Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2018, 1:28 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Redman wrote:Well what I was told was that the only problem several entities that wanted to BID for the JV could not get past was the unions immovable position in regards to a) its tenure in the organism that is Petrotrin, and b)the sending home of people.

The data showed that the organization was EXPONENTIALLY overstaffed and would require only 25-40% of the current manpower.

At the same time the union has ironclad agreements out 10+ years that meant that once the entity Petrotrin was in charge of the refinery.....Petrotrin had to keep the union involved as is.

So the nuclear option of making Petrotrin disappear is the only way to right size the co.

:lol: Redman, allyuh eh play allyuh could exaggerate yes. Exponentially? :lol: I threw down my phone with that one. Had to catch my breath all kinda thing. Thank God for screen protectors. An exponentially overstaffed company, that had a WHOLE chunk of money for monthly overtime expenses. The powers that be found other things to mesmerise us with, so I can't remember the last time it was harped on; the ~$23MM a month OT bill that was unsustainable. Remember that?

Ok, so it was overstaffed, but where? Does a company really need Senior Managers to oversee Managers to oversee Senior Superintendents and so on and so forth? Does a company really need HR Analysts 1-4 (iirc), HR Assistants so on and so forth? Now, like you, these are things that I've heard so I stand to be corrected and it may also serve to give credence to the argument that Roget was wrong for wanting to save everyone, inclusive of people that wanted to go, but it also highlights what I said higher up in that there are people on either side of the table, that make this situation all the more annoying, with their die-hard, myopic views of one another.

Thanks for the laugh though. Lovely way to start a Monday morning. Good looking out.

Their analysis is that the needed 2500 on the high side.
In total.

So yeah that was the word he used repeatedly over multiple conversation s.

Net result is that they could not make it work with the numbers that exist

Of course you feel free to agree or disagree.
Matters not.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 12th, 2018, 1:59 pm

Redman wrote:Their analysis is that the needed 2500 on the high side.
In total.

So yeah that was the word he used repeatedly over multiple conversation s.

Net result is that they could not make it work with the numbers that exist

Of course you feel free to agree or disagree.
Matters not.

5500 on the high side, is an exponential amount in comparison to 2500, on the high side..?? I like trolling you eh, because though I'm not an economist or anything nor is my intelligence superior to the next guy, for some reason, you can never address the concerns I bring up, which are usually sensible and viable, not tooting my own horn, of course. You always manage to avert somehow or the other and throw up something unrelated or damning yet again. Lol.

Of course, you feel free to agree or disagree.
Matters not.

Postby K74T » November 12th, 2018, 2:13 pm

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2018, 2:32 pm

They wish it was only one
They would scoon
I meant swoon

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 12th, 2018, 8:43 pm

@Joshie23
Take care you start to suffer from high blood pressure.

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2018, 8:56 pm

So they have racket on the local fuel side.
Surprise.

When they checking the export side?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 12th, 2018, 9:17 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:@Joshie23

Yeah bro. I think I need to steer clear of this thread for a bit. :lol: I try not to get upset eh, but then I read some stuff and I'm like..
20181112_211510.jpg

Oh well. I think I'm going to look for a cold beverage yes.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 12th, 2018, 9:35 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:@Joshie23

Yeah bro. I think I need to steer clear of this thread for a bit. I try not to get upset eh, but then I read some stuff and I'm like..
20181112_211510.jpg

Oh well. I think I'm going to look for a cold beverage yes.
The HR & CS Group was exponentially increased to justify having a Vice President.
From PG to KR.

Postby K74T » November 12th, 2018, 10:44 pm

matix

Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby matix » November 12th, 2018, 10:56 pm

Good job but a little too late. That’s just a drop in the bucket I’m sure

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 13th, 2018, 12:35 am

Wait a contractor was taking advantage of Petrotrin, how could this have happened? I had no idea such a thing could happen at that company????

Look at that....terrible. How could this have happened? I don't know.

How many other schemes? I wonder......

Postby hydroep » November 13th, 2018, 6:58 am

Boodoop-singh could probably close up shop and retire now...:|

assassin

Postby assassin » November 13th, 2018, 7:16 am

All that and petrotrin still dispensing tankers from the pump with no meter

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » November 13th, 2018, 9:11 am

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 27e1d.html

On the heels of the A&V Oil scandal comes a Petrotrin audit report of another alleged multi-million gas theft.
It took 17 years but Petrotrin has finally cracked an alleged smuggling scheme which it said allowed a transport contractor, C.R Boodoosingh and Sons Ltd (CRB), to cart away hundreds of thousands of gallons of fuel undetected

bimmer3333

Postby bimmer3333 » November 13th, 2018, 3:22 pm

Waaaaaaay sahh !!
if me pappy was teefing all dah money i coulda have all dem fancy racing car too

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 13th, 2018, 3:42 pm

LOL

The way OWTU used to get on you would swear that Petrotrin and the oil belonged to them and them alone. Imagine all that marching going on all over the place and contractor left and right stealing their national patronage. OWTU should be pelted with sh*t and charged for smelling stink.

Seems to me that Petrotrin belonged to everyone else but the OWTU.

Ah wonder if the common idiots in here gonna continue to parrot that a whole refinery was shut down because AV was accused of pocketing 100 million in gas. Ah wonder if Moonilal and Kamla gonna continue as well.

Funny how white collar crime in Trinidad not so "white". Gary should maybe set up the fraud squad permanently south of the Caroni.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 13th, 2018, 4:05 pm

"Take your rig and go"

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 13th, 2018, 4:30 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:"Take your rig and go"

And they took it to Mexico, a place with more stringent union laws and health and safety requirements.

If you only know how much that statement rile me up. All I saw was a man who took food from poor people mouths and didn't have an alternative to give them.

Them a different kinda sick.

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2018, 5:22 pm

Apparently the government was listening.
They took their Petrotrin and gone.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 13th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Strange internal audit personnel were sent home today the day after the oil tanker scandal.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 13th, 2018, 7:10 pm

kstt wrote:Strange internal audit personnel were sent home today the day after the oil tanker scandal.

Maybe they wanted to get something of their chest or maybe one last act of petty revenge or trying to just throw a wrench in the works even though the machine has already stopped....but more importantly what as the point of that department anyway if this was going on all the time?

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2018, 9:17 pm

Strange?
This is Trinidad.
Internal Audits start with fires in the records dept.

Allyuh know this was in the sunshine a few months back?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 14th, 2018, 6:53 am

Did the Energy Chamber come out and demand an investigation into the fake oil scandal as they are for this tanker scandal?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 14th, 2018, 7:14 am

More importantly, who was he selling the stolen fuel to?

Postby Redman » November 14th, 2018, 8:04 am

There are always buyers for cheap fuel
Or just sell it as part of his normal trade with separate books.

Cash is a normal thing in the biz.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 14th, 2018, 8:29 am

Sadly the employees paid the price for management inefficiencies

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 15th, 2018, 12:51 am

Have they stated how much they are paying a litre for the imported gas? That is one of the most important questions that needs answering...

car

Postby car » November 15th, 2018, 10:15 am

ingalook wrote:Have they stated how much they are paying a litre for the imported gas? That is one of the most important questions that needs answering...

I want to see the specs of the gas. Wouldn’t be surprised if they bringing 90 and saying is 92.

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » November 15th, 2018, 10:50 am

11 working days till the transition and only a CEO hired.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 15th, 2018, 11:02 am

car wrote:
ingalook wrote:Have they stated how much they are paying a litre for the imported gas? That is one of the most important questions that needs answering...

I want to see the specs of the gas. Wouldn’t be surprised if they bringing 90 and saying is 92.

I find it hilarious that people who don't drive their own vehicles or at least buy their own fuel regularly have the gall to say that people's notion about the super burning faster is a misconception or mischief. To answer ingalook, it is an important question, but by the time the short-term contract with BP expires, we'll have a new owner for the refinery and the Gov't will announce that they held talks with the new owners to defer their taxes on the condition that they (the new owner) supplies the local and regional market with fuel made by the refinery and purchase our local crude. Gov't looks good all around. Imagine Clarence Rambharat trying to coerce the public into converting to CNG because 'it's the only fuel source (natural gas) we have control over, because we're not insulated against international market conditions with the importing of fuel..', but didn't we have..our own refinery, ergo our own, secure source of fuel??

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/business-watch/bu ... wFQe-HNSZk

On another note, did anyone get to check out the debate last night?