Adults were given the SEA Mathematics test, here's how they did

abducted

Adults were given the SEA Mathematics test, here's how they did

Postby abducted » April 8th, 2019, 9:13 pm

Following last week's controversy with the S-E-A Math paper we are still left wondering, was it really that difficult?
Well we couldn't put the children through that again so we got the next best thing, adults.
Today 4 of them sat the this year's Math paper right here at CNC3, Akash Samaroo was the invigilator.
Let's see how that turned out.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/we-let-adult ... and-result

death365

Re: Adults were given the SEA Mathematics test, here's how they did

Postby death365 » April 9th, 2019, 1:36 pm

wha u feel ... children alone unable to do it ... have plenty adult who cant even read and understand (- and end up in big job too)

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » April 9th, 2019, 1:47 pm

Is time teachers start teaching these children, instead of telling them to memorize...
Same goes for cxc.

Postby Slartibartfast » April 9th, 2019, 4:29 pm

Link to paper? I want to see if the paper hard or if they just chupid.

Postby maj. tom » April 9th, 2019, 6:32 pm

Also, students spend the last few months before the exam practising similar type questions and get good at it. When results come out there will be high scorers and there will be low scorers. Guess who practised more? You think anyone does get good at anything without consistent practice?

Nah this excuse is for all the lazy useless parents who couldn't be bothered to help their kids with their homework or never seeked their child's interest with a parent- teacher meeting!!!

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 9th, 2019, 6:47 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Link to paper? I want to see if the paper hard or if they just chupid.
Knock yourself out
IMG-20190406-WA0029.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0027.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0026.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0036.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0035.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0034.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0033.jpeg
IMG-20190406-WA0032.jpeg
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0029.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0030.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0031.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0021.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0022.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0023.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0024.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0025.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0017.jpeg is no longer available
The attachment IMG-20190406-WA0018.jpeg is no longer available

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 9th, 2019, 6:48 pm

If you grow up a child telling them is either first choice or trade school, what do you think will happen if they cant snap up a question at first glance?

Yeah some of the questions will trip up the students, but this is most definitely not the problem. In my year of SEA there was a question that dealt with tiling a room's surface: floors and walls with a little twist. People were crying about it and blaming everybody else. Every year is the same song and dance, as if every academic or other type exam encountered in life wouldn't do the same damned thing.

I went to a very highly performing primary school and then on to a 'prestige' school, even placing well into the top 100 that year. I myself had serious anxiety about failing, simply because of 1-2 questions. I ended up with 100-93-20 as my grades.

Girls were crying that they pass for convent in sando. Imagine crying because you pass for your second choice. Does that sound like a problem with the exam paper?

The biggest problem with this exam is NOT the paper, but the culture behind it; the parents, the lessons, the thought that you relegated to a gas station wuk if you end up anywhere but your first choice school.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2019, 6:56 pm

Inside before men start talking about which school getting first place

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 9th, 2019, 8:43 pm

I think the last survey I saw was around 2008-2012 I think by UWI and Alta independently, and in BOTH cases they stated that close to 22-25% of the Trininadian and Tobagonian population may be classed as "functionally illiterate".

If I remember correctly, it doesn't mean entirely illiterate but it indicates that many do not have the literacy skills to effectively function or perform basic daily tasks, for instance read a newspaper or properly interpret instructions for taking medication.

These are the people that the education system either created by being so academic or continue to fail by not recognizing the problem to begin with.

Many teachers, probably since the 80s would tell the ministry (of Education) that the syllabus needed to be changed and a better mechanism of assessment needed to be in place, that some children just could not handle the academics and probably needed or would have been better suited to a trade of some such line of study.

The problem was the then societal attitude to trades and that line of work and study, "...my 'chile' not schupid.." says the parent, and "...you have to motivate the child, no one is "uneducable", they have to be allowed to blossom, as a teacher you do not just teach you must create an environment of learning that encourages education...." so said the "experts".

Compounding that was that many of these children had parents who were voters....see where this is going.....so no one wanted to rock the boat and tell the parents that their kids were just not able, so they continued the system that was socially (maybe politically) more acceptable, not necessarily better for the needs of the child/student.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » April 9th, 2019, 10:32 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Link to paper? I want to see if the paper hard or if they just chupid.
Knock yourself outIMG-20190406-WA0032.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0033.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0034.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0035.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0036.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0026.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0027.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0028.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0029.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0030.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0031.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0021.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0022.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0023.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0024.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0025.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0017.jpegIMG-20190406-WA0018.jpeg

Just wanna say, while these questions are all pretty easy, I'm sure a number of cxc students would fail this out right too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2019, 10:38 pm

You can download the whole math paper PDF here
https://www.trinituner.com/UPLOADS/SEA-Math-2019.pdf

Postby adnj » April 9th, 2019, 10:46 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:If I remember correctly, it doesn't mean entirely illiterate but it indicates that many do not have the literacy skills to effectively function or perform basic daily tasks, for instance read a newspaper or properly interpret instructions for taking medication.

These are the people that the education system either created by being so academic or continue to fail by not recognizing the problem to begin with.

A person can become functionally illiterate after formal education. As an economy becomes more technical and diverse, some people lose the ability to keep up. The rapid development of some nations actually helps to create functional illiteracy.

----------------

“A person is literate who can with understanding both read and write a short simple statement on his everyday life.

A person is illiterate who cannot with understanding both read and write a short simple statement on his everyday life.

A person is functionally literate who can engage in all those activities in which literacy is required for effective functioning of his group and community and also for enabling him to continue to use reading, writing, and calculation for his own and the community’s development.

A person is functionally illiterate who cannot engage in all those activities in which literacy is required for effective functioning of his group and community and also for enabling him to continue to use reading, writing, and calculation for his own and the community’s development (UNESCO, 1978, p.183).”

In contrast with literacy and illiteracy, the difference between functional illiteracy, literacy and illiteracy is not obvious enough. Functionality, which is the essence of the difference between these terms, was never operationally defined.

Recently, the number of functional illiterates in Europe was estimated to be about 80 million, their proportion is lowest in Sweden with 8% and highest in Portugal with 40% (e.g., in Eme, 2011; Grotlüschen and Riekmann, 2011a). However, the frequently referred original International Adult Literacy Survey (IALS) report does not imply functional illiteracy (OECD and Statistics Canada, 2000).

Different definitions and different diagnostic assessment standards can lead to fundamentally different epidemiological estimations, so any estimations of functional illiteracy rates may be unreliable.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5102880/

Postby paid_influencer » April 9th, 2019, 11:13 pm

the content of the exam has changed, mainly the maths.

in 1999: You need to perform correct calculations to get the correct answer. We did "tricky" questions by testing your comprehension skills and data gathering.

in 2019: You need to understand how numbers relate to one another. The calculations are not important. We do "tricky" questions by asking you for a specific interpretation based on your conceptualization of the number line.

Adults fail because they are not familiar with the interpretations being tested.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » April 10th, 2019, 12:54 am

Number 16 catch me :lol:... but a very easy paper indeed

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 10th, 2019, 8:46 am

Yuh know things bad when men beating up about SEA exams...back in the day, yuh study, go do your exam (however hard it is), wait for results and go to the school you pass for...all this set ah kakahole thing is not necessary...

Postby Slartibartfast » April 10th, 2019, 11:35 am

Edit: Ok so I averaged about 2 mins per question without the use of a calculator.

What kind of time limit are these children allowed and are they allowed the use of calculators?

Once the children are given enough time I think that this is a great test. Remember the purpose of this test it to *gasp* test the children. It needs to be easy enough that they can answer all the questions with their limited knowledge but difficult enough (i.e. require enough creative and critical thinking) to give you a good spread of scores. The larger the spread of scores the more fair the percentile assessment therefore school placement which it is based on.

fokhan_96 wrote:
Knock yourself out
Boom! Thanks.

Gonna time myself
8 x 4 = 32
125 - 32 = 93 = (24 x 3) + 21 = 72 + 21 = 93
3 burgers 1 salad

total students = 5+7+10+8+6+4 = 40
No. of students 15 and above = 28
percentage = 28/40 = 7/10 = 70%

turn No._______ Michael _____________ Joey
1______________. .South...._____________...East
2______________..North....._____________....South
3______________. .South...._____________...West
4______________..North...._____________...North

Gap = [17(-3*3)]/2 = 4
Left side of 3rd card to right side of 12th card = 10 cards and 9 gaps
= (3*10)+(9*4) = 30+36 = 66cm

Side area = 1+2+3+4+5+6 = 21
width = 3
volume = 3*21 = 63 cubes

135/3 = 120/3 + 15/3 = 45
1+2+3+4+5+6+7+8+9 = 45
9 steps

Mean = 43 after 4 tests
total = 73 * 4 = 280 + 12 = 292
Required mean = 73+5 = 78
Required total = 78*5 = 350 + 40 = 390
Required score = 390 - 292 = 98

33.25+15.75 = 49m

No.
The denominator is the amount that the numerator is divided by. If the same numerator (number) is divided by difference denominators (numbers) then the answer will be different

1/4 = 1 divided by 4 = 0.25
1/8 = 1 divided by 8 = 0.125

Postby Slartibartfast » April 10th, 2019, 11:42 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can download the whole math paper PDF here
https://www.trinituner.com/UPLOADS/SEA-Math-2019.pdf

Ohhh now see this... gonna try this out in full later.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 10th, 2019, 4:44 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yuh know things bad when men beating up about SEA exams...back in the day, yuh study, go do your exam (however hard it is), wait for results and go to the school you pass for...all this set ah kakahole thing is not necessary...

I cant speak for common entrance days, but since SEA's inception this was a central problem associated with it, it is certainly not new.

Postby zoom rader » April 10th, 2019, 5:28 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yuh know things bad when men beating up about SEA exams...back in the day, yuh study, go do your exam (however hard it is), wait for results and go to the school you pass for...all this set ah kakahole thing is not necessary...
Back in the day I passed for Coffee Boys post primary.

Now I look back and laugh at those that passed common entrance.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 10th, 2019, 6:02 pm

Sea relevant?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 10th, 2019, 7:08 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

I cant speak for common entrance days, but since SEA's inception this was a central problem associated with it, it is certainly not new.

Dred, people does get on like life ends after SEA....no matter what school you pass for, you make the best of it and do yah thing...I did Sea when it was first introduced and tbh there was never beat up like now...I could only see it getting more ridiculous in years to come

Postby maj. tom » April 10th, 2019, 7:37 pm

Like a guy posted above, it's our culture, our stink culture that perpetuates this nonsense. Like a Caste System kind of thinking.
Apparently there are never any engineers and doctors and lawyers that came from a junior/senior sec system school in this country. And there is absolutely no respect paid to skilled tradesmen by teachers and parents when children are at the age to be taught how important and rewarding those jobs are.

They should really ban this sheit yes. Too much colonial assness in we blood still.

Postby sMASH » April 10th, 2019, 10:15 pm

did it, found it rang the ringer a bit. but, as said before, if u would have gotten accustomed to it by the practicing.

but, it teaching the brain to see the relationship between apparantly different things, yet different aspects of a single subject.

keep it. we need more people thinking critically.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 11th, 2019, 1:10 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
33.25+15.75 = 49m

it was 34.25 m eh, comprehension fail. but rel ppl lose marks for simple lil things like that over the years of schooling, including myself

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2019, 3:13 am

QFT. Very well said.

maj. tom wrote:Like a guy posted above, it's our culture, our stink culture that perpetuates this nonsense. Like a Caste System kind of thinking.
Apparently there are never any engineers and doctors and lawyers that came from a junior/senior sec system school in this country. And there is absolutely no respect paid to skilled tradesmen by teachers and parents when children are at the age to be taught how important and rewarding those jobs are.

They should really ban this sheit yes. Too much colonial assness in we blood still.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 11th, 2019, 4:56 am

Alot of the problems are from " new parenting " parents. Imagine a parent saying her child would be traumatised because the surround sound system during their school " movie day " was a bit loud ????? Imagine that !!!!!!!

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » April 11th, 2019, 6:03 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Dred, people does get on like life ends after SEA....no matter what school you pass for, you make the best of it and do yah thing...I did Sea when it was first introduced and tbh there was never beat up like now...I could only see it getting more ridiculous in years to come

it think it ends after cxc, do they still write this? And what the hell is a "mean #"?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 11th, 2019, 7:01 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Alot of the problems are from " new parenting " parents. Imagine a parent saying her child would be traumatised because the surround sound system during their school " movie day " was a bit loud ????? Imagine that !!!!!!!

oh the irony....but they ready to buy ipad and I this, give them at an early age....what ever happen to the days of go outside and play...last week I asked a std 4 youth...."allyuh does play pitch, catch,skying, etc etc"....man watch me like WTF I talking bout...I give the man some marbles, he was fascinated yes...

whenever I have children, old school teachings ftw...with a pinch of modern day stuff...

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2019, 7:26 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Alot of the problems are from " new parenting " parents. Imagine a parent saying her child would be traumatised because the surround sound system during their school " movie day " was a bit loud ????? Imagine that !!!!!!!

oh the irony....but they ready to buy ipad and I this, give them at an early age....what ever happen to the days of go outside and play...last week I asked a std 4 youth...."allyuh does play pitch, catch,skying, etc etc"....man watch me like WTF I talking bout...I give the man some marbles, he was fascinated yes...

whenever I have children, old school teachings ftw...with a pinch of modern day stuff...
You can't play outside as you can get shot

200sx

Postby 200sx » April 11th, 2019, 9:25 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Edit: Ok so I averaged about 2 mins per question without the use of a calculator.

What kind of time limit are these children allowed and are they allowed the use of calculators?

Once the children are given enough time I think that this is a great test. Remember the purpose of this test it to *gasp* test the children. It needs to be easy enough that they can answer all the questions with their limited knowledge but difficult enough (i.e. require enough creative and critical thinking) to give you a good spread of scores. The larger the spread of scores the more fair the percentile assessment therefore school placement which it is based on.

fokhan_96 wrote:
Knock yourself out
Boom! Thanks.

Gonna time myself
8 x 4 = 32
125 - 32 = 93 = (24 x 3) + 21 = 72 + 21 = 93
3 burgers 1 salad

total students = 5+7+10+8+6+4 = 40
No. of students 15 and above = 28
percentage = 28/40 = 7/10 = 70%

this one catch me i went the other way.............lol