T&T Earthquake Thread

Re: EARTHQUAKE!!!

Postby Morpheus » August 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm

Free suspension check for all eastbound. Wow.
People came out their cars by SAGHS yes. Middle of the highway. Evening traffick. Panic
Most intense I've ever felt
Last edited by Morpheus on August 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Les Bain » August 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm

Piarco reporting.

Thought it was a big diesel in the road until the tv started dancing on the wall mount. That frly the longest time I spend in the doorway waiting for this to stop.

Zim

Postby Zim » August 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm

Soul Collector wrote:HOLY FACK!

My house was shaking more probably a minute or so......I mean fackin ROCKING. All the neighbour water tanks, puddles on the ground visibly swaying....rocking.....wtmc is this :|

Curepe side btw

Omg saaaame!!! Munroe Rd area here

Postby Rovin » August 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm

1st 1 i feel for yr & it wasnt nice at all nah

i jump up & hold onto d tv

i see my cats run for dey lives

gotta be d strongest i ever felt ......

787B

Postby 787B » August 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm

Heavy in St. Joseph but the duration was the killer

Postby adnj » August 21st, 2018, 5:44 pm

Time to count the cracked columns and beams...

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 21st, 2018, 5:44 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Kronik wrote:
skylinechild wrote:felt very hard in freeport.... solid 10 seconds if u ask me

lasted about 2 mins by me

i averaged...i didnt time it.. but it felt hard and lasted long....pun not intended :lol:

Also in Freeport, had time to get out to the road and it still going.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 21st, 2018, 5:45 pm

Lil bit again I thought the ground was gona open up and swallow me yes :| We ran out into the backyard when we realized it not stopping and start to rock the place harder.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 21st, 2018, 5:46 pm

Yes I I felt it in Tobago as well in the Crown Point area. Quite a sight to see a parked car being shaken. Actually felt it.

Postby rspann » August 21st, 2018, 5:46 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Real big in aranguez. Never experience one like that.

Postby skylinechild » August 21st, 2018, 5:46 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
Kronik wrote:
skylinechild wrote:felt very hard in freeport.... solid 10 seconds if u ask me

lasted about 2 mins by me

i averaged...i didnt time it.. but it felt hard and lasted long....pun not intended :lol:

Also in Freeport, had time to get out to the road and it still going.

i actually got off my bed and stood in the door way...

it was strong....the duration was weird.when u think it stopping it just came back harder.

i didnt want to go outside... danger of overhead high tension wires nuh...

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 21st, 2018, 5:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Real big in aranguez. Never experience one like that.
Hos , this is the biggest I've ever experienced in my 40 odd years ........the uwi seismologist did say we are due for the big one.........last one was over 200 years ago and the cycle she said is 200 years....and we close to it .......

I shaking now when I think of " a bigger quake ".......

Postby Chimera » August 21st, 2018, 5:48 pm

Saw ppl in guyana talking about it as well

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 21st, 2018, 5:48 pm

7.0...so that's what that feels like aye
Screenshot_1.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 5:49 pm

adnj wrote:Time to count the cracked columns and beams...
Hate to be an operator now.. Lol

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » August 21st, 2018, 5:49 pm

Stood in a doorway myself... We usually take these things lightly historically. Eye opener for sure.

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 5:52 pm

This app says 7.3. And 100 miles away with 78 depth
Screenshot_2018-08-21-17-50-57-105_com.joshclemm.android.quake.jpeg
Last edited by sMASH on August 21st, 2018, 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

blitzkreig

Postby blitzkreig » August 21st, 2018, 5:54 pm

Zim wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:HOLY FACK!

My house was shaking more probably a minute or so......I mean fackin ROCKING. All the neighbour water tanks, puddles on the ground visibly swaying....rocking.....wtmc is this :|

Curepe side btw

Omg saaaame!!! Munroe Rd area here

boy, my car was rocking side to side!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 21st, 2018, 5:54 pm

I was on flat ground when it happened, the whole ground started rocking and I fell down. Felt like a 9.0 or something

Postby skylinechild » August 21st, 2018, 5:55 pm

kavaninho wrote:Stood in a doorway myself... We usually take these things lightly historically. Eye opener for sure.

i normally just stay in my bed but wen i realize that it not stopping and the kitchen cabinets knocking....nah boi... door way one time.

the cats were like hey WTF... :lol:

i'd hate to see the aftershock..

zorced

Postby zorced » August 21st, 2018, 5:58 pm

Compared to the last worst, it felt like a 5-6 to me just before the short spike (which is now the most I experienced)..makes sense cuz it was supposedly 7.3 100miles away
Last edited by zorced on August 21st, 2018, 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » August 21st, 2018, 5:58 pm

Saw a vid of a wall which fell on car One Woodbrook place

Postby MaxPower » August 21st, 2018, 6:06 pm

How prepared are you?

Not “WE” eh...

Postby The_Honourable » August 21st, 2018, 6:07 pm

Some on the highway stop. Must be a sight to see the road and utility poles moving.

sMASH wrote:This app says 7.3. And 100 miles away with 78 depth
Screenshot_2018-08-21-17-54-54-601_com.joshclemm.android.quake.jpeg

What app is this?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 6:08 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 6:09 pm

Damage to BP Building in Port of Spain

aba7220b-c4ce-43a4-a235-5068bd365170.jpg

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 6:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Some on the highway stop. Must be a sight to see the road and utility poles moving.

sMASH wrote:This app says 7.3. And 100 miles away with 78 depth

What app is this?
Earthquake alert...

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 6:11 pm

Hate to see edans center in sando... With all that glass