Petrotrin refinery shut down

neilsingh100

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby neilsingh100 » November 10th, 2018, 11:14 am

Once the new CEO can meet production and profitability targets that are set (like increase production to 60,000 barrels /day) I see no issue with paying him that salary. One sad reality with this country is employees are more likely to listen to an expat than a local. The T&T workforce still suffering from mental slavery. Garvin Madera may prove me wrong with CAL but until I see some audited financials I am still skeptical of CAL's sudden profitability.

Postby sMASH » November 10th, 2018, 4:11 pm

And the chairman salary... $460,000?

PNM : 45K salary is too much, draining the treasury
Also PNM: *hires man at 240k*

Postby hydroep » November 10th, 2018, 4:17 pm

Also, what if said gentlman doesn't deliver, what mechanisms are in place to ensure the taxpayer gets value for money?

My guess: not one fart...:|

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » November 10th, 2018, 4:22 pm

hydroep wrote:Also, what if said gentlman doesn't deliver, what mechanisms are in place to ensure the taxpayer gets value for money?

My guess: not one fart...:|
Agree with you here. Seen it too many times.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 10th, 2018, 4:39 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Once the new CEO can meet production and profitability targets that are set (like increase production to 60,000 barrels /day) I see no issue with paying him that salary. One sad reality with this country is employees are more likely to listen to an expat than a local. The T&T workforce still suffering from mental slavery. Garvin Madera may prove me wrong with CAL but until I see some audited financials I am still skeptical of CAL's sudden profitability.

Amount ah vene coming here by airplane, they must show some profits. Not all coming by boat...

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » November 10th, 2018, 6:19 pm

Anyone looked at his CV on LinkedIn? His experience is as a Drilling/Completions engineer, no experience managing such a large and complex asset, and unless something missing from LinkedIn he only has a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Texas. I would think your CEO should have more Managerial expertise and depend on his technocrats below him to guide the decision making

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 10th, 2018, 7:21 pm

DanielCW wrote:Anyone looked at his CV on LinkedIn? His experience is as a Drilling/Completions engineer, no experience managing such a large and complex asset, and unless something missing from LinkedIn he only has a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Texas. I would think your CEO should have more Managerial expertise and depend on his technocrats below him to guide the decision making
Check today's Express.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 10th, 2018, 7:32 pm

sMASH wrote:And the chairman salary... $460,000?

PNM : 45K salary is too much, draining the treasury
Also PNM: *hires man at 240k*

I can't have you slandering the goodly gentleman's name...don't you remember he's sacrificing for the greater good of his country and he's only making $5,000 a month along with his fellow board members? I assume nothing will change. #patriotism

But seriously..men are actually and hypocritically defending that PNM logic you know. I don't know what else to say.

Moobs

Postby Moobs » November 10th, 2018, 7:48 pm

If it ain't white, it ain't right... :rocol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 10th, 2018, 9:08 pm

Moobs wrote:If it ain't white, it ain't right... :rocol:

Postby hydroep » November 10th, 2018, 9:25 pm

Allyuh think it was joke when Michael Annisette said Tobagonians was calling a certain fella "roasted breadfruit"?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 11th, 2018, 12:32 am

Moobs wrote:If it ain't white, it ain't right... :rocol:

Just look at the illegal Westmoorings barricade and the illegal highway cyclists

They break laws and get praised.

Postby K74T » November 11th, 2018, 6:56 am

Postby hydroep » November 11th, 2018, 7:14 am

We have "Guy Smiley" and now "Smiley Wiley". Perhaps that is a job requirement fuh a big wuk in the sector...:|

Warwick: Heritage CEO salary obscene
RICHARDSON DHALAI AND CARLA BRIDGLAL

Mike Wiley

OWTU chief education and research officer Ozzi Warwick has described the salary of Heritage Petroleum Company CEO Mike Wylie as “obscene” and a “contradiction” as its predecessor company Petrotrin was shut down due to financial losses.

“It is a contradiction and they are not consistent. It is obscene and really a slap in the face for the Petrotrin workers who they said could not retain due to problems at the refinery.”

During Friday’s parliamentary sitting, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said the new CEO is receiving a salary of US$450,000 annually or about TT $240,000 per month.

Rowley said Wylie’s remuneration was based given the nature of the assignment, international benchmarking and the running of an oil company of that size.

However, in an interview yesterday, Warwick said the remuneration package did not surprise him given the ruling party’s track record regarding Petrotrin.

“I think at this point nothing this Government does surprises me.”

And regarding the ongoing matter being heard at the Industrial Court, he said this was due to continue on Tuesday with the OWTU’s legal team expected to continue their examination of the Ministry of Finance’s permanent secretary Vishnu Dhanpaul.

He said Tuesday may be the last day as lawyers were also expected to present their final submissions before the court.

“And then we wait for the judgement. We don’t known when the quorum will deliver judgement.”

Former energy minister Kevin Ramnarine was measured in his assessment of Wiley’s compensation. “The salary seems to be significantly more than what (previous Petrotrin heads) Kenneth Allum, Khalid Hassanali and Fitzroy Harewood were paid and they had a lot more to oversee including running a refinery,” he said. Ramnarine said he couldn’t say much more, because he hadn’t seen Wiley’s qualifications, but pointed out that Trinmar– Petrotrin’s marine assets, expected to be a key component of Heritage’s assets– has been in “precipitous decline and this should concern everyone.”

Sunday Newsday also contacted Energy Chamber CEO, Dr Thackwray Driver, who declined to comment, saying it was the chamber’s position not to comment on individual appointments.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/11/warwick-heritage-ceo-salary-obscene/

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » November 11th, 2018, 8:33 am

Pointman-IA wrote:
DanielCW wrote:Anyone looked at his CV on LinkedIn? His experience is as a Drilling/Completions engineer, no experience managing such a large and complex asset, and unless something missing from LinkedIn he only has a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Texas. I would think your CEO should have more Managerial expertise and depend on his technocrats below him to guide the decision making
Check today's Express.
His LinkedIn profile is not very impressive. Curious to know what is so special about to him.
https://www.linkedin.com/in/mike-wylie-41616612/

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » November 11th, 2018, 8:41 am

Exactly

kstt

Postby kstt » November 11th, 2018, 9:38 am

"I’m sharing this for my friend

The Petrotrin Board and the Government of Trinidad and Tobago told the nation that Petrotrin employees would be given the opportunity to work in the newly formed entities namely Paria Trading and Heritage Petroleum. The nation later heard that most Petrotrin workers did not have the required skillset to take the newly formed companies forward. Although those words struck like a dagger in the heart, employees remained hopeful that they would be considered for employment in one of these new entities. Not wanting employees to be disadvantaged, the OWTU also encouraged its membership to apply for jobs. However, many strange things have been happening which must be brought to the attention of the nation. So grab a cup of coffee and brace yourself because this is going to be a very interesting read.

Strange happening #1 - An advertisement placed by HRC Associates in the daily newspapers invited persons to visit their webpage http://www.hrcassociatesltd.com to apply for the first wave of jobs. Upon visiting the website it was stated that the deadline to submit applications was on 22nd October. Many persons received the shock of their lives when they visited the website on 22nd October only to see a notice that the jobs expired at 12.01am. Everyone knows that a day ends at midnight. As such, persons started to question why the jobs were removed a whole 24 hours earlier. It would seem as if HRC Associates recognised the error of their actions due to the number of complaints that they received. To make amends, they reopened the jobs for the rest of the day. These jobs expired at 11.59pm that night. Do note that many potential hires were not aware that the jobs were reopened since they did not return to the website after they saw the first notification. As such, only a handful of people saw the reopened jobs and had the opportunity to submit their application. This premature closing and subsequent reopening resulted in many persons missing out on the opportunity to apply for various positions.

Strange happening #2 - Once again, via the daily newspapers, persons got wind that the second wave of jobs were posted on jobstt.com with a deadline of 30th October. Many employees indicated that when they visited jobstt.com on the deadline date, there was a message indicating that the advertised jobs were no longer available. When jobstt was contacted about this anomaly, their representative indicated that their website did not say the deadline was the 30th but rather the job expires on the 30th. The representative stated that the 30th begins at 12.01am and their system automatically removed the jobs at that time. The representative even advised that persons should be more responsible and should not wait on the deadline date to apply. Again, this action has placed many persons at a disadvantage because they missed an opportunity to apply through no fault of theirs.

Strange happening #3 - There are several persons who have been called in to be interviewed for jobs that they never applied for. There are also persons who have been contacted directly and offered positions in the new entities without an interview. These persons did not have to submit an application. This action has resulted in fewer jobs available for qualified persons.

Strange happening #4 - The advertisement for the position of HR & Communications Coordinator was posted on jobstt.com at midnight on 31st October with an expiry date of 10th November.

This job was advertised on behalf of Progessive Recruitment Specialists Limited
https://www.progressivett.com. We suspect that this is a position for Paria Trading because we have access to the new job structures and this job title is listed as one of them.

The interesting thing is that this job was not properly tagged. This means if a person tried to narrow the search using key words like HR or Human Resources, the job did not appear in search results. It appeared as if there was a deliberate attempt to hide this jobs from potential hires and limit the number of persons who could view it. On Friday 02nd November at 8am persons went to jobstt.com to apply for the position and received a message that the job was no longer available.

Jobstt was contacted and questioned about why the job was removed in a little over one day. Their representative stated that due to the overwhelming response, it was felt that there were sufficient applicants for the position and they would therefore not be accepting any more applications. Persons who contacted Progressive Recruitment Specialists Limited for clarity were told that their application would be placed on file as the job was now "closed", another was given two reasons: (1) they received a large volume of applications and (2) the client decided to go with an internal candidate while yet another person was told that the client asked for a "quota" of applicants and the quota had been met. Everyone has received a different explaination as to why the job was removed 8 days before the deadline date. Again, many persons have been placed at a disadvantage because they would not have been allowed an opportunity to apply for a job that they were qualified for.

Strange happening #5 - Persons who applied for jobs never even got a confirmation email that their application was received! All reputable recruitment websites issue a standard email acknowledging receipt of your application and also attach the job description so that you can adequately prepare for an interview if called. This did not occur and has left many employees wondering if their application was actually received.

This recruitment process was supposed to be a transparent one which allowed all persons an equal opportunity to apply. However, it is extremely disheartening when supposedly reputable HR companies conduct business is such a way that people begin to question their motive. Is it their intention to remove jobs early so that they could limit the number of applicants for each position? Are jobs being saved for special people hence their one day showing on a website?

The field of HR should be viewed as a sacred field especially since it is responsible for the most sacred resource - the human resource. As such, all actions must be guided by integrity, honesty and equality. We are absolutely shocked that organisations which are supposed to be versed in ethical HR practices would conduct business in a manner like this. They must be held accountable for their actions. This process is far from transparent and could never be considered fair and just.

As citizens of this country, how does this information make you feel? Are you enraged? Do you agree that this recruitment process is dubious and warrants an urgent investigation?

Pointe-A-Pierre Branch."

Loop TT
CCN TV6: Trinidad and Tobago
TTT Live Online
CNC3 Television, Trinidad and Tobago
The Rundown CNC3
Synergy TV
Trinidad Express Newspapers
T&T Guardian
Trinidad and Tobago Newsday

kstt

Postby kstt » November 11th, 2018, 9:41 am

Hearing about bobol in the distribution of the $2.5B severance

wing

Postby wing » November 11th, 2018, 10:28 am

Dear OWTU PaP branch,
1. You had 10 days to apply and waited till 12 midnight on the last day?
2. So now you encourage ppl to apply to the new company even though you filed court action to stop termination of employment from Petrotrin?
3. It seems like the PaP branch is very focused on the hiring practice of the new company, rather than negotiating better severance packages for workers.
4. With respect to Petrotrin person's qualifications, can the PaP branch confirm that after the most recent HR review of employees records, many persons were found to have fraudulent and/or missing qualifications. Especially those who were recommended by the union for employment.
Please Mr. Jackman and the rest of the PaP branch, clarify for the citizens.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2018, 3:57 pm

wing wrote:Dear OWTU PaP branch,
1. You had 10 days to apply and waited till 12 midnight on the last day?
2. So now you encourage ppl to apply to the new company even though you filed court action to stop termination of employment from Petrotrin?
3. It seems like the PaP branch is very focused on the hiring practice of the new company, rather than negotiating better severance packages for workers.
4. With respect to Petrotrin person's qualifications, can the PaP branch confirm that after the most recent HR review of employees records, many persons were found to have fraudulent and/or missing qualifications. Especially those who were recommended by the union for employment.
Please Mr. Jackman and the rest of the PaP branch, clarify for the citizens.

Dear wing,

While I understand and agree with some of what you said, it's extremely funny how some of us always dispute or find fault with what the union says or what a disgruntled employee says, but the politicians will throw something out and we'll take it as full gospel, no questions asked because according to Franklin Khan;

$240,000 basic salary for the CEO < Franklin Khan's salary < $45,000 average total remuneration package for a permanent Petrotrin employee :lol:

Which is why me, I want facts from both sides because I mean, up until tomorrow*, our politicians have always honest with us, right?
*No, it's not a typo or grammatical error

•How come no one asked why CEO that was hired is being paid way more than the previous presidents (that were overseeing an integrated oil company, with six times the employees, mind you..not just an E&P arm, with at least one more CEO that will be overseeing Paria)?

•How come no one is asking why the initial statement of 'enhanced' packages, land, shares, etc. never materialized? Did the gov't really have to try so hard to mamaguy people?

•How come no one is asking what the state of the 'investigation' of the invisible oil scandal will be when Petrotrin ceases to exist?

•What about transparency? No one has as issue with a CEO being hired in August to run a company that was formed in October? The details surrounding the closure of the company were revealed to the union and the employees on the 28th of August. Let's say Roget lied and he knew since the 21st, as per Rowley, that they were closing down the refinery and focusing on E&P. Is 10 days really enough time to go headhunting INTERNATIONALLY for a person with enough experience to run your new company? Or is it that he was hired long before the details were even revealed?

There are so many questions surrounding this situation that no one is asking, inclusive of the union. Now I'm not the biggest fan of the union eh but the GoRTT is far from innocent and in observing this situation, I believe in impartiality, which unfortunately sycophants on either side of the table won't be able to digest or comprehend.

wing

Postby wing » November 11th, 2018, 5:10 pm

Joshie, you haven't addressed any of the questions posted. Of course your points are quite valid and need answers. However, in what remains of Petrotrin, employees are asked to trust the union without question, are forced to take their info as gospel and anyone who questions their tactics and motives are labeled as scabs etc. Can you confirm or deny that the union received proposals for joint ventures and leasing of the refinery in 2017, when the current board was appointed and it was plain to see that espinet was hired to do one thing only , and that said proposals was rejected out of hand because it involved some job losses, which the pg was totally against. Can you also confirm or deny that the same Mr. Wiley was approached by the Union to head up the proposed entity that the union was advocating?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 11th, 2018, 5:39 pm

wing wrote:Joshie, you haven't addressed any of the questions posted. Of course your points are quite valid and need answers. However, in what remains of Petrotrin, employees are asked to trust the union without question, are forced to take their info as gospel and anyone who questions their tactics and motives are labeled as scabs etc. Can you confirm or deny that the union received proposals for joint ventures and leasing of the refinery in 2017, when the current board was appointed and it was plain to see that espinet was hired to do one thing only , and that said proposals was rejected out of hand because it involved some job losses, which the pg was totally against. Can you also confirm or deny that the same Mr. Wiley was approached by the Union to head up the proposed entity that the union was advocating?
Did you go to the OWTU Branch and voice your concerns with Mr. Jackman?

Or did you stay in the PaP Club, sipping cold beverages?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2018, 5:54 pm

wing wrote:Joshie, you haven't addressed any of the questions posted. Of course your points are quite valid and need answers. However, in what remains of Petrotrin, employees are asked to trust the union without question, are forced to take their info as gospel and anyone who questions their tactics and motives are labeled as scabs etc. Can you confirm or deny that the union received proposals for joint ventures and leasing of the refinery in 2017, when the current board was appointed and it was plain to see that espinet was hired to do one thing only , and that said proposals was rejected out of hand because it involved some job losses, which the pg was totally against. Can you also confirm or deny that the same Mr. Wiley was approached by the Union to head up the proposed entity that the union was advocating?

Wow. Well look at that. Trini's really say talk does bring talk. :lol: My post wasn't a direct attack on your views. Like I said, I agree with some of your questions/points. I was trying to highlight the somewhat one-sided viewpoints of the general public, whereby the GoRTT's word was accepted wholesale with no receipts, but Petrotrin employees had to go as far as posting payslips for 'evidence' to dispute the claims of a gov't whose leader called his 'friend' at the very first allegation of corruption, instead of recusing himself for the sake of transparency. As for your questions to me, in the words of William Brandt, 'I can neither confirm nor deny any details of any operation without the Secretary's approval..' You'll really have to take that up with Mr. Jackman.

Pointman-IA wrote:

Did you go to the OWTU Branch and voice your concerns with Mr. Jackman?

Or did you stay in the PaP Club, sipping cold beverages?

Ouch. Cold beverages yes. Allyuh brutal. :lol:

wing

Postby wing » November 11th, 2018, 6:31 pm

Oh yes. I have been shouted down many times in the branch hall. Jackman now reach, only got elected a couple months now, but I've heard it from comrades Jones, Harrington,Benny, etc over the years. They don't want to hear about change or modernization, only no jobs must loss. Any wonder why during the Malcolm Jones era when employment level went from 3000 to 5500 they said not one peep. But that was part and parcel of Petrotrin's downfall. And no I don't drink. Just trying to show that the union and company/pnm not so different in motives and tactics. Some would say it's just a squabble between Pnm party groups.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 11th, 2018, 7:10 pm

wing wrote:Oh yes. I have been shouted down many times in the branch hall. Jackman now reach, only got elected a couple months now, but I've heard it from comrades Jones, Harrington,Benny, etc over the years. They don't want to hear about change or modernization, only no jobs must loss. Any wonder why during the Malcolm Jones era when employment level went from 3000 to 5500 they said not one peep. But that was part and parcel of Petrotrin's downfall. And no I don't drink. Just trying to show that the union and company/pnm not so different in motives and tactics. Some would say it's just a squabble between Pnm party groups.
Since the OWTU began proclaiming that the MSJ is their political vehicle, they began having one night stands with the other political parties (PNM, COP, UNC, etc).

This is what drove the stake into the heart of the Blue Shirt Army.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 12th, 2018, 5:54 am

Under which goverments did the owtu have actual strike action?

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2018, 6:12 am

This is what I was told mid 2017.
One of the people at the table.
The JV s were discussed with multiple private sector entities.
Roget refused to budge.
And walla ....here we are.

Postby tr1ad » November 12th, 2018, 8:03 am

Redman wrote:

This is what I was told mid 2017.
One of the people at the table.
The JV s were discussed with multiple private sector entities.
Roget refused to budge.
And walla ....here we are.

from around 2012 to 2017 JVs were suggested

after the last major strike, didn't the company say a restructure will have to happen to benefit the company, and reduce the overstaffing... and Roget said he ain't letting them send anyone home?

Postby Redman » November 12th, 2018, 8:25 am

Well what I was told was that the only problem several entities that wanted to BID for the JV could not get past was the unions immovable position in regards to a) its tenure in the organism that is Petrotrin, and b)the sending home of people.

The data showed that the organization was EXPONENTIALLY overstaffed and would require only 25-40% of the current manpower.

At the same time the union has ironclad agreements out 10+ years that meant that once the entity Petrotrin was in charge of the refinery.....Petrotrin had to keep the union involved as is.

So the nuclear option of making Petrotrin disappear is the only way to right size the co.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 12th, 2018, 11:15 am

Redman wrote:Well what I was told was that the only problem several entities that wanted to BID for the JV could not get past was the unions immovable position in regards to a) its tenure in the organism that is Petrotrin, and b)the sending home of people.

The data showed that the organization was EXPONENTIALLY overstaffed and would require only 25-40% of the current manpower.

At the same time the union has ironclad agreements out 10+ years that meant that once the entity Petrotrin was in charge of the refinery.....Petrotrin had to keep the union involved as is.

So the nuclear option of making Petrotrin disappear is the only way to right size the co.

:lol: Redman, allyuh eh play allyuh could exaggerate yes. Exponentially? :lol: I threw down my phone with that one. Had to catch my breath all kinda thing. Thank God for screen protectors. An exponentially overstaffed company, that had a WHOLE chunk of money for monthly overtime expenses. The powers that be found other things to mesmerise us with, so I can't remember the last time it was harped on; the ~$23MM a month OT bill that was unsustainable. Remember that?

Ok, so it was overstaffed, but where? Does a company really need Senior Managers to oversee Managers to oversee Senior Superintendents and so on and so forth? Does a company really need HR Analysts 1-4 (iirc), HR Assistants so on and so forth? Now, like you, these are things that I've heard so I stand to be corrected and it may also serve to give credence to the argument that Roget was wrong for wanting to save everyone, inclusive of people that wanted to go, but it also highlights what I said higher up in that there are people on either side of the table, that make this situation all the more annoying, with their die-hard, myopic views of one another.

Thanks for the laugh though. Lovely way to start a Monday morning. Good looking out.