Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

vaiostation

Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby vaiostation » May 16th, 2019, 9:40 pm

Part of Char­lotte Street, in Port-of-Spain will of­fi­cial­ly be des­ig­nat­ed as Chi­na­town when icon­ic arch­ways are built by the Shang­hai Con­struc­tion Group.

The an­nounce­ment was made last Mon­day by may­or Joel Mar­tinez dur­ing a re­cep­tion to wel­come a vis­it­ing high lev­el del­e­ga­tion from Shang­hai at the Hy­att Re­gency.

Mar­tinez said the arch­es would be lo­cat­ed at Park and Char­lotte streets and In­de­pen­dence Square and Char­lotte Street.

The ini­tia­tive, Mar­tinez said, is one of the on-go­ing projects dis­cussed as part of a planned twin­ning be­tween the city of Port-of-Spain and the city of Shang­hai.

He said, “Our twin­ning will cre­ate an ide­al en­vi­ron­ment which will de­vel­op new co­op­er­a­tion tech­niques, ex­change of ex­pe­ri­ences as well as joint re­flec­tions on spe­cif­ic is­sues that will find so­lu­tions and bring im­prove­ments.”

The co­op­er­a­tion be­tween the two cities is part of the Belt and Road Ini­tia­tive an­nounced by Chi­nese Pres­i­dent Xi Jin­ping in 2013.

It is a cre­ative co­op­er­a­tion mod­el that aims to bet­ter deal with the eco­nom­ic and so­cial dif­fi­cul­ties cur­rent­ly be­ing faced world­wide.

At the event, Chi­nese Am­bas­sador to T&T Song Yu­min said, “With a fur­ther man­date from the Cen­tral Gov­ern­ment, now Shang­hai Mu­nic­i­pal­i­ty will pri­ori­tise its cor­po­ra­tion with Trinidad and To­ba­go.”

He ex­pects the two coun­tries to make great strides as the part­ner­ship con­tin­ues to be built with re­newed vigour.

Deputy Sec­re­tary Gen­er­al of Shang­hai Mu­nic­i­pal Peo­ple’s Gov­ern­ment Huang Rong said with joint co­op­er­a­tion in var­i­ous fields be­tween the Port-of-Spain City Cor­po­ra­tion and Shang­hai, T&T would be a bright pearl in the Caribbean.

Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Min­is­ter Stu­art Young, who al­so at­tend­ed the event, said the ini­tia­tive is one of the pil­lars that form part of the bridge be­tween this coun­try and Chi­na.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/part-of ... f4fccfe6f6

Re: Part of Charlotte Street to be designated Chinatown

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 16th, 2019, 9:52 pm

That twinning thing is not new - this and other govts have done it in the past with Chag and Couva etc.

Just another reason for some wannabe diplomats to travel first class, wine and dine top dollar on the public purse. Might carry a "carnival" contingent too, to make some business people feel important.

Postby zoom rader » May 16th, 2019, 11:32 pm

Slowly laventille will be no more

Postby Redman » May 16th, 2019, 11:38 pm

This should be in the Petrotrin update thread

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 17th, 2019, 4:57 am

whole ah trinidad shud name chinazuela and dun. fork we Indo Trini and niggaz we days dun. all we need now is a chinee or vene PM.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 17th, 2019, 4:59 am

who does actually walk through Char­lotte Street

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2019, 6:21 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:who does actually walk through Char­lotte Street
PNM ppl

Postby SR » May 17th, 2019, 6:28 am

Chinese gangs will deal with the nelson st gangs.......

Postby Les Bain » May 17th, 2019, 7:48 am

Is Shanghai a clean place, at least? Lord knows that would be the most appreciated part of twinning.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 7:58 am

What about twinning with Caracas ?

Postby Ben_spanna » May 17th, 2019, 8:57 am

SR wrote:Chinese gangs will deal with the nelson st gangs.......

yup- hope they exterminate them cockroaches for good :fist: :fist: :fist:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2019, 9:48 am

From the pot to the fire
Ben_spanna wrote:

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2019, 9:54 am

Dizzy28 wrote:From the pot to the fire
Ben_spanna wrote:

Let the chinese deal with these pest.

Postby MG Man » May 17th, 2019, 11:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:who does actually walk through Char­lotte Street

and what exactly wrong with Charlotte Street?

Postby De Dragon » May 17th, 2019, 2:56 pm

We've twinned with many cities before. Firtst time I've seen a gesture of this magnitude as reciprocation. So is it unfair to ask where in Shanghai will be George Street, with a Trini moko jumbie or panman or similar?

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2019, 5:14 pm

We need to twin laventille

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 17th, 2019, 5:42 pm

zoom rader wrote:We need to twin laventille

Just doh bring it South.

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2019, 6:52 pm

viedcht wrote:
zoom rader wrote:We need to twin laventille

Just doh bring it South.
Trainline marabella or Thompson gardens

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 17th, 2019, 7:46 pm

Under kamla, I believe that the Indian high commission tried to get some area or so designated an indian village, I wonder why it never happened?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 17th, 2019, 10:32 pm

vaiostation wrote:Under kamla, I believe that the Indian high commission tried to get some area or so designated an indian village, I wonder why it never happened?

Kams and the cabal probably stole the money the Indian High commission allocated for it so it never materialized

Postby RedVEVO » May 18th, 2019, 2:48 am

The Chinese will move from Charlotte Street to be the next billionaires in Trini

And locals again go miss another boat ..

You see Trini locals too busy doing nada ..

airuma

Postby airuma » May 18th, 2019, 8:13 am

Redman wrote:This should be in the Petrotrin update thread

I’m surprised ZR didn’t comment on this

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2019, 12:02 pm

airuma wrote:

Sorry bro, had to put the cows out to graze

VII

Postby VII » May 18th, 2019, 1:42 pm

airuma wrote:

Living that wholesome UNC life I see..

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2019, 1:48 pm

they could put all the indian expos there

vaiostation wrote:Under kamla, I believe that the Indian high commission tried to get some area or so designated an indian village, I wonder why it never happened?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 18th, 2019, 11:14 pm

screwbash wrote:whole ah trinidad shud name chinazuela and dun. fork we Indo Trini and niggaz we days dun. all we need now is a chinee or vene PM.
Chinee please

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 18th, 2019, 11:16 pm

Hahahahahaha!!!! Gonna twin a world class city with sh!thole Charlotte Street.... Like this gonna make a difference to the cesspool that is Port of Spain

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2019, 11:56 pm

VII wrote:
airuma wrote:

Living that wholesome UNC life I see..
Beats shooting and robbing ppl like the rest of PNM ppl do

nismoid

Postby nismoid » May 20th, 2019, 8:55 am

What a lot of people forgot is Charlotte street was always occupied by the Chinese. Trinis and their 9 day memories eh

Postby Ben_spanna » May 20th, 2019, 11:38 am

ek4ever wrote:
screwbash wrote:whole ah trinidad shud name chinazuela and dun. fork we Indo Trini and niggaz we days dun. all we need now is a chinee or vene PM.
Chinee please

What would happen if ah CHinee went up as Leader of the current admin?
What will be interesting is the reaction - how will the diehard Racially entwined peenem supporters vote- will they put party first and Put ah chinee man at the helm or will dey abandon ship and put the Calcutta in the lead?
Last edited by Ben_spanna on May 21st, 2019, 8:20 am, edited 1 time in total.