly d ting start up stronger than before :shock:

btw it's up to 7 for the week now- wonder what dutchsense have to say about it

brb going and checkout dat Quake alarm on Amazon

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 29th, 2018, 12:24 am

jahs0ldi3r wrote:
This is actually a blessing in disguise, because the pressure is being released little by little, as opposed to being allowed to build and release all at once in a massive shake up

Let's just hope so cause it started coming down the line from Dominican then Barbados closer to Tobago then on land in Trinidad now almost half a dozen since last week right near us.

Postby aaron17 » October 29th, 2018, 8:19 am

One question: do we ever get earthquakes like this before? 7 in 7 days etc...

Postby The_Honourable » October 29th, 2018, 10:08 am

Dutchsinse said to look out for an upper 5 between Barbados and Venezuela over the next week or so.

Let's see if it comes to pass.

aaron17 wrote:One question: do we ever get earthquakes like this before? 7 in 7 days etc...

I'm sure we had a lot of cases in the past. With earthquake apps, uwi seismic on facebook and the shake up in august, we are more in the know and in tune with what going on.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2018, 10:13 am

The_Honourable wrote:Dutchsinse said to look out for an upper 5 between Barbados and Venezuela over the next week or so.

aaron17 wrote:One question: do we ever get earthquakes like this before? 7 in 7 days etc...

I'm sure we had a lot of cases in the past. With earthquake apps, uwi seismic on facebook and the shake up in august, we are more in the know and in tune with what going on.

link the vid nah....keeping up with him is becoming harder :lol: is like every 30 mins he be updating

Postby The_Honourable » October 29th, 2018, 12:51 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Dutchsinse said to look out for an upper 5 between Barbados and Venezuela over the next week or so.

link the vid nah....keeping up with him is becoming harder :lol: is like every 30 mins he be updating

I mostly take in his "Global Earthquake Forecasts" on late sunday nights/early monday mornings.

Done! See from 20:46 - 21:26

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 29th, 2018, 1:11 pm

What's his hit/miss ratio?
How many of his predictions come to pass vs total predictions?

Postby aaron17 » October 29th, 2018, 2:42 pm

Holy crap!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2018, 2:47 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:What's his hit/miss ratio?
How many of his predictions come to pass vs total predictions?

he was on point with the 6.9 that struck us...he spoke about it the Sunday before it happened...after that I watched most of vids and he was always on target...so I'd listen to him

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2018, 3:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:
WarrLordd wrote:You feel the government going and waste money on that I sure uwi prob done ask for the funding but like the leader say in natural disaster were okay we dont need any help. Maybe we can ask some obeya man to predict it for us.

perhaps CARICOM also as they are responsible for the region as a whole, maybe Venezuela as the 6.9M quake occured there they could benefit from it too.

OK I asked UWISRU about this (Early Warning Systems) and they just responded:

The warning systems that industrialised countries may have for earthquakes give only a few seconds notice before large events, which they have tried to use to send out warning messages and are usually linked to critical facilities such as power generation plants and hospitals. This allows these critical facilities to shut down operations just before the ground shaking starts preventing further damage to costly and critical machinery. In 2015, research was conducted to determine the usefulness of such a system in the Eastern Caribbean, with various regional stakeholders from critical facilities participating. It was found that the relatively short distances involved, in this region, would afford only a very short warning time, which had very limited application to us.

guess it's the Quake Alarm for now

but it would seem that they only focused on it's application towards facilities- NOT the populace itself- those systems also send out Emergency SMS (Broadcast sms, not the regular slow sms which would take hours to send out to a million ppl), tv, radio alerts, etc.

For me if I have even 15-20 seconds I could reach my downstairs door from upstairs
Last edited by redmanjp on October 29th, 2018, 4:47 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby aaron17 » October 29th, 2018, 3:16 pm

hmmmm..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 30th, 2018, 12:36 pm

True eh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2018, 8:36 pm

earthquake-trinidad-30-10-18.jpg
earthquake-trinidad-30-10-18.jpg (23.82 KiB) Viewed 4198 times

Earthquake West of Trinidad

DATE AND TIME:
2018-10-30 7:32 pm (Local Time)
2018-10-30 23:32 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 62.47W
Depth: 10 km

NEARBY CITIES:
86 km NE of Maturín, Venezuela
106 km SE of Carúpano, Venezuela
113 km W of San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago

If you felt this earthquake, please tell us (http://uwiseismic.com/EarthquakeFeedback.aspx)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 30th, 2018, 8:51 pm

I guess the guy was correct....or we still waiting on the upper 5s closer to 6...

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 30th, 2018, 9:19 pm

Lmao I eh know if it just me but sometimes I does be normal sitting down on the phone or doing something and I feel like hmmm what if a next big one happens right now does get real worry up and looking to escape I think people who was up on high floors that day does get a harsh backlash.

Postby The_Honourable » October 30th, 2018, 9:22 pm

Fun fact, the depth of the last 6 earthquakes in that area is only 10KM...

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 31st, 2018, 12:14 am

The_Honourable wrote:Fun fact, the depth of the last 6 earthquakes in that area is only 10KM...

Noticed that too. Thought I was the only one being paranoid.

Postby aaron17 » October 31st, 2018, 4:51 am

One day, there should be an earthquake forecast on the news.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2018, 4:59 am

The_Honourable wrote:Fun fact, the depth of the last 6 earthquakes in that area is only 10KM...

imagine the 6.9 a 10km :shock:

Postby aaron17 » October 31st, 2018, 8:23 am

Bruhh!...* faint

Postby The_Honourable » October 31st, 2018, 8:37 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

imagine the 6.9 a 10km :shock:

...with the epicenter a few km off trinidad :shock:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 31st, 2018, 5:00 pm

Seismologist: Earthquake activity in past week 'normal'
http://www.looptt.com/content/seismolog ... eek-normal