Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby The_Honourable » February 17th, 2019, 12:54 pm

Re: Patriotic Energies

kstt wrote:If you give the union the company, who going to fight the government in court for sending home workers and fight for them and against fake oil?

It's not the company but one of the assets, the refinery to be divested. The OWTU can still pursue these matters but the can boil down if they do get the refinery.

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2019, 1:40 pm

So who in the union is gonna protest how much they paying the white folk?

World class comes at a cost.

Postby eliteauto » February 17th, 2019, 1:46 pm

If successful in their bid it would be interesting to see the union will rehire everyone previously employed at the refinery

Monkey Man

Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby Monkey Man » February 17th, 2019, 3:38 pm

The union is still a concept in people’s minds. Just a bunch of foogies beating up chest.

Once upon a time union members were feared.

Now they are just like every one of us close to being beggars.

aidan

Postby aidan » February 17th, 2019, 11:08 pm

So when whoever wins the bid and starts producing fuel, will there be 2 local fuel suppliers with different fuel prices? How will that work

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 18th, 2019, 11:20 am

aidan wrote:So when whoever wins the bid and starts producing fuel, will there be 2 local fuel suppliers with different fuel prices? How will that work
Just like it does abroad, you have a choice, look for the end station with the prices and quality that suit yuh picket on your trip and choose it.

Owner of the gas station will have to buy and sell accordingly depending on prices he gets.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 18th, 2019, 11:29 am

nick639v2 wrote:
aidan wrote:So when whoever wins the bid and starts producing fuel, will there be 2 local fuel suppliers with different fuel prices? How will that work
Just like it does abroad, you have a choice, look for the end station with the prices and quality that suit yuh picket on your trip and choose it.

Owner of the gas station will have to buy and sell accordingly depending on prices he gets.

Our laws for fuel retailing are not set up for that scenario afaik.

Postby hydroep » February 18th, 2019, 11:31 am

nick639v2 wrote:

Provided things are allowed to run as a free market.

But it does make you wonder if all the talk about imported gas being of higher quality is some early marketing so that when...er, I mean if locally produced fuel becomes available people will have it in their mind that "foreign is better"...:|

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 18th, 2019, 11:55 am

nick639v2 wrote:

Our laws for fuel retailing are not set up for that scenario afaik.
That I didn't know, but we know how easy laws get changed or overlooked when big boy money jumping up

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2019, 12:20 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

No.

The gas station all have 10-15+ year supply agreements with NP or Unipet.

Unipet and NP will have to decide from which source they will buy their fuel...Paria OR the New Owner of the entity

..IF and only IF the owner of the refinery is given a license to sell their output locally.

Which depends on the MOE-which may not be willing to kick Paria in the nuts since Paria will need all the volume it can get since its JUST a middleman.

Or the refinery will be given a off take for their output-thereby Paria buys from them
This will closely resemble the historical set up.

Postby gastly369 » February 18th, 2019, 1:08 pm

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 18th, 2019, 6:47 pm

gastly369 wrote:Man swindled out of $10K in job scam
http://www.looptt.com/content/man-swindled-out-10k-job-scam

Still....things bad...

Re: Petrotrin update

Postby hydroep » March 25th, 2019, 5:58 pm

Deception and betrayal
Ralph Maraj
Mar 23, 2019

I HAVE called it the Petrotrin sin and warned that its effects will long endure. We see this now unfolding. After the brutal closure of the refinery, hurting over 10,000 persons, directly and indirectly, they formed Trinidad Petroleum Holdings (TPH), with three subsidiaries including Paria Fuel Trading Company, claiming these would lead us from the economic doldrums.

They then grandly heralded Paria as “the future of fuel” which “will lead the region in the fuel logistics and trading business”.

But after such hyperbolic proclamations, we suddenly learnt from TPH chairman Wilfred Espinet, in last Sunday’s Express, that Paria had been put up for sale! What?!

But then, the next day, Energy Minister Franklin Khan said Government has halted the sale, directing TPH “to withdraw any Request for Proposals”, that there was no “current mandate” to divest Paria.

Indeed, Khan quite rightly sees Paria as a strategic asset, “ensuring the security of supply of liquid petroleum fuels”. This is a complete rejection of the position by Espinet who obviously enjoys considerable clout in this administration and who, I felt, would not have spoken with such certainty without clearance from “higher up”. I was right. The prime minister has rejected his minister’s position and sided with Espinet, saying the Government “remains open” to proposals from investors to lease, buy or enter into arrangements for the assets of Paria.

The rapidity of changing positions is suspicious. Today, the Rowley-endorsed Espinet says, “I can think of no strategic reason for the State to keep Paria.” But this is a complete rejection of his own position of three months ago, when under his chairmanship of TPH, Paria was being advertised as having “access to strategic linkages and high-level market intelligence”, that “our significant infrastructure positions us to offer safe, responsible and efficient terminal operations and trading of petroleum products.” What happened?! Was TPH deliberately deceiving the nation about Paria then? Did the prime minister approve of this?

Today Espinet says Paria was not intended “to be a business.”

But didn’t your advertisement boast of the company’s business qualities with operations “ideally located at Pointe-a-Pierre, our fuel terminal strategically positioned in the Gulf of Paria between the North and South Atlantic sea lanes?” You touted Paria’s credentials saying, “as a performance driven company we will ensure fuel security for the country, supplying world-class fuels for automotive, marine and aviation applications, in addition to bunkering and selling crude oil to the world.” Now you say Paria “wasn’t something we wanted to do as a business!” Scandalous! Is downright, deliberate deception at work here?

Rowley’s siding with Espinet deepens suspicions of collusion. Was the Prime Minister’s absence from the country deliberate while Espinet had that explosive interview in the Sunday Express and which his minister obviously didn’t know about? Is a larger plan being executed? Espinet says, the supply of fuel “could be taken over by people eventually”. Which “people”? Friends and financiers of the ruling party? Was it the intention all along to place importation of fuel in their hands, and ownership of strategic assets: tank farms, port infrastructure and real estate previously owned by Petrotrin? A very real possibility, as procurement regulations mysteriously languish in the finance minister’s office. Indeed in that Express interview, Espinet did reveal the larger intent. He had issued two RFPs, one for the refinery and the other for Paria, saying they could be conjoined, that “somebody working on the refinery will need the assets” of Paria. And this position is endorsed by the nation’s prime minister! Pity the betrayed people of T&T.

I maintain it was an insane decision to completely shut down the refinery. As part of the restructuring, we should have kept Petrotrin as a State company, producing for local consumption only. It was the way to ensure the nation’s energy security, now detonated by this administration. Today, we face the vulnerability of having to import 25,000 bpd of refined liquid fuels. Worse, it is obvious both the refinery and Paria would end up with a favoured private investor who will enjoy a powerful monopoly as a provider of gas, diesel, motor oils, bitumen etc, completely controlling the nation’s transportation. This is extremely dangerous! From a state monopoly with welfare of the people as raison d’etre, we are moving to a private monopoly with personal profits and swelling bank accounts as main motivation. And with unprecedented control of the national economy! Wouldn’t such a private entity be an untouchable, calling the shots, leaving an emasculated government in Trinidad and Tobago? Doesn’t this constitute a betrayal of our independence and sovereignty? Where are the patriots of Trinidad and Tobago? So sad!

We must recall the board did not recommend the closure of the refinery. Neither did three independent reports to the cabinet. Did political investors, the wheeling and dealing wolves, influence the prime minister and will they, along with high government officials, now devour the Petrotrin patrimony? Is that the deception and betrayal now being played out in Trinidad and Tobago? Is this the Petrotrin sin being perpetrated by the Rowley administration?

I recall a letter to the editor by one Catherine Murphy where she tells the Government: “You came like a thief in the night and caused destruction and havoc. You have stolen my peace of mind.”

Today, there is significant loss of faith in this country; trust in the society is being irredeemably shaken. This is the massive Petrotrin deception and betrayal now unfolding.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/opinion/columnists/deception-and-betrayal/article_6f625888-4dce-11e9-a501-87a995666e02.html

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2019, 8:50 pm

hydroep wrote:
Deception and betrayal
Ralph Maraj
Mar 23, 2019

I HAVE called it the Petrotrin sin and warned that its effects will long endure. We see this now unfolding. After the brutal closure of the refinery, hurting over 10,000 persons, directly and indirectly, they formed Trinidad Petroleum Holdings (TPH), with three subsidiaries including Paria Fuel Trading Company, claiming these would lead us from the economic doldrums.

They then grandly heralded Paria as “the future of fuel” which “will lead the region in the fuel logistics and trading business”.

But after such hyperbolic proclamations, we suddenly learnt from TPH chairman Wilfred Espinet, in last Sunday’s Express, that Paria had been put up for sale! What?!

But then, the next day, Energy Minister Franklin Khan said Government has halted the sale, directing TPH “to withdraw any Request for Proposals”, that there was no “current mandate” to divest Paria.

Indeed, Khan quite rightly sees Paria as a strategic asset, “ensuring the security of supply of liquid petroleum fuels”. This is a complete rejection of the position by Espinet who obviously enjoys considerable clout in this administration and who, I felt, would not have spoken with such certainty without clearance from “higher up”. I was right. The prime minister has rejected his minister’s position and sided with Espinet, saying the Government “remains open” to proposals from investors to lease, buy or enter into arrangements for the assets of Paria.

The rapidity of changing positions is suspicious. Today, the Rowley-endorsed Espinet says, “I can think of no strategic reason for the State to keep Paria.” But this is a complete rejection of his own position of three months ago, when under his chairmanship of TPH, Paria was being advertised as having “access to strategic linkages and high-level market intelligence”, that “our significant infrastructure positions us to offer safe, responsible and efficient terminal operations and trading of petroleum products.” What happened?! Was TPH deliberately deceiving the nation about Paria then? Did the prime minister approve of this?

But didn’t your advertisement boast of the company’s business qualities with operations “ideally located at Pointe-a-Pierre, our fuel terminal strategically positioned in the Gulf of Paria between the North and South Atlantic sea lanes?” You touted Paria’s credentials saying, “as a performance driven company we will ensure fuel security for the country, supplying world-class fuels for automotive, marine and aviation applications, in addition to bunkering and selling crude oil to the world.” Now you say Paria “wasn’t something we wanted to do as a business!” Scandalous! Is downright, deliberate deception at work here?

Rowley’s siding with Espinet deepens suspicions of collusion. Was the Prime Minister’s absence from the country deliberate while Espinet had that explosive interview in the Sunday Express and which his minister obviously didn’t know about? Is a larger plan being executed? Espinet says, the supply of fuel “could be taken over by people eventually”. Which “people”? Friends and financiers of the ruling party? Was it the intention all along to place importation of fuel in their hands, and ownership of strategic assets: tank farms, port infrastructure and real estate previously owned by Petrotrin? A very real possibility, as procurement regulations mysteriously languish in the finance minister’s office. Indeed in that Express interview, Espinet did reveal the larger intent. He had issued two RFPs, one for the refinery and the other for Paria, saying they could be conjoined, that “somebody working on the refinery will need the assets” of Paria. And this position is endorsed by the nation’s prime minister! Pity the betrayed people of T&T.

I maintain it was an insane decision to completely shut down the refinery. As part of the restructuring, we should have kept Petrotrin as a State company, producing for local consumption only. It was the way to ensure the nation’s energy security, now detonated by this administration. Today, we face the vulnerability of having to import 25,000 bpd of refined liquid fuels. Worse, it is obvious both the refinery and Paria would end up with a favoured private investor who will enjoy a powerful monopoly as a provider of gas, diesel, motor oils, bitumen etc, completely controlling the nation’s transportation. This is extremely dangerous! From a state monopoly with welfare of the people as raison d’etre, we are moving to a private monopoly with personal profits and swelling bank accounts as main motivation. And with unprecedented control of the national economy! Wouldn’t such a private entity be an untouchable, calling the shots, leaving an emasculated government in Trinidad and Tobago? Doesn’t this constitute a betrayal of our independence and sovereignty? Where are the patriots of Trinidad and Tobago? So sad!

We must recall the board did not recommend the closure of the refinery. Neither did three independent reports to the cabinet. Did political investors, the wheeling and dealing wolves, influence the prime minister and will they, along with high government officials, now devour the Petrotrin patrimony? Is that the deception and betrayal now being played out in Trinidad and Tobago? Is this the Petrotrin sin being perpetrated by the Rowley administration?

I recall a letter to the editor by one Catherine Murphy where she tells the Government: “You came like a thief in the night and caused destruction and havoc. You have stolen my peace of mind.”

Today, there is significant loss of faith in this country; trust in the society is being irredeemably shaken. This is the massive Petrotrin deception and betrayal now unfolding.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/opinion/columnists/deception-and-betrayal/article_6f625888-4dce-11e9-a501-87a995666e02.html
I told men that Petrotrin was sold long before anyone else.

PNM champion Redman did not believe it when I broke the news here it was going tobe sold .

As the PNM prime Minster said his party are not in the bussiness of privatisation.

But then again he's a 1% puppet

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 26th, 2019, 1:03 am

hydroep wrote:
Deception and betrayal
Ralph Maraj
Mar 23, 2019

PNM champion Redman did not believe it when I broke the news here it was going tobe sold .

As the PNM prime Minster said his party are not in the bussiness of privatisation.

Why this Kant Ralph cannot be quiet .Keep the refinery to only produce fuel for the local market.Is this man serious .We consume only 25 K bod of refined product while the refinery has a stated capacity of 160 k bpd of crude oil.Ralph does not know anything about refinery operations.

Would be nice if all the crude Kams and Uncle Khalid boasted to have found in Trinmar acreage could be found tho.... just saying.

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2019, 6:32 am

randolphinshan wrote:
hydroep wrote:
Deception and betrayal
Ralph Maraj
Mar 23, 2019

Why this Kant Ralph cannot be quiet .Keep the refinery to only produce fuel for the local market.Is this man serious .We consume only 25 K bod of refined product while the refinery has a stated capacity of 160 k bpd of crude oil.Ralph does not know anything about refinery operations.

Would be nice if all the crude Kams and Uncle Khalid boasted to have found in Trinmar acreage could be found tho.... just saying.
Bro hope you know Ralph is a PNM

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2019, 8:42 am

randolphinshan wrote:
hydroep wrote:
Deception and betrayal
Ralph Maraj
Mar 23, 2019

u do know that a lot of the surplus production, used to be sold on the international markets. speaking to petrotrin employees.

annnnnd guess what, when a new buyer takes over the refinery, they would have to source raw material to refine, and source markets for its 160k bpd of products....
is like ur mechanic tell u to sell ur car cause it costing too much to fix, he buy it self for small morney, and u see it driving up and down the road, grocery, market, parlor, all over.

Postby sMASH » March 26th, 2019, 8:45 am

randolphinshan wrote:

Bro hope you know Ralph is a PNM

and mariano browne,,, still pnm too?

Postby The_Honourable » March 28th, 2019, 4:09 pm

Ent Paria not for sale Mr Khan? :lol:

OWTU confident it will win bid for Paria

AMID confusion over the sale/lease or other arrangements for the Paria Fuel Trading Company Ltd, one of the bidders for its assets, the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU), has said it is confident it will be the successful bidder.

Chief education and research officer Ozzi Warwick said the union was observing with keen interest the claims and counter-claims by other players over the last weeks about what is to be done with the company.

Apart from Energy Minister Franklin Khan contradicting claims by chairman of Trinidad Petroleum Holding Limited (TPHL) Wilfred Espinet that the assets were for sale, there have been disclaimers that Paria has been sold to a Barbados oil company Simpson Oil Ltd.

The union, through its limited liability company, Patriotic Energies and Technologies Co Ltd (Patriotic), is among 50 bidders, according to the Prime Minister.

At the Energy Conference earlier this year, Dr Rowley projected that the entire process of receiving bids and evaluating and selecting the successful bidder would be completed by the end of June.

Patriotic has also made a bid for the assets of the refinery and was given the first option to acquire selected assets, ahead of other potential buyers. It has also submitted a proposal for the Augustus Long Hospital.

Warwick was very guarded about commenting on the present debacle, saying the union was bound by the confidentiality agreement with TPHL.

“We are looking on with interest, but we are bound by the non-disclosure act. All I can say is that we are forging full speed ahead with our proposals.

“We are very optimistic it would be given to us, but have to be very careful what we say, because we are the ones in the public domain...

“We are open and transparent about our bid, but because we do not know who else, in order not to jeopardise the process or give the other bidders a competitive advantage, we have to be careful what we say.”

He admitted everyone knew the union was bidding, "but there are other competitors and the sad thing about this is that no one knows who the other competitors are.”

Warwick also said he was not at liberty to speak on future projections for Patriotic in oil and gas enterprises or downstream operations at the moment.

In a sign of its confidence, Patriotric has already advertised key positions for the company.

Rowley said Paria was an asset which Government would leverage to the best interest of the people of TT once fuel security for the country and the ability to control affordability for the population could be guaranteed, and wass optimistic that the refinery could restart operations before the end of the year.

Warwick said the sooner that happens, the better for TT ,and that the best interest for the people of TT was to sell/lease the assets to Patriotic.

It is a position advocated for by leader of the Movement for Social Justice David Abdulah. A Petrotrin retiree, he said it would be a mistake to place the assets in the hand of foreign concerns, as this would be tantamount to the re-colonialisation of TT.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2019/03/28/owtu-c ... for-paria/

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2019, 4:18 pm

^^^ Petrotrin was long sold off to the 1% , all that's playing out now is gimics to fool PNM ppl.

Union not getting jack chit

Postby Ben_spanna » March 29th, 2019, 1:27 pm

lots of birdies singing that the Chinese GOVT ALREADY OWNS IT... which would make sense...they already in charge of the pitch lake, and soon they will be in contolr of most of our resources..... CARICOM is making sure they selling out the Caribbean as a whole.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » March 29th, 2019, 1:42 pm

Owtu done win.
Most of them union workers wont even have to go through interview.

Postby zoom rader » March 29th, 2019, 2:32 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:lots of birdies singing that the Chinese GOVT ALREADY OWNS IT... which would make sense...they already in charge of the pitch lake, and soon they will be in contolr of most of our resources..... CARICOM is making sure they selling out the Caribbean as a whole.
Jah bless PNM,

all yuh vote for dat

Postby The_Honourable » March 29th, 2019, 11:58 pm

Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited has received 58 bids for the purchase of the Guaracara Refinery.

kstt

Postby kstt » March 30th, 2019, 6:51 am

Roget missing from the protest.

Postby sMASH » March 30th, 2019, 7:29 am

The_Honourable wrote:Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited has received 58 bids for the purchase of the Guaracara Refinery.

nu petrotrin is not for sale, until we have a buyer

Postby Redman » March 30th, 2019, 7:48 am

Ben_spanna wrote:lots of birdies singing that the Chinese GOVT ALREADY OWNS IT... which would make sense...they already in charge of the pitch lake, and soon they will be in contolr of most of our resources..... CARICOM is making sure they selling out the Caribbean as a whole.
Jah bless PNM,

all yuh vote for dat

Since Q1 2017 buyers have boots on the ground.
Chinese
Arabs
US
French
Locals.

The sale of the refinery isnt a new thing.

Rave1603

Postby Rave1603 » March 30th, 2019, 9:32 am

I wonder where they would get the water to run the refinery

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 30th, 2019, 1:57 pm

kstt wrote:Roget missing from the protest.

Collected his lump sum.....why bother.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2019, 2:52 pm

Redman wrote:
Jah bless PNM,

all yuh vote for dat

Since Q1 2017 buyers have boots on the ground.
Chinese
Arabs
US
French
Locals.

The sale of the refinery isnt a new thing.
Arabs and 1% are the same people.

Same DNA