T&T Earthquake Thread

supernedd

Re: T&T Earthquakes (Every Other Day 2018)

Postby supernedd » November 5th, 2018, 3:37 am

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Best to sleep under a table from now on.

If it's strong enough to withstand a collapse of your roof. Also have an emergency bag with a couple bottles of drinking water and criks under the table because you might be trapped and don't plan on being rescued for a few days. Have ah empty one also because you won't be able to go to the toilet either

I"m blocking redman for not knowing how to spell Crix.
Hahahahahaha

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 5th, 2018, 3:38 am

redmanjp wrote:
K74T wrote:Image

Hey yuh could survive with that too
Hahhahahahahaha well played

Postby redmanjp » November 7th, 2018, 6:13 pm

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) — The Seismic Research Centre (SRC) of the University of the West Indies (UWI) Wednesday said that Trinidad and Tobago must continue to ensure that all necessary measures are in place to respond appropriately to any large magnitude earthquake which may potentially cause significant damage and loss of life.

The SRC said that the oil-rich twin-island republic would continue to experience earthquakes in keeping with the pattern expected after it experienced a 6.9 magnitude quake in August.

Trinidad and Tobago has over the past nine days recorded quakes with magnitudes ranging from 4.2 to 4.5 and the SRC said that “moderate to strong earthquakes such as these, are usually associated with aftershocks, with those at shallow depth producing a higher number.

“The earthquakes currently being recorded, in the Gulf of Paria, with some being felt, is in keeping with the pattern expected after such events. The other areas around Trinidad will continue to produce their normal annual magnitude output; on average, we expect just over 50 events of magnitude greater than 3.5 every year.

On August 21, the country was rocked by a powerful earthquake with a magnitude of 6.9 causing widespread panic and damage to several buildings. No one was killed.

The SRC said that the quake, which occurred off the coast of eastern Venezuela, about 130 km west of Port of Spain, with a depth of 127 km, was widely reported as felt in Trinidad and Tobago and neighbouring islands.

It said that in addition, during the period 26th-28th January, 2018, there was a burst of more than 20 earthquakes in the Gulf of Paria, about 70 km south-west of Port of Spain; the largest was of magnitude 5.3 at a depth of 23 km.

The SRC said that the activity currently being recorded has little bearing on the larger magnitude earthquakes, like the one that occurred in 1766 with a magnitude of 7.9 “that can happen at any time.

“Therefore, we here in Trinidad and Tobago, along with all relevant, regional agencies and communities, must continue to ensure that all necessary measures are in place to respond appropriately to any large magnitude earthquake which may potentially cause significant damage and loss of life,” the SRC added.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestnews/T%26T_urged_to_remain_earthquake_alert

Postby aaron17 » November 8th, 2018, 8:17 pm

I think someone who predicted the quake prevuously ..predicted the big one this tues. or wed.

Postby matr1x » November 8th, 2018, 8:59 pm

Wake me when it's 7.5 or higher

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 9th, 2018, 10:03 am

6.8 out in the norweigan sea

Postby redmanjp » November 9th, 2018, 7:32 pm

matr1x wrote:Wake me when it's 7.5 or higher

a 6.5 which is 10 miles away and 10 miles deep can do the same damage

but they both would certainly wake you up

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 9th, 2018, 8:56 pm

redmanjp wrote:
matr1x wrote:Wake me when it's 7.5 or higher

a 6.5 which is 10 miles away and 10 miles deep can do the same damage

but they both would certainly wake you up
Might wake yuh up so yuh go see yuh ded from falling debris on yuh head ......... 6.8 @ 10 miles deep could spell the end of Trinbago , not so ???

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 10th, 2018, 12:03 am

????????????
Screenshot_20181110-000125.png

Postby matr1x » November 10th, 2018, 5:23 pm

Endnotes beetham, and no one will cry

Postby j.o.e » November 11th, 2018, 10:28 am

Activity continues Image

jsali

Postby jsali » November 11th, 2018, 10:48 am

Not sure I'm being paranoid but at that shallow depth, shouldn't the islands be on alert for possible tsunami?

Postby aaron17 » November 11th, 2018, 4:43 pm

https://youtu.be/MF6-uEHXw-U

Guys 22:16 in video..dutchsinse

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2018, 9:26 pm

UWI, SRC - Automatic Earthquake Location

DATE AND TIME:
2018-11-11 8:47 pm (Local Time)
2018-11-12 00:47 (UTC)

MAGNITUDE:

Longitude: 61.90W
Depth: 61 km

NEARBY CITIES:
72 km NW of Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
91 km NW of Arima, Trinidad and Tobago
98 km S of St. George's, Grenada

If you felt this earthquake, please tell us (http://uwiseismic.com/EarthquakeFeedback.aspx)

Postby aaron17 » November 13th, 2018, 4:46 am

D days tuesday/ wed ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 22nd, 2018, 12:59 pm

Reports of a 4.0 earlier today?

SRASC

T&T Earthquakes (Every Other Day 2018)

Postby SRASC » November 22nd, 2018, 1:14 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Reports of a 4.0 earlier today?

Yup
https://www.facebook.com/uwiseismic/pho ... 27/?type=3

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2018, 7:21 pm

Got an alert with my app but for a 4.7.

Wish I was home to see if my Quake alarm I just bought went off.

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2018, 8:09 pm

this is the reason i wanted an official earthquake thread... cause tectonics will always be going on , so earthquakes always will happen.

and i did start one...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 22nd, 2018, 9:58 pm

sMASH wrote:this is the reason i wanted an official earthquake thread... cause tectonics will always be going on , so earthquakes always will happen.

and i did start one...

I used to always ask for it, but men used to say keep creating ah ched...I think this ched already gained enough traction wrt to earthquakes, so it can be considered as the official ched

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2018, 10:09 pm

the thing is, when u have an unusual event, it could be convenient for that to be its own, until things settle out, then merged with the official. but nooooooooo, ah earth quake is a serious ting, we need to everybody be careful, so it needs its own thread,,, and the next one, and the one after that....

and why this isnt such a good idea, is that significant volcanic activity, tsunamis can occur out side of tnt. so, an 'official' might be more suitable than a 'tnt'

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 25th, 2018, 10:33 am

Reports of a 3.9 a short while ago
IMG-20181125-WA0022.jpg
IMG-20181125-WA0022.jpg (21.98 KiB) Viewed 5102 times

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2018, 5:18 pm

cousin of mine there had to evacuate

Widespread damage reported after 7.0 earthquake strikes Anchorage, Alaska
WESH Updated: 3:04 PM EST Nov 30, 2018
National Desk Staff
Associated Press
ANCHORAGE, Alaska —
Back-to-back earthquakes measuring 7.0 and 5.8 rocked buildings and shattered roads Friday morning in Anchorage, sending people running into the streets and briefly triggering a warning to residents in Kodiak to flee to higher ground for fear of a tsunami.

The warning was lifted a short time later. There were no immediate reports of any deaths or serious injuries.

:shock: :shock: check dat road!
Last edited by redmanjp on November 30th, 2018, 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » November 30th, 2018, 5:56 pm

9:00 a.m. in the morning and Alaska dark like that!

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2018, 5:59 pm

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2018, 6:13 pm

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2018, 10:24 pm

all those false alarms i does post about slight tremors.. i standing by them now..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2018, 6:18 am

bluefete wrote:9:00 a.m. in the morning and Alaska dark like that!

Yup parts of Alaska usually experience no sunlight around this time of the year

Postby bluefete » December 2nd, 2018, 6:56 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:9:00 a.m. in the morning and Alaska dark like that!

Yup parts of Alaska usually experience no sunlight around this time of the year

I have to refresh my geography for that area. Thought it was only the land of the midnight sun that had the experience.

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2018, 4:37 pm

sMASH wrote:all those false alarms i does post about slight tremors.. i standing by them now..

U think UWI SRU hiding quakes too?