Cancer treatment

Galvatron

Cancer treatment

Postby Galvatron » October 14th, 2018, 1:43 am

Family member has recently been diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. Can anyone with experience with this traumatic event, share info on treatment, hospitals, costs, etc?

hong kong phooey

Re: Cancer treatment

Postby hong kong phooey » October 14th, 2018, 2:26 am

Sorry to hear
Stage 4 cancer is very serious
Chemo was performed at sando hospital ( well down the hill from sando hospital where you give blood) and then in the US
Survived the time doctors gave.
Most important thing is not to give up. I know people who have survived stage 4 for years.

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2018, 5:47 am

Try to get registered into the caura hospice for when that time comes. It much better than the others i see. And wha i guh say...it real real traumatic. Relative does deterioate in front your eyes. The morphine helps alot with the pain ...we use to be given large bottles to bring home to administer ourselves. Because whats the point of having the pain if it have medicine to curb it. Good luck.

That aside....i know people gone for treatment in canadian hospitals and survive years and years extra.

Local doctors in st James was playing god with my relative. One put him on chemo...one decide chemo cant help....one do surgery....one decide the surgery was a waste of time and they cant help him.....

Postby Dizzy28 » October 14th, 2018, 8:55 am

My dad is currently doing his 3rd treatment for what was initially diagnosed as Stage 3 non small cell lung carcinoma in 2016. Apart from that he did one radiation treatment in 2016 into 2017. We go St James for the oncology services and well he sees a Thoraic specialist in Mt Hope as well.

Cost wise mostly everything is free. However earlier this year the ministry ran out of chemo drugs and we had to buy the chemo at approx 10k per single day treatment . We also periodically pay for scans when the hospital has long wait times. As Phone Surgeon says Caura is a very useful place to go. My dad has sessions there once a month or so for the mental side of things.

This thing is just such a beast. Every time you get positive news it seems double negatives hit you right after. However emotional support is critical.

Essentially live life to the fullest with the person.

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2018, 8:57 am

Make sure and get registered with caura early....cuz the time will come when you need to take your relative there. Caura nice and clean and peaceful......

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 14th, 2018, 9:05 am

There are 3 public adult treatment centers : St James , San Fernando and Sangre Grande hospital

Get registered at the one closest to you asap

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2018, 9:08 am

st james cancer center is not bad, friend's wife also had stage 4 stomach/midsection
however they went private by a top cancer guy initially
only to find out after $300k that he was also the head of the st james clinic and then he told them they could go there
and get the remaining treatment for free......

the chemo cleared it up but a couple years later a scan showed a tiny reoccurrence in the stomach so they cut that out and
she did another bunch of chemo, she seems ok now.

the strategy is usually similar for stage 4
- chemo and or radiation to aggressively shutdown and shrink the cancer areas
- possible surgery to remove any remaining cancer site
- scans every year or so watch for any reoccurrence

chemo affects everybody differently and is also dependent on the choice of drug used
my friend's wife had pretty bad reactions, would take a month to catch back as it weakens you
and often the next dose had to be postponed until her blood numbers were up.
whilst I know somebody else who has not had any weakening effect nor hair loss.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » October 14th, 2018, 12:34 pm

My dad would have begun treatment had he not passed away Friday. I have my regrets for not being as close as I should have. That's just something I have to live with.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » October 14th, 2018, 12:35 pm

My dad would have begun treatment had he not passed away Friday. I have my regrets for not being as close as I should have. That's just something I have to live with.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » October 14th, 2018, 1:00 pm

What's the reason for registering at Caura?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 14th, 2018, 1:22 pm

Galvatron wrote:What's the reason for registering at Caura?
Caura has the palliative care unit. They try to make the quality of life better for the patient. It is very useful

Postby Dizzy28 » October 14th, 2018, 1:23 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:My dad would have begun treatment had he not passed away Friday. I have my regrets for not being as close as I should have. That's just something I have to live with.
Condolences Lalloboy!

Postby Chimera » October 14th, 2018, 5:37 pm

Yup the palliative section there is nice. Could wheel out the whole bed into the garden/small pond area in the back when the stage reaches that the patient cant come off the bed....

Postby rspann » October 14th, 2018, 5:49 pm

If anyone needs a word with the chief in st james, pm.

ElSoc

Postby ElSoc » October 14th, 2018, 7:03 pm

A family member had stage 4 cancer and while the prognosis varies with each cancer it isnt a death sentence. It's more of a wake up call to change things healthwise. How much rest is the person getting, are they under a lot of stress, what is their diet like? How much excercise... My family member changed these aspects of their life and lo and behold things got better.

I know this may not what you want to hear or it isn't the general trend of thinking in Trinidad or the world as a whole but after seeing countless family friends pass away doing things the conventional way the person in my fam is alive and well. To the point where the cancer which had spread to the bones is no longer there.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 14th, 2018, 7:58 pm

Quality of life is the key thing to consider. Cancer treatment will absolutely take away quality of life. Chemo and radiation are archaic treatments, however, that's what's available today.

If your relative has decent quality of life as is, he/she may want to consider skipping treatment depending on the projections for life expectancy with and without the treatment.

Also keep in mind, women tend to fight more to survive these things than men.

As some folks mentioned, lifestyle changes help greatly. Diet needs to be monitored and changed, stress needs to be removed. Keep the criers (guests who cry and make everyone sick and cry-is) and negative folks away, it helps.
Cut out the chicken, sugar, simple carbs, increase vitamin c intake hugely(small doses throughout the day are ideal as you'll just pass out what isn't used)

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 14th, 2018, 11:13 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:My dad would have begun treatment had he not passed away Friday. I have my regrets for not being as close as I should have. That's just something I have to live with.

Sorry to hear , RIP. Condolences to you and your family.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » October 15th, 2018, 5:43 am

Thanks guys

Postby Chimera » October 15th, 2018, 5:47 am

Yeaaa boy. Them annoying family who does just come and say how yuh looking bad and thin and yuh face sink in bla bla bla...if u know that's how they talk, ban them from seeing your relative. Let them hull dey BUGWAAANAAA if their feelings hurt....outright tell them they not allowed to visit

Postby Team Loco » October 15th, 2018, 6:18 am

My dad was diagnosed with bladder cancer stage 2 -5 yrs ago. He was age 65. He is now cancer free since we shipped him out to new york to Memorial Sloan Kettering hospital. The quality of care there is like waw. It is expensive of course but was well worth it.

Postby Kenjo » October 15th, 2018, 7:13 am

Team Loco wrote:My dad was diagnosed with bladder cancer stage 2 -5 yrs ago. He was age 65. He is now cancer free since we shipped him out to new york to Memorial Sloan Kettering hospital. The quality of care there is like waw. It is expensive of course but was well worth it.

What treatment did they do for him ? MSK is probably the best anyone could get but the costs are remarkable and they may have invited him to do newer experimental treatment. Note that bladder cancer is different when picked up early and has a high recurrence rate that needs monitoring but a favorable prognosis once picked up early

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 7:24 am

Don't do chemo it mashes u up. Any one doing it would adviss you not to. It destroys everything including good organs. More reason not to do chemo is that the hospitals never have the medicine so you get one week then the next you don't then u get 2 weeks later so its spinning top in mud because it is not effective. ganja oil is what you have to get. Very traumatic experience. Get a caretaker from day one cause you will need the help.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 15th, 2018, 7:46 am

Condolences bro.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 7:54 am

I think cutting out sugar and keeping the body alkaline is important. Eating(crushing) seeds fights cancer as well. Almonds, watermelon seeds, paw paw seeds, etc.

Postby ismithx » October 15th, 2018, 9:24 am

kstt wrote:Don't do chemo it mashes u up. Any one doing it would adviss you not to. It destroys everything including good organs. More reason not to do chemo is that the hospitals never have the medicine so you get one week then the next you don't then u get 2 weeks later so its spinning top in mud because it is not effective. ganja oil is what you have to get. Very traumatic experience. Get a caretaker from day one cause you will need the help.

yeah but chemo has been scientifically tested and investigated and documented. It is bad yes but it is better you go with that than try to do some 'alternative' treatment that hasn't been investigated or researched, and end up in a worse condition than before.

kindly UDFR with your garbage advice.

also the hospitals never having the medicine is false. yes there may be shortages in rare cases but it is not like you are making it out to be

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 9:36 am

Worse condition than what? Death?

Lack of medications I speaking from personal first hand experience. Doctors experimenting on you like a lab rat I speaking from experience. Should he start and realise I was right? Then what? The damage has been done. Does he start and stop because he already in it?

Ask anyone who going chemo if they would recommend it. They will tell you they in a "worse condition than before"

How many survivors from chemo do you know vs dead ppl?

Chemo makes you lose control of your bodily functions. You sheit yourself cause u can't control yourself. That's why I said get a caretaker for help.

God forbid but I rather die slowly and capable rather than die faster.

I personally know a person that passed that warned another person about chemo but the person wanted to try even though warned my the person. The person eventually said they regretted they didn't take the advice but tried because they felt they had to do something. Yes the second person is in the same place as the first.

Fact remains it damages ALL organs! Didn't see you comment on that at all.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 15th, 2018, 9:53 am

Hope things turn out well for your family OP. I heard recently that a 72hr fast (water only for 72 hours) prior to chemotherapy sessions is supposed to increase the effectiveness of the sessions and help limit damage to healthy cells as it forces living cells in the body to protect itself, which cancer cells cannot do. There should be some studies on it. Just something you may be interested in reading up on. I am not a professional in the area so do not take my word for it.

Postby ismithx » October 15th, 2018, 10:00 am

kstt wrote:Worse condition than what? Death?

Left untreated cancer will kill you....

Lack of medications I speaking from personal first hand experience. Doctors experimenting on you like a lab rat I speaking from experience. Should he start and realise I was right? Then what? The damage has been done. Does he start and stop because he already in it?
For many cancers there is a clearly define regimen of treatment that is applied. if you have some extreme/non/standard/special case then basically yes you will HAVE to feel like a lab rat. this is simply how it is, there may not be a clearly defined treatment for your condition.

my experience also tells me it is not as bad as you make it out to be.

Ask anyone who going chemo if they would recommend it. They will tell you they in a "worse condition than before"

it is not pleasant but would you rather not properly treat your condition???? every single medicine has side effects

How many survivors from chemo do you know vs dead ppl?

there are lots of people who go through chemo and survive. for those who may have done chemo and died, who is to say the cancer won't have eventually killed them?

Chemo makes you lose control of your bodily functions. You sheit yourself cause u can't control yourself. That's why I said get a caretaker for help.

there are many different combinations of drugs used and not all of them has the same side effects

God forbid but I rather die slowly and capable rather than die faster.

that is not a guaranteed. good luck with that attitude, some people would rather go through treatment and get better/have a fighting chance than be a defeatist

I personally know a person that passed that warned another person about chemo but the person wanted to try even though warned my the person. The person eventually said they regretted they didn't take the advice but tried because they felt they had to do something. Yes the second person is in the same place as the first.

Fact remains it damages ALL organs! Didn't see you comment on that at all.
I clearly said it is bad, but at the end of the day chemo isn't pseudoscience.

but all of this...
are you a qualified medical doctor to be telling people yes or no to any specific treatment?

Postby ismithx » October 15th, 2018, 10:02 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Hope things turn out well for your family OP. I heard recently that a 72hr fast (water only for 72 hours) prior to chemotherapy sessions is supposed to increase the effectiveness of the sessions and help limit damage to healthy cells as it forces living cells in the body to protect itself, which cancer cells cannot do. There should be some studies on it. Just something you may be interested in reading up on. I am not a professional in the area so do not take my word for it.

that is a bad idea, during chemo you will need to have you are going to have issues eating, so getting adequate nutrition is important

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:03 am

ismithx wrote:
kstt wrote:Don't do chemo it mashes u up. Any one doing it would adviss you not to. It destroys everything including good organs. More reason not to do chemo is that the hospitals never have the medicine so you get one week then the next you don't then u get 2 weeks later so its spinning top in mud because it is not effective. ganja oil is what you have to get. Very traumatic experience. Get a caretaker from day one cause you will need the help.

yeah but chemo has been scientifically tested and investigated and documented. It is bad yes but it is better you go with that than try to do some 'alternative' treatment that hasn't been investigated or researched, and end up in a worse condition than before.

kindly UDFR with your garbage advice.

also the hospitals never having the medicine is false. yes there may be shortages in rare cases but it is not like you are making it out to be

The same which was said against marijuana use. Look where it has taken us after so many deaths.

What do you have to lose? Life?