WTB 12v digital thermostats

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2018, 9:27 am

ok fellas, here's what
I'm looking for an adjustable 12v digital thermostat, preferably reading in *C. I ketchin meh royal tail to find anything close to suitable locally. a lot of mechanical units available but I eh want that.

anyone know where in T&T I might find such a item?

Re: WTB 12v digital thermostats

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2018, 9:43 am

Pid type?

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2018, 9:58 am

don't have to be

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » November 13th, 2018, 12:31 pm

There is a 12volt STC 1000, I have used the 120v versions for years without any issues.

https://www.amazon.com/STC-1000-Digital ... B01M5D20YO

Postby pugboy » November 13th, 2018, 1:49 pm

I have a pid with ssr relay and thermsensor
But it is 120v
Need to check if it can run on12v
The relay is 120v also

Postby nervewrecker » November 13th, 2018, 5:39 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:There is a 12volt STC 1000, I have used the 120v versions for years without any issues.

This!

I have the 120 / 220v versions for $150.00, didnt bring any 12V.

There is a cheaper 12V thermostat I wanted to bring for in car use ans I wanted to set up a thermoelectric cooling unit for my amps.

Is your application in car usage OP?

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2018, 2:42 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:There is a 12volt STC 1000, I have used the 120v versions for years without any issues.

This!

I have the 120 / 220v versions for $150.00, didnt bring any 12V.

There is a cheaper 12V thermostat I wanted to bring for in car use ans I wanted to set up a thermoelectric cooling unit for my amps.

Is your application in car usage OP?

yeah nerve, it's for in vehicle use, hence the 12v power. Would like it to feed off the battery w/o needing an inverter.
called steves in s/juan yesterday, d man say dem eh have nuttn like dat but if i go youtube & see how to build it I could list the parts & buy the parts from them & build it. I had to ask d man if he serious. i give he d loudest & longest steups he hear on d phone inna while

ziggy, i order that same exact unit last night when I realized I eh gonna find what I need here. should be here by next week. It doesn't output power, all it does is open/close the circuit to your cooling system automatically as necessary according to the temps you set for cut in & cut out.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » November 14th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Yup I have it controlling the temperature in my DIY aquarium chiller (use the relay to switch on the compressor) and am planning to use one as a retrofit refrigerator temp controller.

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2018, 3:00 pm

Those pid controllers are the best
I use one to control a fan which regulated the temp on a charcoal smoker I have

Was going to use one to retrofit an electric stove oven my dad was gonna dump but he beat me to it and dumped it.

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 3:18 pm

Yea, is best you online it.
People dont seem to know much about them it seems. Have a set controlling some ice boxes out there and they work great.
Have one controlling a fridge home also.

Those normal ones are rubbish. I bought for the same fridge and all were defective out the box. Passed through 3 before I buy the stc 1000. Seems people who selling that garbage dont know squat about it and when you trying to explain why it defective they dont want to hear you.

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 3:26 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:Yup I have it controlling the temperature in my DIY aquarium chiller (use the relay to switch on the compressor) and am planning to use one as a retrofit refrigerator temp controller.
Where you guys buy it?

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2018, 3:34 pm

I bought on both eBay and Amazon
They are usually around 30 for a complete set incl thermosensor and ssr relay

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 3:40 pm

So costs you guys over $200.00 then?
I sell them for $150.00 bnib.

ImageImageImage

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2018, 4:17 pm

Nice, that includes relay and type k sensor ?
They usually bundle them

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » November 14th, 2018, 4:17 pm

Didn't know someone locally had these in stock and at a good price.
Were you located and is it a retail location?

What other types of products do you have for sale ?

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 4:24 pm

Sensor bundled up behind it in the second pic.
Relay us built in. Has two, one for heating and another for cooling. Good for 5A iirc, will need a contactor for bigger loads.

I stock replacement sensors also.

Just these and air conditioning units I stock.

Located south, usually deliver.

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2018, 4:40 pm

that is a very good price and a good solution for your line of work
the generic ones I use have a builtin relay also but very weak like 1amp or so
hence they bundle a separate relay

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Much thanks.

In my sparetime I will put up a post with all what I have for sale and prices etc.
Right now I just too tired.

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2018, 5:23 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Sensor bundled up behind it in the second pic.
Relay us built in. Has two, one for heating and another for cooling. Good for 5A iirc, will need a contactor for bigger loads.

can handlle from 3v to 250v & up to but not exceeding 10A max

where d hell u was yesterday morning :lol: my haste/impatience/frustration cause me to just order it & done. I woulda preferred to give a reasonable local retailer a sale. It gonna cost me about $120 landed if I do d maths right. If I hear about anyone needing one I'll let u know.

Now, I gonna let allyuh in on wha I using this for.
I doing a complete rebuild of my ck ac system & the thermostat in the evaporator gone bad, & as luck would have it that's the only part that I cannot find new locally. not even the stealership have it. & I don't do used parts. & I sure as the sky blue that I eh want to hear no mechanical thermostat going clack-clack-clack-clack in meh head while i driving. I did find the original sensor, but it in china. Bought it as well so that on the way too, so if one fails I have the other on spot already.

Can't understand why more auto ac techs don't use these. Why do keep recommending/using the mechanical thermostats that does fail after making one setta noise in ppl head for a couple years? I doubt it's the cost.

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 5:27 pm

I think cars use a txv (thermal expansion valve) so this might not work.
Its not as simple as engage compressor clutch and let refrigerant flow.
Refrigerant flow rate changes with engine rpm so the thermal expansion valve opens and closes partially to regulate the refrigerant flow through it to match the cabin heat load.
It has a metal bulb with a refrigerant in it that is a feedback device to the valve.

I may be wrong but the stc 1000 may not work for the car.

You have a pic of the thermostat?

Unless you mean the control device 0.o

Postby skylinechild » November 14th, 2018, 5:46 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Sensor bundled up behind it in the second pic.

can handlle from 3v to 250v & up to but not exceeding 10A max

where d hell u was yesterday morning :lol: my haste/impatience/frustration cause me to just order it & done. I woulda preferred to give a reasonable local retailer a sale. It gonna cost me about $120 landed if I do d maths right. If I hear about anyone needing one I'll let u know.

Now, I gonna let allyuh in on wha I using this for.
I doing a complete rebuild of my ck ac system & the thermostat in the evaporator gone bad, & as luck would have it that's the only part that I cannot find new locally. not even the stealership have it. & I don't do used parts. & I sure as the sky blue that I eh want to hear no mechanical thermostat going clack-clack-clack-clack in meh head while i driving. I did find the original sensor, but it in china. Bought it as well so that on the way too, so if one fails I have the other on spot already.

Can't understand why more auto ac techs don't use these. Why do keep recommending/using the mechanical thermostats that does fail after making one setta noise in ppl head for a couple years? I doubt it's the cost.

if you need original mitsu parts why not check W2J on the forums...??

hes a mitsu dealer has the mitsu ASA catalog on hand and can source ANY genuine mitsu part for you - for a fraction of the stealership cost.

diamond goes to buy from him when they out of stock of those CK transmission rear seals...

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2018, 8:21 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I think cars use a txv (thermal expansion valve) so this might not work.
Its not as simple as engage compressor clutch and let refrigerant flow.
Refrigerant flow rate changes with engine rpm so the thermal expansion valve opens and closes partially to regulate the refrigerant flow through it to match the cabin heat load.
It has a metal bulb with a refrigerant in it that is a feedback device to the valve.

I may be wrong but the stc 1000 may not work for the car.

You have a pic of the thermostat?

Unless you mean the control device 0.o

u bright boi nerve, yeah it's to replace the a/c control unit, looks like this
ac temperature sensor.jpg
ac temperature sensor.jpg (11.43 KiB) Viewed 3532 times

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 8:22 pm

Yea. Still disoriented from a night shift dey

Postby nervewrecker » November 14th, 2018, 9:36 pm

Stc 1000 is rated for 10A load on both relays.
Now checked.

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2018, 7:06 am

I would guess other cars use similar device and another mfg could be fudged to work.

This is how I use mine on a smoker

IMG_7998.JPG
IMG_7996.JPG