Dirty tap water

Postby redmanjp » October 23rd, 2018, 10:33 pm

So WASA says all tap water is safe for use.

Tap water in Cleaver Heights Arima. Good thing I turned off the inlet valve to the tank. Check your water supply.

20181023_222455.jpg
Dirty water
20181023_222604.jpg
Dirty water

Re: Dirty tap water

Postby redmanjp » October 23rd, 2018, 10:45 pm

Either i let it run and don't allow the tank to fill tonight which means tank will be quite low until next time or turn the inlet on and enjoy some brown water for a few days.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 24th, 2018, 4:18 am

that's normal colour down south most times when people get water after it been off for a while .

Postby goalpost » October 24th, 2018, 8:00 am

Was getting that same colour on Saturday when water came. Opted not to fill tanks. However, same colour yesterday, but had to fill the tanks.

Doesn't look like it would be unsafe tho.

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » October 24th, 2018, 8:14 am

Ever considered a filter and water tester?

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » October 24th, 2018, 8:21 am

Wait people actually drink wasa water? :shock:

Postby maj. tom » October 24th, 2018, 8:22 am

It's likely just a filtering issue, but already sanitized from the WASA station. But the authorities are saying to boil or bleach the drinking water after a flood anyway.

You could let the tank fill up, close it off and then stir in the bleach and let stand for 30 mins.
A 400 gal tank will take 4000 drops of bleach = 200 ml. A more practical and safer solution would be to just do this for drinking water with a large bucket or container.
Use this calculator to determine how much bleach you need.
http://www.csgnetwork.com/h2oemergencypurifycalc.html

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 24th, 2018, 8:43 am

l33t2 wrote:Wait people actually drink wasa water? :shock:

yes i drink it, i dont spend money on bottled water. i am paying for water which should be drinkable . Most bottled water is wasa water which they just filtered

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 24th, 2018, 8:58 am

I drink wasa water as long as it clear.
I usually skip the free mauby

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2018, 9:14 am

Wasa water is actually way better than every single bottle water it have out there

Postby Ben_spanna » October 24th, 2018, 9:24 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Wasa water is actually way better than every single bottle water it have out there

:lol: :lol: I can tell you have been drinking wasa water ! would have to be to believe something like that. :lol: :lol:

Postby 88sins » October 24th, 2018, 9:36 am

WASA, proudly & reliably providing citizens with the RDA of rust, silt, sludge and only God knows what else. Good thing I had the presence of mind to install multiple filters on my water lines.

Btw, if u plan on drinking that I strongly recommend you stock up on tp, 3 bales ought to do it.

Postby tr1ad » October 24th, 2018, 9:39 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

yes i drink it, i dont spend money on bottled water. i am paying for water which should be drinkable . Most bottled water is wasa water which they just filtered

so it not from spring up mt hololo?!?!!?!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 24th, 2018, 10:06 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

:lol: :lol: I can tell you have been drinking wasa water ! would have to be to believe something like that. :lol: :lol:

me a shame to say it :D I doh ever buy bottle water for home use

Postby hydroep » October 24th, 2018, 10:18 am

Some people doing like they never drink tap water in school, and survived. To this day that is some of the sweetest water I ever taste.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » October 25th, 2018, 3:06 pm

Ignorance will always be prevalent with some people. More so in Trinidadians.

After every major disruption, WASA does always advise that discoloration and odor will occur and to allow 24-48 hours normalcy in the water schedules and color to return.. This is so that they can do flushing of the mains etc.

They even go a step further to advise people to contact them after, so that they can address and if needs be test.

But we rather run on social media as soon as water comes back to say the water brown.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 25th, 2018, 4:58 pm

That's nothing that a $200 10micron carbon filter can't fix. If you still iffy about drinking tap water just buy a brita filter mug.

Ever wonder who monitors the quality of bottled water?... me to...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2018, 6:08 pm

Show me a bottled water that has a ph test showing neutral results...most bottled water is acidic, hence wasa is greater than all

Postby maj. tom » October 25th, 2018, 6:23 pm

What people don't get is the amount of plastic pollution bottled water produces. It's not just the consumer's fault. The manufacturers really have nothing in place locally to encourage customers to reduce their waste. This is one of the biggest problems Trinidad faces but people don't realize it because it's not an issue that directly affects everyone... for now.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 25th, 2018, 6:35 pm

maj. tom wrote:What people don't get is the amount of plastic pollution bottled water produces. It's not just the consumer's fault. The manufacturers really have nothing in place locally to encourage customers to reduce their waste. This is one of the biggest problems Trinidad faces but people don't realize it because it's not an issue that directly affects everyone... for now.

While I agree that there are few to no incentives for reducing waste in TnT, it should also come down to individuals to reduce their waste on a personal level. For instance, if you pony up and spend $30-50+ on a good rubbermaid bottle, it has little to no use for buying bottled water, unless its for guests at your house.
When I go to the gym, every single time it does have men buying a $10 bottled water at the reception area, rather than just filling up at home/work and coming to the gym with one, and it pitching away an hour later.

Reduce, reuse, recycle. We tired hear it, but never listen to it.

Postby maj. tom » October 25th, 2018, 6:52 pm

You preaching to the converted. I bought a CamelBak Chute which has a lifetime warranty. I expect it to last at least 2 years with the proper care. I get up to 4 L per day in refills from the tap. Still alive, no Cholera episodes from drinking WASA water to date. There have been no cases of heavy metal poisoning from drinking tap water in Trinidad. If people find their water is too dirty, they could easily buy a quality water filter on the tap and save so much money in 1 year compared to bottled water. They could also place a filter from the tank to the pump.

The only reason I could see you buying bottled water is if you don't have a regular supply at home, or currently on the road without access to tap water. Of course if your water is anything like in Flint, MI it's valid too.

Postby sMASH » October 25th, 2018, 8:22 pm

WASA, grew up on dat crap..

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2018, 5:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:You preaching to the converted. I bought a CamelBak Chute which has a lifetime warranty. I expect it to last at least 2 years with the proper care. I get up to 4 L per day in refills from the tap. Still alive, no Cholera episodes from drinking WASA water to date. There have been no cases of heavy metal poisoning from drinking tap water in Trinidad. If people find their water is too dirty, they could easily buy a quality water filter on the tap and save so much money in 1 year compared to bottled water. They could also place a filter from the tank to the pump.

The only reason I could see you buying bottled water is if you don't have a regular supply at home, or currently on the road without access to tap water. Of course if your water is anything like in Flint, MI it's valid too.

primarily because we've never had a supply network that was made up of lead and copper pipes.

I does tell ppl, nuttn inherently deadly or wrong with WASA water, but its only problems is either it's insufficient or noticeably discolored. can't do squat about the first, but theres plenty ways to remedy the second.

Postby De Dragon » October 26th, 2018, 10:57 pm

Adding Puncheon has been shown to decrease microbes in WASA water.

Postby wagonrunner » October 27th, 2018, 6:07 pm

tr1ad wrote:so it not from spring up mt hololo?!?!!?!
when yuh so badmind yuh name the brand after your opinion of your clients.
read from right to left.

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2018, 3:49 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Show me a bottled water that has a ph test showing neutral results...most bottled water is acidic, hence wasa is greater than all

bought an alkaline bottle of water yesterday

Postby RedVEVO » October 28th, 2018, 9:59 pm

Just install a filter - on your inline

It take about 20 mins tops to install .

Postby redmanjp » October 29th, 2018, 2:45 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Just install a filter - on your inline

The main supply? What's the cost of a replacement filter and how often do you need to change it?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2018, 3:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Show me a bottled water that has a ph test showing neutral results...most bottled water is acidic, hence wasa is greater than all

bought an alkaline bottle of water yesterday

figi or voss :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » October 29th, 2018, 4:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:Just install a filter - on your inline

The main supply? What's the cost of a replacement filter and how often do you need to change it?
Yes
On the main supply

You just need the filter assembly and you just install it midway along the in line.
Very straight forward.
Filter options are charcoal in varying microns.
There are some string type filters which work great and even big mesh washable filters