T&T Parliament SURVEY on Traffic Congestion on the Nation's Roads

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2019, 11:53 am

This survey is being conducted by the Joint Select Committee on Land and Physical Infrastructure of the Parliament of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. The Committee has commenced an inquiry into the effectiveness of measures in place to reduce traffic congestion on the nation’s roadways.

Please take a moment to assist the Committee in its inquiry into the effectiveness of measures in place to reduce traffic congestion on the Nation’s roads by ticking the most appropriate responses that are applicable to you.

Link to online survey
https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/DMQW7N7

Re: T&T Parliament SURVEY on Traffic Congestion on the Nation's Roads

Postby Slartibartfast » February 15th, 2019, 12:46 pm

Done. Good to see them thinking about this.

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2019, 4:48 pm

Was now going to post this

matix

Postby matix » February 15th, 2019, 4:58 pm

Needs some work done for self employed people. My area is country wide.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 15th, 2019, 7:17 pm

The priority buss route for north-south is an interesting idea though.

Our biggest problems with public transport are reliable availability and horrible final mile connectivity. If they fix those two things (massively huge and difficult tasks) then they may see a difference.

They need to make public transport convenient if they really want to make an impact.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » February 15th, 2019, 9:05 pm

No suggestions about decentralisation of services?
And school time traffic

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2019, 9:07 pm

Taking trucks off the roads at peak traffic hours (early morning and after work) may alleviate a lot of the congestion

Postby K74T » February 15th, 2019, 9:15 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Taking trucks off the roads at peak traffic hours (early morning and after work) may alleviate a lot of the congestion

x100

Postby The_Honourable » February 15th, 2019, 9:18 pm

Done! Hope they revisit the Bus Rapid Transit option as the IADB recommends it for Trinidad and ready to fund it.

foots

Postby foots » February 15th, 2019, 10:21 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:The priority buss route for north-south is an interesting idea though.

Our biggest problems with public transport are reliable availability and horrible final mile connectivity. If they fix those two things (massively huge and difficult tasks) then they may see a difference.

They need to make public transport convenient if they really want to make an impact.

A north south PBR really does sound like it would help.

Our final mile connectivity will be horrible because our population densities are low - our residential areas are suburban and people are really spread out there. In an area with a low population density, it would be prohibitively expensive to send buses frequently through the area - the buses would be near empty for the majority of the trips, resulting in the service not being cost effective.

Trinidad has had cheap gas for decades, making it cheap and convenient for people to live many miles from where they work. That led to suburban sprawl and total car dependence. The idea of every person driving their own car for lack of other convenient options, is a recipe for gridlock. We can spend half of our GDP on more roads for cars (like Los Angeles) and we will always end up in the same situation - congestion and more congestion. Cars don't just need road space to drive....they need a lot of space for parking too. This eats up a lot of land in urban areas. Half of the street space in POS is consumed by parking, imagine if some of that space was converted to bike lanes - people would have an option other than driving to get around in town. Removing parking in POS is unthinkable though, because it is hard to imagine getting around without a car there.

Allowing more people to live closer to where they work (i.e by allowing higher population densities in urban areas) will make it possible for public transport to function efficiently. It will also make other options more feasible e.g walking/bike share/ebikes/carpooling. Allowing higher population densities is impossible if we continue with the current car centric mindset though. The idea that every single person should drive a car to get around is attractive, but outdated. Traffic is why.

All that said, I really find traffic in and out of POS ease up a lot over the last year or so. Perhaps the state of the economy has led to less cars being on the road?

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 15th, 2019, 10:36 pm

Driver education and enforcement of the keep left accept when overtaking law would go a long way on the highways for reducing traffic and also improving overall safety.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 16th, 2019, 10:21 am

A north-south PBR and independent dual carriageways both north-south and east-west , BRT for POS, Sando and Chaguanas

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 16th, 2019, 11:20 am

If you think anything will come of this, I have some magic beans to sell you

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 16th, 2019, 11:21 am

The_Honourable wrote:Done! Hope they revisit the Bus Rapid Transit option as the IADB recommends it for Trinidad and ready to fund it.
Ha ha. This and an honest politician

Postby Rovin » February 16th, 2019, 12:18 pm

ok i took d survey

some of d answer choices not exactly as i wud have liked but i chose whatever that was close

seems to me no. 12 was a propaganda question as though it was designed to get "public approval" for whatever next mega project d govt already plans to do ..... :|

Postby maj. tom » February 16th, 2019, 12:50 pm

Weird how they think that the public can solve that problem eh? What the ass any of allyuh know about traffic and infrastructure solutions? What opinion of the public was necessary in the very specific questions asked in that survey? Notice too how you couldn't undo your answers and the forced choice answers? Make a pappy show and tell with a survey. Remember the Brexit referendum in 2016? What the hell the general public knew about all the thousands of trade agreements with the EU that took decades to create by experts? And look at the state of Brexit now. The opinion of the general public is stupidity.

But they still have to hire experts in the field to consult.

That's like asking the public to do a survey on the National Debt, or International Trade Agreements, when in fact the public knows very little about the subject itself. What would be the point of it? Class participation points? Election points?

aidan

Postby aidan » February 16th, 2019, 1:45 pm

ek4ever wrote:If you think anything will come of this, I have some magic beans to sell you
Was d price for 10beans?

Postby redmanjp » February 16th, 2019, 3:14 pm

The final mile issue could be dealt with by simply having a taxi service operating in those areas carrying ppl to and from the terminus.

Also once we setup a working BRT service then you can have highway tolls at peak hours to discourage ppl from driving.

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2019, 11:22 am

Leverage the largest piece of infrastructure that we have....the Gulf of Paria.

Fast ferries,and additional fast ferry terminal on the creek.

No maintenance,scalable, and flexible.

Point,Vessigny,La Brea,Sando.
All possible points to have terminals.

What about hovercraft s?

Postby The_Honourable » March 27th, 2019, 4:08 pm

Survey results and traffic congestion discussion below:

19th Public Meeting - JSC Land and Physical Infrastructure - Mar 26, 2019 - Traffic Congestion

Postby Ben_spanna » June 7th, 2019, 12:07 pm

how many times have we heard various governments agree that what we need is decentralization , and when given the chance they still BOTH go and erect new govt buildings or create further traffic themselves.
Is it that you can defraud the people of more money the closer to the Main City that the construction takes place???
Or are both parties full of friking idiots! .. well this we already know I suppose.

Postby 88sins » June 7th, 2019, 1:41 pm

maj. tom wrote:Weird how they think that the public can solve that problem eh?

actually the best ppl to ak is the public, because the primary cause of the gridlock we all face is in fact caused by part of the public (both drivers & pedestrians) & their dumb ass habits. here's a few examples:

yuh know your turn off is on the left, but yuh in d right lane cuz is traffic in the left lane & it too slow. So now when yuh reach yuh turn off and you can't move you blocking ppl going past that point, so traffic now builds up in both lanes instead of moving slowly in only one. This happens all over the place, especially in PoS.
ppl parking like mules anywhere they feel, often for real nonsense, like not pulling aside properly and they stopping to go & lime in a bar on a narrow road.
too many schools & other not so high priority institutions, in small centralized areas, that really don't need to be in these areas. Iirc, there is something close to 40 primary schools in PoS, between the flyover & woodbrook. & that is just primary schools eh, we eh start to check secondary yet mind you.
too many color blind pedestrians that can't seem to understand they have to wait for a light at a zebra crossing, so they walking across the road whenever, wherever, and however slow they feel to, futzing around with the free flow of traffic.
too many taxis & ph drivers on poorly managed stands, making all kinda jackass drive on city streets. If you don't believe it stand up by in front HDC building in PoS & notice how free the traffic flows after you pass George St.

is ppl & vehicles is d problem.
Simplest solution-get of some of d ppl off the road, or some of the vehicles, or some of both

Postby MaxPower » June 7th, 2019, 2:43 pm

Tiidas, Sylphys, JKs, Almeras, Cubes....get them off the roads for a start

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 7th, 2019, 3:04 pm

actually the best ppl to ak is the public, because the primary cause of the gridlock we all face is in fact caused by part of the public (both drivers & pedestrians) & their dumb ass habits. here's a few examples:

yuh know your turn off is on the left, but yuh in d right lane cuz is traffic in the left lane & it too slow. So now when yuh reach yuh turn off and you can't move you blocking ppl going past that point, so traffic now builds up in both lanes instead of moving slowly in only one. This happens all over the place, especially in PoS.
ppl parking like mules anywhere they feel, often for real nonsense, like not pulling aside properly and they stopping to go & lime in a bar on a narrow road.
too many schools & other not so high priority institutions, in small centralized areas, that really don't need to be in these areas. Iirc, there is something close to 40 primary schools in PoS, between the flyover & woodbrook. & that is just primary schools eh, we eh start to check secondary yet mind you.
too many color blind pedestrians that can't seem to understand they have to wait for a light at a zebra crossing, so they walking across the road whenever, wherever, and however slow they feel to, futzing around with the free flow of traffic.
too many taxis & ph drivers on poorly managed stands, making all kinda jackass drive on city streets. If you don't believe it stand up by in front HDC building in PoS & notice how free the traffic flows after you pass George St.

Simplest solution-get of some of d ppl off the road, or some of the vehicles, or some of both

So all we have police for is to ambush people in the night around a bend to catch you going 102 kmph ent? However, the simple functions we require of officers to keep morons/situations like those you mentioned in check seems to be secondary. Police only enforcing the law when it convenient to them so if the public doing what convenient to them, well maybe somebody should lead by example and maybe they should have some pride in doing so.

Postby zoom rader » June 7th, 2019, 3:55 pm

Soul Collector wrote:

So all we have police for is to ambush people in the night around a bend to catch you going 102 kmph ent? However, the simple functions we require of officers to keep morons/situations like those you mentioned in check seems to be secondary. Police only enforcing the law when it convenient to them so if the public doing what convenient to them, well maybe somebody should lead by example and maybe they should have some pride in doing so.

Police entrapment

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2019, 4:55 pm

Hoss I could vote for u.

The thing is they need to redo many things to suit the way people need to move about.
Problem is that the road ways were intended to fit a small scale colonial outpost, not a breathing congested city.

It's ramming a square peg in a round hole.

They need to remove some services from PoS to open up some rad ways.
That would allow freezer flow, while reducing the number of people concentrated there.

If not, another means, is to block vehickusr traffic on various blocks, and have them encircled by roadways.. Like mini Queens Park savannahs.

The idea is like the govt parks that the majority of services I would expect to use would be in that hub. And various hubs cater for various needs.
U would still need to enlarge road ways.

People would need to walk between a 2 and 5 mins from building to building. No vehicles. Unless some sort of tram, from hub to hub is made.

The thing is, no solution would be cheap or easy.

But a 5 billion US dollar subway to bring a secretary from arima to PoS will solve nothing in the city it self

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2019, 5:11 pm

There has been so much published information from studies done around the world.

Traffic congestion has multiple root causes:

1- Too many cars for the roadway due to inadequate mass transit options or other reasons.

2- Obstacles in the road causing a blockage and merger. These can be any of the following:

Double parking

Road work

Lane closure due to utility work

Road narrowing down

An accident

3- Traffic signals out of sync many times on purpose or occasionally when the computers are malfunctioning.

4- Inadequate traffic signal green time.

5- Too many pedestrians crossing not permitting cars to turn.

6- Too many trucks on the road due to inadequate rail freight opportunities.

7- Overdevelopment in areas where the mass transit system is already overcrowded and the road system is inadequate.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 9th, 2019, 2:51 am

jm3 wrote:Driver intelligence and enforcement of the keep left accept when overtaking law would go a long way on the highways for reducing traffic and also improving overall safety.

I changed 'education' to 'intelligence' because you don't need education to read the signs that tell you keep left or that show you how to use a roundabout properly. Yes, knowing how to read counts as education but a lot of our problems on the road stem from poor decision making and plain and simple stupidity a.k.a. lack of intelligence. #maco_traffic :roll:

MaxPower wrote:Tiidas, Sylphys, JKs, Almeras, Cubes....get them off the roads for a start

Lol..I've seen many a Ranger/Navara/Hilux sheitty driver too eh. As a matter of fact, pickup drivers are worse in some ways because of the vehicle's size, height and thus perceived invincibility. Just saying.

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2019, 10:36 am

I am not sure of this but I heard that ppl who working in city areas, send out bullitins like in whatsapp of police road block etc on highways...lets say it that it is sent out early in the morning. The bullitin still exists throughout the entire day even though the police leave the area long time. Thus causing traffic to slow down there in traffic time in afternoon. Idk..your thoughts?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 9th, 2019, 11:10 am

I did not see the survey so can't comment on it.

Decentralization is one thing, but it seems they love being surrounded by Belmont, East Dry River, Laventille, Beetham, Cocorite, etc.

The whole 'too much vehicles for the road' is an invalid excuse.

The number of vehicles didn't increase to what it now is, overnight.
Your government sat on their thumbs and watched as the congestion got worse and worse.

Areas where the number of cars are less than highways, still have to face endless traffic because of the condition of the roads.
I see many roads just slowly deteriorate until it was made single lane. The solution was to just paint around the area where the road disintegrate, and put up a Caution sign.

I went to check a 'padna' down La Romain recently.
There is a "road" called Dumfries road that I see many cars using.
Why is that road so terrible?
Tried the other one that pass in front Kamla house (ss erin i think) - There is a part of the road where the 2 lanes are "high and low" like +1 foot and the road is cracking open, nothing has been done.

Only when the road collapses, or is fully impassable is when things start to get put in place.

Just the small piece of the Ring road that people use to bypass the highway, I don't think that has been touched in over 20 years.
Naparima Mayaro Road? - Deplorable. There is a part of the road where is like driving in a blasted velodrome. Most car drivers are not trained to do so, and they slow down causing massive traffic.
And those are supposedly "major roads"

Look how many years it took them to come up with a 'solution' for the Tarouba Road by Tech/utt.
And now when the road "quality" is supposedly finally fixed, the planning wasn't, so you end up having 4 lanes trying to filter into 1, traffic light included, on evenings by that Toyota roundabout. The 2 unfortunate times I got caught in that took about 40 minutes from there to the highway. And I heard it's a regular thing.
Thankfully I have no need to go into PoS regularly, but the last time I had an 8 oclock meeting about +2 years ago, it took about 2 hours from Barataria (Lady Young) to Pos. I don't want to imagine about now.
I think they recently installed a speed bump in the left lane right under the Gasparillo overpass, Just after removing the one nearer Debe which was there for years.

Then there is the issue of peoples customers reversing on the road and parents waiting for children from 2:30
While this causes traffic, this falls in the same category as 'too much cars on the road'
People need to run their businesses to get money, the same way people need their cars, since everything is unreliable.
-----
tl;dr

It is mainly schitty, poorly designed and unmaintained roadworks. - Narrow cramped streets, with no room to expand in urban areas. Poor quality roads in rural areas. Whole set of run around just to get from 'right dey to right dey' , back roads not maintained to even show that they noticing the congestion. Poor connectivity overall.

There are other reasons that contribute eg. crime - many people feel safer in their own vehicle than having to wait for taxi/PH
People may not want to carpool if their co-workers are sufferers etc. the list goes on.

If the people in charge not doing anything about it and people who have to face it, sitting back and taking it, pretty soon you will be going nowhere. Literally.
(I never said to block road/burn tyre)
I think when it reaches the point where you are in standstill traffic for 24 hours, then they will take notice. Don't fall asleep behind the wheel though, you may get a ticket or demerit points.