online job hunting

Mims717

online job hunting

Postby Mims717 » March 5th, 2019, 12:52 pm

just curious I've been on online job sites like Caribbean jobs and Trinidad jobs for years and all the jobs I've ever had has never been via these sites. Has anyone here ever had success getting a job from online?

vaiostation

Re: online job hunting

Postby vaiostation » March 5th, 2019, 12:57 pm

People done get hire before them ads even went online...

Job market already flooded, plus them vene going and make it worse in a few months...

Agriculture might be your only way out or leaving the country all together...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 5th, 2019, 11:03 pm

vaiostation wrote:People done get hire before them ads even went online...

Job market already flooded, plus them vene going and make it worse in a few months...

Agriculture might be your only way out or leaving the country all together...

Can confirm this, don't waste your time with those sites unless you have a skill that is in very high demand and there is a serious shortage of people like you in the country.

There is a reason everybody buying 7 seater cars to work taxi now. A lot more profitable to work for yourself for $700 a day than for a company paying you $250 a day with a degree.

Trade have the money now but once they legalize all the Vene well crappo smoke yuh pipe cause you can't compete with them Vene when it comes to construction. If you have a vehicle try Agriculture even if its Hydro, but brace yuhself the country is about to get very very bad

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » March 5th, 2019, 11:43 pm

I've used it many times, the best I've gotten is the status update that my resume has been forwarded or short listed but no real interview. A couple times I got a phone/skype interview, but with a foreign company looking for a locally based field professional, still though no dice beyond that.

The market is just plain saturated right now, and the higher end fields (degree related) are just not there, their aren't many local industries to take full advantage of them.

At the lower end, well tough to beat the Venezuelans, cheaper and seem for now to be just better that the locals.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 5th, 2019, 11:48 pm

Yeah the best bet right now is taking advantage of the ability to travel to Europe without requiring a VISA. This is the only real chance young people have right now do it while you still young, you will eventually get citizenship there and in Germany for example they respect technicians a great deal not like down here where we does say "send the boy to do ah trade nah cause he too duncy to go to school" kinda mentality.

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2019, 8:11 am

vaiostation wrote:People done get hire before them ads even went online...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Why is it when trini don't get a job, this is the natural assumption? Gee, maybe someone better qualified than you got the job?

Postby tr1ad » March 6th, 2019, 8:43 am

I've got many an interview from:
Caribbean Jobs
TrinidadJobs
JobsTT

over the past 5 years - some of them even reach out to me to ask if I am interested in opportunities

the current one I am in was on Trinidad Jobs and it's a permanent position..

just because sh!tsnakes applied and left feeling sour over not getting anything doesn't mean they aren't good

it might take time, but a proper profile and CV for those sites make the difference

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2019, 8:59 am

Use legit channels as Triad mentioned above.
If you find a sketchy "hiring" website, google the name.
Most of the big companies and recruiters use the three listed by @triad

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2019, 9:02 am

tr1ad wrote:I've got many an interview from:
Caribbean Jobs
TrinidadJobs
JobsTT

over the past 5 years - some of them even reach out to me to ask if I am interested in opportunities

the current one I am in was on Trinidad Jobs and it's a permanent position..

just because sh!tsnakes applied and left feeling sour over not getting anything doesn't mean they aren't good

it might take time, but a proper profile and CV for those sites make the difference
Ditto!
At work we use all when advertising jobs and do hire successfully from there

Postby tr1ad » March 6th, 2019, 9:06 am

some even utilise PMSL, Progressive, or Recruitment Xperts.. which in turn advertise on the actual job sites

Postby stev » March 6th, 2019, 11:01 am

caribbean jobs was not that bad for me....I am currently on my third job...all of which was via caribbean jobs (2007-2019+).

these days kinda different, numerous people looking for work (and applying) but people are just not hiring...friends and family first.

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2019, 11:16 am

stev wrote:caribbean jobs was not that bad for me....I am currently on my third job...all of which was via caribbean jobs (2007-2019+).

these days kinda different, numerous people looking for work (and applying) but people are just not hiring...friends and family first.

I disagree...legit companies are still looking to hire the best people for the job, not who they know....it makes better economic sense

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2019, 11:19 am

I would put a figure of 90% of Job hunting is all based on who knows you and What links you have.

It's all fixed and fake, employers already have their people in place and it's all a show.

Only if you have a specialist skill and the number of applications are low then it's fair game.

Employment in trini is a con job.
Bull chit adds and bull chit interviews

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2019, 11:22 am

stev wrote:caribbean jobs was not that bad for me....I am currently on my third job...all of which was via caribbean jobs (2007-2019+).

I disagree...legit companies are still looking to hire the best people for the job, not who they know....it makes better economic sense
Bull chit !

Legit employers most time still have their preferred people. It's all fixed.

Only if you have a specialist skill and the number of applications are low then it's fair game.

Trini is a who you know society in all walks of life.

Postby tr1ad » March 6th, 2019, 11:24 am

depends on what the field is... of course nepotism is a extremely huge part... but it also depends on the company.

again, because some have an experience or two or three.... doesn't mean it's all the same

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » March 6th, 2019, 11:33 am

I applied through caribbean jobs already. Company called me back after 11 months or so to offer me the position and asked how soon can I start, but I was already employed somewhere else.

Like any organization that is hiring, if your CV or Resume is weak or unsuitable, how can you expect an acknowledgement or response? If you don't, just move on, beef up your credentials and try somewhere else.

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2019, 11:44 am

tr1ad wrote:depends on what the field is... of course nepotism is a extremely huge part... but it also depends on the company.

again, because some have an experience or two or three.... doesn't mean it's all the same
Once locals selecting and interviewing candidates then your chances drop in favor of pre selected candidates.

I had jobs where all the selections was done overseas and only the interviews was done in trini with a mixed panel of local and foreign HR.

All test results was sent to the US and scores from HR interview. It was then up to the US to actually give no or yes based on scores.

Employment in PT lisas is another con job as companies have a pact as to not hire from each other companies on the estates. They keep progression down as to keep salary at a low level.

Easy to move from one estate to another but not within an estate.

Then you have political companies to deal with which is another story.

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2019, 12:21 pm

I feel zoom goes through life permanently disgruntled because he can't self-fellatiate

Postby gastly369 » March 6th, 2019, 1:18 pm

"work from home and make 5000usd"
Call 65c-hipd

*Trini flock to it

Drea

Postby Drea » March 6th, 2019, 2:11 pm

My last two jobs I applied through CJ and got interviews calls, I believe also had an interview through TJ... Jobstt is hit or miss.

But could it be your resume is the problem, or skills not matching the positions applied for? The market is competitive....

Also for those saying don't bother applying to jobs on these sites, stop encouraging persons to shoot themselves in the foot. Placing ads with these recruitment sites aint cheap (especially CJ) so no employer is doing it for fun. Better to apply and have a chance than not apply at all.

Postby MG Man » March 6th, 2019, 2:37 pm

men wid two IIs and three IVs applying for BSc jobs and vex because they eh get call

jcrew

Postby jcrew » March 6th, 2019, 2:42 pm

MG Man wrote:men wid two IIs and three IVs applying for BSc jobs and vex because they eh get call
Men still vex they ain't get call for a work in petrotrin and it close down with all the 100 sent in resumes gone to waste.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 6th, 2019, 3:34 pm

MG Man wrote:I feel zoom goes through life permanently disgruntled because he can't self-fellatiate

If he could say that while doing that I guarantee he will be a very happy man indeed :lol:

I think the job market is just over-saturated now. At least that's how it is in the construction field. Less work and more qualified people. In the end, people only hire who they know because the market is so saturated that you don't have to go that far to find someone qualified enough to do the job. You also have a lot of people not applying for jobs which they are overqualified for because they not getting anything. I have a friend with an M.Sc. in Chem Eng that sat through a 3 hour long interview for an admin assistant position that only required a couple A'Level and CXC passes.

Mims717

Postby Mims717 » March 6th, 2019, 6:31 pm

thanks for the input guys appreciate it much

Mims717

Postby Mims717 » March 6th, 2019, 6:46 pm

I've been on Caribbean job , Trinidad jobs , Jobs TT for years. I am currently employed but all the jobs I have ever had was through a friend of a friend, a recommendation or just my own luck. I am highly qualified compared to my peers and have 7 years experience counting this year but I'm looking for a higher paying job and I just don't see these sites facilitating that. Keep in in mind there are a lot of vacancies that are posted but for a number of them, the company already has an employee in mind for the position, but because the are legally obligated to post any and all vacancies to the public.

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2019, 7:43 pm

Got my last few jobs via networking.

Was actually asked to apply for one recently.

Current one, I filled out the application after starting. It was just for paper work sake.

JayJayA

Postby JayJayA » March 7th, 2019, 6:46 am

I would say all of these are hit or miss options.

Postby rspann » March 7th, 2019, 6:51 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
MG Man wrote:I feel zoom goes through life permanently disgruntled because he can't self-fellatiate

If he could say that while doing that I guarantee he will be a very happy man indeed :lol:

I think the job market is just over-saturated now. At least that's how it is in the construction field. Less work and more qualified people. In the end, people only hire who they know because the market is so saturated that you don't have to go that far to find someone qualified enough to do the job. You also have a lot of people not applying for jobs which they are overqualified for because they not getting anything. I have a friend with an M.Sc. in Chem Eng that sat through a 3 hour long interview for an admin assistant position that only required a couple A'Level and CXC passes.

Add that to the influx of Venes that are now invited, and Stuart Young will have to change his"may the best man win" to "heaven help us all".