What is a fair labor price to tile 1087sqft?

DASSMASS

What is a fair labor price to tile 1087sqft?

Postby DASSMASS » October 8th, 2018, 11:23 am

Hey guys someone quoted me but I think its kind of high. What is a fair labor cost for such a job. (upstairs and downstairs house...20" ceramic tiles)
20181007_133713.jpeg

hong kong phooey

Re: What is a fair labor price to tile 1087sqft?

Postby hong kong phooey » October 8th, 2018, 12:35 pm

Ceramic tiles is about 5-7 dollars a square feet .
Porcelain tiles are more expensive to put down as it is much more work and more difficult to cut.
Even with ceramic tiles the price will vary if the man have to carry the tiles upstairs etc
or if you living Belair , Westmoorings, central park , talk with an accent, driving a benz

Postby nemisis » October 8th, 2018, 1:15 pm

Any time someone makes a post like this and doesn’t say the quoted price more than likely they got was fair and they know it.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » October 8th, 2018, 1:19 pm

nemisis wrote:Any time someone makes a post like this and doesn’t say the quoted price more than likely they got was fair and they know it.

Very Correct.

Anytime in doubt, just check their joined date.

Postby rspann » October 8th, 2018, 1:42 pm

Nah, they charging him about $9 per sq ft. It should be more like $5.

Postby tr1ad » October 8th, 2018, 1:48 pm

cheap thing na good... good thing na cheap

Postby Slartibartfast » October 8th, 2018, 1:49 pm

tr1ad wrote:cheap thing na good... good thing na cheap

That does not guarantee that all expensive things are good. Sometimes they are a rip off.

DASSMASS

Postby DASSMASS » October 8th, 2018, 2:01 pm

is $10,000TTD fair?

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2018, 2:05 pm

DASSMASS wrote:is $10,000TTD fair?

at that price he's doing you a favor

DASSMASS

Postby DASSMASS » October 8th, 2018, 2:07 pm

for ceramic tiles?

stang

Postby stang » October 8th, 2018, 2:10 pm

Any recommendations for a good tileman in the St. Augustine area

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 8th, 2018, 2:18 pm

Hoss that might be a fair price. It depends on how you laying out the tiles, the pattern, the amount of cutting, the level of your original floor. Remember it have plenty factors which can increase his work load. As I mentioned before if he have to carry all them tiles upstairs that's extra work for him. If he using tiles to make the border that's loads of cutting.

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2018, 6:57 pm

DASSMASS wrote:

for ceramic tiles?

yup
tile work ain't easy, & quality work not cheap

Postby rspann » October 8th, 2018, 7:06 pm

I have some spanish charging $5 and no trini could work like them. I recommended them to a few tuners, they can tell you the quality. I'll post some pics in a while.

Postby rspann » October 8th, 2018, 7:07 pm

I have some spanish charging $5 and no trini could work like them. I recommended them to a few tuners, they can tell you the quality. I'll post some pics in a while.

Postby rspann » October 8th, 2018, 7:11 pm

rspann wrote:I have some spanish charging $5 and no trini could work like them. I recommended them to a few tuners, they can tell you the quality. I'll post some pics in a while.
The yard is 12x24 and the house is 24x24. Neatest work .
IMG-20180907-WA0004.jpeg
IMG-20180907-WA0008.jpeg

Postby SR » October 8th, 2018, 7:20 pm

Looking reel good i hada do my yard soon and remove and retile another area as well

DASSMASS

Postby DASSMASS » October 8th, 2018, 7:30 pm

rspann wrote:
rspann wrote:I have some spanish charging $5 and no trini could work like them. I recommended them to a few tuners, they can tell you the quality. I'll post some pics in a while.
The yard is 12x24 and the house is 24x24. Neatest work .
IMG-20180907-WA0008.jpeg
IMG-20180907-WA0004.jpeg
awesome.

Postby rspann » October 8th, 2018, 7:34 pm

The only thing they charge more for , is vertical surfaces, like bathrooms or fence walls, but still $8. They did the bathrooms in that house, a masterpiece with marble borders etc. Mosaic backsplash etc , no problems.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 8th, 2018, 8:24 pm

Send them Spanish my way

matix

Postby matix » October 8th, 2018, 9:18 pm

Mr. Spann, will you kindly forward me the Spanish contact info. Gracias

stang

Postby stang » October 8th, 2018, 9:19 pm

rspann wrote:
The yard is 12x24 and the house is 24x24. Neatest work .IMG-20180907-WA0008.jpegIMG-20180907-WA0004.jpeg

Work looks good, so does the house. Can you send the number. Thanks

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 9th, 2018, 6:10 am

Tile is real back breaking work hoss you know what it is to bend down and do over 1000 square feet of tiles?

Postby MaxPower » October 9th, 2018, 8:24 am

Sounding like Emilio and he crew.

Postby Rovin » October 9th, 2018, 10:43 am

yes once u ever tried it u will know its hard back breaking tedious work so tilemen hadda charge

however like most services in T&T : paying for something is 1 ting but what u get for ur $$$ is a different story ........

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » October 9th, 2018, 1:33 pm

$10K Doesn't sound unreasonable.
You should always consider the price of installation when buying tiles. Its not a negligible expense.

Postby Chimera » October 9th, 2018, 2:38 pm

watch a youtube video and do it yuhself nah dan

save that 10k.

things hard

Postby 88sins » October 9th, 2018, 9:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:watch a youtube video and do it yuhself nah dan

save that 10k.

things hard

true, but yuh hadda keep in mind

some people eh willing or able to do that kinda work, especially if it have to lay tiles around columns in corners with odd angles, or if is plenty tiles.
some people fraid back pain bad too :lol:

DASSMASS

Postby DASSMASS » October 10th, 2018, 9:21 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:watch a youtube video and do it yuhself nah dan

save that 10k.

things hard

DASSMASS

Postby DASSMASS » October 10th, 2018, 9:21 am

matix wrote:Mr. Spann, will you kindly forward me the Spanish contact info. Gracias
yes please