Republic Bank Sends Loan Offer to Deceased Customer

wickedtuna

Republic Bank Sends Loan Offer to Deceased Customer

Postby wickedtuna » November 8th, 2018, 4:27 pm

Republic Bank has come under fire for sending a loan offer to a deceased customer of theirs.

The customer's daughter posted a photo to Facebook, showing the offer that's captioned "2019 looks bright for you!".

The Facebook post made the rounds with other platform users berating the bank for the move. Most have labelled it as insensitive and disrespectful to the family. Others have shared experiences of similar happening to them by other financial institutions.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/repub ... 4ad61.html

wickedtuna

Re: Republic Bank Sends Loan Offer to Deceased Customer | Local News | tv6tnt.com

Postby wickedtuna » November 8th, 2018, 5:52 pm

IMG-20181108-WA0016.jpeg

Soul Collector

Re: Republic Bank Sends Loan Offer to Deceased Customer

Postby Soul Collector » November 8th, 2018, 6:43 pm

Republic bank could seriously haul dey mc. They are disgusting to deal with.

rebound

Postby rebound » November 8th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Its computer generated tho.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 8th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Whoever managing their database going to get a swift kick in the ass yes.

And the thing is, it would probably take less than a minute to write in a rule along the lines of: if customer is deceased, do not generate promo code.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 8th, 2018, 7:25 pm

I guess this loan is not null and void if u die

Postby matr1x » November 8th, 2018, 7:35 pm

Republic bank: the official bank of the zombie apocalypse

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2018, 7:54 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Whoever managing their database going to get a swift kick in the ass yes.

And the thing is, it would probably take less than a minute to write in a rule along the lines of: if customer is deceased, do not generate promo code.

DB management have nothing to do with poor business logic.
Whoever approve the code to generate the customer licks made the snafu. Unless is a junior developer who just drop a literal interpretation of "customer list" into his code.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 8th, 2018, 7:58 pm

I wanted to say ppl bearing up over nothing cuz republic bank probably didnt know the person was dead but.... wow.... :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2018, 12:13 am

Republic .. back on the home front ... however has the lowest fees .

And you still have to take off your hat as you enter .

Hence give them a bligh .

RedVEVO approved.

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2018, 12:49 am

de fracking data base has flora as deceased!!!! its just that it remained in the customer group, and was auto generated.
while kicksy, its insensitive to the family that has to receive and read it.

anyhow;

republic bank; lowest rates... dead serious.

Postby shogun » November 9th, 2018, 1:11 am

Republic Bank - Keeping you fly even in the afterlife.

That's messed up though. Definitely not the PR optics they need.

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2018, 1:51 am

The man is dead.
He walked into the light.
2019 musbe brighter.

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » November 9th, 2018, 2:41 am

Republic Bank is a disgusting bank. Had a spat with a really disrespectful compliance officer. I am not surprised this happened because they aren't on the ball

Sent from my H1611 using Tapatalk

Postby stev » November 9th, 2018, 2:43 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Whoever managing their database going to get a swift kick in the ass yes.

most likely an SQL command -> mail merge.....probably an IT person who is not a proper DBA...

why pay for a proper DBA when u can get scripts done using young IT Techs?

dont blame IT...blame the bastards who didnt even check what they put in an envelope...those are the real zombies...or probably 'interns'...

Postby aaron17 » November 9th, 2018, 4:31 am

Hmm sounds like corruption.

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2018, 7:12 am

nah, doh blame the envelope people, they just get paid to fold, insert, lick, stick. cyar read all those letters. the person who didnt code to , or didnt instruct to code to move deceased to an inactive group or to exclude deceased from this activity... that person who did not cater for that

Postby hydroep » November 9th, 2018, 7:23 am

Well yes. If they could "make a mistake" with something like this just imagine what other foolishness could be going on in there...:|

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2018, 7:43 am

why is this a big deal again..it eh like RBL went to court to defend the man.

Postby maj. tom » November 9th, 2018, 8:01 am

These things are fully automated processes. And it's likely that a machine also does the letter folding, insertion and envelope sealing. We're living in 2018 folks. There's literally an app for that.

It's a distasteful shortcut that the programmer took without considering the human factors of the entire system. That's poor programming. Anyone can learn to code, but to make a great system/app you have to consider all the weird variables that human interactions have within the system.

There are jobs that will be available in 10 or 20 years that don't even exist today based on things like that.

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2018, 8:13 am

Republic is the BEST of all the Banks in TT

Lowest fees, and courtesy loans and hot girls but no coffee .

RBC give you coffee and tea while you wait to be attended .

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » November 9th, 2018, 8:19 am

Soul Collector wrote:Republic bank could seriously haul dey mc. They are disgusting to deal with.
Well said

Sent from my ANE-LX3 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2018, 8:47 am

Republic also gives you the BEST rate on a CC.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » November 9th, 2018, 10:39 am

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » November 9th, 2018, 10:39 am

RedVEVO wrote:Republic is the BEST of all the Banks in TT

rebound

Postby rebound » November 9th, 2018, 11:29 am

Because you have to wait long there for sure..

Postby Dizzy28 » November 9th, 2018, 11:41 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

Republic .. back on the home front ... however has the lowest fees .

And you still have to take off your hat as you enter .

Hence give them a bligh .

RedVEVO approved.

No fees is better than lowest fees and I pay no fees at FCB.

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2018, 11:43 am

Getting that in guides funeral service too...

Postby skylinechild » November 9th, 2018, 11:51 am

stev wrote:

most likely an SQL command -> mail merge.....probably an IT person who is not a proper DBA...

why pay for a proper DBA when u can get scripts done using young IT Techs?

dont blame IT...blame the bastards who didnt even check what they put in an envelope...those are the real zombies...or probably 'interns'...

stev there are machines that fold and insert the letters into the envelopes....

the letters are printed in order... then their addresses in the same order on a label stamp.
the same machine that does the folding and inserting does the labelling.

and dont blame "interns" you get what you pay for. if you paying ppl to fold an insert (in this day and age) then thats what you get.

if you pay someone to ensure whats printed is correct... thats another job..

Postby teems1 » November 9th, 2018, 1:41 pm

This appears to be a data issue. The programmer probably built the letter correctly.

Dear firstname lastname.

Putting deceased in the person's last name is an ineffecient method of recording clients who have passed.

Surely there would also be a boolean field to indicate if the person has died which needs to be updated when the last name is.