Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

Re: Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 13th, 2018, 3:25 pm

timelapse wrote:Social Justice supersedes the law of the land, we are in 2018.Lets organise a football match on the highway and get a police escort.Makes all the sense in the world, we have a right to play football on the highway.If you do not support this, you are a bigot oppressing the football community of this country. Anybody want to play?

I could lend my cooler but I rather watch the game from the stands.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » November 13th, 2018, 3:28 pm

kamakazi wrote:The activity is considered illegal unless permission is given... But they had a police escort, so I believe that permission was granted for this.

lol lol lol wut!?

Anyways...never witnessed cycling on highways whenever I go foreign, so its clear we backward. /sarcasm

Postby SMc » November 13th, 2018, 3:32 pm

^^ What is that statement about?

- The cyclists were within their legal right to be travelling down the 'highway' in the manner they were

- The driver that caused the death of 2 of them may or may not have been driving irresponsible, its not down to us to judge.

- if were pedestrians mauled down on the side of the road (or likely in the road) then would the blame game change?

- this would be a good opportunity to amend the the highway code for cyclists (for their safety) and implement hazard awareness training to all new drivers..or slap hefty fines when people drive like toots

S

Postby timelapse » November 13th, 2018, 3:59 pm

^ If it was a case of pedestrian, animal or moped, the blame game would be the same.As typical of this era, everybody wants to do what the firetruck they want to do and not accept the consequences of their actions.Yes people lost their lives and I sympathize, but there are safer places to ride your bicycle than on the nation's highway.I don't know if the signs are still present, but there used to be signs prohibiting bicycles, mopeds, animals and pedestrians from using the highway. If those rules still hold, then going against it is at your own risk. So they got a police escort, big deal, people still dead.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 13th, 2018, 4:06 pm

Only reason this debate still going on is because the people killed was of the 1% crew. If it was anybody else no one would have cared...

rebound

Postby rebound » November 13th, 2018, 4:58 pm

Anybody here evah see cyclists on the interstate highways of the "forward thinking" large countries? Just asking for information eh, I am not victim blaming on this sad situation.

Postby Redman » November 13th, 2018, 5:17 pm

Just ignore the geographic realities of living on a 2x4 island.
Being small we need to share space.

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2018, 5:20 pm

lol, all competitive road cyclists ride on the big roads/highways in other countries.

a competitive road cyclist at mediocre pro level can easily ride 100miles a day in a morning for basic training
they not gonna find that distance going to the local park and grocery

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2018, 5:21 pm

you have this rather wrong based on the definition of "1%"

vaiostation wrote:Only reason this debate still going on is because the people killed was of the 1% crew. If it was anybody else no one would have cared...

Soul Collector

Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

Postby Soul Collector » November 14th, 2018, 3:14 pm

If a sign or a law supposed to make you feel better/safer to ride yuh bike on the highway or whatever damn road here, well by all means go ahead but don't complain when sheit like this happen if you willingly putting your life in danger and expect any trinis to give a flying ass about you and your life. They already have no regard for their own lives so who d hell is you? 1% or not, you will get lick down the same way, dead the same way. But go brave.

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2018, 3:37 pm

This is quite true,
It is also quite possible for somebody in another car to be killed by a negligent driver just as easily,
Think of all those innocent persons who have been killed by reckless drivers, cars that crossed the median etc.

Soul Collector wrote:If a sign or a law supposed to make you feel better/safer to ride yuh bike on the highway or whatever damn road here, well by all means go ahead but don't complain when sheit like this happen if you willingly putting your life in danger and expect any trinis to give a flying ass about you and your life. They already have no regard for their own lives so who d hell is you? 1% or not, you will get lick down the same way, dead the same way. But go brave.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 14th, 2018, 4:35 pm

Soul Collector wrote:If a sign or a law supposed to make you feel better/safer to ride yuh bike on the highway or whatever damn road here, well by all means go ahead but don't complain when sheit like this happen if you willingly putting your life in danger and expect any trinis to give a flying ass about you and your life. They already have no regard for their own lives so who d hell is you? 1% or not, you will get lick down the same way, dead the same way. But go brave.

I'm trying to understand your logic. So follow the following line of reasoning according to your logic and tell me where I start to go wrong.

- Cycling on the highway carries a risk of death via vehicular accident
- Cycling on the highway is a choice ergo someone who chooses to cycle on the highway accepts the inherent risk of death
- Someone who willingly makes a decision to partake in an activity that can result in death is either a) stupid or b) not concerned about their life.
- We should not bother ourselves with being concerned about the lives of people that are either a)stupid or B) not concerned about their own life

Did I misrepresent you argument there as yet? If yes please comment and I will try to correct it. If no, please continue

- Driving on the highway carries a risk of death via vehicular accident
- Driving on the highway is a choice ergo someone who chooses to drive on the highway accepts the inherent risk of death
- Someone who willingly makes a decision to partake in an activity that can result in death is either a) stupid or b) not concerned about their life.
- We should not bother ourselves with being concerned about the lives of people that are either a)stupid or B) not concerned about their own life

Thoughts?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 14th, 2018, 4:56 pm

Honestly, what's so hard to understand that you felt the need to dissect this argument of mine?

Everyone's beating up, and if there are in fact laws put in place/changed to help safeguard cyclists on the roadways, what exactly is still going to stop idiots from being idiots and ending up with the same result as what happened here? The sign going to protect you? The sign going to make drivers suddenly care about their own lives much less yours?

If you think trinis that considerate and you still feel like braving our roads, which aren't even safe to be on in your own vehicle and choose to go out on a bicycle then like I said, go brave.

I'm my personal opinion, I consider that action to be careless and stupid. I will never feel at ease on a bicycle on a highway in Trinidad. Hell, I don't even feel safe walking out in a car park or even riding my lil BMX around the neighborhood like I used to when I was younger.

As for not bothering to concern myself with the actions of these people; why should I? People dying left and right here everyday. People, children, unborn children getting lick up and lick down. You think I have more concern for them or less? What exactly you trying to find out? Ask directly and I'll give you an answer.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 14th, 2018, 5:34 pm

Inside for pedestrian marching on the highway too. Let’s not leave that select group out guys.

Postby timelapse » November 15th, 2018, 10:16 am

Hypothetical question, if a cyclist had swerved and caused a car to crash, who would be liable?
And how would the car owner's losses be compensated?

Postby Slartibartfast » November 15th, 2018, 10:43 am

Soul Collector wrote:Honestly, what's so hard to understand that you felt the need to dissect this argument of mine?

Everyone's beating up, and if there are in fact laws put in place/changed to help safeguard cyclists on the roadways, what exactly is still going to stop idiots from being idiots and ending up with the same result as what happened here? The sign going to protect you? The sign going to make drivers suddenly care about their own lives much less yours?

If you think trinis that considerate and you still feel like braving our roads, which aren't even safe to be on in your own vehicle and choose to go out on a bicycle then like I said, go brave.

I'm my personal opinion, I consider that action to be careless and stupid. I will never feel at ease on a bicycle on a highway in Trinidad. Hell, I don't even feel safe walking out in a car park or even riding my lil BMX around the neighborhood like I used to when I was younger.

As for not bothering to concern myself with the actions of these people; why should I? People dying left and right here everyday. People, children, unborn children getting lick up and lick down. You think I have more concern for them or less? What exactly you trying to find out? Ask directly and I'll give you an answer.
I decided to disect your argument to try to understand the thinking behind your point of view. I see now that there wasn't any. I apologise for my mistake.

Postby adnj » November 15th, 2018, 1:26 pm

timelapse wrote:Hypothetical question, if a cyclist had swerved and caused a car to crash, who would be liable?
Typically, a bicycle is classified as a vehicle but not a motor vehicle.

Irrespective of the vehicle that causes a collision, if at fault that party is still liable. A pedestrian can be sued. Redress is persued in civil court.

A bicyclists can be sued for causing a collisions or for damaging parked a parked car.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 15th, 2018, 3:04 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I decided to disect your argument to try to understand the thinking behind your point of view. I see now that there wasn't any. I apologise for my mistake.

Sure thing pal, lol. Hope you feeling better inside now that you got that out.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 15th, 2018, 4:06 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:I decided to disect your argument to try to understand the thinking behind your point of view. I see now that there wasn't any. I apologise for my mistake.

Sure thing pal, lol. Hope you feeling better inside now that you got that out.

Peace and love bro. At least you keeping yourself safe. Can't get vex for that.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 20th, 2018, 9:32 am

Almost every developing country in the world is putting more and more bicycle lanes and provisions in place to protect them, and Trinidads ignorant mases turning this incident into a pappy show saying a seta crap about its the 1% and blah blah blah...……. we are not progressing as a nation, we are going backwards!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 21st, 2018, 7:50 am

Genuine question about that... are those bicycle lanes on roads with a speed limit of or around 100km/h?

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2018, 8:33 am

They probably dont have speed limits
However in many big cities where you normally expect a human powered bike to be less than 20mph
They are having problems with the ebikes which can go over 25-30 easily

DJ Q wrote:Genuine question about that... are those bicycle lanes on roads with a speed limit of or around 100km/h?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 21st, 2018, 9:50 am

pugboy wrote:They probably dont have speed limits
However in many big cities where you normally expect a human powered bike to be less than 20mph

DJ Q wrote:Genuine question about that... are those bicycle lanes on roads with a speed limit of or around 100km/h?

I don’t think he was asking about speed limits of the bikes.

Postby crazybalhead » November 21st, 2018, 10:44 am

timelapse wrote:Hypothetical question, if a cyclist had swerved and caused a car to crash, who would be liable?

The only person to cause YOUR car to crash is YOU.

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2018, 1:32 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

The only person to cause YOUR car to crash is YOU.

Likewise the cyclist caused themselves to crash?

Postby crazybalhead » November 21st, 2018, 1:50 pm

No the car hit them. In your example, did a cyclist hit your car?

Postby teems1 » November 21st, 2018, 9:38 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Almost every developing country in the world is putting more and more bicycle lanes and provisions in place to protect them, and Trinidads ignorant mases turning this incident into a pappy show saying a seta crap about its the 1% and blah blah blah...……. we are not progressing as a nation, we are going backwards!
Bicycle lanes in the city and urban areas.

There are more bikes than people in cities like Amsterdam or Copenhagen.

However on freeways and highways and the autobahn you won't find any.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 22nd, 2018, 9:01 am

I'm not talking about a speed limit for the bike.
I'm seriously asking... what country has a bike lane on a road where vehicles travel at 100 km/h?

Postby SMc » November 25th, 2018, 5:23 am

DJ Q wrote:

I'm not talking about a speed limit for the bike.
I'm seriously asking... what country has a bike lane on a road where vehicles travel at 100 km/h?

In the UK cyclists are allowed to ride on 'A &B roads' which have a speed limit of 60mph (unless otherwise stated), many of these roads are single carriageways and some narrower than the toco main road- there is no nominated cycle lane so its down to the car driver to take caution and give a 1.5m space between the car and cyclist when overtaking. There is an example.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 26th, 2018, 7:45 am

Thanks for the info. Learned something today.