BECAREFUL...COUNTERFEIT $ FROM THE BANK

WestIndian424

BECAREFUL...COUNTERFEIT $ FROM THE BANK

Postby WestIndian424 » March 25th, 2019, 8:21 pm

So guys...i went to RBC today to do a withdrawal. After i went to another bank to deposit the said money but was told one of the $100 notes was counterfeit....so i returned to RBC(within minutes) with the counterfeit note and was told nothing can be done...teller told me after speaking to her manager she was told my claim is void as i left the bank with the money....

I know its just $100 but its the principle that counts here...

Any advice?
IMG_20190325_181046_861.JPG

vaiostation

Re: BECAREFUL...COUNTERFEIT $ FROM THE BANK

Postby vaiostation » March 25th, 2019, 8:47 pm

You feel any of them bank give a fcok about anybody? They have a monopoly, so them ain't care, cause you have no other option...

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » March 25th, 2019, 8:51 pm

fb post that sheit..call Ian...light up RBC...

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2019, 8:52 pm

vaiostation wrote:You feel any of them bank give a fcok about anybody? They have a monopoly, so them ain't care, cause you have no other option...
Bro 1% owns the banks, they never gave chit to anyone

Postby hydroep » March 25th, 2019, 8:56 pm

Check the Office of the Financial Services Ombudsman. Even if you don't get your money back they'll have your complaint on record in case this happens to others.

https://www.ofso.org.tt/

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2019, 9:21 pm

that note looking legit to me :drinking:

also the depositing bank gave you back the note? which bank was it?

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2019, 9:29 pm

saw some bills that look iffy as of late, one was in fact a $100.00 bill.

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2019, 9:32 pm

as a matter of fact, looks like the same one :/

if you hold it up to the light, the line between the bird and coat of arms, is it just a print or looks real? The vendor accepted it saying it was real, she held it up to the light and looked at that line.

Postby paid_influencer » March 25th, 2019, 9:38 pm

is the hologram picture changing with angle?

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 25th, 2019, 9:52 pm

paid_influencer wrote:is the hologram picture changing with angle?

apparently not..this was the red flag

Postby sMASH » March 25th, 2019, 11:08 pm

Allyuh still deal with rbc?
Fire bun dem oui!

Any way, report it to the fraud squad, that u got fake money from rbc.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » March 26th, 2019, 4:02 am

Calor wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:is the hologram picture changing with angle?

apparently not..this was the red flag

Saw a few of these bills recently - central to south. The shield is just silver paint.

Postby 88sins » March 26th, 2019, 4:21 am

hologram looks fake, and I can't see the denomination watermark either

Postby rspann » March 26th, 2019, 5:32 am

They probably have no choice once you leave the bank with it, otherwise people could bring in counterfeit once they did a transaction and claim they got it from them.

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2019, 6:16 am

Nothing to do but cut your losses. RBC stink though, not about that refund thing after you left the bank, but that they didn't vet their money. You would 1000% expect that the money from the bank/ATM is real. Now I'm going to have to check my money carefully after every withdrawal ?!

Cen­tral Bank se­nior man­ag­er of op­er­a­tions Al­is­ter Noel, said cit­i­zens who came in­to pos­ses­sion of fake cur­ren­cy should make a re­port to the Fraud Squad Di­vi­sion of the T&T Po­lice Ser­vice, the au­thor­i­ty to deal such in­ci­dents. http://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.350148.58e2c872aa

I think you could do this, because it would lead to questions on how did the bank allow fake currency to recirculate? And then investigate if there's an inside leak.

Postby gastly369 » March 26th, 2019, 7:03 am

Whitewash $1 n reprint 20s

De new $20 very hard to spot and ppl doh really check 20s

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 26th, 2019, 8:28 am

Take your 100 and just go buy a 69$ Tuesday special in KFC

Infamouz

Postby Infamouz » March 26th, 2019, 8:41 am

worked in pervious bank mention .. teller does get counterfeit and pass it back simple!

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 26th, 2019, 9:38 am

Just reach out to RBC Canada and let them know of your situation. They should have your situation rectified promptly.
In fact any problem you have with a company if it is an international company and the locals don't want to fix it reach out to the international company and things will be sorted out soon enough.

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2019, 9:59 am

nick639v2 wrote:Take your 100 and just go buy a 69$ Tuesday special in KFC

dem might check it though

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 26th, 2019, 10:40 am

redmanjp wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Take your 100 and just go buy a 69$ Tuesday special in KFC

dem might check it though
Delivery ftw

Postby Rovin » March 26th, 2019, 10:48 am

u really cant win this cause criminals will claim d same ....

Postby MG Man » March 26th, 2019, 11:12 am

can't really fault the bank though...you left and came back...who's to say you not running a scam?
It's your word

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 26th, 2019, 11:51 am

I get the part where i left the bank but shouldnt the bank be checking the $ they receive? I contacted a lawyer and will go to the fraud squad...will update you folks later

moving

Postby moving » March 26th, 2019, 11:53 am

you should have spoken to the manager first... the tellers dont have enough authority, common sense or understanding

no offense to any tellers out there

Postby rspann » March 26th, 2019, 11:54 am

Infamouz wrote:worked in pervious bank mention .. teller does get counterfeit and pass it back simple!

So you should know the tellers have a side hustle too?

Postby Redman » March 26th, 2019, 11:59 am

Calor wrote:I get the part where i left the bank but shouldnt the bank be checking the $ they receive? I contacted a lawyer and will go to the fraud squad...will update you folks later

Save your money on the lawyer.

You will have to prove that the counterfeit ACTUALLY came from the bank. Unless you can do that with serial numbers etc then you just have your say so-and like MG said- this can be a scam.
Its the very definition of scam.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 26th, 2019, 12:14 pm

vaiostation wrote:You feel any of them bank give a fcok about anybody? They have a monopoly, so them ain't care, cause you have no other option...

i'm still here laughing my ass off...the emotion buddie!!!

Infamouz

Postby Infamouz » March 26th, 2019, 12:16 pm

rspann wrote:
Infamouz wrote:worked in pervious bank mention .. teller does get counterfeit and pass it back simple!

So you should know the tellers have a side hustle too?

aint to sure about that part! But if you wanna balanced thats what they do..

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2019, 12:26 pm

Why were you fired? :roll: