Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Re: Masqueraders fork out $5,000 - $15,000 to play Mas

Postby nemisis » January 18th, 2019, 9:35 am

Every year a thread like this shows back up. How someone else spending their money is your business??? If they suffering afterwards or have remorse also not your concern. They living in debt 9 months out of the year still not your business. People quick to watch over and judge what really is of no concern to you

Postby MaxPower » January 18th, 2019, 10:23 am

^ ur right,

But by them suffering causes an impact on society...the annoyance, pestering, crying, whining, begging, complaining....its toxic

Infamouz

Postby Infamouz » January 18th, 2019, 10:27 am

SEx party Free drugs... anyone went?

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2019, 11:07 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
pugboy wrote:Surely she have no debts to have access to that kinda disposable income

Numb3r4 wrote:$40,000.00 for the Carnival season...WOW...

She does, but most normal women would spend around 10-20k on carnival. Not saying they is the one paying it but that is the cost.

No sir

majority of these women are those who don't have goals in life(cyah cook, always depending on some man and living day to day..........."normal" would maybe go 2-3 fetes and daz it
Dem gal will say dem independent, but still expect men to fund their lifestyle. Meanwhile your arse broke .

Zetski

Postby Zetski » January 18th, 2019, 11:25 am

l33t2 wrote:
pugboy wrote:Surely she have no debts to have access to that kinda disposable income

She does, but most normal women would spend around 10-20k on carnival. Not saying they is the one paying it but that is the cost.

No sir

majority of these women are those who don't have goals in life(cyah cook, always depending on some man and living day to day..........."normal" would maybe go 2-3 fetes and daz it
Dem gal will say dem independent, but still expect men to fund their lifestyle. Meanwhile your arse broke .

They want a man to carry them to "Spain" or "Frauuncceeee".. instead they save, go there for themselves and even carry their parents let them experience what they always dreamed but those are women of no value

airuma

Postby airuma » January 18th, 2019, 11:48 am

MaxPower wrote:^ ur right,

But by them suffering causes an impact on society...the annoyance, pestering, crying, whining, begging, complaining....its toxic

I agree. I wonder how the 1% finances are after carnival?
To quote Louis Hart (a band leader iirc), democracy is about spending money you don’t have, to buy things you don’t need and impress people you don’t like.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 18th, 2019, 11:48 am

nemisis wrote:Every year a thread like this shows back up. How someone else spending their money is your business??? If they suffering afterwards or have remorse also not your concern. They living in debt 9 months out of the year still not your business. People quick to watch over and judge what really is of no concern to you

Whats the point in talking about anything at all? If this topic is really of no concern to you then you should have set an example and stayed out of the thread.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 18th, 2019, 11:50 am

airuma wrote:

To quote Louis Hart (a band leader iirc), democracy is about spending money you don’t have, to buy things you don’t need and impress people you don’t like.

Das a real old saying, people attribute it to capitalism and consumer culture moreso than democracy

Postby 88sins » January 18th, 2019, 12:16 pm

airuma wrote:

He apparently thought democracy is a synonym for idiocy
Democracy is having the ability to freely do those things if one so desires Actually doing those things is the definition of insanity.
Last edited by 88sins on January 18th, 2019, 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 18th, 2019, 12:22 pm

So the economics- for the past how many years.... costumes being outsourced for much cheaper, yet band leaders claiming that their expenses have gone up, hence costumes have gone up by more than 200% in recent years.
Yeah allyuh go ahead and support that sh1t! have fun, jump around for 2 days and spend allyuh hard earned money ………...

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 18th, 2019, 12:56 pm

I does wuk hard boy doh tell me how to spend

Yuh could spot me a $20 until monday tho?

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » January 18th, 2019, 1:49 pm

l33t2 wrote:

No sir

y'all know some real sponge women tho... all the women i know who play mas and/or fete would go out and spend their own money. Speaking for myself, I pay for my own costume. My own fete tickets.. hell.. my own airline tickets (referencing whoever said that when you cant see house/ land/ international travel as realistic blah blah blah you spend on carnival ) plus have my savings put aside every month. Smh

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 18th, 2019, 2:03 pm

ITT a bunch of jealous haters.

I and my group of friends does look forward to carnival season all year long. We even planning to hit cropover.

Does it matter to you? I see men here bad talking girls for sponging off men for mas. But so what? You think them non party girl eh sponging off men too? To each his own, and once they have tusty men, hot girl will get free thing. If some women want to earn their way in life, good for them too. That is women. But if a girl sponging of a man how that bothering you so?

Many of you under the impression these ppl going in debt for carnival and scrunting for the rest of the year. Even if some are, that is life. Money spending stimulates the economy and creates tonnes of employment.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 18th, 2019, 2:06 pm

l33t2 wrote:

No sir

This stereotype is simply not true, some of the most out there carnival girls I know are very successful in life and education.

I guess this is what you tell yourself at night to help you sleep better.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2019, 2:16 pm

ppl free to spend their money, its everybody's choice

i know one carnival band buys a couple properties in woodbrook every year

Ben_spanna wrote:So the economics- for the past how many years.... costumes being outsourced for much cheaper, yet band leaders claiming that their expenses have gone up, hence costumes have gone up by more than 200% in recent years.
Yeah allyuh go ahead and support that sh1t! have fun, jump around for 2 days and spend allyuh hard earned money ………...

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 18th, 2019, 2:58 pm

pugboy wrote:ppl free to spend their money, its everybody's choice

i know one carnival band buys a couple properties in woodbrook every year

Ben_spanna wrote:So the economics- for the past how many years.... costumes being outsourced for much cheaper, yet band leaders claiming that their expenses have gone up, hence costumes have gone up by more than 200% in recent years.

Well if true, what do you expect? Those bands have thousands of masqueraders. You think they in this business to break even?

Also, even if costume production costs are cheaper now, the costs of paying the endless staff, food and drink have easily doubled in the last 10 years, so you must expect prices to increase.

That said, this year is over of the cheapest years for costumes. Entice (part of Fantasy) going as low as below 3k without drinks. I haven't seen prices like that since 2006.

Going by our general inflation rate, a backline costume should be well over 5k by now.

airuma

Postby airuma » January 18th, 2019, 6:24 pm

How did carnival start in Trinidad & Tobago?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 18th, 2019, 7:36 pm

l33t2 wrote:

No sir

This stereotype is simply not true, some of the most out there carnival girls I know are very successful in life and education.

Trying to justify why you like carnival and how i think about your type of "women" not really saying much about you...I doh waste time studying carnival...you like that sheit...daz your business...not mine...I like cruising the world, filling a panel van with music etc etc...you may not.....life and history has shown me that I doh want no long term relationship with someone who live for fetes...you may like that..not me...

How do you define success btw?

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 18th, 2019, 8:20 pm

not worth it

If you really want to blow 5k Spend it on multiple fete tickets. You get to have fun on more days.

Trinis dotish yes

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2019, 8:52 pm

airuma wrote:How did carnival start in Trinidad & Tobago?
From slaves

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 18th, 2019, 9:28 pm

From slaves

seems like we've come full circle huh

slaves to conformity and the rat race

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 18th, 2019, 9:58 pm

l33t2 wrote:This stereotype is simply not true, some of the most out there carnival girls I know are very successful in life and education.

Following on instagram isnt the same as knowing, and those are very curated images of ones life on social media.
It might have a dozen doctors and attorneys in the wet fete, but what about the other hundreds in the crowd.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2019, 10:07 pm

You got it, it's called the pareto principle
80/20 rule, applies to many things

ProtonPowder wrote:
l33t2 wrote:This stereotype is simply not true, some of the most out there carnival girls I know are very successful in life and education.

Following on instagram isnt the same as knowing, and those are very curated images of ones life on social media.
It might have a dozen doctors and attorneys in the wet fete, but what about the other hundreds in the crowd.

airuma

Postby airuma » January 19th, 2019, 7:15 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
From slaves

seems like we've come full circle huh

slaves to conformity and the rat race

Why do you say we've come full circle? It seems like we never moved to me. If my history is correct, carnival started when the slaves were mimicking their masters masquerade parties..... seems like it has always been about that, the only difference is the masters got the slaves to pay them to do it.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 19th, 2019, 9:05 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hadda be ah cnut to take a carnival loan
Ent?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » January 19th, 2019, 1:38 pm

Why dis “journalist” doh haul she stink cyat and go back to her youth bible studies

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 19th, 2019, 8:46 pm

Why allyuh hate carnvial so?

Postby zoom rader » January 19th, 2019, 9:03 pm

l33t2 wrote:Why allyuh hate carnvial so?
There are reseach done that indicated that soca music is a precursor for violence and anti social behaviour.
Unwanted pregnancy
An entire week and half production is lost.
Schools are affected.
Unwanted spending
Crime build up to carnival.
Stabings, shootings and fights
Drunk fools and road accidents
Little kids learning to wine like a dog and parents are happy with that.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 19th, 2019, 9:11 pm

l33t2 wrote:Why allyuh hate carnvial so?

Same reason we hate rap/chutney/dancehall

Soca music promotes degeneracy the same way

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2019, 9:18 pm

All this "morney" carnival seems to contribute to the country yet I doh ever see the benefits...