Re: Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 24th, 2019, 9:07 pm

Postby MaxPower » October 24th, 2019, 9:35 pm

Love my Chinese brothers and sisters.

Such ambition and determination.

I also LOVE seeing Trinis beating up with cries of jealousy.

Postby The_Honourable » October 24th, 2019, 9:57 pm

All the jealousy and mouth but will end up working with the chinee.

That's what happens when you hope for a party or government to help you out instead of helping yourself.

Postby rspann » October 24th, 2019, 10:38 pm

A sign of things to come.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 24th, 2019, 11:07 pm

So sad to see the disgusting racial comments all over social media, it’s very apparent that many Trinidadians have never gone to any China town in any other part of the world.
They obviously do not know anything about the history of our country nor do they understand the concept of what China town symbolizes.

Postby wagonrunner » October 25th, 2019, 1:20 am

there is a sign that describes the ownership and employees of many of the businesses along that stretch, and its a problem now because.......?

Postby De Dragon » October 25th, 2019, 6:07 am

wagonrunner wrote:there is a sign that describes the ownership and employees of many of the businesses along that stretch, and its a problem now because.......?

Sometimes people see something such as this sign erection as a sign(no pun intended) of the continued neglect that they feel from the powers that be. I hear you with the Chinese being there, and having established businesses and a major presence there, but something such as an event like this stirs negative feelings in people. Mind you, it will not stir most of them to try to emulate the Chinese an set up a business or trade of their own.

Postby Kenjo » October 25th, 2019, 6:46 am

Who exactly is the person commenting in the video and what’s his relevance . The comment alone shows his ignorance.

Postby Les Bain » October 25th, 2019, 7:32 am

Acting like we don't know Trinidad defines racism as something that only affects blacks and indians.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 25th, 2019, 7:34 am

wagonrunner wrote:there is a sign that describes the ownership and employees of many of the businesses along that stretch, and its a problem now because.......?

Sometimes people see something such as this sign erection as a sign(no pun intended) of the continued neglect that they feel from the powers that be. I hear you with the Chinese being there, and having established businesses and a major presence there, but something such as an event like this stirs negative feelings in people. Mind you, it will not stir most of them to try to emulate the Chinese an set up a business or trade of their own.

Well if people have felt neglect from their governments over the years why take it out on a minority that has been here since the beginning of Trinidads development.
its not their fault that they work hard, and look after themselves.
if your relevant party has left you out in the dark and treated your own people like crap then take it out on them, dont insult and try to degrade another group for it.

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2019, 9:13 am

Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby MaxPower » October 25th, 2019, 9:30 am

What about when Trinidadians and Guyanese set up their little cockroach infested businesses in Brooklyn?

How did the Americans feel when they saw these pests plant themselves there?

That is disgusting.

Postby hydroep » October 25th, 2019, 10:49 am

Nah nothing wrong with that. The whole of T&T is practically "Li'l Syria" anyways. Time to set up "Li'l India", "Li'l Africa" and soon "Li'l Venezuela" sections too. If yuh cyar beat 'em, join 'em...:|

Postby Rovin » October 25th, 2019, 11:00 am

^^^^ :D

ent we done have a area named bangladesh so wais d beat up ....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2019, 2:39 pm

hydroep wrote:Nah nothing wrong with that. The whole of T&T is practically "Li'l Syria" anyways. Time to set up "Li'l India", "Li'l Africa" and soon "Li'l Venezuela" sections too. If yuh cyar beat 'em, join 'em...:|

wam to you bai...we already have

Calcutta
Bangladesh
Brooklyn

list goes on

Postby aaron17 » October 26th, 2019, 7:39 am

Were the triads already there?

Postby Dave » October 26th, 2019, 8:50 am

Guess what, all the cries they making, would they boycott all the million Chinese restaurants we have...I think not. The Chinese should never be underestimated.

rebound

Postby rebound » October 26th, 2019, 9:06 am

Correct...I admire their commitment to the goal.
Dave wrote:Guess what, all the cries they making, would they boycott all the million Chinese restaurants we have...I think not. The Chinese should never be underestimated.

Postby MaxPower » October 26th, 2019, 1:17 pm

Dave wrote:Guess what, all the cries they making, would they boycott all the million Chinese restaurants we have...I think not. The Chinese should never be underestimated.

Exactly.

Postby hydroep » October 26th, 2019, 1:34 pm

Article on today's Newsday along with comments on social media are very instructive. Funny how some of these same people who are always quick to point out the "hatred" other demographics allegedly pelt their way are now in turn throwing more egregious insults at the Chinese community.

Disgusting hypocrites...:|

Postby De Dragon » October 27th, 2019, 11:28 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Well if people have felt neglect from their governments over the years why take it out on a minority that has been here since the beginning of Trinidads development.
its not their fault that they work hard, and look after themselves.
if your relevant party has left you out in the dark and treated your own people like crap then take it out on them, dont insult and try to degrade another group for it.

Not agreeing with the vids narrator, or condoning the racist comments bro, merely offering an explanation for the feels.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » October 27th, 2019, 12:57 pm

Why blame the Chinese if you’ve sold your vote for a T-shirt and ten days. I don’t agree with the sign being put up but you can’t help but admire their Chinese what they’ve accomplished while we still treat each other like dirt.

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2019, 1:54 pm

i dunno why some ppl does watch chinese ppl in a kinda cut eye way , maybe because they are quiet , keep to themselves & mostly dont get on wild like other races

u never see\hear any chinese [i find it offensive to call ppl chinny] walking d streets here holding up ppl with guns or robbing bars , groceries , restaurants or robbing indian\african owned businesses , yes they are not angels since some in organized crime just like everybody else but i dont think i see any violence coming from them

so they put up a sign , dat doh mean they now land T&T & want to colonize d locals & make we eat grass , once they within d law : let them be .....

Postby paid_influencer » October 27th, 2019, 2:12 pm

racial identity politics is poison.

pnm and unc giwwe a whole bottle. :drinking:

and some like the taste too bad :drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » October 27th, 2019, 2:23 pm

hot take: this move was timed with the start of election season to stir up racial insecurity among PNM voters to ensure a good turnout on election day.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 27th, 2019, 10:31 pm

Chinatown, when you can't pay back your Chinese loan!

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2019, 11:24 pm

Doh forget allyuh history
When the queen buss it from here she handed over to a chinee eh
Solomon Hochoy
Like she didn’t trust the others

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2019, 11:37 pm

pugboy wrote:Doh forget allyuh history
When the queen buss it from here she handed over to a chinee eh
Solomon Hochoy
Like she didn’t trust the others
Our national anthem composed by a Trinidadian?

Not stirring up anything, asking for a friend.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 28th, 2019, 1:10 am

We will see many more Chinese led investment initiatives taking place in this country. We will have banks, insurance and car dealerships coming in the pipeline. Our Chinese presence will get significantly larger in a few short years, in fact, a future PM of this country could quite possibly have Chinese heritage and we don’t have to look very far for this.

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2019, 2:03 am

agent007 wrote:We will see many more Chinese led investment initiatives taking place in this country. We will have banks, insurance and car dealerships coming in the pipeline. Our Chinese presence will get significantly larger in a few short years, in fact, a future PM of this country could quite possibly have Chinese heritage and we don’t have to look very far for this.

goodbye democracy hello communism