End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

PariaMan

End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 7:19 am

the number of models of electric vehicles available for sale is about to increase enormously

the purchase price of electric vehicles is falling significantly

the range of electric vehicles about to match or even surpass ICE vehicles

EVs have essentially zero maintenance issues apart from the need to replace brakes and tyres (and with regenerative braking, brake pad wear is minimal)

the batteries in EVs last hundreds of thousands of miles/kilometers with absolutely minimal degradation;

EVs are cheaper to fuel

Re: End of ICE

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2018, 8:20 am

Last edited by adnj on September 9th, 2018, 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 8:45 am

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 9th, 2018, 9:17 am

like OP bringing down foreign used Vezels to sell or what

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 9th, 2018, 9:35 am

If de subsidie get removed is a different story...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2018, 9:36 am

Them battery in those Toyota hybrids last all kinda 12 years and more, that is huge when you think about the short lifespan of smartphone batteries. And battery technology is only going to increase, European countries are planning to ban ICE vehicles in 10 to 20 years from now.

Would be a shame for people who invested in their lifetime Hilux though.. But then people there aren't us Trinis who buy a Toyota and keep it for life. lol

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 9th, 2018, 1:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Them battery in those Toyota hybrids last all kinda 12 years and more, that is huge when you think about the short lifespan of smartphone batteries. And battery technology is only going to increase, European countries are planning to ban ICE vehicles in 10 to 20 years from now.

Would be a shame for people who invested in their lifetime Hilux though.. But then people there aren't us Trinis who buy a Toyota and keep it for life. lol
You need to go outside off TNT !

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2018, 2:51 pm

https://www.economist.com/leaders/2017/08/12/the-death-of-the-internal-combustion-engine

Most have agreed that EV is a coming tidal wave. This is an old discussion. Move on... nothing to see here.

randolphinshan

Re: End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Postby randolphinshan » September 9th, 2018, 3:00 pm

So you gonna sell the Np300 then Opie.Willing to pay 175 k

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 3:04 pm

adnj wrote:https://www.economist.com/leaders/2017/08/12/the-death-of-the-internal-combustion-engine

Most have agreed that EV is a coming tidal wave. This is an old discussion. Move on... nothing to see here.
Most outside of Trinidad

We still have a government that pushing CNG

Still have people asking " who go fix that"

Still have new car dealers not offering any hybrid or EV vehicles

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2018, 4:57 pm

For a small country like ours we can afford to run Diesel and Gasoline for the next 100 years and not worry about our carbon footprint.

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2018, 5:08 pm

I guess op expecting a sudden demise of non electric powered vehicles

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 5:10 pm

pugboy wrote:I guess op expecting a sudden demise of non electric powered vehicles
Read the article , it's coming sooner than we think, I am surprised at how trini is embracing the aqua and the Vezel and the ioniq

Postby *KRONIK* » September 9th, 2018, 5:18 pm

PariaMan wrote:Still have people asking " who go fix that"

Hoss

U do know that locally kia has the niro

Hyundai has the ioniq in both hybrid and full EV

Toyota started bringing the aqua/prius-c

Porsche has a few models hybrid locally as well.

Bmw has a few hybrids as well.

Even a few lexus hybrids have been imported by the dealer

So we coming along.

Trinis are backward, but we also like to play follow-fashion....so the latter will prevail and we will get there eventually.
You should too.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 5:20 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Hoss

So we coming along.

Trinis are backward, but we also like to play follow-fashion....so the latter will prevail and we will get there eventually.
You should too.
To me right now it is just Kia and Hyundai, the rest are just for the 1 %

Postby *KRONIK* » September 9th, 2018, 5:22 pm

PariaMan wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Hoss

So we coming along.

You should too.
I feel u and ED is family yes

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 5:26 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Hoss

So we coming along.

You should too.
I feel u and ED is family yes
Lol I just think that many in this country and not accepting that the era of EV is very near

I am waiting patiently for the Hyundai EV SUV it's range is supposed to be much greater than the ioniq EV which to me is really not good enough

With all this thing about the refinery closing down and the price of oil increasing I am not inclined to buy an ICE even though I am due to change vehicles

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2018, 6:25 pm

This topic just won't die...

Electric cars are expected to cost the same as similar gasoline vehicles to MANUFACTURE in 2025. That alone will drive adoption. Electric is about to become cheaper to purchase with zero government subsidies.

Electric currently has a lower total cost of ownership due to less expensive fuel and maintenance.

Electric vehicles charging at night can use excess grid capacity that helps to stabilize electricity usage patterns and makes the utility company more profitable.

Zero tailpipe emissions.

Reharging occurs while parked at home or at work.

Recharging can be cordless.

No need to maintain a fuel distribution network or fueling stations like gasoline, diesel and CNG.

95% of all car owners drive less than 50 miles per day (15k miles per year). 300 mile EV range is currently available.

In fifteen years, it is likely that a gasoline vehicle will be seen as a luxury or pleasure item like a boat.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 6:31 pm

adnj wrote:This topic just won't die...

Electric cars are expected to cost the same as similar gasoline vehicles to MANUFACTURE in 2025. That alone will drive adoption. Electric is about to become cheaper to purchase with zero government subsidies.

Electric currently has a lower total cost of ownership due to less expensive fuel and maintenance.

Electric vehicles charging at night can use excess grid capacity that helps to stabilize electricity usage patterns and makes the utility company more profitable.

Zero tailpipe emissions.

Reharging occurs while parked at home or at work.

Recharging can be cordless.

No need to maintain a fuel distribution network or fueling stations like gasoline, diesel and CNG.

95% of all car owners drive less than 50 miles per day (15k miles per year). 300 mile EV range is currently available.

In fifteen years, it is likely that a gasoline vehicle will be seen as a luxury or pleasure item like a boat.
The guy in the article was claiming that we have to look at a horizon in that if in say 5 years the resale value for an ICE will drop significantly then why should we buy one now?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 9th, 2018, 7:23 pm

Much more battery development is needed, hydrogen is the power source of the future. It can already power space rockets, show me a plane that flies with batteries.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 7:30 pm

The article claims that by 2020 the cost will be 100 us per kwh which is the price at which EV and ICE vehicles will be comparable

The tesla roadstar is supposed to have a range of 1000 miles

Postby gastly369 » September 9th, 2018, 7:38 pm

But but ..no brapppstutututu

Postby *KRONIK* » September 9th, 2018, 8:06 pm

gastly369 wrote:But but ..no brapppstutututu

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 8:10 pm

Postby Rovin » September 9th, 2018, 8:10 pm

Postby gastly369 » September 9th, 2018, 8:27 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote::|

Oh lawd eh this captain kakasplat

He ole stock eh selling Orr

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 9th, 2018, 8:32 pm

Sounds personal , look even BMW burning down in Korea

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2018, 9:24 pm

Allyuh fawwking up the man but he have a point, how much mechanics in this country fixing Hybrids and Electrics?

I remember my old EG8 Civic had an electrical issue where it would not start in the sun, 3 electricians and 2 mechanics later and it still couldn't start in the sun, I sold that car.

So just imagine asking them to fix a Hybrid or Electric.

Half the mechanics in this place on cocaine

Postby *KRONIK* » September 9th, 2018, 9:46 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh fawwking up the man but he have a point, how much mechanics in this country fixing Hybrids and Electrics?

I remember my old EG8 Civic had an electrical issue where it would not start in the sun, 3 electricians and 2 mechanics later and it still couldn't start in the sun, I sold that car.

So just imagine asking them to fix a Hybrid or Electric.

Half the mechanics in this place on cocaine
I personally know 3 mechanics, who are certified.
1 japan trained
1 US trained
1 dealership supported

Stop talking $hit if you dont know what you talking about.

You keep going by all kinda mango and plum tree mechanic, who cant figure out a EFI engine, then YOU probably wont be able find a mech to sort out a EV/HV even if they right next door to you.

Postby skylinechild » September 9th, 2018, 10:00 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote::|

dont get me wrong the guy has some really valid points.

cliffs ( jimmy or simon)

1. the cost of the hybrids are cheaper in japan and the F used dealers are pushing it cause they making a mint - upper 100K per unit that sells ( buy cheap in japan sell expensive over here)

2. yes you are saving on the cost of fuel but parts are expensive AF - modules are everywhere -

3. new dealers dont have the skill or tools necessary for effective repairs ( like if they ever do) couple that with the high cost of parts - gave an example of a xenon light costing 19K

4. the f used dealers are tampering with the mileage so ur "new" f used low mileage unit isnt really low mileage
(as if we already didnt know this )

5 save yourself the headache....and buy a regular unit.

if i missed anything feel free to add on.