"Rock Your Socks!" - World Down Syndrome Day (WDSD)

Postby Monk BANzai » March 21st, 2019, 1:00 am

World Down Syndrome Day (WDSD) is observed every year in the 3rd month on the 21st day. March 21 is a global awareness day of Down Syndrome or Trisomy 21. It has been observed by the United Nations since 2012.

On this day people worldwide show their support for Down Syndrome by wearing colorful mis-matched socks and encourage others to show their support with the phrase “Rock Your Socks”.

Just for the observation of it....post funky Rock your socks pics...on a chick...on you...we don't care..just post em!'

Re: "Rock Your Socks!" - World Down Syndrome Day (WDSD)

Postby De Dragon » March 21st, 2019, 5:42 am

Didn't know about this, so wore the plain blacks today.

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2019, 6:42 am

these 1 day recogntions

Postby *KRONIK* » March 21st, 2019, 7:03 am

Turns out i celebrated by accident yesterday.....

And i may have to celebrate by again, by force

Postby De Dragon » March 21st, 2019, 7:31 am

pugboy wrote:these 1 day recogntions

They should just be reminders of good causes out there. I will also be looking to donate to Lady Hochoy, Cyril Ross or some other institution that supports D.S. education and care.

Postby Les Bain » March 21st, 2019, 8:46 am

My lint covered black socks looks almost whimsical.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 21st, 2019, 8:46 am

That mismatch socks thing seems like an insult though.

Infamouz

Re:

Postby Infamouz » March 21st, 2019, 8:54 am

fokhan_96 wrote:That mismatch socks thing seems like an insult though.

Agreed!

HSA

Postby HSA » March 21st, 2019, 11:57 am

Rockin d pink and red wit ah lil bit ah sparkle
20190321_115154.jpeg

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 21st, 2019, 12:29 pm

Want no part of that seems very insulting

Re:

Postby Monk BANzai » March 21st, 2019, 1:31 pm

PariaMan wrote:Want no part of that seems very insulting

Do expound..inno we love a good expanding of the mind...

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 21st, 2019, 3:29 pm

Seems as though the message is that people with Down's Syndrome cannot chose clothes that are appropriate or pick socks that match.

There are many other ways that could have been found to celebrate the day

Postby eliteauto » March 21st, 2019, 4:11 pm

PariaMan wrote:Seems as though the message is that people with Down's Syndrome cannot chose clothes that are appropriate or pick socks that match.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: well yes

Zachery

Postby Zachery » March 21st, 2019, 4:25 pm

think it intends that its ok being different

Postby MG Man » March 21st, 2019, 4:28 pm

another fucknugget idea for fucknugget people to tell themselves they are doing something without doing more than gleaning more attention to pad their social media egoes
Wanna help? There are dozens of families with down-syndrome kids that could use some help, not just financial, but simply with time...go volunteer and help make a mother's life a little easier...there are orphanages that could use a volunteer or three...but nah, act like a retarded hipster and change the world

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2019, 4:30 pm

Agreed
Like asking ppl to celebrate international stammerer day by stammerering for a day

PariaMan wrote:Seems as though the message is that people with Down's Syndrome cannot chose clothes that are appropriate or pick socks that match.

Postby De Dragon » March 21st, 2019, 4:32 pm

Love how people trying to "out Down Syndrome" the Down Syndrome people, all while not doing a fack.

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2019, 4:45 pm

to be fair I know the down syndrome org sold a lot of the socks that corporate company staff are wearing (and proud of for a day)
I think they could have worn them mismatching, might have been more in line

Postby Gem_in_i » March 21st, 2019, 5:06 pm

Plenty people only wore it to post it.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 21st, 2019, 5:20 pm

In my work people where mismatched colourful socks from home. They did not buy from any organization

Postby eliteauto » March 21st, 2019, 9:12 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/03/21/christ ... hjf0KUpkhU

“I can do it. I can help,” is the mantra of Christy De Souza. The 28-year-old worked as a trainee at the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM), where her duties included sending and receiving e-mails; scanning documents; photocopying and shredding documents; packaging and labelling; making, receiving and forwarding calls; and retrieving and distributing stationery and other office items from the stock room.

De Souza was born with Down Syndrome, a congenital disorder caused by a chromosome defect, resulting in intellectual impairment and physical abnormalities, including short stature and a broad facial profile. The disorder is caused by a mutation in cell division during the early development of the foetus.

“I enjoy my job. I have made many friends and the people at work make me feel like part of a team. They are nice and they help me,” De Souza told Business Day. She has done three three-month stints at the OPM, and has worked in the child affairs unit, general administration and the communications unit.

Her performance appraisal at the end of her most recent contract said: “Christy has worked with the general administration department and has shown a very positive attitude to learning and executing her duties. She also shown a great interest in assisting any member of staff with her famous line ‘I can help’ or ‘I will do it.’ Christy has demonstrated very good working ethics and has proven to be an excellent team player.”

She is waiting for her contract to be renewed, but she has a good chance.

De Souza got the opportunity in 2018 with the assistance of the founder of the Down Syndrome Family Network (DSFN), Glen Niles, and businesswoman Lisa Ghany.

De Souza’s mother, Josanne, told Business Day, “They made the connection with the Prime Minister’s Office and the office decided to give her a shot. I think this is the first time they have tried something like this.”

De Souza was initially supposed to be there for three months, but performed well, so her contract kept getting extended. Even though she’s currently waiting on renewal, the OPM is trying to get her registered through the on-the-job training programme, which would put her on a two-year contract instead.

“Our policy is pretty inclusive,” permanent secretary Jacqui Johnson told Business Day. “People with disabilities remain a person, an individual, a human being. That’s true for all people (here), with or without disabilities.”

The OPM has partnered with the DSFN since 2017 through the organisation’s programme aimed at getting special-needs people jobs, something the ministry was more than willing to support. The ministry is also encouraging others to consider the programme as well.

“Our aim is to create an environment in which (everyone) can achieve their greatest potential," said Johnson.

De Souza was taught basic office skills, including an introduction to Microsoft Office. She moved through divisions, and was given the chance to see which opportunity was a best fit for her, finally settling on administration.

“She’s been part of the training that we normally offer, and she’s part of the social life, participating in a lot of activities. She’s the model employee,” Johnson said.

De Souza started her formal education at the Little Flower Montessori School when she was three. It was run by Bunny Stanley, who allowed her to stay on at the school as long as she needed to, as there were no other schools at the time accepting children with Down Syndrome after Montessori level.

“Mrs Stanley taught her reading, writing, comprehension, arithmetic and social studies,” De Souza’s mother said. As she got older she was able to assist with the toddlers, and when she turned 18, Stanley offered her a position as assistant trainee. She did this for a number of years before accepting a three-month contract as an office assistant trainee at Pepper Advertising.

When she first started working in an office, it was challenging as De Souza had no previous office skills training and had to learn on the job. But she was always eager to learn and welcomed her tasks with optimism.

De Souza also likes singing and dancing, and has a fondness for the music of yesteryear. “I like pop, oldies, romance. I love Macy Gray and I love back-in-times songs,” she said.

Over the years, her mother explained, she has become engrossed in YouTube music videos, especially boy bands.

“She immerses herself in them and has a dream of being a band manager.”

And although she enjoys working in an office, De Souza has big plans for the future.

“I want to be a manager of a solo (artiste) or a boy band!"

Niles, of DSFN, said without access to a formal education, gainful employment for people with Down Syndrome is near impossible.

“The main thing is that they are not usually accepted into the regular schools, because people believe they are incapable of handling it. Internationally, children with Down Syndrome are included in the school system, with a revised curriculum and assistance from trained teachers. Everything is designed for them to be included."

He said there have been some positive changes, with some organisations giving them the opportunity to work.

“So, far it has been successful. Can you imagine what can happen if they are given the opportunity to get a proper education?”

The network is trying to work with the Ministry of Education to provide inclusion in schools, and Niles is hoping that the ministry will send representatives to the UN World Down Syndrome Day Conference to be held at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad tomorrow and the Magdalena Grand, Tobago on Monday.

“We have specialist speakers who have worked on inclusion at the highest level.”

The keynote speaker will be self-advocate, musician and special Olympian Emmanuel Bishop.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 22nd, 2019, 12:21 am

MG Man wrote:another fucknugget idea for fucknugget people to tell themselves they are doing something without doing more than gleaning more attention to pad their social media egoes
Wanna help? There are dozens of families with down-syndrome kids that could use some help, not just financial, but simply with time...go volunteer and help make a mother's life a little easier...there are orphanages that could use a volunteer or three...but nah, act like a retarded hipster and change the world

Could it be that they use these "Fuccknugget idea" to draw the uneducated in and then have a percentage of those actually staying on to do as you suggest?

Similar to the "Buddy walk" event? Or is that also something that pads the "Egos D' Social Media"?

Postby matr1x » March 22nd, 2019, 1:10 am

There was a gentleman who worked in my department as a driver, had downsyndrome, but never let it get it in the way of his day. He was a damn good driver.

A Thursday, one of the "pretty ladies" from accounting, decided to be condescending, and asked him why he was working there if he was retarded.

Big mistake.

He smiled and made sure everyone heard, and what he said stuck with me to this day, "darling melissa, they might fix me one day, but you is a c*nt, and we all know it have no fix for that."

Collected packages, and went about his deliveries. Like. A. Boss.

Postby hydroep » March 22nd, 2019, 7:03 am

Saw the employees at flow wearing them yesterday, thought it was some uniform thing to grab attention.

matr1x wrote:There was a gentleman who worked in my department as a driver, had downsyndrome, but never let it get it in the way of his day. He was a damn good driver.

A Thursday, one of the "pretty ladies" from accounting, decided to be condescending, and asked him why he was working there if he was retarded.

Big mistake.

He smiled and made sure everyone heard, and what he said stuck with me to this day, "darling melissa, they might fix me one day, but you is a c*nt, and we all know it have no fix for that."

Collected packages, and went about his deliveries. Like. A. Boss.

LOL...Instant classic!...:lol:

A lot of people think differently abled persons "chupid" and cannot hold their own...incorrect assumption. A friend's daughter is such, a little slow and very kind hearted individual. But don't cross she nuh, you will regret it.

Postby j.o.e » March 22nd, 2019, 7:19 am

I personally didn’t and probably won’t ever do the socks thing but I won’t knock it because here is a constructive thread on tuner about DS because ppl wore socks. Sometimes drawing a little light and attention to a situation is a good start

Postby Les Bain » March 22nd, 2019, 8:00 am

Personally it's a case of message vs. messenger.

Cause when corporate promotion gets involved to humanize an organization, i sense a terrible lack of self awareness on their part.

Seeing my company's sock themed observance yesterday was too much. And coming off being involved in the world happiness day message the day before, it was just too much.

Postby matr1x » March 22nd, 2019, 8:05 am

I was a little slow in school, and bio teacher was always a pr*ck. I tell him that I might be slow but he dead stop.

Postby mero » March 22nd, 2019, 8:42 am

matr1x wrote:I was a little slow in school, and bio teacher was always a pr*ck. I tell him that I might be slow but he dead stop.
What you type there make sense?

Seems like bio teacher was right cuz like you still dunce.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 22nd, 2019, 8:59 am

Monk BANzai wrote:
MG Man wrote:another fucknugget idea for fucknugget people to tell themselves they are doing something without doing more than gleaning more attention to pad their social media egoes

Could it be that they use these "Fuccknugget idea" to draw the uneducated in and then have a percentage of those actually staying on to do as you suggest?

Similar to the "Buddy walk" event? Or is that also something that pads the "Egos D' Social Media"?

Agreed.
I think it's a numbers game.
Build awareness with the general public, and then with the potential pool expanded, you can get more private and corporate interest ($)

Re:

Postby matr1x » March 22nd, 2019, 12:49 pm

mero wrote:
matr1x wrote:I was a little slow in school, and bio teacher was always a pr*ck. I tell him that I might be slow but he dead stop.
What you type there make sense?

Seems like bio teacher was right cuz like you still dunce.

Eh eh, look who it is. Meero the stalker. For the last time, we can't be friends