Woodbrook residents start petition to block buju motorcade

wickedtuna

Woodbrook residents start petition to block buju motorcade

Postby wickedtuna » December 6th, 2018, 9:39 pm

Residents of the Woodbrook community are drumming up support to have a planned roadshow for dancehall artiste Buju Banton on his release from a United States Federal Prison moved, over concerns of traffic congestion and a clash with another event.

The Promoters of a Buju Banton concert to be held in April 2019, are planning on celebrating his release from a US prison on Saturday with a motorcade through the streets of Port of Spain.

Buju was jailed 2011 after being found guilty of conspiracy to distribute and traffic cocaine in February that year.

The motorcade will have two music trucks and is expected to start at midday and end at 8pm.

The roadshow will begin at the Queen’s Park Savannah and proceed south on Frederick Street, North on Henry Street to other streets, then on to Ariapita Avenue via Scott Bushe Street.

They will proceed west on Ariapita Avenue to the Maraval Parkway, turn around and head back on to Ariapita Avenue stopping in front of Club 63 at 3 pm where they will remain until 8 pm.

The Woodbrook Residents Association expressed concern that the vast majority of this scheduled eight-hour motorcade will be in Woodbrook.

On the same afternoon, a children's Christmas Party is being held on Adam Smith Square from 2 pm to 6 pm.

The community group is asking anyone who objects to the motorcade to write letters to the media and use any form possible to protest.

The Association said it has spoken with the Councillor as well as the Woodbrook Police Station on the matter and both hold the position that they are not supporting this venture.

They have since launched a petition to prevent the motorcade from passing through the Woodbrook community.

“This will be the most powerful tool we will have to get this stopped. As the saying goes… there is strength in numbers.”

The Association is asking all those opposed to the motorcade to sign the petition.
http://www.looptt.com/content/woodbrook ... -motorcade

Re: Woodbrook residents start petition to block buju motorcade

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 6th, 2018, 9:47 pm

I thought they woulda be happy.
Cocaine, and all that jazz.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2018, 10:06 pm

Pugboy!!!!!!

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2018, 10:36 pm

Try going on the ave 6:30am a Saturday or Sunday morning to see the characters remaining after a nights proceedings, you will want to hide your wallet and go home fast

Postby shogun » December 6th, 2018, 11:51 pm

Is this what our popular culture has come to? A motorcade for a released musical artist? Steups.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 7th, 2018, 11:36 am

The stupidity of Trinis has no end....dunno why we celebrating this sh1t here

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2018, 12:51 pm

Agreed block buju, I hope that they also show the same action on Carnival Mondad and Tuesday

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2018, 12:52 pm

quite likely some party event promoter trying to jump on the bandwagon and make a dollar

ek4ever wrote:The stupidity of Trinis has no end....dunno why we celebrating this sh1t here

Postby Ben_spanna » December 7th, 2018, 1:20 pm

Buju not a Trini- steups… let his own country have a motorcade for him WTF!

Postby Les Bain » December 7th, 2018, 1:42 pm

1. He wouldn't be there
2. That's all.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 7th, 2018, 1:44 pm

Les Bain wrote:1. He wouldn't be there
2. That's all.

And this....he not even going to be here but these fcukers having a motorcade for him....steups!

Postby timelapse » December 7th, 2018, 1:48 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Buju not a Trini- steups… let his own country have a motorcade for him WTF!

Buju stale and outdated in Jamaica.
Is only we down here does big up has-beens.
Case in point- all them 80's rock bands that make a killing any time they come here eg. Journey, Bryan Adams. Richard Marx etc.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 7th, 2018, 1:53 pm

The residents are correct. No bandit music in the community. Why are we celebrating the release of a Jamaican artiste anyway?

Postby mero » December 7th, 2018, 2:14 pm

timelapse wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:Buju not a Trini- steups… let his own country have a motorcade for him WTF!

Case in point- all them 80's rock bands that make a killing any time they come here eg. Journey, Bryan Adams. Richard Marx etc.
How you derive that Buju stale and outdated in Jamaica?

Postby timelapse » December 7th, 2018, 2:48 pm

Bredrens from Jamaica. Buju's sound hasn't changed, the music has moved on and dem youths don't know him as much as the older heads.Yes they would respect him as an OG , but he hasn't been relevant for some time.Likewise how injuns in Trinidad does be running down Supercat...another has-been in Jamaica.That type of sound is now back in times music for them.Thats just the younger ones I guess.

Postby bluefete » December 7th, 2018, 2:59 pm

This in truth.

I thought the man came out of jail and came directly to TT (from the headline).

Les Bain wrote:1. He wouldn't be there
2. That's all.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 7th, 2018, 4:31 pm

timelapse wrote:

80’s rock bands are still more relevant than the crap we hear from Alkaline, vybz kartel etc.

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2018, 5:37 pm

i wonder if d release of mandela had such a anticipation cause even a yr ago ppl on fb were counting down d days of buju release

how come we honoring a next country artist , wa he do for we here

did d 4 recently died calypsonians get such a big op or motorcade ? ......

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 7th, 2018, 5:47 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:i wonder if d release of mandela had such a anticipation cause even a yr ago ppl on fb were counting down d days of buju release

how come we honoring a next country artist , wa he do for we here

did d 4 recently died calypsonians get such a big op or motorcade ? ......

The four calypsonians don’t glorify ghetto life or crime or promote victim hood

Postby skylinechild » December 7th, 2018, 6:50 pm

timelapse wrote:

..umm bruh its not even the artiste :lol:
sometimes ( and by that i mean most times) its usually tribute bands that sound and dress like them...
95.1 used to push them (tribute bands) and then back in the 90's it was survivor and another one.

me personally - when you were popular and making ur millions you never wanted to come trini....for your fans....

now that youre old and outdated you quick to come to sing for yuh supper....?? nah...rock so...

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2018, 7:04 pm

snow white outfit.. lolzzzzz

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » December 7th, 2018, 8:25 pm

Woodbrook .....boom bye bye
Screenshot_2018-12-07-20-24-12.jpeg

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 7th, 2018, 9:55 pm

"give dem a chance to bun down the place dem couldn't bun it" -Buju Banton

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 8th, 2018, 2:53 am

Hope they bought earplugs
FB_IMG_1544251986468.jpeg
FB_IMG_1544251966611.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » December 8th, 2018, 8:48 am

Trinis will lose their sheit if they ever free Cartel!!!! Anybody heard from Grey Patch recently?

Postby Ben_spanna » December 8th, 2018, 9:06 am

This is such a pack of sh1t.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » December 8th, 2018, 5:49 pm

I don't understand, if you don't like it, stfu and move along, there are allota stuff I don't dig, but i dont beyotch about it, just mind a fackin bizzzz.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 8th, 2018, 5:59 pm

Awaits Bobby shmurda release.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 8th, 2018, 7:01 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Trinis will lose their sheit if they ever free Cartel!!!! Anybody heard from Grey Patch recently?
Free world boss....

Gonna get my kit ready:

Straight jeans with a cut off foot
White v-neck T-shirt
Real Gucci belt
Timeless G shock
Clarks with toothbrush to get off the dust fast
Purest of the rosary chains.

I in the game dey

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 8th, 2018, 9:08 pm

timelapse wrote:

They make a killing in Vegas too, also many other places so what?

I don't see a problem with Buju and I don't see a problem if his fans or a promoter wants to do this? How does this affect you? He served his time, move on.