lack of price advertisment legal?

screwbash

lack of price advertisment legal?

Postby screwbash » December 6th, 2018, 7:32 pm

so i stop by the vegetable shed on aranguez main road today and nothing had and price being shown. is everything free ? so i pick up ah bundle ah pakchoi and the man tell me $12 when i reach by the scale. i had $10 and had to put it back feeling very embarrassed. is it legal to not advertise a price for your product and when you reach by the cashier they can call any price per pound and pocket the rest. i feel the fat man by the shed duz do that as when the woman who is the real boss dey prices does be different. i wah fork them up but i want to know if what they doing is legal. i go call legal affairs in the mc.
Last edited by screwbash on December 6th, 2018, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

l33t2

Re: lack of price advertisment legal?

Postby l33t2 » December 6th, 2018, 7:40 pm

Lol $2

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 6th, 2018, 7:54 pm

Next time walk with ah $20.......problem fixed.......somewhat

Postby hydroep » December 6th, 2018, 8:05 pm

Me eh know if the law is to put the price, but I woulda just ask them before I pick up anything. If they start to get orn just tell them "Well, if it had prices on it I wouldn't have to ask". Or just say "thanks" put it down and walk out.

Buh $ 12.00 for patchoi boi? Is $ 8.00 in Marabella Market...:|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 6th, 2018, 8:12 pm

Clearly you doh go to market on a regular..or probably never did...becuz if you did...only a handful of vendors have prices advertised

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2018, 8:13 pm

U feel is ebay?

Is Amazon, where u need to put in cart before u know the price.

Postby Rovin » December 6th, 2018, 8:14 pm

buh OP u hadda ask d price b4 u pick up d ppl dem ting .......... :lol:

Postby 88sins » December 6th, 2018, 9:07 pm

not putting a price on an item for sale isn't illegal, the idea being you ask how much for it & the vendor will disclose. & when they do you then decide if it's worth that price to you & buy it or leave it
but it should be illegal, & something needs to be done about that bs. because a lot of things some of these vendors sell like that they overcharge you & put you on the spot same time, technically coercing the weaker willed to buy for fear of being seen as frugal/cheap
Bodi selling for $5/lb everywhere & a bundle is about 1lb, but you stop by a vendor with no prices & when you pick up the one you want he tells you that he sells a bundle for $8. Now it's entirely up to you, drop it & buy elsewhere, or pay what he wants because you ain't wanna go anywhere else to look for a better price/quality for the premium

it's a free market, yes, but some vendors not content with reasonable profits & it's these that need reminding you don't have to get that there, or from them & it have alternatives to sub the items in question. quick example
Wifey wanted some palms the other day, stopped by a plant shop & saw some, with no prices. When she ask the lady & I hear that madwoman say $40 for one palm all I coulda do say was "f--k dat, she hadda be mad", grab d wife & start to push one time. less than a minute later, price drop to $15 each from that $40, up $5 from my sole counter offer of $10 each.

short story shorter, is their product, & your money, if you don't buy it, someone else might, but if nobody else does it'll rot on their hands & just before that it will go for cost. You could easier find someone willing to negotiate for your money than they could find someone willin to over pay for their produce

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2018, 9:21 pm

Yep, you have a choice and letting vendors know that important.

Btw pakchoi is one of the most pesticide laced veggies out there, just saying

Postby 88sins » December 6th, 2018, 10:34 pm

boi, between dat and cabbage dem is 2 ting I doh ever use unless I grow it myself

I got an issue with paying good money to end up eating 13 different pesticides, many of which are known carcinogens

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 7th, 2018, 5:09 am

pugboy wrote:Yep, you have a choice and letting vendors know that important.

Btw pakchoi is one of the most pesticide laced veggies out there, just saying

of lately our lettuce reaching there as well...ever leave it in the fridge for about 7 days unattended and see how it smells

Postby maj. tom » December 7th, 2018, 5:20 am

Many groceries do this as well. Especially Chinese operated places. No price means it is not for sale obviously. They don't want you to buy it. What you're supposed to do, go by the cashier with every item you're curious about and ask? That is my policy now, no price means it's not on sale and they want everyone who sees it to make sure not to buy it.

This is how people end up going to big chain stores, with better service. Some smaller family-run groceries actually do it properly though, like Royal Foods in Tunapuna. Which shows the customers that they actually care. Market is a bit different, but you would normally end up finding specific vendors that you get to know weekly, and get all your fresh goods at certain stalls.

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2018, 5:47 am

Screwbash, you feel that three story building and cladding come cheap? You must try to follow them when they adding up your goods mentally and just rattling off figures.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2018, 6:55 am

have a veggie place in st james where I see customers ketch the man out

rspann wrote:Screwbash, you feel that three story building and cladding come cheap? You must try to follow them when they adding up your goods mentally and just rattling off figures.

Postby black start » December 7th, 2018, 7:00 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:buh OP u hadda ask d price b4 u pick up d ppl dem ting ..........
This...

Postby *KRONIK* » December 7th, 2018, 7:03 am

OPie

Prices for market good are never standard, they vary with the weather most time. So it may be difficult for the vendor to put prices, as this can vary with each batch he purchases.

Btw: saying “eh mih boi, hummuch fuh d pakchoy dey?” dont take much effort eh.

apole69

Postby apole69 » December 7th, 2018, 7:16 am

Pakchoi , currently wholesales for approx. $9. - $10. @ the POS market. so that price is probably correct.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » December 7th, 2018, 9:00 am

Op like he fraid people.

Like a vendor bite yuh arredy orr

Postby Ben_spanna » December 7th, 2018, 9:39 am

its an injun ting..... you know how much time I have proven this concept …. all those highway vendors, its one price for their people and from the time a fair skinned person jump out a big SUV is 50% more OR all of a sudden the $4 ah pound ones done and is only $6 ah pound ones available... fr1gg1ng thieves.

Postby tr1ad » December 7th, 2018, 10:37 am

so OP...

is shame yuh feel shame ent

Postby Slartibartfast » December 7th, 2018, 12:36 pm

What aboit making it illegal on tuner.

Fedup seeing those posts with no pics and a "PM for price" note taking up space.

If you have no pics and no price i not even wasting my time.

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2018, 1:40 pm

lol is level lanate people does use to grow cabbage.

that killing ALL the pests and worms that like to eat cabbage

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 7th, 2018, 7:23 pm

tr1ad wrote:so OP...

is shame yuh feel shame ent

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 7th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:What aboit making it illegal on tuner.

Fedup seeing those posts with no pics and a "PM for price" note taking up space.

If you have no pics and no price i not even wasting my time.

This does get me real mad....it had powersellers posting pages of goods with no prices...fb ads the same thing...oh yuh hada call for pricing

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2018, 8:53 pm

i does pay whatever price they want for vegetables. i does even leave d change if is small money.

vegetables cheap. is not a big deal for me.

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2018, 8:57 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:lol is level lanate people does use to grow cabbage.

that killing ALL the pests and worms that like to eat cabbage
They season that cabbage fir injun to eat...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 8th, 2018, 7:31 am

how hard it is for them to tear a piece ah carboard box and write the price. other places do it. is not the cost of the items i pissed for it is the fact that yuh pick up somthings and during that time you cud calculate in yuh head how much it go cost yuh aint hadda wait till yuh reach the scale for them to check fast fast and rob yuh skunt especially the fat man dat duz sell dey. i feel he duz rob customers. the owner woman done say she doh like to give charity. only the old man with all the talks duz deal with people fairly. doh ask for the people across the road, them duz rob yuh outright with doubles prices on everyting. an i doh know why police doh stop people from parking on the road in front the two places and stop parking in front the muzlim people who selling bbq on upper aranguez main road after mts plaza and by geelal. people doh realize when yuh park on the wrong side ah de road and people clear way yuh wing mirror yuh have no justice tuh get cause yuh forking wrong.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 8th, 2018, 7:38 am

hydroep wrote:Me eh know if the law is to put the price, but I woulda just ask them before I pick up anything. If they start to get orn just tell them "Well, if it had prices on it I wouldn't have to ask". Or just say "thanks" put it down and walk out.

is $7 in chaguanas market. dese peole selling lettuce $10 and is $7 in chaguanas market.

Postby hydroep » December 8th, 2018, 8:04 am

screwbash wrote:
hydroep wrote:Me eh know if the law is to put the price, but I woulda just ask them before I pick up anything. If they start to get orn just tell them "Well, if it had prices on it I wouldn't have to ask". Or just say "thanks" put it down and walk out.

is $7 in chaguanas market. dese peole selling lettuce $10 and is $7 in chaguanas market.

Yeah yuh could get better deals if yuh shop around. Sometimes yuh eh have no choice if yuh really need it, buh doh let nobody take advantage of yuh nuh.

Is your money, you have the power. Dem need you more than you need dem.

Postby rspann » December 8th, 2018, 9:28 am

screwbash wrote:

If you moving around south, like Penal and Barrackpore and see the difference in prices compared to north ,you will be surprised.