Tapping off an AC unit

ScHoolboySoloQ

Tapping off an AC unit

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » September 22nd, 2018, 9:54 pm

Hello 2ners,
I currently have one ac installed and wanted to put another so I called up an ac guy and he told me that I can use 4.0 cable and tap off the AC unit that I have. I just find it a bit sketchy to do something like that so can you guys give me your opinion about this? Thanks!

Re: Tapping off an AC unit

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 22nd, 2018, 10:19 pm

Each a.c. should be on its own circuit from your panel.

Yes it may work, no it is not correct.

matix

Postby matix » September 22nd, 2018, 10:25 pm

Depending on the size of the first unit, the size of wiring, distance. It is possible. Give me more info and I can assist.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » September 22nd, 2018, 10:55 pm

Based on Electrical Code, if its 220V ,maximum of (1) Load device on that circuit. If its 110V units you can run more than one on same circuit once the total current does not exceed 20A

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 22nd, 2018, 11:15 pm

Well if the cable and breaker could handle a single 24K BTU then I assume it can handle TWO 12K BTU units.

Is that how it works?

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2018, 12:41 am

Buy the right size of cable and a fire extinguisher.

If you're asking these basic questions, you probably won't know how to install the connection properly.

At best, you're risking fire. At worst, death.

You need to match the ampacity and voltage of the circuit(s) to the new combined load. You also need a switched connection to the circuit. You'll have to take into account device max current draw, cable run length and NEC safety factors. You'll also need to understand installation requirements.

Postby adnj » September 23rd, 2018, 12:52 am

rmrunner wrote:Based on Electrical Code, if its 220V ,maximum of (1) Load device on that circuit. If its 110V units you can run more than one on same circuit once the total current does not exceed 20A
NEC also states that a circuit shall have a continuous load of no more than 80% of the rating of the circuit breaker in 210.19.

Postby nervewrecker » September 23rd, 2018, 9:10 am

When you ready for a serious technician gimme a pm.

Each unit should have its own breaker and be on its own circuit. Saw this out in the field already where both units started at the same time and breaker tripped.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2018, 12:06 pm

Aircon is one of most common cause of fires for a variety of reasons....

Postby nervewrecker » September 23rd, 2018, 1:49 pm

https://www.facebook.com/ParsotanAC/

Ah hear ah talk thats the leading technician right now.

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2018, 2:10 pm

“Leading technician” cyah apply for powerseller or what

Postby rspann » September 23rd, 2018, 2:55 pm

.Just now you might be good like him, a likkle more practice. Look you already have a pickup like his .

Postby ronsin1 » September 23rd, 2018, 4:56 pm

The electrical code clearly states these types of appliances should be on separate independent circuits. You run. The risk of overheating the circuit if it's overloaded. This can result in fire.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 23rd, 2018, 9:22 pm

don't do it bloodbath!

You'll have to increase the size of the breaker to accomodate the two units nah.

So If one of the AC's just happen to pull more current than usual because of a fault, then the breaker would not trip and you'll lose that AC unit.

Postby nervewrecker » September 24th, 2018, 12:03 am

This wont happen to be the 2 samsung units in grandville?

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 24th, 2018, 7:41 am

hahahahahahaha.. i doing electrical so long n i never see anyone do this

supernedd

Postby supernedd » September 24th, 2018, 7:45 am

Screenshot_20180924-074346_Chrome.jpeg

Postby A172 » September 24th, 2018, 8:17 am

K74T wrote:“Leading technician” cyah apply for powerseller or what

always self rating & cyaking abt other businesses with the hope of promoting his
sounds like your typical ac man to me

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 24th, 2018, 8:47 am

I know some people who did business with

https://www.facebook.com/ParsotanAC/

They are by far the best and most professional in the country

Postby Rovin » September 25th, 2018, 11:43 am

OP feel is some lil lights or normal wall plugs u hooking up dey - DON'T DO IT !

each unit needs it own correct size wire & breakers ....

i cud endorse this feller :

nervewrecker wrote:https://www.facebook.com/ParsotanAC/

Ah hear ah talk thats the leading technician right now.

god son

Postby god son » September 26th, 2018, 5:24 am

lmao..the man tap off yes...I doing ac for over a decade n this type of things never ends well.

Postby nervewrecker » September 26th, 2018, 8:06 pm

In all fairness, based on what I seen out here the leading technician will be the gentleman that taught me about this stuff..
He will be a Mr. Vivian Sealy from new grant (originally from Cocyea).
The things I seen him do and fix already, from 9000btu and fridge straight up to 60 tonne 3 phase chilled water system. De man is a boss! I say what I learning from him is the same everyone else out here knows. Clearly its not, its way way more..
I only get known out here as I had way more time on my hands and marketed myself a bit. Also went and got certified just like he did.
Only reason why my name not in red is cuz my hands full, stocks sold out and suppliers taking long to restock because of forex issues. I dont have the space to store a container of goods or i'd have already bought in one..