Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 1:01 pm

Is Rambharat a real person ?

Who vote for he ?

kstt

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 3:58 pm

Moonilal: Oil scandals ‘down the drain’

THE internal auditors of Petrotrin who had revealed the alleged theft of gasoline by trucks with secret compartments are now among staff being laid off from the state oil company, Oropouche East MP Dr Roodal Moonilal has said. “All these people have lost their jobs. The witness is gone.”

He spoke in the House of Representatives on Wednesday in the bill to vest Petrotrin’s assets in its successor companies.

Moonilal said no one remains at Petrotrin to support any probe into the “fake oil” scandal of AV Drilling, or the Boodoosingh trucking scandal, and it is legitimate to ask if this loss of key staff had been a deciding factor in Petrotrin’s closure.

Saying the AV Drilling scandal was worth $100 million, he challenged claims by Stuart Young, Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, that these two matters could still be probed when Petrotrin continues as a company.

“Who are the witnesses? Who are the people you will depend on for evidence, for information, for documents?

“I can tell you, the people who will be needed to prosecute in any civil or any criminal matter, they all received their papers to go home.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/15/moonil ... the-drain/

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » November 15th, 2018, 4:01 pm

Image did anyone recall any ads in the daily newspapers?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 4:05 pm

"because 'it's the only fuel source (natural gas) we have control over, because we're not insulated against international market conditions with the importing of fuel..',"

But didn't the goverment say our fuel prices will not be affected by international prices.

Postby Redman » November 15th, 2018, 4:37 pm

Did Petrotrin hire the man?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 4:42 pm

Bobol can't done!

They increasing severance for employees but a high number of workers not getting severance.

Where the $2.7B going??

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 4:44 pm

Petrotrin refinery spruced up to attract buyer

A source who re­quest­ed anonymi­ty said the 22 plants have been pres­sure washed and are look­ing bet­ter than they have ever looked in years.

“The plants are now clean. The work­ers have cleaned up the oil leaks at the No. 4 VDU which pro­vides feed­stock to the cat crack­er (flu­id cat­alyt­ic crack­ing unit al­so known as FC­CU) as well as the Ul­tra Low Sul­fur Diesel plant.

“Work has been done on all the plants. Every­thing was spruced up maybe ex­cept the Aci­dAlky plant which is yet to be de­com­mis­sioned. It was brought down last week­end but we heard that it came back up be­cause they need to use it to get an ad­di­tive for the gas that is be­ing im­port­ed,” the source told Guardian me­dia yes­ter­day.

He al­so said 50 air-con­di­tion­ing units pur­chased over the Au­gust va­ca­tion re­main in stor­age ready to be in­stalled.

“The fence wire around the re­fin­ery has been re­placed and they have cut all the grass through­out. We have heard that Petrotrin re­newed the con­tract for the com­pa­ny that cuts the grass for one more year,” the source added.

Fad­ed signs have al­so been re­paint­ed and all the pot­holes in the roads around the re­fin­ery have been fixed. How­ev­er, he said preser­va­tion work has to con­tin­ue as some of the plants need­ed ro­ta­tion to pre­vent the ma­chin­ery from seiz­ing up.

“I have heard that there will be a prof­itable turn­around of the re­fin­ery with­in the next six months. We have al­so seen some work be­ing done by Ni­Quan En­er­gy on the GTL plant. They are busy in­stalling lights. There is an arrange­ment to get steam and wa­ter from Petrotrin and if this is the case, they will need to keep the boil­ers run­ning. For that they need work­ers,” the source added.

Ni­Quan En­er­gy pur­chased the US$399 mil­li­on project for just US$35 mil­li­on, which in­clud­ed an ini­tial pay­ment of US$10 mil­li­on and pref­er­ence shares val­ued at US$25 mil­li­on to be paid in two tranch­es. Last Sep­tem­ber, Ni­quan said US$100 mil­lion was need­ed to get the plant up and run­ning.

The vest­ing of Petrotrin’s as­sets be­gan in Par­lia­ment yes­ter­day, when the as­sets of Trin­toc and Trin­topec were ex­pect­ed to be trans­ferred to the Guaracara Re­fin­ing Com­pa­ny, which will over­see all of Petrotrin’s re­fin­ery op­er­a­tions.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/pet ... ract-buyer

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 5:00 pm

Old Petrotrin for Sale .

It's a dream come through for Trini people.

Now we can live like Kings - clean diesel and USD $$$ like flood water .

Good times ?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 5:27 pm

car

Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby car » November 15th, 2018, 5:32 pm

kstt wrote:Bobol can't done!

They increasing severance for employees but a high number of workers not getting severance.

Where the $2.7B going??

Misleading again. They are not getting 50k. But they will be saving 50k if their severance is over 500k.

300k was tax free. Anything above will be taxed.
Now it’s changed to 500k tax free. So 200k extra no tax=50k. This is where the 50k is coming from.
More than 50% of the employees will be getting under 300k so it doesn’t make a difference to them.

I have a feeling that this generosity of the government and its influence over the court is going to soften the blow when they ensure that the OWTU looses the case.

Bobol will never done!
Last edited by car on November 15th, 2018, 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 15th, 2018, 5:33 pm

kstt wrote:"because 'it's the only fuel source (natural gas) we have control over, because we're not insulated against international market conditions with the importing of fuel..',"

But didn't the goverment say our fuel prices will not be affected by international prices.

The irony of closing down and selling your refinery, only to then portray fears about concerns about potential the issues surrounding importing fuel. Lol.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 15th, 2018, 5:40 pm

Redman wrote:Did Petrotrin hire the man?

Yes, Redman. Petrotrin hired the man.

Screenshot_20181115-173438_Chrome.jpg

If you don't believe me, ask Julien Neaves, the author of the article, Newsday as the publisher of the article or Dr. Rowley who said what Julien Neaves wrote in the article that the Newsday published.

Here's the link in case you think I typed that myself and photoshopped it into the article.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/09/new-he ... Ud_FT9UAE0

Postby K74T » November 15th, 2018, 5:56 pm

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 15th, 2018, 6:02 pm

car wrote:
kstt wrote:Bobol can't done!

Where the $2.7B going??

Misleading again. They are not getting 50k. But they will be saving 50k if their severance is over 500k.

300k was tax free. Anything above will be taxed.
Now it’s changed to 500k tax free. So 200k extra no tax=50k. This is where the 50k is coming from.
More than 50% of the employees will be getting under 300k so it doesn’t make a difference to them.

I have a feeling that this generosity of the government and its influence over the court is going to soften the blow when they ensure that the OWTU looses the case.

Bobol will never done!

You're correct about the first part. Of course, the media will sensationalize it and illiterate people will eat it up. More ting fuh we to vex with the Petrotrin wukman, yuh ain't see they greedy no firetruck?!

As for the part in bold, they're also doing it to yet again mamaguy John Public and the employees. Remember the 'enhanced packages'?? I'm waiting to see if my neighbour will use money from his enhanced package to build a new house on his piece of land that the KR-led gov't is giving him so I can make him an offer on the one he's currently living in. Wish me luck. Hopefully I don't get a cuss. 8-)

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 15th, 2018, 7:38 pm

You all are beating out the slime out of the calaloo with this issue.

The media would report what is being presented to the populace.

Come November 30th 2018, a new chapter begins.

Local Government and General Elections are due pretty soon.

Coupled with lack of transparency in certain decisions, poor governance and higher cost of living, would the general public vote for change?

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 8:12 pm

There is no Petrotrin again . No Roget again ever.

The company will be SOLD to competent oil people .

New and good times ahead .

Summary: No Roget. No Problem.

Postby Redman » November 15th, 2018, 8:39 pm

Wiley was hired by Heritage...not Petrotrin.
It's that simple.

car

Postby car » November 15th, 2018, 8:44 pm

Redman wrote:Wiley was hired by Heritage...not Petrotrin.
It's that simple.

Wiley was hired in August but Heritage was formed in October.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 15th, 2018, 8:54 pm

It's that simple.

Redman, with all due respect (or none, as the case may be) you're either blind or your loyalty to your party has rendered you incompetent, such that you refuse to admit wrongdoing by them of any kind.

Pointman-IA wrote:You all are beating out the slime out of the calaloo with this issue.

Coupled with lack of transparency in certain decisions, poor governance and higher cost of living, would the general public vote for change?

Excellent points.

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » November 15th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Stuart Young yesterday in the parliament confirmed what the PM said a few days prior that it was Petrotrin who hired Wiley.

Postby RedVEVO » November 15th, 2018, 9:48 pm

It's that simple.

There is no Petrotrin .

Even if they were thinking about Wiley in August , it shows they had a plan.

Great is the PNM.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 10:01 pm

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 10:10 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:You all are beating out the slime out of the calaloo with this issue.

Once the roads paved before 2020 election and the pnm election race talk come out, is a sure pnm victory.

car

Postby car » November 15th, 2018, 10:50 pm

kstt wrote:

Once the roads paved before 2020 election and the pnm election race talk come out, is a sure pnm victory.

I feel if they call election now they will win. They would even get votes from PETROTRIN workers.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 15th, 2018, 11:19 pm

^^^^Of course. Petrotrin workers still defending the pnm and blaming kamla.

Postby De Dragon » November 15th, 2018, 11:56 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
It's that simple.

Redman, with all due respect (or none, as the case may be) you're either blind or your loyalty to your party has rendered you incompetent, such that you refuse to admit wrongdoing by them of any kind.

Excellent points.

Joshie you deserve a slap for expecting that Redman wouldn't employ his usual PNM incapable of wrongdoing arguments. His record here is full of such.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 16th, 2018, 2:27 am

Joshie23 wrote:
car wrote:
ingalook wrote:Have they stated how much they are paying a litre for the imported gas? That is one of the most important questions that needs answering...

I want to see the specs of the gas. Wouldn’t be surprised if they bringing 90 and saying is 92.

I find it hilarious that people who don't drive their own vehicles or at least buy their own fuel regularly have the gall to say that people's notion about the super burning faster is a misconception or mischief. To answer ingalook, it is an important question, but by the time the short-term contract with BP expires, we'll have a new owner for the refinery and the Gov't will announce that they held talks with the new owners to defer their taxes on the condition that they (the new owner) supplies the local and regional market with fuel made by the refinery and purchase our local crude. Gov't looks good all around. Imagine Clarence Rambharat trying to coerce the public into converting to CNG because 'it's the only fuel source (natural gas) we have control over, because we're not insulated against international market conditions with the importing of fuel..', but didn't we have..our own refinery, ergo our own, secure source of fuel??

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/business-watch/bu ... wFQe-HNSZk

On another note, did anyone get to check out the debate last night?

It seems they have been playing smart with stupidness...

just like that the "Bullet payment" that was supposed to bankrupt the country has been refinanced (which we were just told was impossible)

The "fuel subsidy" has been used by successive Governments as a way to admonish the citizenry and show how benevolent their government has been... but what they never tell you is the "COST" they always quote and on which the fuel subsidy is calculated is VAT INCLUSIVE... who might I ask the government of T&T is paying this VAT to?

So in the 2019 budget when Imbert says that the current cost of a liter of Super was $5.40 to government he is lying - the actual cost is $4.80 - the GOVTT is making a PROFIT on the sale of super of a cool 17 cents (Which I might add, is against the law)

The subsidy has thus been significantly OVERSTATED over the last few years because of this, and was one of the weapons in the Government's arsenal used in the shut-down of the refinery... these figures have been mindlessly parroted by people who should know better like Dr. Roger Hosien who have let themselves become 'useful idiots" for this administration...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » November 16th, 2018, 2:36 am

Why is the price of imported gas important?

As I mentioned before the size of the fuel subsidy is used AGAINST the population - if the gas is costing the government more it increases the subsidy and allows the government to take away social programs and expand their privatization of the economy - no increase in salaries - the fuel subsidy is over 3 Billion a year!... you want us to raise it by the pump to $8??? Take what scraps you can get!

The play is easy to read - but people playing dotish....

Postby Redman » November 16th, 2018, 4:21 am

Joshie23 wrote:
It's that simple.

Excellent points.

But you posted screenshot s on page 62 from the Newsday that announced Heritage hiring Wiley.

All I am saying is that Heritage hires the man.
Do you have any thing other than your opinion to indicate that it is Petrotrin that hired Wiley?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 16th, 2018, 7:09 am

Redman wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:
It's that simple.

Excellent points.

But you posted screenshot s on page 62 from the Newsday that announced Heritage hiring Wiley.

All I am saying is that Heritage hires the man.
Do you have any thing other than your opinion to indicate that it is Petrotrin that hired Wiley?

Ok so you're either failing at trolling or full-blown retarded. The screenshot posted earlier was from the same article that was posted on page 62.
Screenshot_20181115-173438_Chrome.jpg
In case Redman needs to see it again.

I know you're trolling. And I'll troll back.