Question: Is Wheel banding and barreling done locally?

Postby Monk BANzai » April 22nd, 2019, 4:27 pm

As ched title suggests.... are there machine shops that do it locally? the two ai asked looked at me clueless.

[noob]
Barreling uses the same center section but can change tyre size. Banding keeps same tyre diameter but changes wheel width and offset.
[/noob]

any assistance would be helpful please and thanks.

Re: Question: Is Wheel banding and barreling done locally?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 22nd, 2019, 4:34 pm

Is that where they add the centre section to widen a wheel?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 22nd, 2019, 5:31 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:As ched title suggests.... are there machine shops that do it locally? the two ai asked looked at me clueless.

[noob]
Barreling uses the same center section but can change tyre size. Banding keeps same tyre diameter but changes wheel width and offset.
[/noob]

any assistance would be helpful please and thanks.

Maybe a good machine shop can handle banding. Not sure about barreling.
Try qualitech?

Postby toyolink » April 23rd, 2019, 9:05 am

This brings back memories of the 70's when I did quite a few of these.
Datsun 1200, Vuaxhall 2000, Corsair and others.
The only tyres I had to work with were Dunlop SP68 radials.
Chrome bands and centre finishers were sourced from Laughlin.
Machine shop work I seem to remember Barron's and Professor in South.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 23rd, 2019, 7:15 pm

toyolink wrote:This brings back memories of the 70's when I did quite a few of these.
Datsun 1200, Vuaxhall 2000, Corsair and others.
The only tyres I had to work with were Dunlop SP68 radials.
Chrome bands and centre finishers were sourced from Laughlin.
Machine shop work I seem to remember Barron's and Professor in South.

i'll have a chat with Vive and see....Outside of MiC and Qualitech ($$$$$) i'm not seeing any shops that willing to do it..

Postby Monk BANzai » April 23rd, 2019, 8:30 pm

De gyarage rim.png
De gyarage rim.png (436.14 KiB) Viewed 3345 times

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 23rd, 2019, 9:17 pm

I remember a thread on one of those US forums where they were banding steelies to ridiculous widths like 9 or 10"

My concern with banding is alloy matching, and thermal expansion differences. I'm not a materials expert, so I'm not sure if those concerns are justified.

If it's a forged / semiforged alloy wheel made with proprietary materials, can they band it without impacting structural integrity and safety/reliability?

Postby Monk BANzai » April 23rd, 2019, 11:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I remember a thread on one of those US forums where they were banding steelies to ridiculous widths like 9 or 10"

My concern with banding is alloy matching, and thermal expansion differences. I'm not a materials expert, so I'm not sure if those concerns are justified.

If it's a forged / semiforged alloy wheel made with proprietary materials, can they band it without impacting structural integrity and safety/reliability?

it can be properly done. There are shops on the east/west coast US that doing...but the shipping/clearing/Imbert want to spinal tap you for money i cyar handle... and local rims shops are meh in this place for width and offset options...

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2019, 7:47 am

talk to david browne from the mini club
He had some rims for a Mini widened and banded locally a few years back

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 24th, 2019, 8:48 am

Made a set off 17" steelies myself, had machine shop do the cutting and rolled 2"wide 3/16" steel bands and welded them myself, used a big framing square to line it up, tacked it all around then welded them around, dont rush it ,first one i did had to cut and start over,take your time.
https://youtu.be/Jj78wGFwIPs

Postby Monk BANzai » April 24th, 2019, 3:07 pm

MG Man wrote:talk to david browne from the mini club

Inbox me a contact nuh..please and thanks...

Postby Monk BANzai » April 24th, 2019, 3:09 pm

SR-B14 wrote:Made a set off 17" steelies myself, had machine shop do the cutting and rolled 2"wide 3/16" steel bands and welded them myself, used a big framing square to line it up, tacked it all around then welded them around, dont rush it ,first one i did had to cut and start over,take your time.
https://youtu.be/Jj78wGFwIPs

hmmm interesting.... question... how did youir process affect the rolling of the wheel..you had to add excessive weights when speed balancing?

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 24th, 2019, 3:33 pm

^^^ lost interest, just sanded and primed and packed them away, ill take some pics later

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2019, 4:11 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:

and here I tort you know errybody
he said it was done by Francis Engineering Works, but he had to practically beg them to do it...mussy 7 - 10 years ago

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 24th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Got tired of grinding and put them away
IMG_20190424_175804.jpeg
IMG_20190424_175633.jpeg
IMG_20190424_175638.jpeg
IMG_20190424_175754.jpeg

Postby Monk BANzai » April 24th, 2019, 7:04 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:

and here I tort you know errybody
he said it was done by Francis Engineering Works, but he had to practically beg them to do it...mussy 7 - 10 years ago

lol nah...this is what im getting from the better machine shops.... "we can do it but yuh go pay the price bhai?"

May approach Mr. Chen to do it...as he's doing something else for me at present...

Postby Monk BANzai » April 24th, 2019, 7:05 pm

SR-B14 wrote:Got tired of grinding and put them awayIMG_20190424_175754.jpegIMG_20190424_175638.jpegIMG_20190424_175633.jpegIMG_20190424_175804.jpeg

nice... so yuh know the basics man....