Poll: The "Oreo" comment... racist?

What do you think of the "Oreo" comment made by the Opposition leader?

Poll ended at September 22nd, 2018, 12:16 pm

It was a racist statement and she needs to apologize.
17%
Not racist but socially unacceptable.
20%
Risky but appropriate description of the Prime Minister.
63%

Total votes: 76

Re: Poll: The "Oreo" comment... racist?

Postby teems1 » September 12th, 2018, 7:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:It seems the outrage is more that an indo said it even tho some afros call Rowley terms that have the same definition or worse. You hear it on talk radio weekdays but no outrage.

KPB isn't a talk radio host though. She's leader of the opposition, and thus is supposed to be held to a higher standard.

She just created a giant smokescreen whereby the issues with Petrotrin/Galleon's Passage/Venezuela oil contract are now overshadowed by her dumb comment towards KR skin colour.

Instead of letting KR continue to use the rope he has been creating to hang himself and fall even more out favour with the public, she threw him a lifeline. Serious political rookie move by KPB.

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2018, 7:15 pm

So Stuart little is a banana then

Postby meccalli » September 12th, 2018, 7:22 pm

teems1 wrote: comment towards KR skin colour.

You didn't do literature in school did you?

Postby Redman » September 12th, 2018, 7:23 pm

The concept of distraction is pretty stupid though

Postby teems1 » September 12th, 2018, 7:32 pm

meccalli wrote:
teems1 wrote: comment towards KR skin colour.

You didn't do literature in school did you?

Got a distinction, why?

Calling someone an Oreo implies black on the outside, white on the inside.

Black on the outside directly pertains to one's skin colour.

No_Name

Postby No_Name » September 12th, 2018, 7:41 pm

Growley, The Oreo Crookie...

Postby Rovin » September 12th, 2018, 7:43 pm

b4 i see d papers this morning i had no clue oreo is a offensive word

good ting i never call somebody dat like a nickname cause they like to eat plenty of d biscuit .....

Postby meccalli » September 12th, 2018, 7:59 pm

teems1 wrote:Got a distinction, why?

Calling someone an Oreo implies black on the outside, white on the inside.

Black on the outside directly pertains to one's skin colour.

There's lots of people with black coloured skin who aren't referred to as black such as Indians. It's terminology for an ethnic group.

The US racial or ethnic classification "black" refers to people with all possible kinds of skin pigmentation, from the darkest through to the very lightest skin colors, including albinos, if they are believed by others to have African ancestry (in any discernible percentage).

noun, plural O·re·os. Slang: Disparaging and Offensive.
a black person who is regarded as having adopted the attitudes, values, and behavior thought to be characteristic of middle-class white society, often at the expense of his or her own heritage.

Postby shogun » September 12th, 2018, 8:02 pm

Completely disgusting. So this is where our political discourse has reached? And this is the alternative? All Kamla has to do is act responsibly, tactfully and with a shred of class and she could collect some political points every time the party in office stumbles, but she can't help but put that desperate low-swinging foot in her mouth, AGAIN.

Interesting watching the usual defenders get so forgiving, amnesia riddled and all of a sudden not knowledgeable about when something isn't an obvious racially motivated slur?? Well done.

Postby j.o.e » September 12th, 2018, 8:13 pm

Kamla can’t throw around Oreo and complain about sari skits. Also Growley apologized for the skit. So the ball is in her court. He apologized for the actions of supporters. Will she apologize for her own words uttered ?

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2018, 8:29 pm

they jumped the gun making accusations of naked racism, it's not even derogatory, it's simply insultive and only if you feel insulted. Dr Rowley should own that comment, with pride. BTW I wonder if Jerlean John applauded when it was said?

Kams knows what's in her heart
choc.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 12th, 2018, 8:31 pm

Let's see how long this issue goes on for

Postby eliteauto » September 12th, 2018, 8:34 pm

speaking of which, how come every new headline is called a "distraction"? Is it that our politicians are saying the population/electorate is too dumb to pay attention to more than one thing at a time? And when the population parrots that sentiment are you admitting you're that stupid? Ppl need to stop selling themselves so short

Postby rspann » September 12th, 2018, 8:39 pm

That is the same explanation David Mohammed gave on radio today. He even said the ones who brought it to the forefront are damaging Growlers more by putting that accusation in the limelight.

Kamla hurting her image by doing this stupidness. You want support but alienating a very important part of society, just to attack Growley? You saying things that does not become a prime ministerial candidate. Talk issues leave the bacchanal for others, try to redeem the little goodwill you still have left. Another mistake she's making is pushing Ramdeen to speak on behalf of her party. That is not the ideal poster boy for honesty and morality in public office.

Postby rspann » September 12th, 2018, 8:41 pm

rspann wrote:That is the same explanation David Mohammed gave on radio today. He even said the ones who brought it to the forefront are damaging Growlers more by putting that accusation in the limelight.

Kamla hurting her image by doing this stupidness. You want support but alienating a very important part of society, just to attack Growley? You saying things that does not become a prime ministerial candidate. Talk issues leave the bacchanal for others, try to redeem the little goodwill you still have left. Another mistake she's making is pushing Ramdeen to speak on behalf of her party. That is not the ideal poster boy for honesty and morality in public office.
eliteauto wrote:they jumped the gun making accusations of naked racism, it's not even derogatory, it's simply insultive and only if you feel insulted. Dr Rowley should own that comment, with pride. BTW I wonder if Jerlean John applauded when it was said?

Kams knows what's in her heart

Postby hydroep » September 12th, 2018, 9:16 pm

That comment might just be proof enough that Tantie Kams doesn't want the job because it alienates those she needs for a victory while simultaneously endearing her to the party's base by "standing up" for them. For too long the PNM has been allowed to stoke the racial divide with its veiled comments and "artistic expressions" and the recalcitrant minority were just expected to "be the bigger man", shut up and take it.

Well, dem days like it done.

And don't forget she also took pot shots at the 1%, not the best idea for a future PM to be alienating that group.

So it looks as if she's quite content to live her days out in opposition, give some other sucker the job of cleaning up the mess Sh!tkicker has made. Dat stress eh worth it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 12th, 2018, 9:20 pm

It have a PNM driver in my wuk who told me that there was nothing wrong with the gorillas pulling out the woman sari at the family day and that furthermore the baby grant was a conspiracy to breed more Indian for votes even though somehow it mainly benefited people from laventille.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 13th, 2018, 2:14 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:It have a PNM driver in my wuk who told me that there was nothing wrong with the gorillas pulling out the woman sari at the family day and that furthermore the baby grant was a conspiracy to breed more Indian for votes even though somehow it mainly benefited people from laventille.
Dan where u does come out from

brickman

Postby brickman » September 13th, 2018, 3:00 am

Not even f$%king with you but i alive in a pnm stronghold where the people believe that kams & the UNC "doing indian prayers to kill off the african population so the indians will be the majority & continue to win elections so that is why the crime situation is so high!"This coming from people who worked in government ministries in positions of power & high up in the pnm command.As much sh!t as effect posts i can 100% see both sides spew that sh!t to the uneducated masses on both sides & they believe it.Last election they rolled up into the area with loud speakers screaming about the indians are coming to take away the black man's land/rights,would swear we where living in the deep south in trump's america or the south park "they took our jobs" episode.

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2018, 5:43 am

Anything to distract the less intelligent from the elephant in the room

Postby hydroep » September 13th, 2018, 6:11 am

Kamla responds
Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar.
Sean Douglas

OPPOSITION Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar said her description of the Prime Minister as an “Oreo” was not racist but may have been insensitive.

“I do take note of comments by some that there may have been some insensitivity, but there was not an iota of racism in my statements. My track record in public life speaks for itself. I acknowledge that relevant truths can be spoken with less sensitive words in future.”

She vowed to not be drawn into a desperate attempt by the PNM to shift public attention away from real issues. “The PNM’s history has always been to distract the public attention away from their incompetence and the hardship that they inflict on poor suffering people in our country.”

She spoke of a quiet revolution world-wide where citizens no longer let themselves be used as gatekeepers and doormats. “Whilst the old guard desperately seeks to maintain control, we are fighting to change the status quo so there can be equality of treatment and opportunity for all.

“The old guard or the one percent is not confined to any one race or ethnic group. It is a group of persons of various backgrounds, races and ethnicities whose only concern is the accumulation of wealth at the expense of the wider society.”

She said this alleged failed government is desperately resorting to race baiting to distract from pressing issues such as closure at Petrotrin, joblessness, a high cost of living, crime and the upcoming budget.

“My comments on Monday were about Rowley’s duplicitous nature. His choices seem specifically aimed at benefiting the elite, his friends and financiers, while the rest of the population suffers.

“He is not a man who cares for the average person.” Persad-Bissessar said the PM had last week threatened to jail and sue workers for protesting retrenchment. “This takes us back to colonial 1937 when the British colonial elites terrorized the Butler labour movement with threats of violence and jail.”

She likened the Rowley Government’s behaviour to that of the colonial masters towards the workers and the poor, causing severe social and economic destruction.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/13/kamla-responds/

Postby hydroep » September 13th, 2018, 6:24 am

The great Oreo battle
PNM claims racism, UNC says it’s a distraction

Sean Douglas

OPPOSITION Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s characterisation on Monday of Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley as being an “Oreo”, was condemned as racist by the ruling People’s National Movement (PNM) in several statements yesterday.

However, a United National Congress (UNC) group has accused the PNM of trying to create an uproar so as to distract the national community away from pressing national concerns such as violence against women and the Petrotrin refinery closure.

Black Agenda director David Muhammed also weighed in by saying the “Oreo” comment may be inappropriate but is not racist and is actually an allegation that a person was not black enough. The PNM’s Arouca/Maloney Constituency hit Persad-Bissessar’s remarks as “racist, vile and disgusting” and showed her “sinking to the lowest of her lows.”

“It is a highly derogatory and offensive term used to refer to someone of African descent as being ‘black on the outside, white on the inside,’ including persons who speak proper English, attain high academic achievement and having a diverse group of associates.

“The implications of the use of such a term by Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar, a former Prime Minister herself, are deeply troubling and speaks to someone with a mind-set who only sees and judges people by the colour of their skin and ethnic background rather than the content of their character.”

MUST BE CONDEMNED

The PNM group said her words must be condemned by all right-thinking citizens and the Opposition Leader, by her words and perilous stewardship of the country’s affairs, had shown her unsuitability for any position of public trust.

“We call upon Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar to apologise unreservedly to the Honourable PM, all persons of African descent and the country by extension for her latest racist rant and we call on her to exercise some sober judgement by resisting the urge to divide the country along racial lines.”

The statement said political desperation is no excuse to act irresponsibly by uttering such divisive and polarizing words.

Recalling Persad-Bissessar’s attendance at the Independence celebration wearing national colours, the PNM urged her and her party to live by the words of the national anthem “Here every creed and race, find an equal place.”

The Ministry of Communications hit Persad-Bissessar’s remarks as “despicable and nakedly racist.” It said, “Whilst this Government has been guiding and leading the country in a stable, inclusive and productive way, through a number of difficult and demanding situations, including, the financial contagion effects created by Petrotrin, Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the United National Congress (UNC) have once again attempted to destabilize the country by consciously and intentionally utilizing race to divide and destroy TT.”

The ministry said the Government will not condone the use of race or class to attack any citizen, and rejected attempts to stir up racial tension in the country.

MINISTRY A PNM

PARTY GROUP?

One Opposition activist, in a Facebook comment, asked, “Is the Ministry of Communications a PNM party group now?”

The UNC National Women’s Arm expressed its “displeasure and disappointment” at what it called the PNM’s desperate attempt to distract from issues plaguing the country by creating an outcry over the use of the word “Oreo.”

The group said the PNM had failed to acknowledge an upsurge in domestic violence, women going missing daily and the upcoming refinery shutdown, which will have a ripple effect nationwide of joblessness, domestic violence, suicide and depression.

“The UNC National Women’s Arm will not allow these issues to be swept under the carpet.” It urged the PNM Women’s League and the Government to address the refinery shutdown, the ferry fiasco, the increase in crimes against women and the displacement of families at the Curepe Interchange. “As we await the budget... we once more call on those in authority to place the people first and do not engage in distractions and deflections to conceal the incompetence of this PNM Government.”

FB WEIGHS IN

The Oreo issue lit up Facebook yesterday. Steven Cadiz, former trade minister in the Persad-Bissessar administration, said, “What in God’s name got into the LOTO (Leader of the Opposition)? The ‘Oreo’ statement was downright racist like the ‘Calcutta Ship.’.Two wrongs simply do not make it right!”

Arima Mayor in the former government Ghassan “Gus” Youseph hit, “When she links ‘Oreo’ with the stupid destructive talk of the so-called one per cent her statement (is) not only racist but a statement of hate. She is speaking Roget language. Maybe she is making overtures there at the expense of the welfare of the country.”

However, former attorney general Garvin Nicholas was unfazed, saying there is a difference between a racist comment and a derogatory comment.

“Being described as an Oreo is derogatory. It’s a derogatory description of behaviour. It’s not an attack on his ethnicity. It is important that we understand the difference. “It is not to say that it is appropriate. I have always found the term to be stupid.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/13/the-great-oreo-battle/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2018, 6:25 am

kams fall in the "taken out of context" party....big steupseee...all ah dem same mc thing yes

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2018, 6:29 am

teems1 wrote:KPB ... just created a giant smokescreen whereby the issues with Petrotrin/Galleon's Passage/Venezuela oil contract are now overshadowed by her dumb comment towards KR skin colour.

Instead of letting KR continue to use the rope he has been creating to hang himself and fall even more out favour with the public, she threw him a lifeline. Serious political rookie move by KPB.

VERY WELL WRITTEN. SO TRUE. This will be the talk for the next few days.

Postby K74T » September 13th, 2018, 6:49 am

boxy wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:It have a PNM driver in my wuk who told me that there was nothing wrong with the gorillas pulling out the woman sari at the family day and that furthermore the baby grant was a conspiracy to breed more Indian for votes even though somehow it mainly benefited people from laventille.
Dan where u does come out from

Make-A-Lie Foundation

whizzard

Postby whizzard » September 13th, 2018, 6:52 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I long for the day when the voting population would throw both the PNM and UNC in the rubbish bin. Both of them are full of corrupt, racist politicians. I need to bump up that corruption thread.

I could throw in a lot more adjectives in there to describe them, but I am mentally tired right now.
I quit holding out for this. As the saying goes, "In a democracy, the people get the government they deserve."

Trinis deserve them both. We complain about corrupt, disregard for the population, the 1% puppet masters, the cabal, robbing of the treasury, creating a racial divide, etc., yet can't wait to stain our finger for them every election, waste valuable time in rallies and being their social media defenders, while continuing the cycle of accepting the poorly rationalized lesser of evils.

With regards to the oreo topic, the phrase itself is racist, it's almost like calling someone a house nigg, but I can see someone like him wearing it as a badge of honour. He probably calls himself that. But like the N-word I guess it's only cool if a black person says it. Why is this headline news with everything else that's going on goes back to the racial divide, its we versus them BS, just like the police ethnicity BS.

Sent from my SM-G920I using TriniTuner mobile app

whizzard

Postby whizzard » September 13th, 2018, 6:55 am

j.o.e wrote:Kamla can’t throw around Oreo and complain about sari skits. Also Growley apologized for the skit. So the ball is in her court. He apologized for the actions of supporters. Will she apologize for her own words uttered ?
Did he though? I heard him defending it. That skit should have never happened.

Postby j.o.e » September 13th, 2018, 7:04 am

whizzard wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Kamla can’t throw around Oreo and complain about sari skits. Also Growley apologized for the skit. So the ball is in her court. He apologized for the actions of supporters. Will she apologize for her own words uttered ?
Did he though? I heard him defending it. That skit should have never happened.

However, addressing PNM supporters at the Upper Malabar Community Centre in Arima last night, Rowley apologized, explaining that he was unware of the significance of the skit to Hindus.

Rowley said he therefore consulted with the Hindu leadership and said it was only then he understood how deeply hurt and offended they were by the portrayal.

As such, he said the party has no ‘difficulty’ or ‘shame’ in apologizing.

“But the political voices were not the only voices, there were other voices and that caught my attention. And, I decided to see why the Hindu community through its leaders were so offended by our skit. And last week was a learning week for me.”

“I never knew what the Mahabharatha was. Our political opponents were so gleeful in looking for the opportunity to divide and be nasty, that we had to pay attention.”

“And, paying attention, talking to you here tonight, gathered as PNM members and supporters and talking to the national community, we became conscious of the sensitivity. And tonight, on behalf of the People’s National Movement and all concerned, I unreservedly apologize to the Hindu community for that.”

http://www.looptt.com/content/watch-pm- ... -sari-skit

boxy

Postby boxy » September 13th, 2018, 7:13 am

whizzard wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:I long for the day when the voting population would throw both the PNM and UNC in the rubbish bin. Both of them are full of corrupt, racist politicians. I need to bump up that corruption thread.

I could throw in a lot more adjectives in there to describe them, but I am mentally tired right now.
I quit holding out for this. As the saying goes, "In a democracy, the people get the government they deserve."

Trinis deserve them both. We complain about corrupt, disregard for the population, the 1% puppet masters, the cabal, robbing of the treasury, creating a racial divide, etc., yet can't wait to stain our finger for them every election, waste valuable time in rallies and being their social media defenders, while continuing the cycle of accepting the poorly rationalized lesser of evils.

With regards to the oreo topic, the phrase itself is racist, it's almost like calling someone a house nigg, but I can see someone like him wearing it as a badge of honour. He probably calls himself that. But like the N-word I guess it's only cool if a black person says it. Why is this headline news with everything else that's going on goes back to the racial divide, its we versus them BS, just like the police ethnicity BS.

It's front page because a former prime Minister and opposition leader said it. It is a big deal in a way. Especially since the sari thing made the front page and she championed the cause first hand everyday till he apologized If was fuad khan or moonilal or Padarath it would not have made front page

But I whole heartedly agree with everything u said besides that.

Postby ronsin1 » September 13th, 2018, 7:22 am

The way it really went down
KR:- called up kams yo I need a distraction there idiot ministers have to much in the light
Kams:- doh worry I have your back
KR:- wah we go do
Kams:- I'll call you an Oreo
KR:- WTF that's racist
Kams:- exactly
KR:- brilliant

National debate about cookies and cream start distracting everyone one from the real issues also also an a hell of an increase in sales that there is shortage of USD

Boom! Problem solved for two weeks until the next scandal