Cancer treatment

Re: Cancer treatment

Postby maj. tom » October 15th, 2018, 10:10 am

hmm real dilemma here... should I listen to a medical specialist who has studied more than 10 years and has 25 years clinical experience, or a YouTube information conspiracy theorist? Real hard choices here.

Also, do you know that if a doctor does not do his duty that is on par with peer medical practices and current treatments he will be black-marked for malpractice? The choice is yours as a patient to take the advice or treatment, but the doctor has a duty to society that is way beyond what you want imagine. And even if he does know something better, that personal research and experience may not be tested and approved. So if he tells you do something that is not currently recognized in medical schools, he has the liability of malpractice when the patient testifies against him in court.
Last edited by maj. tom on October 15th, 2018, 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » October 15th, 2018, 10:14 am

that chemo thing is complicated.......its a very hard decision to make

chemo does firetruck u up.....but sometimes it also makes you live longer

but the person or family is faced with the decision on if living longer with failing organs is worth it, or if they should try to live up their life as much as possible without the chemo. cuz the chemo does really firetruck yuh up

not getting the chemo on time is a next scene

it IS true what they say that in st james they regularly just cancelling sessions because they dont have chemicals or they dont have a pharmacist to mix the chemicals.....

my relative had to go st james AND grande for treatment, at certain points neither of them have the chemicals or pharmacist or whatever

so imagine the flabbergastery where you start chemo, your body weakened due to taking the chemo, the cancer attacking harder cuz your body weak.....and you cant get chemo for a 2-3 weeks because chemicals done, or you could jump out a 10k+ for a single course

it really is a dred situation to be in, and when you experience it, it REAL difficult to make decisions

i know someone who was diagnosed with cancer, he decide he going the Ganja route, refuse to take chemo or meds, and he deteriorate and die within 2 months of getting diagnosed.

but cancer different...and everybody different......

Postby Chimera » October 15th, 2018, 10:19 am

maj. tom wrote:
Also, do you know that if a doctor does not do his duty that is on par with peer medical practices and current treatments he will be black-marked for malpractice? The choice is yours as a patient to take the advice or treatment, but the doctor has a duty to society that is way beyond what you want imagine.

in a ideal society yes, but to get any kind of malpractice evidence, there has to be OTHER willing doctors who will say that that doctor did not conform to standard medical procedure, that rarely happens.

I have experienced that myself with family and friends

Real famous gynecologist in a big private medical center near curepe, told a close friend of mine that she need to remove her womb immediately or else she could die,after examining her for 5 minutes, 50k for surgery, he could do it next week.
she gone to the public hospital in sando for a 2nd opinion, the head of the department say he dont understand how that doctor from curepe area could say that, how hes a real good doctor, how it have another simple surgery for the issue, but certain doctors just like to make $$$ when they could
relative did the surgery and spent 2-3 days in hospital recovering and is completely fine now.

one of my customers pay a present MP whos a doctor $70k to remove her kidney,
when he open her up, he decide....he could clean out the kidney stones instead of removing the kidney...same 70k price though.
a few months later.....complications again from kidney stones, no scene, he tell her he will only charge her 60k this time to remove the kidney.

ALWAYS get a 2nd and 3rd opinion, never listen to ONE doctor alone.
the doctor who graduate 1st and the doctor who graduate last in their class are still all called doctors.
Last edited by Chimera on October 15th, 2018, 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:20 am

ismithx wrote:
kstt wrote:Worse condition than what? Death?

Left untreated cancer will kill you....

Lack of medications I speaking from personal first hand experience. Doctors experimenting on you like a lab rat I speaking from experience. Should he start and realise I was right? Then what? The damage has been done. Does he start and stop because he already in it?
For many cancers there is a clearly define regimen of treatment that is applied. if you have some extreme/non/standard/special case then basically yes you will HAVE to feel like a lab rat. this is simply how it is, there may not be a clearly defined treatment for your condition.

my experience also tells me it is not as bad as you make it out to be.

Ask anyone who going chemo if they would recommend it. They will tell you they in a "worse condition than before"

it is not pleasant but would you rather not properly treat your condition???? every single medicine has side effects

How many survivors from chemo do you know vs dead ppl?

there are lots of people who go through chemo and survive. for those who may have done chemo and died, who is to say the cancer won't have eventually killed them?

Chemo makes you lose control of your bodily functions. You sheit yourself cause u can't control yourself. That's why I said get a caretaker for help.

there are many different combinations of drugs used and not all of them has the same side effects

God forbid but I rather die slowly and capable rather than die faster.

that is not a guaranteed. good luck with that attitude, some people would rather go through treatment and get better/have a fighting chance than be a defeatist

I personally know a person that passed that warned another person about chemo but the person wanted to try even though warned my the person. The person eventually said they regretted they didn't take the advice but tried because they felt they had to do something. Yes the second person is in the same place as the first.

Fact remains it damages ALL organs! Didn't see you comment on that at all.
I clearly said it is bad, but at the end of the day chemo isn't pseudoscience.

but all of this...
are you a qualified medical doctor to be telling people yes or no to any specific treatment?

Maybe you are. Never met a poor doctor or pharmaceutical company. Just like crime, it's a business!
Just like the pastors that heal sickness in church but not in a hospital. Maybe doctors should work for free or a stipend. What makes a doctor choose one medication over another? Pharmaceutical companies. Profits that are passed on.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:23 am

maj. tom wrote:hmm real dilemma here... should I listen to a medical specialist who has studied more than 10 years and has 25 years clinical experience, or a YouTube information conspiracy theorist? Real hard choices here.

Also, do you know that if a doctor does not do his duty that is on par with peer medical practices and current treatments he will be black-marked for malpractice? The choice is yours as a patient to take the advice or treatment, but the doctor has a duty to society that is way beyond what you want imagine. And even if he does know something better, that personal research and experience may not be tested and approved. So if he tells you do something that is not currently recognized in medical schools, he has the liability of malpractice when the patient testifies against him in court.

:lol: :lol: :lol: @malpractice

Could you list 5 cases here? How about 1? Doctors don't give evidence against each other. Once it was attempted and the doctor was killed. The man who lost his pregnant wife and now minds the baby and his kids had to drop his strong case because he couldn't get a doctor to testify.

Malpractice lol lol lol

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:27 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:that chemo thing is complicated.......its a very hard decision to make

chemo does firetruck u up.....but sometimes it also makes you live longer

but the person or family is faced with the decision on if living longer with failing organs is worth it, or if they should try to live up their life as much as possible without the chemo. cuz the chemo does really firetruck yuh up

not getting the chemo on time is a next scene

it IS true what they say that in st james they regularly just cancelling sessions because they dont have chemicals or they dont have a pharmacist to mix the chemicals.....

my relative had to go st james AND grande for treatment, at certain points neither of them have the chemicals or pharmacist or whatever

so imagine the flabbergastery where you start chemo, your body weakened due to taking the chemo, the cancer attacking harder cuz your body weak.....and you cant get chemo for a 2-3 weeks because chemicals done, or you could jump out a 10k+ for a single course

it really is a dred situation to be in, and when you experience it, it REAL difficult to make decisions

i know someone who was diagnosed with cancer, he decide he going the Ganja route, refuse to take chemo or meds, and he deteriorate and die within 2 months of getting diagnosed.

but cancer different...and everybody different......

Doh study the tuner doctor. He spreading the fairy tale of our perfect healthcare system he get paid by the government and chemo company to spread while he passes you waiting on a hospital bench for weeks for the same medicine while he drives past I his benz

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:32 am

Apparently the tuner doc doesn't know what happens outside his bubble. Because I am not the only one who experienced it. But then again what is another life when u get a big fat cheque and business for the pharmaceutical companies the end of the day by giving ppl false hope then tell their family "they travelling"

Postby Chimera » October 15th, 2018, 10:33 am

http://www4.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-11 ... %99s-death

she takes 13 years to get justice, but she have plenty money and could afford to pay high priced lawyers

most of us can't afford justice in Trinidad.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:34 am

And elite in society

Postby ismithx » October 15th, 2018, 11:03 am

Not all doctors perfect, I would never say that, but then again would you rather trust someone who studied a field for many years or an armchair expert?

Boy Rock so with your misleading advice, that is not a joke because people does blank treatment and end up deading.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » October 15th, 2018, 11:08 am

Ppl please don't turn the thread into a pissing contest! Some have offered helpful advice and I really appreciate it. To the rest who wanna play Dr. Please gtfo! Thanks.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 15th, 2018, 1:51 pm

ismithx wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Hope things turn out well for your family OP. I heard recently that a 72hr fast (water only for 72 hours) prior to chemotherapy sessions is supposed to increase the effectiveness of the sessions and help limit damage to healthy cells as it forces living cells in the body to protect itself, which cancer cells cannot do. There should be some studies on it. Just something you may be interested in reading up on. I am not a professional in the area so do not take my word for it.

that is a bad idea, during chemo you will need to have you are going to have issues eating, so getting adequate nutrition is important
Extreme caution should be exercised if considering it as you are correct about malnutrition being a major concern. It will have to be done under the care of a qualified professional that is familiar with the practice.

I just know how it is to have a sick loved one. Sometimes you just want to know what alternatives are out there; good/ bad and proven/unproven.

There is a study currently being done regarding fasting before chemo but the estimated completion of the study is August next year
https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT01175837

A quick google search would show lots of good arguments for and against it. All I am saying is that it may be worth taking a look at.

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2018, 1:56 pm

this ched taking a dangerous turn with ppl advising to drop chemo in favour of changing your diet
Untreated cancer + healthy diet will fkung kill you
People assume that because chemo won't save 100% of cancer sufferers, it kills those who don't survive the therapy
THIS is what happens when you put your faith in david fkuning avocado wolfe and gwyneth fking paltrow
You natural cure asshats need to shove a couple gallons of coffee up your bungholes and log off the internet

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 15th, 2018, 2:11 pm

Got to be careful when sorting all the pseudo science from real medical advice in the thread

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2018, 2:53 pm

novastar1 wrote:Got to be careful when sorting all the pseudo science from real medical advice in the thread

nah man, either put zabooka in yuh name, or be a mediocre celebrity, and you have instant credibility

Postby aaron17 » October 15th, 2018, 3:14 pm

Do weed and ganga really help for cancer patients?

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2018, 3:17 pm

aaron17 wrote:Do weed and ganga really help for cancer patients?

as with every cancer treatment, it depends on the type of cancer, stage, and how it's administered...there's lots of research out there on it, and it's mostly positive

Postby aaron17 » October 15th, 2018, 3:19 pm

So u have to go away to use it of the limitations here?

Postby MG Man » October 15th, 2018, 3:22 pm

aaron17 wrote:So u have to go away to use it of the limitations here?

just do it on the down-low
but I don't think canabis therapy is a replacement for chemo or radiation tho...just one additional treatment

Postby maj. tom » October 15th, 2018, 3:22 pm

yes, because the medical board probably won't take action on using it as a treatment until it's legalized here. Good news is that it's legal across Canada from this Wed 17th October. And there's a lot of research done there on it.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 15th, 2018, 3:42 pm

aaron17 wrote:So u have to go away to use it of the limitations here?

just do it on the down-low
but I don't think canabis therapy is a replacement for chemo or radiation tho...just one additional treatment

I think one of the benefits is that it helps with apetite which is important.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 15th, 2018, 6:00 pm

aaron17 wrote:Do weed and ganga really help for cancer patients?
helps with cancer related pain and nausea
It's already used for this in first world countries

Supposed to be safer to use than opiods

Edit : medical marijuana is a different variety of the plant than the recreational one

dregz

Postby dregz » October 15th, 2018, 8:34 pm

kstt et al please read the following articles:

I have hundreds more, until you have studied surgical oncology and understand the principles involved, doh talk trash.

Give good advice, support the man buh doh tell the man about things you have no real knowledge about.

I am a doctor. We practice evidence based medicine.

Stop with yuh melodramatics and try to help the man or get yuh ignorant kant out.

Thanks.

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/N ... 4213301608

Cited 504 times

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=e ... YUSjOMkU0J

https://scholar.google.com/scholar?hl=e ... vQHuNoqMkJ

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/N ... 3153441101

Cited more than 1000 times

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 15th, 2018, 8:43 pm

Alternative treatment tuners should have a look at this as well
Sadly this is pretty popular in Trinidad

https://www.newscientist.com/article/21 ... -of-death/

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2018, 9:11 pm

So Trevor Sayers have no merit ?

dregz

Postby dregz » October 15th, 2018, 9:19 pm

pugboy wrote:So Trevor Sayers have no merit ?

His new video on how to prevent breast cancer is interesting.

And I still hada try to spray some bop in meh eye and see if I could see after

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 9:56 pm

I stopped when op requested. But I see my name calling. I said I WOULD NOT do chemo. I said a former patient warned about chemo. I said cut sugar, make the body alkaline, try ganja oil.

Doctor could you confirm whether good organs are damaged with chemo? What happens to your kidneys?

Why would I want to treat one issue and get more issues?

It's like the tv ads for depression medication ythe ad lists the rest of the commercial with symptoms while you try to treat your depression.

Doctor, does doing chemo make you sheit yourself? Vomit? Sick until your next treatment when u start to feel better to start all over again?

dregz

Postby dregz » October 15th, 2018, 10:28 pm

kstt wrote:I stopped when op requested. But I see my name calling. I said I WOULD NOT do chemo. I said a former patient warned about chemo. I said cut sugar, make the body alkaline, try ganja oil.

Doctor could you confirm whether good organs are damaged with chemo? What happens to your kidneys?

Why would I want to treat one issue and get more issues?

It's like the tv ads for depression medication ythe ad lists the rest of the commercial with symptoms while you try to treat your depression.

Doctor, does doing chemo make you sheit yourself? Vomit? Sick until your next treatment when u start to feel better to start all over again?

I sent a few references in my response, take some time to read them, they would answer some of your questions.

Chemotherapy, radiotherapy and endocrine therapy are decided upon by risks vs benefits, as such, treatment regimes would differ from one patient to the other.

And as someone who is living with a cancer survivor, yes chemo is hard but if you are treated, you may be around to enjoy the things you worked hard for.

So while you see one side of this, many people see the benefits of being treated with scientifically proven treatments.

Since you decided to stop earlier and I call yuh out, I'm sorry, you can go back to being quiet as you were.

Respectfully,
Dregz

dregz

Postby dregz » October 15th, 2018, 10:34 pm

kstt wrote:Don't do chemo it mashes u up. Any one doing it would adviss you not to. It destroys everything including good organs. More reason not to do chemo is that the hospitals never have the medicine so you get one week then the next you don't then u get 2 weeks later so its spinning top in mud because it is not effective. ganja oil is what you have to get. Very traumatic experience. Get a caretaker from day one cause you will need the help.

And btw, you didn't say you wouldn't do chemo, you gave advice to not do chemo and use ganja oil instead.

As I said, I am sorry for calling you out of your silence.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 15th, 2018, 10:36 pm

Ganja has very good benefits when it comes to treating cancer it is well documented within the scientific community.

Assuming this is a civilized country then it shouldn't be an issue to acquire marijuana with a doctor's prescription as you can in many civilized and progressive first world countries. We are also supposed to be growing it locally from what I was told, the local version has low THC% which would be good since you aren't really concerned about the high from the THC but the medicinal part.

You would still get a lil high though but that isn't even a bad thing. Still better and safer than getting drunk from rum which for whatever bizarre reason Trinis have no issues with but always quick to trash talk weed even though no weed man never chop up he wife.