T&T Earthquake Thread

Re: EARTHQUAKE!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 6:15 pm

http://uwiseismic.com/NewsDetails.aspx?id=531

On Friday 26th January, 2018, there was a burst of earthquakes including moderate magnitude events at 10:40am, 10:47am, 4:30pm and 6:05pm local time, occurring west and south-west of Trinidad. In all, there were 9 events. The events were located between 10.5°N to 9.6°N and 61.7°W to 62.2°W. The magnitudes ranged from 3.4 to 5.2 and depths were generally shallow, less than 35 km. The earthquakes were reported as lightly felt across western Trinidad. No damage was reported. Bursts of earthquakes do occur and are not necessarily indicative of the occurrence of a larger magnitude event; however, as we continue to advise, a significant magnitude earthquake can occur at any time. Such an event might occur in the general area of these events or elsewhere in the vicinity of Trinidad and Tobago, which lies in an area where significant magnitude earthquakes do occur. For example, in the general area of today’s events, there were two earthquakes both of magnitude 6.5 in 1935 and 1945. We should, therefore, always be prepared. (Please note that these results are preliminary and may vary slightly when additional data are processed.)

brickman

Postby brickman » August 21st, 2018, 6:15 pm

People in those towers around p.o.s must have shat themselves.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 21st, 2018, 6:16 pm

Hard in sting gym in sando.
Thought a man was shaking the equipment to hype up himself until i feel the ground start to move.

Postby The_Honourable » August 21st, 2018, 6:16 pm

sMASH wrote:Hate to see edans center in sando... With all that glass

Thanks bro, gonna download now.

The glass shaking on Teaching Hospital was a scene.

Postby Chimera » August 21st, 2018, 6:20 pm

Them insurance companies gonna have a hard week. Real claims in dey mc

Postby *KRONIK* » August 21st, 2018, 6:23 pm

Grande had it strong too

Fridge start to rock side to side
Chandelier start to swing in circles

I had enough time to get up from the couch
Go the door frame, realise it ah stopping, run out mih house into the road and it was still goin on.
Saw the neighbour rav4 doing some carnival type wining in the road.

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2018, 6:24 pm

https://imgur.com/a/VUSWSPV

That freezer was NOT crooked so. My monitor get moved around on the mount, and that small cupboard was FLUSH against the wall

Also no power by me, some radio stations offline

Postby Spitfir3 » August 21st, 2018, 6:26 pm

all the rocking nearly make me throw up, good thing i on flat land in chaguanas

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 6:26 pm

brickman wrote:People in those towers around p.o.s must have shat themselves.
The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:Hate to see edans center in sando... With all that glass

Thanks bro, gonna download now.

The glass shaking on Teaching Hospital was a scene.
Hoss, I was on the ground home, And I estimate a 6 inch lateral travel in amplitude

I would HATE to be on a height.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » August 21st, 2018, 6:27 pm

Lots of Pt. Lisas Process Plants Trip

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 6:29 pm

Tsunami warning folks.. Location and magnitude make it possible

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 6:30 pm

kavaninho wrote:Lots of Pt. Lisas Process Plants Trip
Vibe sensors not taking that jamming fur so long.

Those column bases neeeeeed checking.
Plenty flanges might have flexed.

Cmi have a tough one.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 6:30 pm

Video compilation - Earthquake Trinidad August 21st 2018

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2018, 6:31 pm

Seeing a vid on WhatsApp with part of a landmass sliding into the sea

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2018, 6:37 pm

ismithx wrote:Seeing a vid on WhatsApp with part of a landmass sliding into the sea

check the video above your post at 1:02

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 21st, 2018, 6:43 pm

Wow @ that vid...wonder if this was the shake up people needed boi :|

Postby Chimera » August 21st, 2018, 6:43 pm

God like he vex allyuh ban the sex toys

Postby Rovin » August 21st, 2018, 6:48 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:God like he vex allyuh ban the sex toys

maybe he vex about d sari skit .... :mrgreen:

Postby meccalli » August 21st, 2018, 6:48 pm

Demn, looks like the face of centipede there collapsed. Rell Damarrgge.

Postby hydroep » August 21st, 2018, 6:50 pm

Hope everyone and their loved ones are ok.

Was in Point Lisas when it hit. The shaking was bad enough but after we start to hear explosions we thought that was it yes . Luckily it was only blown out transformers.

Just passed on Coffee Street and saw the Trinrico building. Fire Services and jounralists on site, didn't notice any other damage along the Coffee - Cipero Street route.
Last edited by hydroep on August 21st, 2018, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 21st, 2018, 6:51 pm

meccalli wrote:Demn, looks like the face of centipede there collapsed. Rell Damarrgge.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 21st, 2018, 6:51 pm

Gary g did say to expect a shake up

racy lady

Postby racy lady » August 21st, 2018, 6:55 pm

Imagine you just sitting having a drink in that cafe and the ground start opening up with that earthquake... :shock:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 21st, 2018, 6:56 pm

The most epic natural disaster is the one you cannot predict or prepare for

snypaz

Postby snypaz » August 21st, 2018, 6:57 pm

Sitting at a traffic light headed I to POS. Scariest thing I ever experienced. Thought something was wrong with the car then noticed the traffic light shaking left to right. Light changed and nobody moved.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 21st, 2018, 6:59 pm

Anybody was in a tall building like on the waterfront when it happen?

I rell want to know how that was

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » August 21st, 2018, 7:01 pm

snypaz wrote:Sitting at a traffic light headed I to POS. Scariest thing I ever experienced. Thought something was wrong with the car then noticed the traffic light shaking left to right. Light changed and nobody moved.

Likewise , thought i get a flat or something , then i see everyone else cars and the buildings shaking ,utility lines rupturing , thank god no one tried to drive thru that. I legit thought the ground was gunna crack open and i was gunna have a really bad day.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 21st, 2018, 7:02 pm

PNM again

snypaz

Postby snypaz » August 21st, 2018, 7:03 pm

At first I'm thinking why is the car shaking like this. I checked the AC, if the car was in gear, I even took off the music. Then I realized what was happening. SCARY

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 21st, 2018, 7:04 pm

7.3 according to some