In your opinion, what's the worst company to work for, and your reasons why

Postby 88sins » May 14th, 2019, 11:37 am

I kno somebody go have issue with this thread, but I've been know not to care about ppl feelings as long as I live my life in a manner I am proud of, so here it is.

I seeing a lot of ppl complaining about unjust practices in a lot of companies in recent years, and the numbers seem to be growing lately. Many complaints relating to HR issues and peoples salaries, from many different sectors, from manufacturing, construction, skilled technical labor, security, etc. Such as some companies making deductions from employees salaries with no explanation, refusal to issue payslips or job letters, failure to pay overtime for work done outside the employees scope of employment and after their usual working hours (such as working 8 hours on a Sunday and not being paid for it when your job description clearly states your hrs to be 8-4 Mon-Fri & you already finished your work the prior week), underpaying workers, dismissing injured employees that are actually on medical leave, not allowing workers annual vacation leave, approving vacation leave then firing firing workers that take vacation leave just before they've made a year of employment often citing the employee abandoned their position simply to avoid said worker becoming what would legally be considered a full time employee, some forever paying salaries late (up to 3 months late in some instances I've seen fpor monthly paid persons) etc. Some of you may not know this, but quite a few places really abuse their workers so badly, to the extent that even when workers resign from their jobs they never even pay the former employee their final salary, so the former employee forfeits their week/fortnight/month labor & travel expenses and receives no compensation, no matter if they demand or beg to be paid what they've earned.

I think it'd be a good idea for ppl to let others know what these companies and their owners and managers are about. So If you did or do work somewhere, you can state what company, as well as what you consider to be some of their abusive and/or unjust practices against employees. So that others that may be looking for employment may have an idea of which places to avoid. Because I believe everyone would like to know if they going to look for employment at an establishment that they won't be subjected to abuse, robbery or unnecessary stress just for thew sake of saying they have a job.

Re: In your opinion, what's the worst company to work for, and your reasons why

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2019, 11:42 am

private sector is the best
gov't agencies are sheit

Postby Dizzy28 » May 14th, 2019, 11:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:private sector is the best
gov't agencies are sheit

I guess it depends on what is the particular skill set you have. I could be wrong but state agencies pay people with basic management degrees better than private sector.

Technical skills like engineering and thing different though.

Postby 88sins » May 14th, 2019, 11:55 am

gov't agencies are sheit

just so u kno, all of the examples I listed are things that routinely take place in the private sector.

Postby MG Man » May 14th, 2019, 12:03 pm

I tried working for myself once.....that guy's a proper ashhole...NEVER me again

Postby Les Bain » May 14th, 2019, 12:08 pm

gov't agencies are sheit

You talking in terms of compensation?
I always heard government service was better in terms of stability, but the pay eh spectacular (and if you permanent & union represented in gov't service, you had management goose stepping around you).

Postby 88sins » May 14th, 2019, 12:12 pm

MG Man wrote:I tried working for myself once.....that guy's a proper ashhole...NEVER me again

:lol: u eh cuss him & tell him haul he mc?

wing

Postby wing » May 14th, 2019, 12:26 pm

Petrotrin

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2019, 12:31 pm

Bwia in the 80s was the gold standard for doing little wuk
Fat salary and free flights incl parents

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2019, 12:32 pm

*spot reserved*

Postby MG Man » May 14th, 2019, 1:01 pm

MG Man wrote:I tried working for myself once.....that guy's a proper ashhole...NEVER me again

:lol: u eh cuss him & tell him haul he mc?

nah, just walked out and never went back

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2019, 1:13 pm

gov't agencies are sheit

just so u kno, all of the examples I listed are things that routinely take place in the private sector.

honestly, I believe both sectors have pros and cons.....I know at least 3 places(private) who pay their employees to take vaca, have subsidized meals and give employees a % of their profits after the financial year...Then it have those private agencies who are exactly what you describe.

I read some people saying that gov't agencies offer stability...I beg to differ because a number of agencies offering 3 year contracts...Unless you're a member of TTPS,TTDF,TTCG,TTAG etc etc is contract wuk in yuh mc.......Gov't jobs are ideally skin ballz for decent pay and well you have to work yuh arse off in the private sector

Postby crazybalhead » May 14th, 2019, 3:12 pm

I just got fired from the Golden Company. :(

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lt3z9XdOOrU

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 14th, 2019, 3:16 pm

A private company that hires someone from public sector, to be a business unit head.

Postby hydroep » May 14th, 2019, 3:23 pm

Working for family or friends of family is a recipe for disaster. Business issues have a tendency to colour personal relationships and vice versa...:|

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2019, 3:40 pm

OP , some or these companies fund Truner and Dwane won't allow folk to show the true nature of these companies that fill his pockets.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 14th, 2019, 4:01 pm

Dwane Sabga Aboud Hadeed.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 14th, 2019, 4:21 pm

All companies except:

NHSL, CAL, NFM, TCL, DFL, ADB, RBL, FCB, TTMF, UTC, HMB, OCM, Guardian Group, Maritime, Beacon, PanAmerican, Colfire, Agostinis', AS Bryden, ANSA McAl, Massy, BPTT, NGC, NP, Atlantic LNG, and IPSL, Anything outside of that, I cannot vouch for.

Companies that demonstrate good corporate governance practices is one key area to judge. I'm not saying, all listed above practices good CG, but do your research and you would see that most are generally okay.

zorced

Postby zorced » May 14th, 2019, 4:25 pm

This could be an interesting thread but idk if it realistic to make blanket statements for the private sector in the same way you can to the public sector.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 14th, 2019, 5:29 pm

Fact:
Private sector(rel wuk, good $ depending on position)

Govt: skin ballz and get a good salary depending on who yuh know

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 14th, 2019, 5:43 pm

Les Bain wrote:
gov't agencies are sheit

You talking in terms of compensation?
I always heard government service was better in terms of stability, but the pay eh spectacular (and if you permanent & union represented in gov't service, you had management goose stepping around you).

True for low level permanent and contract positions, but for technical positions on contract the pay is much better than expected.

Postby 88sins » May 14th, 2019, 6:41 pm

zoom rader wrote:OP , some or these companies fund Truner and Dwane won't allow folk to show the true nature of these companies that fill his pockets.

even if that may be true, notice the opening line.

zorced wrote:This could be an interesting thread but idk if it realistic to make blanket statements for the private sector in the same way you can to the public sector.

that's why in the thread title there's the words 'in your opinion' as well as 'the reasons why'
last I checked, a persons statement of their opinions about something isnt unlawful, and once it's based on their true and actual experiences is by no means a blanket statement. it's actually very specific to the poster and the organization they are referring to.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 14th, 2019, 6:56 pm

MG man is the worst employer.

He tricked me to come to his house for an interview, put me down a well and forced me to liberally apply 20w50 oil to my three nipples.
I tried escaping but couldn't stop the rubbing because it felt so good.

When the oil ran out I went home. I only went back like five times after.

Lesson: If MG man sends you a PM to come for a job interview for hairy overweight Indian instagram models, DON'T GO. The oil eventually runs out.

Postby MG Man » May 14th, 2019, 7:52 pm

So same time again tonight?

Postby rspann » May 14th, 2019, 8:05 pm

MG Man is not an ashole, you off by an inch.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 14th, 2019, 8:50 pm

MG man is a Kant and I'll swing by around 1030PM. Can I have the 0w20 hybrid oil instead?

Postby nervewrecker » May 15th, 2019, 8:16 am

THread took a good turn

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 15th, 2019, 10:18 am

It turns out i cannot ask my Chinese boss daughter out on a date!

Postby Dizzy28 » May 15th, 2019, 10:24 am

agent007 wrote:All companies except:

NHSL, CAL, NFM, TCL, DFL, ADB, RBL, FCB, TTMF, UTC, HMB, OCM, Guardian Group, Maritime, Beacon, PanAmerican, Colfire, Agostinis', AS Bryden, ANSA McAl, Massy, BPTT, NGC, NP, Atlantic LNG, and IPSL, Anything outside of that, I cannot vouch for.

Companies that demonstrate good corporate governance practices is one key area to judge. I'm not saying, all listed above practices good CG, but do your research and you would see that most are generally okay.

This clearly is a very subjective topic and depends on people's frame of reference.
Having worked FCB I definitely wouldn't put them on any list of good employers. Poor pay structure, leadership was balls, culture wasn't likable
Mofos actually asked back for company polos when I resigned. Who TF takes back clothes??

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 15th, 2019, 11:00 am

Dizzy, you probably worked there back when LN was CEO and did those polos have the FC logo on it?