Washing vehicles and inspections

hong kong phooey

Washing vehicles and inspections

Postby hong kong phooey » May 17th, 2019, 12:26 am

Guys sorry if this was asked before .
I have inspection due on my van , one of the requirement is to engine and under wash but right now there is no washing of vehicles , does anyone know if there is an exemption on this requirement . or any one know who i can speak to on this matter

Re: Washing vehicles and inspections

Postby Kenjo » May 17th, 2019, 12:42 am

Lol there is washing of vehicles . St Augustine heading east higher up from Hilo has a place with red tiles and they do that every day . You will fail if you don’t get the underbody wash

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » May 17th, 2019, 1:30 am

Dunno an engine needs to be washed to pass inspection. This cnutry is sheit oui. Water doesnt belong in an engine fi di chupidee mowt and dumbordinates.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 17th, 2019, 1:40 am

Why do you have to wash your car for an inspection, will the dirt obscure things so badly?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 17th, 2019, 4:58 am

d washing go wash out all the oil leaks and make everyting look clean and new so they go cyah fale yuh.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 5:37 am

if it not muddy etc you can go once reasonably clean and where the chassis/engine numbers are clean.
I went by caroni two weeks ago with my pickup.

the lic did get on like an ass though, he get vex when he was telling me to test my handbrakes and I was giving a touch of gas initially
he kept telling me not to touch the x, but he aint realise my pickup is manual and would buck and stall
so when that happen he get vex and then say how my vehicle dirty and even inside dirty but false.
he still passed though.

I would go private next time.

Postby eliteauto » May 17th, 2019, 5:42 am

Definitely get the vehicle cleaned inside and out, you can clean the engine bay yourself with some degreaser and a rag. Doesn't matter what your opinion is, the MVI opinions are what determines pass or fail. I rather comply than face the inconvenience of having to return to do the inspection again

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2019, 9:03 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Guys sorry if this was asked before .
I have inspection due on my van , one of the requirement is to engine and under wash but right now there is no washing of vehicles , does anyone know if there is an exemption on this requirement . or any one know who i can speak to on this matter

It's does not need to be recently washed but it should be moderately clean and free of oil/dirt buildup.
Put the shoe on the other foot. Inspecting filthy cars/engine bays/interior is probably an HSE risk. Oil/petrochem products are known carcinogens with longterm exposure.
You just want to pull up, inspect and pull out - but these guys have to deal with it day in day out.

Most of us are fairly good with washing/cleaning regularly, but I've seen some cars that look like there are body fluids inside, there's engine in the oil bay and a layer of mud so thick under the fenders it'd give Ziebart competition.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2019, 10:33 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:there's engine in the oil bay

LOL

Postby Ben_spanna » May 17th, 2019, 10:38 am

HAd a vehicle engines steam cleaned just before an inspection... driver was told engine bay will fail you next time because they cant tell if the engine has/had an oil leak, and then the Black dressing they put on the silicone hoses some how was offensive to the examining officer.. but at another garage they loved the clean engine and said to try and keep it that way... so its all about who you meet at the testing station.

Postby adnj » May 17th, 2019, 10:46 am

Take everything out of the passenger cabin. Spray some degreaser in the engine compartment. Rinse everything with a garden hose. Done.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 17th, 2019, 12:09 pm

The license office and some inspection garages will require you to wash your engine. But I never washed my engine before inspection and I always passed, but this was by one of them outside garages.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 5:21 pm

The officer made noise because I had a case of water in back seat and some envelopes too
Dunno how that affect the road worthiness

Postby stev » May 17th, 2019, 5:24 pm

pugboy wrote:The officer made noise because I had a case of water in back seat and some envelopes too

they told me I had to move a jacket from the passenger seat :|

Postby *KRONIK* » May 17th, 2019, 5:31 pm

I see nothing wrong with wanting a clean vehicle to inspect.
Yuh dont wanna be hanging over a set of dirty/oily/burnt smelly engine bays all day looking in all kinda weird places to see a couple of stamped digits. Same for the undercarriage, you dont wanna be under muddy, vans with oil and grass and thing stick up while you inspecting ends and ball joints and boots.
Also, part of their inspection is to check for chassis tampering, dirt can skew visibility.

As for the interior, that should be your business, they shouldnt be telling ppl how and what to keep in their cab space.

So just wash allyuh van before and make the thing so smoothly.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 17th, 2019, 5:46 pm

pugboy wrote:The officer made noise because I had a case of water in back seat and some envelopes too

real BS bitching dey... one LO commented about lack of chrome finisher around the tail lights "because the front lights have chrome".

Postby *KRONIK* » May 17th, 2019, 5:47 pm

Rofl

Ricer at heart
viedcht wrote:

real BS bitching dey... one LO commented about lack of chrome finisher around the tail lights "because the front lights have chrome".

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 5:51 pm

Them officers just sour now that the public has a choice to go elsewhere and not be subjected to long lines(bribes) etc.
Losing power must be a hell of a thing.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 17th, 2019, 5:53 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Rofl

Ricer at heart
na, had to use a foreign back cut after accident. was a Surf with the ss finish he calling chrome.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 17th, 2019, 6:07 pm

Not you bai

The officer

I know one up we side
All his vehicles on chromes
None cant leave the yard unless the tire shine put on.

viedcht wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Rofl

Ricer at heart
na, had to use a foreign back cut after accident. was a Surf with the ss finish he calling chrome.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 17th, 2019, 6:12 pm

stev wrote:

I guess that they want to see the condition of the seats. A company vehicle had a tear in the upholstery listed as a defect during the last inspection.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 6:53 pm

The thing is the cert has no section for interior condition.
He made noise about the fact I had things inside
But made no attempt to really look inside

Them officers just on chit
Them and electrical inspectors are the most corrupt in the Caribbean

Postby Kenjo » May 17th, 2019, 7:30 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
stev wrote:

I guess that they want to see the condition of the seats. A company vehicle had a tear in the upholstery listed as a defect during the last inspection.

Yes one of the factors is no tears in the upholstery

Postby maj. tom » May 17th, 2019, 8:02 pm

Postby maj. tom » May 17th, 2019, 8:17 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Dunno an engine needs to be washed to pass inspection. This cnutry is sheit oui. Water doesnt belong in an engine fi di chupidee mowt and dumbordinates.

https://shop.advanceautoparts.com/r/car ... -right-way

https://www.cars.com/articles/are-there ... 681075630/

Postby wagonrunner » May 17th, 2019, 9:02 pm

vehicle passed inspection without body, engine, or underside being washed.
chassis# was easy to read. and engine# was rubbed with chalk prior to assist in reading.

Postby shogun » May 17th, 2019, 9:05 pm

viedcht wrote:

Damn.

Could understand wanting it moved to inspect the seats properly, but to make "noise?" More proof that people really frustrated this rounds.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 10:05 pm

That checklist is for the private inspection garages.
The lic office still use the small check list.

To show you how them officers at caroni is imps,
After he finish making noise about stuff on the back seat, he tell me go park and come back.
When I come back it is only for him to tell me that the cert will be ready tomorrow to pickup inside.
He coulda tell me that one time so I could go my way.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2019, 10:11 pm

pugboy wrote:That checklist is for the private inspection garages.

After he finish making noise about stuff on the back seat, he tell me go park and come back.
When I come back it is only for him to tell me that the cert will be ready tomorrow to pickup inside.

yea some of them white shirts on power trips tbh.
They know you're basically at their mercy and they let you know it.
There used to be one down south - a middle aged east indian gentleman - sorry for you if he doh like your face.

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2019, 10:17 pm

pugboy wrote:That checklist is for the private inspection garages.

When they rail up is stay quiet, let them bray. They are looking for a reactions from you . They know who to pressure. No offence but if you look like an imps rather than an upright person then it's gonna be different.