T&T Earthquake Thread

Re: EARTHQUAKE!!!

Postby meccalli » August 21st, 2018, 7:12 pm

The weirdest thing is that I got up around 3 this morning with the thunder and went outside to get some pics of the lightning and happened to look at a crack on one of our old duck pens and thinking about quakes in the context of all that rumbling thunder.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » August 21st, 2018, 7:25 pm

So the consensus is god is no longer a trini? lol

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 21st, 2018, 7:25 pm

So they're saying drop, crawl , cover under a solid table , desk furniture etc.......if a wall is falling or breaking off , I doubt a piece of furniture can withstand it's impact ? I'm thinking , stand under a steel / aluminium door frame . Why ? Highly unlikely the frame would cave in, the walls above the door would fall on either side of the door , rendering your space safe ???? What's your thoughts on this ?

Postby meccalli » August 21st, 2018, 7:29 pm

I ran out of the house and stood under the soursop tree lol.

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2018, 7:35 pm

Some people too blasted lazy in this country. Some of them concrete structures fall off because THEY NOT TIED IN PROPERLY. like wtf man tying in something properly don't take much effort or time

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 21st, 2018, 7:40 pm

I ran out the house too under the mango tree lol. I really NOT going to remain standing in a doorway when the entire house could possibly collapse...I good.

Heard some places don't have electricity, traffic lights not working etc. Our water supply suddenly lessened after the quake. Now the taps dry apart from tank water.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 21st, 2018, 7:42 pm

Uwi dude said this wasnt the "big one"

Postby hydroep » August 21st, 2018, 7:47 pm

Stood in a doorway, only to realize after everything was over it was a part of a glass partition. Yeah, ah could laugh about it now but yuh really doh be thinking clearly in situations like this nuh.

Postby Rovin » August 21st, 2018, 7:48 pm

this man said it was 7.4 ....

Postby MaxPower » August 21st, 2018, 7:56 pm

A lil more again and some ah allyuh MC was ready to loot ent?

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2018, 7:57 pm

Yeah lot of non load bearing partition walls on steel structure buildings would have cracked at floor and top

ismithx wrote:Some people too blasted lazy in this country. Some of them concrete structures fall off because THEY NOT TIED IN PROPERLY. like wtf man tying in something properly don't take much effort or time

Postby aaron17 » August 21st, 2018, 7:59 pm

Somebody link song..maximus dan song

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 21st, 2018, 7:59 pm

MaxPower wrote:A lil more again and some ah allyuh MC was ready to loot ent?

Postby pugboy » August 21st, 2018, 8:03 pm

NAH men was to genuinely frightened
Next time for sure

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » August 21st, 2018, 8:04 pm

ENT !!!!! Thank God we didn't get ah little more nah.

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 8:11 pm

7.3 at epicenter...we're about a 100 miles away from it...
We didn't experience much of that 7.3

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 21st, 2018, 8:13 pm

I went and tief the last piece of chocolate in the fridge while they were checking around the house.. so i guilty

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 21st, 2018, 8:18 pm

d question is ;-

1. how impburt go tax we for this
2. how tuh blame d unc
3, how the farmers cud raise the price ah food
4. does car insurance cover earthquake ?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 21st, 2018, 8:23 pm

Interesting vid...still watching

Postby shogun » August 21st, 2018, 8:26 pm

Yeah, that quake was serious.

Just when it seemed like it was ending, thing just shift into another gear yes. Insane.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 21st, 2018, 8:32 pm

Had just passed Curepe traffic light east bound right around Pips bakery area. Was basically at standstill wondering wtf going on. Car real shook. A few ppl pulled onto the shoulder.

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2018, 8:55 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I was on flat ground when it happened, the whole ground started rocking and I fell down. Felt like a 9.0 or something

The Richter scale is logarithmic, which means that a 9 might be 100 times strong er. That would have collapsed your house and killed you.

For me it was very strong, was in POS on the sixth floor of a building when it started, first gentle, then stronger. I went under a desk when I thought it was over, it started to get even stronger! Was telling ah coworker nearby to duck under too.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » August 21st, 2018, 9:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Uwi dude said this wasnt the "big one"

What?!!!

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2018, 9:07 pm

Why UWI Seimic say 6.8 but Google and USGS saying 7.3?

Postby Les Bain » August 21st, 2018, 9:08 pm

Marking yourself as safe on Facebook though... I miss something? The earthquake shoot up a carnival launch?

Postby redmanjp » August 21st, 2018, 9:11 pm

Michael Knight... wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Uwi dude said this wasnt the "big one"

What?!!!

Not for us at least, more like Venezuela. If the epicenter of a 7.3 was on Trinidad coast it would have been though- we would have gone the way of Haiti in 2010!

racy lady

Postby racy lady » August 21st, 2018, 9:15 pm

sMASH wrote:7.3 at epicenter...we're about a 100 miles away from it...
We didn't experience much of that 7.3

Well this is the thing...according to the shake map most of TnT had a moderate experience :|

Waishu

Postby Waishu » August 21st, 2018, 9:19 pm

Dat legacy rell bad eh

Postby K74T » August 21st, 2018, 9:22 pm

Legas heading out