why have so many cars caught on fire lately?

dogg

why have so many cars caught on fire lately?

Postby dogg » March 19th, 2019, 3:03 pm

Is it the fuel? Or just an aberration? Or arson?

I know Kia/Hyundai has some issues with this, but from what I've seen, it appears to be a variety of models.

Any clue?

Re: why have so many cars caught on fire lately?

Postby Slartibartfast » March 19th, 2019, 3:04 pm

Global warming

Postby maj. tom » March 19th, 2019, 3:07 pm

well OP some evidence and statistics would be nice.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 19th, 2019, 3:07 pm

not sure if OP is an arsonist

dogg

Postby dogg » March 19th, 2019, 3:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:well OP some evidence and statistics would be nice.

I've seen clips of at least 4 cars on fire over the past two weeks on FB. I didn't save the links, but they were all new vids.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » March 19th, 2019, 3:19 pm

cause is dry season..duh

Postby aaron17 » March 19th, 2019, 3:26 pm

Maybe I should buy a car extinguisher?

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » March 19th, 2019, 3:39 pm

Fire starts when flammable things start to burn

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 19th, 2019, 3:52 pm

Das all ulyuh man who does want to put dem music amp and ting and playing wit de electricity. It does spark up and ketch.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 19th, 2019, 4:01 pm

When you accidentally press the hazard lights bro

Postby Kenjo » March 19th, 2019, 4:02 pm

Postby Kenjo » March 19th, 2019, 4:03 pm

A WOMAN, who was set on fire during a caesarean section at the San Fernando General Hospital, has won her medical negligence lawsuit against the South-West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA).

Justice Ricky Rahim, presiding in the San Fernando High Court on Friday, found the SWRHA liable in the case of Anita Espinoza.

On October 24, 2016, Espinoza’s pregnancy was full term and she went to the SFGH and was admitted to the maternity ward for a caesarean section. A topical agent was administered to her skin in preparation for the procedure and, as customary, a screen was placed to block her view of the surgery.

In court documents, Espinoza said, “About a minute or so had elapsed when I heard one of the defendant’s agent and/or servant shout ‘fire’.

“The screen that was previously obscuring my view of the said procedure fell and the defendant’s agent and/or servant began shouting that I was on fire. I became alarmed and I was forced to look away. At that time I began to feel dizzy. An agent and/or servant of the defendant then replaced the screen while another put out the fire.”

An incision had already been made on Espinoza who had to be administered oxygen as she began losing consciousness.

She was later told that those attending to her treated her burns and the procedure was completed. She said she has not seen any explanation for how the fire happened or what caused it.

The SWRHA admitted that there was a fire and Espinoza was burnt.

Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper
SUBSCRIBE/ LOG IN
However, in its defence filed in May 2018, it said that in preparation for the procedure, the method was in accordance with the best practice and its staff members acted within the general skill and competence of other professional medical staff carrying out a similar procedure.

In her affidavit, Espinoza disagreed that the method followed was in accordance with best practice “as I don’t believe that best practice involves setting a patient on fire”.

In finding the SWRHA liable, Rahim ordered that damages and costs be assessed by a master of the court.

Espinoza was represented by attorneys Pavitra Ramharack and Brandon Sirju. Attorney Summer Sandy represented the SWRHA.

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2019, 4:05 pm

sudden use of indicators. the ecu doesnt know how to process that new type of operation and send wrong signals, resulting in short circuits, and combustion.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 19th, 2019, 4:18 pm

so no one knows then.

Must be an anomaly.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 19th, 2019, 5:01 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Das all ulyuh man who does want to put dem music amp and ting and playing wit de electricity. It does spark up and ketch.

When the gain right up

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2019, 5:04 pm

its the new fuel folks,
not hard to figure out

Postby Rovin » March 19th, 2019, 5:41 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Das all ulyuh man who does want to put dem music amp and ting and playing wit de electricity. It does spark up and ketch.

When the gain right up

more like u want big powah amp but chinksin on d proper size gauge wire , also insecure wiring or wire passing near to heat source like a manifold , radiator , engine block etc ....

Postby shogun » March 19th, 2019, 5:53 pm

Maybe the Salomondrin Senna fever is a real thing, OP?

Language warning.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 19th, 2019, 6:14 pm

Rovin wrote:

When the gain right up

more like u want big powah amp but chinksin on d proper size gauge wire , also insecure wiring or wire passing near to heat source like a manifold , radiator , engine block etc ....
2.5 ECC and 4 square ground iymc

Postby K74T » March 19th, 2019, 6:30 pm

Is dem buck and dem!!

Postby j.o.e » March 20th, 2019, 3:00 am

More cellphones .... more being posted..... more desire to go viral . Cars been igniting all along.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 20th, 2019, 3:44 am

dogg wrote:Is it the fuel? Or just an aberration? Or arson?

I know Kia/Hyundai has some issues with this, but from what I've seen, it appears to be a variety of models.

Any clue?

I had the same thought a few days ago . Some of the cars looked unmodified . As a safety precaution i purchased fire extinguishers (little cans ) from price smart had have in all my Vehicles.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2019, 5:08 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

Any clue?

I had the same thought a few days ago . Some of the cars looked unmodified . As a safety precaution i purchased fire extinguishers (little cans ) from price smart had have in all my Vehicles.

those extinguishers are one time use or wah??looking to get one, but those that can be refilled

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 20th, 2019, 8:33 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

Any clue?

those extinguishers are one time use or wah??looking to get one, but those that can be refilled

yes one time use its the size of a 10 oz or 12 oz aerosol can. cannot fight a major fire , but it is could stop a small fire before it spreads .
Pricesmart always have them in stock and its small and easily fit in the drivers door pocket

dogg

Postby dogg » March 20th, 2019, 9:11 am

Yeah, i guess that's it. Good call.
j.o.e wrote:More cellphones .... more being posted..... more desire to go viral . Cars been igniting all along.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 20th, 2019, 9:38 am

hong kong phooey wrote:

Any clue?

I had one... But every time I liming I use to jump out and pull pin.

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2019, 9:40 am

Plenty of them start as a result of crappy workmanship by so called "electricians" & "installers", failure to maintain the vehicles electrical system, as well as poor design from the manufacturer. From using the wrong type and/or gauge of wire, to not installing fuses or installing the wrong fuses (rated much too high), using cut & joined or spliced wires that are not properly insulated & secured, to running high current wires & cables & failing to protect them from sharp metal edges on the vehicle body/chassis thus causing short circuits, the list goes on op

short story shorter, not all fires start the same way, but most involve shiddy & easily avoidable electrical mistakes.

Postby MaxPower » March 20th, 2019, 10:04 am

The owners are at fault 99% of the time. They must be charged for air pollution and public disruption. There should be no compensation.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 20th, 2019, 11:05 am

Can wrong refrigerant gas in a car cause fires? Or anything related to ac? Behind the dash??

Paging nerve

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2019, 11:46 am

nick639v2 wrote:Can wrong refrigerant gas in a car cause fires? Or anything related to ac? Behind the dash??

Paging nerve

to the best of my knowledge, no. Not that refrigerants aren't flammable, because they are. It's just that the temps required to ignite them are ridiculously high. iirc about it's 750* C for R134

A defective a/c system can cause very loud explosion tho.