LF a dam impossible to find relay

nismo1325

LF a dam impossible to find relay

Postby nismo1325 » August 26th, 2018, 9:08 pm

Can anybody on trinituner advise me where I can get this relay to buy it should be a 30A

I looked everywhere in couva and a few other places and I’m catching my royals to get it and I really don’t want to have to buy this simple relay online

It’s for a Toyota axio btw

Any help will be thankful

Re: LF a dam impossible to find relay

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 26th, 2018, 9:22 pm

Sometimes it's better to modify and retrofit stuff so that standardized parts can fit

Like the bosch relays every other car uses. That way if it ever fails again you could just pull up in any basic electronics store and get one for $15

Just bite the bullet and do it good the first time, it will save you headache the second time.

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2018, 9:48 pm

doh fite up. modify and substitute.. all 30A doing the same job.

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2018, 10:01 pm

That looks like a standard 4 blade micro relay. The mini is 1x1 inch. The micro is 1x1/2 inch. Bosch and many, many other companies make both sizes.

You'll need to know if it is NC (normally closed) or NO (normally open). Check yours with a meter but most of these are NO.

They just let more relays and fuses fit into the relay box for easy servicing.

You should be able to find one in a salvaged vehicle. You might find it at Montrose in Chaguanas. If you can't find a 30A, you can go up in amp rating but you can't go down.

Postby rspann » August 27th, 2018, 5:07 am

Go to the bamboo, you will get one by almost any of the yards.

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » August 27th, 2018, 6:45 am

Check Dindial's in longdenville a few buildings after Brantec

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » August 27th, 2018, 7:57 am

Mazda uses same relay .

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » August 27th, 2018, 8:35 am

i may just go in a foreign used place an get them becuz so far i think thats the only way....i dont mind the work around but im a bit sketchy with it....i rather use the oem thing

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2018, 4:29 pm

You could try the Toyota dealer if it's just one relay.
nismo1325 wrote:i may just go in a foreign used place an get them becuz so far i think thats the only way....i dont mind the work around but im a bit sketchy with it....i rather use the oem thing

Postby rspann » August 27th, 2018, 5:30 pm

Saw them today by Seenaths. In a half, and in relay / fuse boxes.

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » August 27th, 2018, 10:10 pm

adnj wrote:You could try the Toyota dealer if it's just one relay.
nismo1325 wrote:i may just go in a foreign used place an get them becuz so far i think thats the only way....i dont mind the work around but im a bit sketchy with it....i rather use the oem thing

call toyota and give them the part number and so on
quoted price given was 400 and 8 days to reach trinidad which is ridiculous

i'd make a trip to the bamboo and see to get a few

Postby adnj » August 28th, 2018, 7:36 am

Out of curiosity, what was the description of the relay from the relay box and the owner's manual?

From the part number, you will be able to look it up online so that you can find out more about the relay before you buy your replacement.

ISO relays often come with diode or resistor protection for the circuits that they are connected to.

nismo1325 wrote:

make meh care

Postby make meh care » August 28th, 2018, 8:10 am

I have one bro call me 7457596

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » August 28th, 2018, 8:34 am

adnj wrote:Out of curiosity, what was the description of the relay from the relay box and the owner's manual?

From the part number, you will be able to look it up online so that you can find out more about the relay before you buy your replacement.

ISO relays often come with diode or resistor protection for the circuits that they are connected to.

nismo1325 wrote:

toyota relay 90987-02028

That's the part number

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 28th, 2018, 9:36 am

I got one of those at Faiz in Marabella about 2 months ago

red_dragon