Traffic violations via mail from February 2019

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » December 16th, 2018, 8:17 am

CITIZENS may begin receiving tickets for traffic violations by mail from about February, says Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi.

He was speaking at yesterday’s post-Cabinet media conference held at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's. Al-Rawi said Government already proclaimed, as of December 1, the Criminal Division and Traffic Division Courts Act which gives the Chief Justice the opportunity to create specialist courts. Al-Rawi said, with the traffic court when the violation side is proclaimed, violations will be created instead of offences, and this will result in roughly 102,000 cases per year going into violations.

"Those violations come to you in the mail. The system for that it will be as we estimate up and around February next year. So in or around February next year you are going to pull out one hundred and something thousand cases from 140,000 cases therefore leaving magistrates to do magistrates' work. If you want to come to court for a violation you have to tell the court 'I want to come to court' and then you go through a certain process there."

He said in 2019 there will be a radical shift particularly because the Electronic Transactions for Court Payment (CourtPay) Bill has been passed where citizens will be allowed to do it all online.

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/12/14/traffi ... uary-2019/

Re: Traffic violations via mail from February 2019

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2018, 10:42 am

to save magistrate court wasting time he say

if he wants to do something worthwhile
he should setup a dedicated gun court right next to the jail
let that woft cj do some work and have an expedited gun court in jail
so no need for prisoner transport
Jamaica has that already

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 16th, 2018, 1:10 pm

^^^Doh mess with sabga money...

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2018, 1:36 pm

The address on a few vehicles certified copy are three addresses ago.
How's that going to work?

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2018, 1:55 pm

It may work for ppl with properly registered cars and correct address on dp
I.e. Squeeze the law abiding folks as usual
Meanwhile all them borrowed tiida and ting get away easy

There might be a surge in certified copy bobol change of address etc

wagonrunner wrote:The address on a few vehicles certified copy are three addresses ago.

Postby Ben_spanna » December 16th, 2018, 1:59 pm

This is exactly why the UNC was changing the entire system to a plate based system and computerize it, so that a registration plate is kept registered to a Person and when people buy and sell cars the plates are changed, and the owner maintain their own plates.
Let’s see how long it’s going to take the current geniuses to figure out that this system will not work on a system still being processed using cards and paper.

Postby Redman » December 16th, 2018, 2:06 pm

Let the fines accrue to the person on the certif copy.

In quick time people will make sure that they transfer vehicles as is required by law.
Or explain why they have someone else driving their vehicles

The mess in license office is to ingrained to wait on perfection to start cleaning house.

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2018, 2:13 pm

Yes, plate tied directly to human is the best way.

Ben_spanna wrote:This is exactly why the UNC was changing the entire system to a plate based system and computerize it, so that a registration plate is kept registered to a Person and when people buy and sell cars the plates are changed, and the owner maintain their own plates.
Let’s see how long it’s going to take the current geniuses to figure out that this system will not work on a system still being processed using cards and paper.

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2018, 2:14 pm

Not even Gary could make in dent in the bobol there

Redman wrote:Let the fines accrue to the person on the certif copy.

In quick time people will make sure that they transfer vehicles as is required by law.

The mess in license office is to ingrained to wait on perfection to start cleaning house.

Postby pete » December 16th, 2018, 2:19 pm

Person name on certified copy does not have their driver's permit so how they really gonna know who it is?

Postby Redman » December 16th, 2018, 5:41 pm

If you received the ticket in your name for a car you sold but never transferred ....what will you do?
The point here is to force compliance....since all previous methods failed

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 17th, 2018, 5:40 am

just get yuh plates made with the white "reflective" back ground so when the camera smap yuh plate it wont see anything cause the flash will reflect and dazzle the camera. or put a bright light close you the plate so it will dazzle the camera. them cameras up about 3 years now, i sure is old cheap thing they buy to begin with probably some chinee brand camera.

Postby maj. tom » December 17th, 2018, 6:33 am

All rear plates in the UK are black on yellow by law.
Going to have plenty fun with these 1st world proposals with 3rd world infrastructure and systems in place.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » December 17th, 2018, 8:46 am

Men went Florida for a vacation and come back with ideas yes.

All of them can just eat farts

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 17th, 2018, 1:38 pm

I bought a vehicle and went to transfer it and the linx not working so they tell me come back a next day just to pay. Went back and paid for transfer. A couple months later I requested a certified copy and my name not on it. So even when you go through the process is no guarantee the records correct.

Besides, when ppl move most don't update their records in licensing office so they gonna be sending mail to wrong addresses. Hope ppl send it back so they could see how stupid this idea is. As usual....Aswari talking out he .....

Postby 16 cycles » December 17th, 2018, 1:58 pm

warrant officer will still find you even if you move cause owing the gov't worse than 1st degree.....

Postby wagonrunner » December 17th, 2018, 2:56 pm

pugboy wrote:It may work for ppl with properly registered cars and correct address on dp
I.e. Squeeze the law abiding folks as usual

There might be a surge in certified copy bobol change of address etc[
wagonrunner wrote:The address on a few vehicles certified copy are three addresses ago.

How is a person moving considered bobol?
The CC has an address when registered / transferred.
Must the person live only at that address after such?

Add to that the amount of mail received for addresses not even close to the mailbox.
You normally sort the issues in a system before it makes sense to depend on it.
ek4ever wrote:I bought a vehicle and went to transfer it and the linx not working so they tell me come back a next day just to pay. Went back and paid for transfer. A couple months later I requested a certified copy and my name not on it. So even when you go through the process is no guarantee the records correct..
THIS!!!.

recent certified copy for a vehicle has old engine number
Inspection documents has new number because receipt for engine change was produced for inspection.
records shitty, but they want that to be the standard applied.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2018, 3:24 pm

when you get bounced and have to get a warrant for the person and the police find a nonexistant address then you could call it bobol....

Last time I renewed my dp, the girl asked ppl to double check address etc, couple persons made changes to address without showing any proof of address..........

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2018, 7:52 pm

screwbash wrote:just get yuh plates made with the white "reflective" back ground so when the camera smap yuh plate it wont see anything cause the flash will reflect and dazzle the camera. or put a bright light close you the plate so it will dazzle the camera. them cameras up about 3 years now, i sure is old cheap thing they buy to begin with probably some chinee brand camera.

so the camera system would have legal effect by February? 24/7 enforcement of both speed and red light breaking? :shock:

epic money govt would be making now (i think breach of the camera is $6000?) so let's say $6000*100 breaches per day at the Wrightson Rd light alone= $600,000 per day for that light alone!

Postby matr1x » December 17th, 2018, 8:04 pm

The bobol continue

Postby sMASH » December 17th, 2018, 8:11 pm

they trusting ttpost with that??? right now it have somebody in my area who aint get a WASA bill in years, cause their last name in mines are the same, so it deposits by me. i dont knot hte person, and there isnt a house number.

Postby redmanjp » December 17th, 2018, 8:29 pm

I doh even have mail delivery by me, how dat wukking? They sending you an email too?

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » December 17th, 2018, 8:31 pm

if vehicle is insured and the driver is over 25 and meets the policy guideline is this illegal? i believe the mva says that the vehicle must be driven by a licensed and insured driver. it does not state the the driver must be listed on the cc.

so if i drive my brother's vehicle? i meet the req't on the policy and have been stopped in roadblocks and had no probelm.

if i break a red light my bro get the ticket.

lol.

Postby redmanjp » December 18th, 2018, 12:13 am

K_J_R wrote:

if vehicle is insured and the driver is over 25 and meets the policy guideline is this illegal? i believe the mva says that the vehicle must be driven by a licensed and insured driver. it does not state the the driver must be listed on the cc.

so if i drive my brother's vehicle? i meet the req't on the policy and have been stopped in roadblocks and had no probelm.

if i break a red light my bro get the ticket.

lol.

I guess they could have a system whereby if u can convince them he was driving he gets both the ticket as well as the demerit points

Postby Redman » December 18th, 2018, 6:48 am

Just to state the glaringly obvious, I would think that there is a mechanism to allow a legitimate driver of a car who is not on the certified copy to be ticketed.

Company vehicles,kids and family drivers etc.

Postby pete » December 18th, 2018, 11:40 am

What I hope is they could update the system so you can supply an email address to add to the certified copy and in the case of a traffic violation an electronic copy of the ticket sent to you.

Prefer that than getting pulled out of the car in a roadblock for x number of tickets that never got delivered.

Postby Ben_spanna » December 18th, 2018, 12:43 pm

pete wrote:What I hope is they could update the system so you can supply an email address to add to the certified copy and in the case of a traffic violation an electronic copy of the ticket sent to you.

Prefer that than getting pulled out of the car in a roadblock for x number of tickets that never got delivered.

amd while they are doing that STOP those illegal stinking wreckers and start sending people parking tickets via email and done too! Leave people cars alone!

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » December 18th, 2018, 1:47 pm

Redman wrote:Just to state the glaringly obvious, I would think that there is a mechanism to allow a legitimate driver of a car who is not on the certified copy to be ticketed.

Company vehicles,kids and family drivers etc.

you would Think?

it IS a "glaringly obvious" scenario.

They have not stated how they will treat with it.

so the "mechanism" does not appear to be "glaringly obvious".

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2018, 2:33 pm

tuner really change boy....all this talk and nobody talk about giving area pipers a lil change to break cameras

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 18th, 2018, 3:14 pm

First world status starts in 3.......2.......