Ex-Petrotrin workers to get land for housing, agriculture

wickedtuna

Ex-Petrotrin workers to get land for housing, agriculture

Postby wickedtuna » December 17th, 2018, 4:11 pm

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has announced that lands belonging to State-owned Petrotrin will be made available to former workers for housing and agriculture.

Speaking in the House of Representatives on Monday, Rowley outlined six opportunities which would be offered to the retrenched workers in the coming months.

The first opportunity, he announced, was to own a serviced housing lot. Through the Government’s Aided Self Help Housing Programme workers would be able to benefit from high quality housing via access to fully developed lots supported by subsidised interest rate mortgage loans from the Trinidad and Tobago Mortgage Finance Company (TTMF) as well as pre-approved house plans, technical assistance and oversight for the construction of affordable houses.

Rowley said there were already substantially developed housing lots available under the Aided Self-Help Housing Programme in La Romaine, Picton, Cedar Hill, Couva, Carapichaima, California and Chaguanas.

“Within this Aided Self-Help Housing Programme, the Government will provide priority access for former Petrotrin workers who require state support to own a house, with initial emphasis on those who are to be first time home owners,” he said.

Secondly, Rowley announced, the Government has identified residential sites for the development of more housing lots in Usine Ste Madeleine, La Romaine, Pointe a Pierre, Claxton Bay, California, Waterloo, Jerningham Junction, and Chaguanas. “These sites would be added to the Aided Self Help Housing Programme and made available on a priority basis to former Petrotrin workers,” he said.

In southwestern Trinidad, where Petrotrin conducted its Exploration and Production operations, Rowley said the Government had also identified residential sites for the development of housing lots in Warden Road, Point Fortin; Sudama Village and Standard Village in Fyzabad; Sand Pit in Fyzabad; Sobo Extension Road; at the old Antilles Camp; in Vance River, Cashew Patch, Guapo Road, Quarry Village, Santa Flora, Los Bajos, Palo Seco, Rancho Quemado, Buenos Ayres, Los Charos and Los Iros.

Fourth, Rowley announced, the Government has identified suitable agricultural land for former Petrotrin workers who are either already in agriculture and wish to expand or those who have an interest, some experience or a business plan for agri-business. These lands are in Chatham in particular and other areas in Felicity, Basta Hall, Windsor Park, Quarry, Los Iros, La Brea, Point Fortin, Barrackpore and Guayaguayare.

“These lands are currently owned by Petrotrin, Trintopec, Trintoc, PSAEL or the State. This and similar programmes of land identification, preparation and distribution are to be a well-organized and managed program and is not a licence or encouragement to squatting. Even as these programmes are underway the competent authorities will rigorously protect state land, from unauthorised access as the law requires,” he said.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 6aa8d.html

supernedd

Re: Ex-Petrotrin workers to get land for housing, agriculture | Local News | trinidadexpress.com

Postby supernedd » December 17th, 2018, 4:17 pm

wickedtuna wrote:https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ex-petrotrin-workers-to-get-land-for-housing-agriculture/article_7c64646a-0231-11e9-baad-93c04f96aa8d.html
I thought caroni limited workers get all.. it still have land available.. hmmm

Re: Ex-Petrotrin workers to get land for housing, agriculture | Local News | trinidadexpress.com

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 17th, 2018, 5:12 pm

Yea, because that model worked so well with Caroni.

Re: Ex-Petrotrin workers to get land for housing, agriculture

Postby The_Honourable » December 17th, 2018, 5:41 pm

Keep the workers appeased until a few years pass, then is a fight up in court which takes another few years, some of the workers pass away, the people responsible not in the picture anymore, and will be a political football for some more years.

#caroni

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 17th, 2018, 5:47 pm

Look how long it took for caroni ppl to gt....imagine this situation...steupse

Postby Redman » December 17th, 2018, 9:20 pm

I think this is a fkin bullsheeeiiiiit precedent to set.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2018, 9:30 pm

U is a bright fella

The_Honourable wrote:Keep the workers appeased until a few years pass, then is a fight up in court which takes another few years, some of the workers pass away, the people responsible not in the picture anymore, and will be a political football for some more years.

#caroni

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 17th, 2018, 9:53 pm

This is a terrible precedent to set. Petrotrin workers are not poorly literate agricultural workers. Giving workers in the former upper quintile of income: land, subsidized mortgages, house plans and technical assistance is questionable at best, and wasteful at worst.

These people deserve no land.

Postby matr1x » December 17th, 2018, 11:45 pm

What lazy petrochin workers know about agriculture?

Postby De Dragon » December 19th, 2018, 12:40 pm

Redman wrote:I think this is a fkin bullsheeeiiiiit precedent to set.

Precedent was already set with Caroni.

Postby toyolink » December 19th, 2018, 12:59 pm

The manner in which separation packages for petrotrin employees is being handled is a case study of management by adhocism.
In some ways the arbitrary approach adopted by both Petrotrin and the state is disrespectful and appears to be concerned with mitigating the political fall-out associated with the closure.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 19th, 2018, 3:55 pm

Is all about political damage control. Persons not in the agricultural sector do not deserve agricultural lands as severance. People formerly receiving much larger salaries than the median in TnT do not deserve residential lands and subsidised mortgages.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » December 19th, 2018, 10:23 pm

Petro gone but TNT struggles more, ent when that company strike was $13million per day but all of a sudden is OK. Where the money coming from?

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » December 20th, 2018, 12:10 am

Postby Chimera » December 20th, 2018, 6:36 am

Steups @ land for agriculture. Most caroni ppl not planting their agri land

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 20th, 2018, 6:41 am

how much of shitkickers chirren yuh does see planting gyarden??

Moobs

Postby Moobs » December 20th, 2018, 7:40 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Steups @ land for agriculture. Most caroni ppl not planting their agri land

Well, look at it from this perspective.
Most people received their land about 10 years after caroni closed down. At this point most people may have died, become sick, or to old.

But for those who are still somewhat youngish, let's say you recieved your land. You got the land unsurveyed (government was supposed to survey the land but they surveyor buddies hadda make a cut).

Cost to survey is about $4500.
Cost to prepare land, purchase equipment/materials, purchase seedlings, pay worker. In the tens of thousands...

Now people will say to to adb, them giving loans easy. But when you get there, they tell you that inorder to get the loan the max you getting is $45000, but you need to make an $18000 security deposit first.

Now the last time I checked most caroni workers aren't rich. But who cares right. Take back de land and give it to "someone else"...

Postby Chimera » December 20th, 2018, 8:00 am

Moobs wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Steups @ land for agriculture. Most caroni ppl not planting their agri land

Most people received their land about 10 years after caroni closed down. At this point most people may have died, become sick, or to old.

But for those who are still somewhat youngish, let's say you recieved your land. You got the land unsurveyed (government was supposed to survey the land but they surveyor buddies hadda make a cut).

Cost to prepare land, purchase equipment/materials, purchase seedlings, pay worker. In the tens of thousands...

Now people will say to to adb, them giving loans easy. But when you get there, they tell you that inorder to get the loan the max you getting is $45000, but you need to make an $18000 security deposit first.

Now the last time I checked most caroni workers aren't rich. But who cares right. Take back de land and give it to "someone else"...
Sigh....hadda agree with yuh 100% there yes. It impossible to find workers as well. And most ppl get their land long after they able to plant it.
Plus plenty of the land dont have access roads or water source. And then people stealing if you actually plant.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 25th, 2018, 5:56 am

Moobs wrote:

U still saying that part...what about the ones who aint even bother n sold their land to real estate hustlers who paid them small money n resold it for big money... n i know some personally.. who got rich off of this.. d agents.. not d caroni workers.. now all the best areas have apartments n all the rural areas expensive. That's why so many people still renting.. n those who get somewhere far.. forced to buy vehicles.. just to reach to work .n we all know it easier to get a car than house n land . This country in a mess .. i scared what 20yrs from now would look

Postby Chimera » December 25th, 2018, 6:24 am

supernedd wrote:
Moobs wrote:

U still saying that part...what about the ones who aint even bother n sold their land to real estate hustlers who paid them small money n resold it for big money... n i know some personally.. who got rich off of this.. d agents.. not d caroni workers.. now all the best areas have apartments n all the rural areas expensive. That's why so many people still renting.. n those who get somewhere far.. forced to buy vehicles.. just to reach to work .n we all know it easier to get a car than house n land . This country in a mess .. i scared what 20yrs from now would look
Cant vex with real estate agents who risked buying the land. Many of them who bought it cheap were the ones who bought it with a simple agreement and there was no deed or even a survey to see exactly where the land is, plus they bought it without access roads and they gambled and waited it out and ended up coming out ontop most of the time

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 25th, 2018, 6:27 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
supernedd wrote:
Moobs wrote:

Cant vex with real estate agents who risked buying the land. Many of them who bought it cheap were the ones who bought it with a simple agreement and there was no deed or even a survey to see exactly where the land is, plus they bought it without access roads and they gambled and waited it out and ended up coming out ontop most of the time
Nah i aint vex with them . But there was so called rules that agri land cant be used for residential n trust me . That rule convenient. Cause i know people who build house n apartments on them . No repercussion

Postby Chimera » December 25th, 2018, 8:36 am

supernedd wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
supernedd wrote:
Moobs wrote:

Nah i aint vex with them . But there was so called rules that agri land cant be used for residential n trust me . That rule convenient. Cause i know people who build house n apartments on them . No repercussion
Again, ita ppl who risk doing it. At any point thr government could swing and make them break down their buildings or take back the land because they breach the terms of the land.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 26th, 2018, 7:11 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
supernedd wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
supernedd wrote:
Moobs wrote:

Again, ita ppl who risk doing it. At any point thr government could swing and make them break down their buildings or take back the land because they breach the terms of the land.
Well actually one agent told me .. them have things in place.. because i said that same thing u saying to him.. he just laugh n say doh worry..