The owner maintained/tuned thread

Re: The owner maintained/tuned thread

Postby Slartibartfast » November 19th, 2018, 8:59 am

Hey where can i get good replacement hoses for a subaru impreza (1.5l anesis). 100,000km comimg up soon. Need to do a major overhaul.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 19th, 2018, 9:55 am

I do mostly everything from engine builds,modification,nitrous you name it.Only thing i really pay for is someone to weld aluminium and management tuning.Other than that,over the years i did alot of research and have family foreign :D who into Motorsport who gives me alot off advice.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » November 19th, 2018, 11:36 am

after i get rellll burn from plenty mechanics over the years i started fiddling on my own and bit by bit bought more & more tools, and did endless research. Right now can i do engine swaps, rebuilds, full wiring, gearbox conversions, frankenstein builds, even ecu tuning. You name it, all at home. But i only work on personal projects. i dont have the space/time for extra work. I would Love to have a lift though.

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2018, 12:55 pm

TheBoostLord wrote: I would Love to have a lift though.

wouldn't we all :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 19th, 2018, 2:00 pm

Op just din say he now come back from shooting them gouti at 2 in d morning...oh he fixing car...

Good ched bai

Postby 88sins » November 19th, 2018, 3:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Op just din say he now come back from shooting them gouti at 2 in d morning...oh he fixing car...

Good ched bai

boi whole season so far i eh get time yet to even shift meh weight in d direction of d bush :lol:

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 20th, 2018, 1:35 am

black start wrote:I do all mechanical and electrical work on my vehicles and those in my yard.

Honestly, it's not hard. Just need to have tools, and a little determination
And shade .. everytime i open my bonnet for more than 5mins . Rain does set up . Lol ..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 20th, 2018, 1:42 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Good jack and jackstands are worth it, invest early.
buy a torque wrench for wheels and oil drain nuts, i torque everything i could find proper specs for.

did a ranger yesterday, torqued to the caliper bolts till the drain nuts, wheels ect.

trust me it does pay off. people might laugh but one day u will all learn the importance
People take that tool for granted . Even on my work. I telling them to buy that for us . Cah be tightening n bussing bolts

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 20th, 2018, 1:44 am

I do everything electrical in my van .. diagnose n minor repairs . Mechanical i go by mechanic n watch what he do n learn . I doh mind the major stuff . But by me i lack the shade n yard space. Almost Everytime i digging up in d van . Rain does buss down

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 20th, 2018, 3:19 am

I learned what I needed to do out of necessity, cause the amount of shortcuts people who call themselves mechanics make...I can't handle.
I learnt most of it on an ek Civic.(it was actually part purchased for the purpose of learning).

My biggest fear is breaking a part that might be difficult to source, and being crushed by the weight of the engine/trans. So I haven't attempted a rear main seal... Yet.
Never had to do an engine rebuild either.

Once I can find the part and the right tools I can fix it.

It doesn't always go according to plan though...I have forgotten to properly tighten the wheel nuts on my vehicles at least 5 times... The wheels never came off the vehicle but they were dangerously close to it.

With regards to tools
Those automotive toolkits from pricesmart covers most of it. Gloves are handy to prevent busted knuckles. Low profile Jack and Jack stands. A snipe (which HSE would advise you against) and some common sense.

My biggest problem is the limited availability of quality parts and places looking for quick turnover.

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2018, 7:07 am

kamakazi wrote:My biggest fear is breaking a part that might be difficult to source,

look at it this way
A car is just a whole lot of parts bolted & connected together, each having a particular function, & all parts will need to change eventually, whether they break, fail, or get worn out.
So don't let that a part might be hard to source slow u down, that's why it have Amazon/Ebay/Aliexpress & so many others. Just check it when it starts to go if possible & be sure you have the new one in hand before you attempt to change the one on the vehicle.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 20th, 2018, 7:57 am

Good thing about this ched...it have plenty men to turn to for advice...

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 20th, 2018, 9:30 am

Glad to see the DIY'er still strong here.
I lost my mojo.
I barely have time to wash car now.

Postby crazybalhead » November 20th, 2018, 9:32 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Hey where can i get good replacement hoses for a subaru impreza (1.5l anesis). 100,000km comimg up soon. Need to do a major overhaul.

I would buy a kit for the major radiator hoses and replace the rest with hose clamps and the appropriate size lines from the parts place.

IF you want the spanking original look, then by all means get the original hoses.

Postby rspann » November 20th, 2018, 2:48 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Hey where can i get good replacement hoses for a subaru impreza (1.5l anesis). 100,000km comimg up soon. Need to do a major overhaul.

Mahadeo's 685 5555. Everything Subaru.

Postby skylinechild » November 20th, 2018, 3:23 pm

rspann wrote:

Mahadeo's 685 5555. Everything Subaru..... and cause its subaru just leave your wallet by the counter - cause only "we" does deal in subaru - in d bamboo and we reserve the right to price gouge

corrected there for you bruh.

Postby black start » November 20th, 2018, 3:30 pm

rspann wrote:

Awd motorsports in charlieville and dave(adah) in valsyn both have the best prices in new subaru replacement parts from my experience

Could try them as well

Postby skylinechild » November 20th, 2018, 3:31 pm

black start wrote:
rspann wrote:

Awd motorsports in charlieville and dave(adah) in valsyn both have the best prices in new subaru replacement parts from my experience

Could try them as well

ay indian... meh coolant in meh ole car want changing.... you go come and handle it for meh ????

Postby Ted_v2 » November 20th, 2018, 7:54 pm

aditi BOI!

Postby *KRONIK* » November 20th, 2018, 8:54 pm

I want to say, i feel like the old tuner is back....

Until the gremlim gets loose and starts to spew the usual kaka

But good job fellaz

Postby nervewrecker » November 20th, 2018, 10:43 pm

Aidti most likey have that hose kit. Pretty sure I saw it there.

Never had issues with awd motorsports, motorist or adah (Dave) either.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 21st, 2018, 1:04 pm

skylinechild wrote:
rspann wrote:

Mahadeo's 685 5555. Everything Subaru..... and cause its subaru just leave your wallet by the counter - cause only "we" does deal in subaru - in d bamboo and we reserve the right to price gouge

corrected there for you bruh.
Hahahah at leave your wallet by d counter

Postby 88sins » November 21st, 2018, 7:53 pm

that's the price you pay for having a compact car, everything under the hood choke up and one thing on top and underneath the other, making doing anything inside the engine bay a tedious chore.

Postby black start » November 21st, 2018, 8:51 pm

88sins wrote:that's the price you pay for having a compact car, everything under the hood choke up and one thing on top and underneath the other, making doing anything inside the engine bay a tedious chore.
Subarus a lot easier to work on once you get started and have an open mind. If you have a "nissan or nothing" mentality, dont bother opening the hood, you going to have problems...

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2018, 7:41 am

ok fellas, need some help
I want to change the headlight bulbs in a project car, currently running halogens but wanna convert to HID/xenons. Anybody know who/where has complete HID conversion kits reasonably priced? Already have projectors to install.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 24th, 2018, 7:52 am

88sins wrote:ok fellas, need some help
I want to change the headlight bulbs in a project car, currently running halogens but wanna convert to HID/xenons. Anybody know who/where has complete HID conversion kits reasonably priced? Already have projectors to install.

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2018, 8:18 am

u forever peepin eh :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » November 24th, 2018, 8:27 am

Yuh coming down in the thing today still?

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2018, 10:42 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Yuh coming down in the thing today still?

God willing, jus doh kno what time

Postby skylinechild » November 24th, 2018, 1:57 pm

88sins wrote:ok fellas, need some help

tuner brotherhood is the HID man... he is / was a powerseller here.... dunno if he still does it.

search him out on tuner nuh...see if u find him.