Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Re: Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Postby pugboy » October 19th, 2019, 8:19 pm

They are all basically synthetic pyrethrin chemicals
A good one is triton , can get in a garden shop and works great around the yard for roaches

Postby Rovin » October 21st, 2019, 5:48 pm

i have used that same christle brand seems to be doing its job, they also make pvc pipe glue ...

Postby Rovin » October 21st, 2019, 5:56 pm

very recently got in some stuff , steelex st1010 jointer , shopfox bandsaw 1706 . shopfox drum sander 1854 .... no pics yet , stuff still in boxes & they heavy :shock: , have to make time to get help to lift\set them up

tomorrow gonna collect dewalt planer dw735 , a wen tabletop oscillating sander , some sanding paper , router bits etc

have a wood lathe coming next 2wks

... :D :D :D

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2019, 9:51 pm

jl6106 wrote:Both this today at Bhagwansingh's. It is very toxic.cost $48

pugboy wrote:They are all basically synthetic pyrethrin chemicals
A good one is triton , can get in a garden shop and works great around the yard for roaches

IIRC, you can buy a 200 ml bottle of Fastac, Supertac, Cypertick, etc., for about $40. Mix 5 ml to 10 ml of that with 1 liter of water. About $2 for the chemicals per liter. If you need a spray bottle, that's an extra $20 or so.

Insects tend to become resistant to a particular pyrethoidal insecticide over time so it helps to use a different one periodically.

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » October 23rd, 2019, 6:14 pm

Just an update. Treated, primed, sanded , primed.
Plan to do some fun colors for the girls and the drawers last.
1571868810066.jpeg

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 23rd, 2019, 9:19 pm

Looks very nice man!!

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » October 24th, 2019, 6:41 pm

So this is how far I've reached. Will try to build one drawer a day until I'm finished ( only one clamp). Afterwards, will focus on face frame and doors.
IMG_20191024_183722.jpeg
IMG_20191024_175117.jpeg

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2019, 7:25 pm

Very nice and looking all square

Postby Rovin » October 25th, 2019, 10:55 am

nice colors

how u intend to attach d face frame to d body though ? ...

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » October 25th, 2019, 11:07 am

I thinking glue and some small nails. If I could get a countersink bit, I'll use screws and fill over.
Rovin wrote:nice colors

how u intend to attach d face frame to d body though ? ...

Postby Rovin » October 25th, 2019, 11:14 am

that cud work

if u have a 18g nail gun dat wud be nice

if u using screws use some narrow gauge screws & still pre-drill to lessen d chances of splitting ...

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » October 25th, 2019, 11:57 am

Thanks for the advice.

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2019, 12:25 pm

Front counter in the making
IMG_20191012_174137-02.jpeg
IMG_20191012_174807.jpeg

Postby Rovin » October 25th, 2019, 3:53 pm

^^^Lon daz u ? ...

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2019, 6:52 pm

Lon doing the work for me
Rovin wrote:^^^Lon daz u ? ...

Postby Rovin » October 25th, 2019, 6:58 pm

oho i wondering if so long i know him & dont know his user name on tuner ....

Postby gastly369 » October 25th, 2019, 8:02 pm

Lol
Rovin wrote:oho i wondering if so long i know him & dont know his user name on tuner ....

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » October 28th, 2019, 1:22 pm

Completed the drawers with screws and glue. Then I had my daughters seal the inside corners with hot glue. Then primed the inside for paint. Planning to install sometime this week please God.
1572283170987.jpeg

Postby Rovin » November 3rd, 2019, 7:09 pm

spent 1/2 day today assembling & setting this up ..... https://www.amazon.com/Steelex-ST1010-J ... B01HF1ETM6

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2019, 7:31 pm

Nice, a jointer is a fundamental piece of equipment.
Dust collection is a must.

You setup the knives as yet?
There is an easy jig to make with magnets that makes it ass proof to install the knives with minimal fiddling.

Postby Rovin » November 3rd, 2019, 7:46 pm

d assembly instructions not very good , so i had to assemble stuff more than once , base was so awkward to bolt i had to lie down on d ground to see rather than feel where it going but i got thru

i reach d point of having to set up both side of d planes properly but it start to get dark so hopefully tomorrow gonna do that part

have a lathe & 2hp harbor freight dust collector coming by seafreight that shud be here by next wk ....

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2019, 8:01 pm

Don’t do like me and start practicing with all kinda wood from pallet and ting
Then realize all them scrap wood loaded with sand and little stones to nick the blades.

Postby Rovin » November 4th, 2019, 1:11 pm

lol nah i taking meh time moving cautiously , doh wanna fog up meh new ting

tried it a lil bit bit last night of some newish board , cuts really smooth like it polish , machine surprising kinda quiet , i need to fine tune adjusting d planes ....

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2019, 6:59 am

Works
Need to calibrate the stops and center marks

CBA11A6F-9814-47B7-84BB-BF65DFEDCC2B.jpg

Postby Rovin » November 7th, 2019, 10:51 am

dise d big triton router u rockin dey ?

honestly if i were doing woodworking for a living or really dont mind spending d $$ i wud buy d festool domino , from what i seeing on youtube by far it is d fastest most efficient way to make mortises

all dem jigs ppl making all over youtube will work i eh say no but i find they all looking too fiddly & cumbersome to use ... :|

Postby Rovin » November 7th, 2019, 9:05 pm

Rovin wrote:very recently got in some stuff , steelex st1010 jointer , shopfox bandsaw 1706 . shopfox drum sander 1854 .... no pics yet , stuff still in boxes & they heavy :shock: , have to make time to get help to lift\set them up

tomorrow gonna collect dewalt planer dw735 , a wen tabletop oscillating sander , some sanding paper , router bits etc

so today i got d lathe https://www.grizzly.com/products/Grizzl ... -DRO/G0462

& this too https://www.harborfreight.com/2-hp-indu ... 97869.html , in d hurriness to get stuff here b4 d mad xmas rush i 4get to get a hose & accessories for it , will have to order that soon ......

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2019, 9:18 pm

Yeah tra001, have it a while now
Bought it on sale.

Domino nice but way too pricey.
They say the patent running out soon so might some Chinese versions.

So far it seems this jig is a winner, just need to calibrate and make proper markings for centering.

Rovin wrote:dise d big triton router u rockin dey ?

honestly if i were doing woodworking for a living or really dont mind spending d $$ i wud buy d festool domino , from what i seeing on youtube by far it is d fastest most efficient way to make mortises

all dem jigs ppl making all over youtube will work i eh say no but i find they all looking too fiddly & cumbersome to use ... :|

wingnut

Postby wingnut » November 7th, 2019, 10:46 pm

Rovin wrote:
Rovin wrote:very recently got in some stuff , steelex st1010 jointer , shopfox bandsaw 1706 . shopfox drum sander 1854 .... no pics yet , stuff still in boxes & they heavy :shock: , have to make time to get help to lift\set them up

so today i got d lathe https://www.grizzly.com/products/Grizzl ... -DRO/G0462

& this too https://www.harborfreight.com/2-hp-indu ... 97869.html , in d hurriness to get stuff here b4 d mad xmas rush i 4get to get a hose & accessories for it , will have to order that soon ......

were you able to purchase directly from harbour freight with ur credit card?

Last time i tried mines it didnt work.

Postby Rovin » November 7th, 2019, 11:43 pm

well my bro in miami bought d HF DC in cash for me

we had problems ordering those bigger pieces of equipment from here , grizzly who is d distributor & some of their online retailers didnt want to accept a foreign cc , now d funny\stupid thing is if u order exactly d same stuff via amazon : grizzly & d online retailers accept payment thru amazon from d very same T&T cc , of course it will be a lil more since amazon has to make their cut on it but that was d only way to get it done ...
Last edited by Rovin on November 8th, 2019, 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2019, 8:11 am

You will need help to lift the dw735 planer
Best to have it on a rhs stand on wheels and a good 20amp outlet, it trips a 15amp easily.