25 cops transferred for refusing polygraph tests

wickedtuna

25 cops transferred for refusing polygraph tests

Postby wickedtuna » November 12th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Twenty-five police officers who failed to submit themselves to a voluntary polygraph test were transferred with immediate effect last week.

The decision by the Police Commissioner Gary Griffith to order the transfers was supported by the Police Social and Welfare Association. Some of the transferred officers are seeking legal redress of their transfers claiming that submitting themselves to a voluntary polygraph test is not part of their terms and conditions of employment.

The commissioner said he is not afraid of any legal challenges claiming that he has court clothes.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/12/25-cop ... aph-tests/

Re: 25 cops transferred for refusing polygraph tests

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 2:42 pm

The legal criminal gangs ?

Who are you going to call late at night now ?

antlind

Postby antlind » November 12th, 2018, 2:43 pm

Surprised it’s only 25.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2018, 2:43 pm

should have been fired immediately

Postby skylinechild » November 12th, 2018, 2:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:should have been fired immediately

fired on what grounds shakes ??

you have to have evidence of wrong doing in order to remove employment.

refusing polygraph is just that - refusal.

why they refused is now the topic of discussion.

if you have evidence of wrong doing and can submit it - you can give it to gary directly.

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 2:53 pm

If you refuse to take a polygraph test it means you hiding some kind of criminal secret .
Maybe you are a criminal informant . Maybe you are part of a gang . Maybe you know
where Hoffa is buried .

You should be sent home with no pay pending an invitation to return for the test after you have
studied . Then if you refuse you should be fired . Your photo put in the 3 daily newspapers as
a disclaimer that you are a person who was fired from the TTPS .

You are psychologically not fit to run with the Gary.

Gary is King .

Long Live The Gary .

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » November 12th, 2018, 2:53 pm

Ever refused a request from an officer yet ? Lol try nah they would just transfer yuh ....and on another note ...Gary should lead by example take the test aswell ...show them u is a big G

Postby rollingstock » November 12th, 2018, 2:57 pm

I guess you all missed the part that stated "voluntary"

How can it be voluntary but face recriminations for refusal?

But knowing the officers involved, good move by the COP. Frig that, go to court but verwy them out of there.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2018, 2:58 pm

skylinechild wrote:

if you have evidence of wrong doing and can submit it - you can give it to gary directly.

evidence would have been derived from the results of the pg. Gary should adopt a practice whereby pg testing is not optional. My brother works for a private company and every two years they have to do a pg test, you fail that test, you are immediately dismissed...

transferring officers means you just moving the problem to another station...if you have nothing to hide, why refuse??

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 3:01 pm

And they should also have a " drug test " every month or at random.

And a HIV test also since we want upstanding police force with good church values .

No "bulller maan" police .

Postby skylinechild » November 12th, 2018, 3:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

evidence would have been derived from the results of the pg. Gary should adopt a practice whereby pg testing is not optional. My brother works for a private company and every two years they have to do a pg test, you fail that test, you are immediately dismissed...

transferring officers means you just moving the problem to another station...if you have nothing to hide, why refuse??

shakes a pg test isnt 100 % accurate eah... i hope ur bro knows this and if its the company policy to fire upon failure then so be it.

but pg tests measure the body autonomous functions and controlled functions to varying types of questioning..
the responses are them cross referenced *against control questions) and analyzed.

but its not hard to beat a pg test.

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 3:17 pm

If you are a pscho and had ex military training you MAY be able to beat a PG test .

But why would you wants these rejects in the TTPS ?

If you refuse the PG , you should be fired immediately .

Then you can take the Attorney General to Court .

Meanwhile you not doing criminal activity within the TTPS .

Gary want a clean up from these degenerates and criminals with the Blue Uniform .
Last edited by RedVEVO on November 12th, 2018, 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2018, 3:17 pm

skylinechild wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
skylinechild wrote:

shakes a pg test isnt 100 % accurate eah... i hope ur bro knows this and if its the company policy to fire upon failure then so be it.

but pg tests measure the body autonomous functions and controlled functions to varying types of questioning..
the responses are them cross referenced *against control questions) and analyzed.

but its not hard to beat a pg test.

I know that for sure....in our third world country it's the only and easiest way to weed out "bad elements"....with his company, if you fail the first time, they would give another chance (just to make sure)....if you fail again...the exit awaits you...

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 3:21 pm

Yes in Miami and New York City the "bad elements" were weeded out .

And their weed was confiscated .

android79

Postby android79 » November 12th, 2018, 3:48 pm

I cant believe people really think a device can read the human mind with any kind off accuracy. What about the bold face liar who believing his own lie, he will pass. And what about the person who does get nervous for everything, when they start to hook up electrodes on yuh and they put the pad for you to sit down on yuh start to sweat that person will fail. Innocent people went to the electric chair in the US when the thought it was 100%. Also there is youtube, numerous videos showing yuh how to pass.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 12th, 2018, 6:46 pm

^^^ are you suggesting that it should not be used at all, or used as a first filter?

android79

Postby android79 » November 12th, 2018, 7:07 pm

airuma wrote:^^^ are you suggesting that it should not be used at all, or used as a first filter?
I dont see the sense in using it at all too much factor can affect the reading. Alcohol, cigarette, canine, or lack of these things could affect the reading. United States vs. Scheffert the US Supreme Court said polygraph is no better than a coin toss. So that is about 50%. Not good enough to bother in my opinion. People trained to detect deception more accurate and cheaper.

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 7:13 pm

PG should be used as a deterrent and as a human resources tool kit.

If a man sweats and he nervous , well why would you want him with a gun in the TTPS ?

And who exactly is he going to protect and serve ?

If a man is a boldface liar and pass , well there you have it .. the NEW TT CoP.

He can also be promoted to Minister of National Security , in a " pronto-wise " fashion .

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2018, 7:22 pm

I hope they polygraph the govt and opposition too

Postby redmanjp » November 12th, 2018, 7:31 pm

antlind wrote:Surprised it’s only 25.

they probably only getting started and that's just the first set of ppl

link

Postby link » November 12th, 2018, 7:31 pm

polygraph tests should be mandatory & used in conjunction with other supporting HR procedures
too much talk about 'clean' & 'above scrutiny' ............ these officers of the TTPS have a mandate 'To protect & serve WITH PRIDE' and yet some of them refuse a standard test ??
This alone says to the public that they have skeletons in the closet....
They should ALL have been transferred to Tobago............

linton

Postby linton » November 12th, 2018, 7:33 pm

If it's not mandatory, then it's illegal to take any action against them.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 12th, 2018, 7:39 pm

All them police who refuse to take the test and looking at legal action definitely have sheit to hide...last figure was at approx 40 officers from south west.....should spread it to all stations..

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 7:40 pm

It's not mandatory but if you hiding something why would you not take a PG test ?

Fire them since you will have the benefit of the doubt that these creeps do not turn bandit
with a legal authority as is the case nowadays in T&T.

We must stop all the sensitive and emotional rants and clean up the TTPS .

The Gary is changing the crime outlook and criminals are on the run .

kstt

Postby kstt » November 12th, 2018, 8:56 pm

If something voluntary ent you can refuse to participate?

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » November 12th, 2018, 9:13 pm

Not seeing what the big deal is. When you apply ttps you HAVE to take a polygraph as one of the steps. Which means they all would have taken it already and passed to even get into the service. Why not just take it again? Also, when you refuse to take a breathalyzer guilt is automatically assumed not so.......

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 12th, 2018, 9:39 pm

LMAO Gary say he have court clothes yes :lol:

Postby MaxPower » November 12th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Kill them

Postby RedVEVO » November 12th, 2018, 11:05 pm

kstt wrote:If something voluntary ent you can refuse to participate?

You can refuse food and chocolate and ice cream . And parsad or halwa.

But when your "job" ask you to do a PG test to fulfill an "honesty and no criminal mind " evaluation ,
how do you say no to that requirement even if it not mandatory ?

You hiding something . You have chocolate in the sun .

Postby pete » November 13th, 2018, 6:27 am

While I wholeheartedly agree with shaking things up to try and root out the corruption in the ttps, this shouldn't be reason for dismissal. These tests are not accurate and may say someone is lying when they are not.

So if they don't want to take the test then I could accept that, but transferring them somewhere away from the front lines where the guns, drugs and people are being smuggled in to somewhere else seems reasonable.