‘Sooting’ is sexual harassment - New Sexual Harassment Policy in the workplace

Postby redmanjp » March 12th, 2019, 8:01 pm

so what if I say 'psst famalay!'

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/03/12/sooting-is-sexual-harassment/

‘Sooting’ is sexual harassment
National Workplace Policy online

SOOTING,” a type of catcalling, has been listed as a form of sexual harassment in the National Workplace Policy on Sexual Harassment.

The policy was announced on Friday in Parliament by Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus and posted on the ministry’s website yesterday. It seeks to define and prevent sexual harassment in the workplace, identify and address relevant issues, and provide guidance on actions that may be taken by main stakeholders, namely victims, observers, employers, workers and the government.

It says, “Currently, the law is silent on the issue of sexual harassment in TT, and therefore lacks definitions or specific indicators to determine what type of behaviour constitutes sexual harassment in the workplace. This silence undermines efforts to prevent and treat with sexual harassment matters.”

The types of sexual harassment included physical and verbal as well as non-verbal (sooting, sexually suggestive gestures and stalking) and written/graphic (sexual e-mails, letters, messages, pictures, texts, displays of sexually-explicit photographic and pornographic materials, calendars and emojis).

The policy says occasional compliments that are socially and culturally acceptable and appropriate are generally not considered sexual harassment. “However, our social and cultural values, the norms and attitudes of our society coupled with the idiosyncratic way in which people speak or what is considered ‘picong’ creates a degree of subjectivity over what exactly is behaviour that constitutes or does not constitute sexual harassment. The perceptions in different contexts of what constitutes sexual harassment in the workplace are extremely diverse, but the key characteristic of sexual harassment is that it is unwelcome and/or unwanted by the recipient.”

The policy added one of the most common standards is that the behaviour has to be unreasonable.

Government’s goal, it says, is to take a zero-tolerance stance on any matter concerning sexual harassment in the workplace. It addresses: the procedure which should be followed by both employers and workers when sexual harassment claims arise; legislative avenues currently in place for redress; recommendations for legislative and administrative action to ensure everyone is protected from sexual harassment, and by extension workplace violence; and the Government’s commitment to respect, preserve and promote human rights in the workplace.

The policy pointed out there is an absence of collective data and research which accurately reflects the prevalence of sexual harassment in the workplace. It quoted the National Women’s Health Survey for TT, 2017, commissioned by Caribbean DEVTrends and the Inter-American Development Bank, which identified that 13 per cent of women experienced sexual harassment at work, on the job, in public transport and public spaces.

The highest prevalence of this type of harassment was in the form of electronic messages with sexual content (eight per cent) and being groped in a public space (seven per cent). The survey also suggested, that in certain instances, as many as 84 per cent of sexual harassment experiences were unreported.

This policy treats with allegations made in good faith, and also addresses false allegations of sexual harassment in the workplace, saying, “Such allegations can ruin individuals, families, businesses and other institutions, regardless of whether or not they are disproven.”

The policy also pointed out that migrant workers experience sexual and other types of exploitation as well as sexual harassment at work.

“Migrant workers and in particular female migrant workers face several vulnerabilities in domestic live-in situations, services sector and construction work. They often may not or cannot appeal to authorities for protection.”

It stressed that every employer must therefore take steps to develop, implement and promote a sexual harassment policy suitable to the structure of their particular workplace.

“The failure of an employer to swiftly and appropriately address a complaint of sexual harassment, having become/made aware of its existence, can result in severe legal, financial and social consequences.”
Last edited by redmanjp on March 13th, 2019, 1:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: ‘Sooting’ is sexual harassment

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 12th, 2019, 8:10 pm

But it have guntress who would love to be sooted but don't get any, many of them are jealous that the bess things does get all the attention, right now lots of local women are upset over the influx of Vene Woman getting all the attention and soots.

Is only them mad looking feminist, angry at the world who does make these things an issue.

Postby Kenjo » March 12th, 2019, 8:29 pm

Enough men going to lose they job or reputation now

Postby paid_influencer » March 12th, 2019, 8:55 pm

we, as a society, should treat women with more respect

Postby skylinechild » March 12th, 2019, 9:01 pm

paging black start...... paging Mr. black start

Postby MaxPower » March 12th, 2019, 9:13 pm

Disgusting it is

Postby Gem_in_i » March 12th, 2019, 9:30 pm

They does still do that?

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 12th, 2019, 9:35 pm

Honest question though, the fellas who does 'soot' gyal does actually get through with them?

And if so, what is the quality of gyal they pull?

Postby shogun » March 12th, 2019, 9:39 pm

What about the men that get "sooted" by females? Do they get their own movement/hashtag as well? Asking for a friend.

#methree maybe?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 12th, 2019, 9:43 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Honest question though, the fellas who does 'soot' gyal does actually get through with them?

Nope, not a single man ever get through by sooting a gyal.

I asked a PNM co worker why he does soot and he said It is done to show society that he is straight and he is a gangster and not on no battyboi scene.

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2019, 9:59 pm

paid_influencer wrote:we, as a society, should treat women with more respect
Bull chit,

White night indentied

Postby 88sins » March 12th, 2019, 10:08 pm

ED, what mook does tell u these nonsense, and why do you feel so confident to swallow it and regurgitate it here? plenty fellas does gt by sootin gyul.

what you and the females don't realize, the soot is only to get the gyul attention. is d lyrics/game yuh drop on she after yuh she attention is what gets d gyul.

Postby The_Honourable » March 12th, 2019, 10:18 pm

So meh own calendar with a sexy thing on it is a problem too? lol

I get the sooting in the workplace, especially on commercial and industrial areas. You had to be chupid to be doing that in the same place you making yuh paper.

And yeah, it have women also being inappropriate in the workplace. I think in this case, men have to document, document and document in case she switch and play victim using that same policy against you.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » March 12th, 2019, 10:24 pm

Sooting doesn't get the girl, it creates awareness of your sexual interest in her. I've actually had many women who I 'sooted' (a 'oh gosh baby' is the same thing effectively), winked or gave a type of smile too, come back looking for me. Works really really good in fetes, bars, clubs but does not ever work with a women you won't see again though.

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2019, 10:29 pm

Women wear tight panties for one reason and that's harrassment.

Women have double standards, it's always ulgy ass women that cry harrassment.

But then again a man of game don't need to soot.

Never give women attention , let them come to you

Postby The_Honourable » March 12th, 2019, 10:43 pm

Nah not just ugly ass women alone. If she's not attracted to you and you tell her hello, then you will get reported to HR. If in the same workplace she hot for a next man and he does the exact same thing, she'll be receptive. Come to work in low cut top, tight dress above her knees, touching his arms, etc.

Postby zoom rader » March 12th, 2019, 10:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Nah not just ugly ass women alone. If she's not attracted to you and you tell her hello, then you will get reported to HR. If in the same workplace she hot for a next man and he does the exact same thing, she'll be receptive. Come to work in low cut top, tight dress above her knees, touching his arms, etc.
Rule one never mess or bull women that you work with.

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » March 13th, 2019, 12:03 am

^^or D Boss wife

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 13th, 2019, 12:56 am

The_Honourable wrote:Nah not just ugly ass women alone. If she's not attracted to you and you tell her hello, then you will get reported to HR. If in the same workplace she hot for a next man and he does the exact same thing, she'll be receptive. Come to work in low cut top, tight dress above her knees, touching his arms, etc.
Rule one never mess or bull women that you work with.

Rule two always maintain professionalism with them.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 13th, 2019, 2:36 am

What is a soot and how you does do daa? Meh lips duz tickle wen i try to make the mating call from the trinitustyman race.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 13th, 2019, 4:02 am

let them be.
soon when non of them could find a man because all trini men tracking venes and other latinos they would cry foul.

Why dont the government update the laws on divorce , child maintenance and other gender equality . Since women wants equal rights. men should get equal rights when i comes to custody of kids.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 13th, 2019, 6:13 am

Jennifer just vex nobody a soot she

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2019, 6:36 am

l33t2 wrote:Sooting doesn't get the girl, it creates awareness of your sexual interest in her. I've actually had many women who I 'sooted' (a 'oh gosh baby' is the same thing effectively), winked or gave a type of smile too, come back looking for me. Works really really good in fetes, bars, clubs but does not ever work with a women you won't see again though.

The gold teeth in your mouth is real gold?

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2019, 6:42 am

Facts......know allyuh place

Postby RedVEVO » March 13th, 2019, 6:50 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:But it have guntress who would love to be sooted but don't get any, many of them are jealous that the bess things does get all the attention, right now lots of local women are upset over the influx of Vene Woman getting all the attention and soots.

Is only them mad looking feminist, angry at the world who does make these things an issue.

Using "Guntress" in a sentence is sexual harassment .

Postby RedVEVO » March 13th, 2019, 6:52 am

hong kong phooey wrote:let them be.
soon when non of them could find a man because all trini men tracking venes and other latinos they would cry foul.

Why dont the government update the laws on divorce , child maintenance and other gender equality . Since women wants equal rights. men should get equal rights when i comes to custody of kids.

Do some research bro.

Get a good lawyer to advise .

Men already have the majority of "rights"

Postby Les Bain » March 13th, 2019, 7:23 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Honest question though, the fellas who does 'soot' gyal does actually get through with them?

Nope, not a single man ever get through by sooting a gyal.

I asked a PNM co worker why he does soot and he said It is done to show society that he is straight and he is a gangster and not on no battyboi scene.

He could achieve the same results by tattooing he face and carrying a gun in his saggy pants waistband instead.

Postby tr1ad » March 13th, 2019, 7:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Nope, not a single man ever get through by sooting a gyal.

1. How you know not a single man ever get through? because you unlucky?
2. Explain what is meant by "PNM coworker"... how you so sure?

keep your sh!t off the forum

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2019, 8:49 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Jennifer just vex nobody a soot she
Who de hell would throw that down but then again who would soot anyone in PNM women's group .

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 13th, 2019, 8:53 am

Soot

noun
a deep black powdery or flaky substance consisting largely of amorphous carbon, produced by the incomplete burning of organic matter.

verb
cover or clog (something) with soot.
"you have previously sooted the underside of their plate by holding it over a candle"