Ministry of Works new Pot Hole Repairing Machine

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2018, 10:57 am

Ministry of Works new Pot Hole Repairing Machine is part of the pot-hole repair and road rehabilitation program

Re: Ministry of Works new Pot Hole Repairing Machine

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 10:59 am

So many potholes in the road again.

Every where it's pothole .

Thanks PNM.

Rohan is God.

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2018, 11:14 am

Who supply the truck and at what cost?

Postby j.o.e » November 12th, 2018, 11:36 am

They need like 15 of those mofos

Postby *KRONIK* » November 12th, 2018, 11:39 am

That truck has been active a few months now tho.
It does cause more traffic that patch pothole

rebound

Postby rebound » November 12th, 2018, 11:41 am

Are they importing bitumen for it?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 12th, 2018, 11:41 am

The roads in central are getting just as bad as south.
and we all know the word "Road" is loosely applied when it comes to south.

Postby Rovin » November 12th, 2018, 11:45 am

how many trucks did they buy ?

did he say mouse-sica ?

i tort its pronounced more-sica .... :|

Postby MaxPower » November 12th, 2018, 12:06 pm

Your Govt working for u

roadhog

Postby roadhog » November 12th, 2018, 12:11 pm

The upload date on that video is from November of 2016.

Postby SMc » November 12th, 2018, 1:57 pm

roadhog wrote:The upload date on that video is from November of 2016.

You insinuating that Duane spreading fake news? never!

Postby K74T » November 12th, 2018, 2:06 pm

DuaneVEVO

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 3:35 pm

As always all these new machines ( and boats included ) need a vacation before it's use .

They have to train people , make sure it's the right people etc.

But Great is the PNM.

We go fix Trini one hole at a time.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » November 12th, 2018, 3:39 pm

K74T wrote:DuaneVEVO

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » November 12th, 2018, 3:42 pm

steups a two year old video and I've never seen that truck anywhere...fix the roads in Central dammit!

Postby *KRONIK* » November 12th, 2018, 3:43 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:steups a two year old video and I've never seen that truck anywhere...fix the roads in Central dammit!
It used to be up grande side regular

Havent seen it in a long while

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » November 12th, 2018, 3:44 pm

They must b wuking 24/7 ....is more holes than roads .....traffic in we Ras

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2018, 4:13 pm

maybe if the various local corporation workers would do their jobs then we would have potholes patched long before they get large.
But I guess collecting the majority of your salary as overtime and doing nothing during the day is more productive.

I have seen woodbrook corporation workers patch a hole and ignore another hole a few feet away

Postby redmanjp » November 12th, 2018, 4:39 pm

pugboy wrote:maybe if the various local corporation workers would do their jobs then we would have potholes patched long before they get large.
But I guess collecting the majority of your salary as overtime and doing nothing during the day is more productive.

I have seen woodbrook corporation workers patch a hole and ignore another hole a few feet away

he did say roads within the Ministry's purview -so roads under the corporations may not benefit from it unfortunately

Postby skylinechild » November 12th, 2018, 6:24 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:how many trucks did they buy ?

did he say mouse-sica ?

i tort its pronounced more-sica .... :|

the real question is ....."does mouse-ica contain real mouses ?"
and if so...... how much ??? :lol:

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 11:39 pm

Recently I have observing the new potholes on the highways and byways in POS.

These are not just small holes anymore .

Close inspection will reveal it's a HUGE CHUNK of " road hole" that just appears .

You do not see the missing CHUNK just the HUGE "road hole" in the middle or side of road.

Now this is a bizarre phenomenon .

Is it that the big road paving people not mixing that asphalt and bitumen with some poly V ?

Why is it so HUGE ?

Where is that HUGE CHUNK ? Does it just disappear ?

Why Rohan not fixing these HUGE holes ?

Rohan you have some explaining to do .

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 13th, 2018, 12:22 am

Sometimes I wonder if it's due to the improper preparation of the underlying surface, at times I feel as if we simply paste the asphalt onto the earth.

Any civil folks know what the proper method for preparing the earth for paving or road construction? And do we do it here?

Postby aaron17 » November 13th, 2018, 4:44 am

Does complaining to the Ministry of works and transport on facebook about potholes help?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 13th, 2018, 5:37 am

i welll say yuh go see the machine pull up over the hole and spend ah $20 and drive off an whamo the hole fix. i aint know man still hadda spread it out and prob level it too. how is dat different from a normal MOWT truck pull up and about 10 men jump out and the spread the pitch with ah shovel and den let cars drive over it to smooth it out?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 13th, 2018, 6:17 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Sometimes I wonder if it's due to the improper preparation of the underlying surface, at times I feel as if we simply paste the asphalt onto the earth.

Any civil folks know what the proper method for preparing the earth for paving or road construction? And do we do it here?

When placing asphalt over a granular base, the contractor is supposed to install what is known as a bituminous prime coat. The grade of prime coat that should be used is cationic slow setting emulsified asphalt CSS-1 and this should be left in place for at least 24 hours before applying the asphalt to allow the prime coat to penetrate the granular base.

The contractors here generally use the incorrect prime coat, even though the contract specification states the type of prime coat to be used. They use a cationic rapid setting emulsified asphalt CRS-1 as the prime coat, which is wrong. But the people supervising the contractors, if there are any at all, don't know any better because the colour of both emulsified asphalts are similar, and they don't take any samples for testing.

CRS-1 is supposed to be used as a tack coat, that is, when applying a new asphalt layer over an existing asphalt layer. Even then, the contractors don't leave the tack coat long enough in place to cure before paving.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 13th, 2018, 6:21 am

pugboy wrote:maybe if the various local corporation workers would do their jobs then we would have potholes patched long before they get large.

I have seen corporation workers/contractors pave a whole road, several km long and ignore holes a few feet away

Fixed it.

Numb3r4 wrote:Sometimes I wonder if it's due to the improper preparation of the underlying surface, at times I feel as if we simply paste the asphalt onto the earth.

Since we're talking preparation and what not, I'm not a civil engineer right, but it can't take 4 years of Engineering school, to understand that if 10 m^3 of material is removed from the road (asphalt and whatever subsurface materials) when WASA, for example, is cutting a trench to run a water line and the pipe itself takes up let's say 3 m^3..how the arse can they put the whole 10 m^3 back in the hole? :roll: Obviously some of the volume would have been taken up by the pipe!! In the same manner, they will remove 10 m^3, add the 3 m^3 pipe and then put back 5 m^3 of material and in both cases, sometimes they replace the asphalt with a clay like material, that would be easily eroded and washed away, leaving an even deeper depression. So you either have a hump on the main road or a depression..ergo, poor road conditions, all for a lack of common sense.

Postby RedVEVO » November 13th, 2018, 7:39 am

Some people put cement in the "road hole "

If you go Movie Towne , as you leave - in front of Marriott you will see cement fill up in potholes .

You think Guardian should know better but I guess it's their solution .

* BTW Guardian General owns Marriott Courtyard.

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2018, 8:53 am

cement wont last, it cracks due to the lack of tensile reinforcement

pot holes are a true example of govt inefficiencies at all levels starting with local worker laziness/overtime going all the way to
contract bobol and wrong application by supposed big name contractors as mentioned above

however have faith, I predict that by carnival a massive road paving exercise will start for elections

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 8:57 am

redmanjp wrote:

he did say roads within the Ministry's purview -so roads under the corporations may not benefit from it unfortunately
So u mean to say, Marshall was smarter by saying ministry of road?

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2018, 9:01 am

screwbash wrote:i welll say yuh go see the machine pull up over the hole and spend ah $20 and drive off an whamo the hole fix. i aint know man still hadda spread it out and prob level it too. how is dat different from a normal MOWT truck pull up and about 10 men jump out and the spread the pitch with ah shovel and den let cars drive over it to smooth it out?
How is it different?

It means thy djbt have to use the huge machine that actually repairs the whole fricking road, so motorists will get smooth road to drive on.

And they will still beat up their chest, "we patch ur pot hole"

Driving on some road like like on a old Gravel road, with all the patch and hole.