44%
never
33%

Total votes: 36

death365

5G network upgrade in (sweet) T&T

Postby death365 » May 17th, 2019, 12:05 pm

when all yuh think Bmobile or Digicel or that critical and mythical third provider will upgrade to 5G ?

Re: 5G network upgrade in (sweet) T&T

Postby teems1 » May 17th, 2019, 12:27 pm

5G comes with a plethora of obstacles.

Outside of a few spots in POS, maybe never.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2019, 12:42 pm

Both networks recently upgraded to LTE and are still making more and more areas LTE capable.

5G here is quite some time away since they will have to put up towers much closer to each other for 5G to work properly.
The low latency of 5G is a real plus though

death365

Postby death365 » May 17th, 2019, 1:09 pm

yeah but according to the itu https://www.itu.int/en/ITU-D/Regional-Presence/ArabStates/Documents/events/2016/NTD/Presentations/Session1/Intel-ITU%20Forum-5G-Intel.pdf

5G will help develop 3rd world countries with Healthcare, automotive,Industrial, education, sustainability, smart cities & homes etc etc. So we needs it ..bad bad bad

Postby MaxPower » May 17th, 2019, 1:22 pm

Patience OP, patience

Postby stev » May 17th, 2019, 1:24 pm

death365 wrote:yeah but according to the itu https://www.itu.int/en/ITU-D/Regional-Presence/ArabStates/Documents/events/2016/NTD/Presentations/Session1/Intel-ITU%20Forum-5G-Intel.pdf

5G will help develop 3rd world countries with Healthcare, automotive,Industrial, education, sustainability, smart cities & homes etc etc. So we needs it ..bad bad bad

not this third world country...

abbow

Postby abbow » May 17th, 2019, 2:00 pm

death365 wrote:yeah but according to the itu https://www.itu.int/en/ITU-D/Regional-Presence/ArabStates/Documents/events/2016/NTD/Presentations/Session1/Intel-ITU%20Forum-5G-Intel.pdf

the same was said when the older and current technologies came about..

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 17th, 2019, 2:53 pm

Wanna bet OP have a prepaid 3 day plan?

death365

Postby death365 » May 17th, 2019, 4:16 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Wanna bet OP have a prepaid 3 day plan?

Is a hour quickie ...

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2019, 4:42 pm

i does real laugh when I hear "5g will help develop ...."
kinda like saying chirren will get smarter and achieve more when they get laptops in school

you could forget digicel getting 5g anytime soon for sure
heavily cash strapped and was long behind tstt to upgrade

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 17th, 2019, 5:05 pm

5G can theoretically be achieved as early as 2021, as in, going live right here in T&T but...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 19th, 2019, 12:07 am

The only thing 5G will do for Trinidad is to allow faster downloads of porn and listening to stupid music of the youth and maco ppl business on fb.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 19th, 2019, 7:48 am

Apparently it’s great for robot farming. Would love to see this started here as finding workers to work on farms is nearly impossible as everyone in the country dreams to work one place.

https://edition.cnn.com/videos/business/2019/03/29/5g-farming-biz-evolved-lon-orig.cnn-business

airuma

Postby airuma » May 19th, 2019, 10:34 am

This is why youths have a hard time getting a hearing.... you don’t factor in limitations, especially your own!

Postby maj. tom » May 19th, 2019, 11:08 am

Have to crawl before you walk. No country has fully capable 5G yet (South Korea April 2019), with $$billions$$ already invested in infrastructure. It will take years for tech to trickle down and lower GDP countries to afford it. And we have to implement 3GPP 13 and 14 standards first to get to 5G. When LTE 4.5 comes, they will advertise it as 5G, just like how bmobile was saying 3.5G (HSPA) was 4G. The government would largely have to fund 5G infrastructure costs... and 5G is not just faster mobile internet speeds on your phone. It also requires massive arrays of supercomputing for real time computing in order to utilize the objectives of a 5G network.

5G will actually be the first real implementation for "the internet of things" as envisioned by developers of networking. All devices will be able to connect to a global internet and allow more people to access information and communication like never before in history. Real time data processing for things like transportation. Imagine all cars, airplanes, ships in 50 years to be like a self driving Tesla. It will be the start of the next step of evolution in the human brain when we adapt to being able to communicate like that. It will be another step in developing AI because there are so many devices connected now to cloud computing (mobile edge computing). It will be a stepping stone to inventing more efficient and powerful technology like things we dream about on Star Trek TNG (tricorder, com badges, AI driven exploration ships in deep space).

Trinidad barely has proper 4G LTE coverage, nor is LTE even fully utilized yet with the current population size and technology available to the public. So as for your original question, not very soon, and why are you even asking this without understanding what 5G really is. You should have asked "What is 5G? And how it will benefit humanity and our country?" If you had asked what was 5G, you would realize that a lot of the technology required for it has not been invented yet. But instead you have asked a teenager having a tantrum type question like "when is the new iPhone coming out?"

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 19th, 2019, 11:54 am

We don't even have 4g proper yet.

5g will be here when the Chinese and Huawei take over more

Re: Google has suspended business operations with Huawei effectively immediately due to US Sanctions

Postby Ben_spanna » May 23rd, 2019, 7:42 am

does anyone really NEED 5G speed on a mobile device? seriously? people are already screen addicted as it is, and so many accidents involving people driving with phones, hell people cant even walk properly their heads are buried in a phone...………..

Re: Google has suspended business operations with Huawei effectively immediately due to US Sanctions

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 23rd, 2019, 11:19 am

Ben_spanna wrote:does anyone really NEED 5G speed on a mobile device? seriously? people are already screen addicted as it is, and so many accidents involving people driving with phones, hell people cant even walk properly their heads are buried in a phone...………..

5G isn't so much about bandwidth as it is about latency.
That low latency will enable communication between devices much much quicker.
Good example are new upcoming cars with V2V (vehicle to vehicle) accident avoidance systems.
Imagine a car in front has to apply emergency braking to avoid an accident, it has to be able to communicate that to the cars behind it so they don't crash and pile up. The low latency of 5G makes this possible as the data gets to the other vehicles much faster than with current 4G. It's a tiny amount of data so bandwidth isn't the issue, it's how quickly it can establish a connection get that data across. Also known as ping, the lower the ping rate, the quicker you can communicate with less lag.

Postby Ben_spanna » May 23rd, 2019, 12:04 pm

Nothing can help improve any of those above if the current people in charge refuse to "change" for the good of the country.... we already have so many opportunities to improve and we simply do not...……………..

we should already have the ability to make Vehicluar appointments online, but cant

make passport appointments online- but cant

pay for govt services and taxes online- but cant

Hell the local banks cannot or DO NOT want to adapt the system like foreign banks where they accept pictures of cheques as deposits!

We will never change in this lifetime !
Last edited by Ben_spanna on May 23rd, 2019, 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2019, 12:05 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:does anyone really NEED 5G speed on a mobile device? seriously? people are already screen addicted as it is, and so many accidents involving people driving with phones, hell people cant even walk properly their heads are buried in a phone...………..

That low latency will enable communication between devices much much quicker.
Good example are new upcoming cars with V2V (vehicle to vehicle) accident avoidance systems.
Imagine a car in front has to apply emergency braking to avoid an accident, it has to be able to communicate that to the cars behind it so they don't crash and pile up. The low latency of 5G makes this possible as the data gets to the other vehicles much faster than with current 4G. It's a tiny amount of data so bandwidth isn't the issue, it's how quickly it can establish a connection get that data across. Also known as ping, the lower the ping rate, the quicker you can communicate with less lag.

Legend has it if you say Ping three times Effectic Designs shows up in your thread!!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 23rd, 2019, 11:58 pm

death365

Postby death365 » May 24th, 2019, 6:57 am

Ben_spanna wrote:

Nothing can help improve any of those above if the current people in charge refuse to "change" for the good of the country.... we already have so many opportunities to improve and we simply do not...……………..

we should already have the ability to make Vehicluar appointments online, but cant

make passport appointments online- but cant

pay for govt services and taxes online- but cant

Hell the local banks cannot or DO NOT want to adapt the system like foreign banks where they accept pictures of cheques as deposits!

We will never change in this lifetime !

You do know that all our (T&T) credit card transactions are done off site because we have not put the laws in yet for in country processing.

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2019, 11:01 am

It's a tiny amount of data so bandwidth isn't the issue, it's how quickly it can establish a connection get that data across. Also known as ping, the lower the ping rate, the quicker you can communicate with less lag.

It takes about 350 ms for a brake light to illuminate from activation. It's about 150 ms using LEDs. These are fairly large numbers compared to an average network ping.

The advantages of 5G and 6G in autonomous vehicles is the establishment of ad hoc networks while in motion. The vehicles share environmental data to increase apparent sensor depth. The ability to use smaller antennas for greater near distance coverage and an increase in the number of clients per bandwidth channel.

Currently, the density of vehicles is too great in many cities to allow for sufficient data connections, much less the necessary packet data transfer.
Last edited by adnj on May 25th, 2019, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2019, 12:07 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2019, 1:12 pm

xtech

Postby xtech » May 26th, 2019, 11:00 pm

5G sounds like it is even more dangerous to your health than 2G, 3G and 4G. If it’s operating on frequencys is in that range and add the fact that even more towers and repeaters has to be built to operate the service properly plus what your cell phon is putting out. Might as well start removing the doors from our microwave ovens. Because 5G is going to be passing focused beams of radiation through you at all times

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » May 27th, 2019, 12:36 am

xtech wrote:5G sounds like it is even more dangerous to your health than 2G, 3G and 4G. If it’s operating on frequencys is in that range and add the fact that even more towers and repeaters has to be built to operate the service properly plus what your cell phon is putting out. Might as well start removing the doors from our microwave ovens. Because 5G is going to be passing focused beams of radiation through you at all times

Lol no no no......it's not dangerous dan, stop with the conspiracy theory. It's non ionising radiation.

xtech

Postby xtech » May 27th, 2019, 6:52 am

I hope so

Postby adnj » May 27th, 2019, 2:50 pm

l33t2 wrote:
xtech wrote:5G sounds like it is even more dangerous to your health than 2G, 3G and 4G. If it’s operating on frequencys is in that range and add the fact that even more towers and repeaters has to be built to operate the service properly plus what your cell phon is putting out. Might as well start removing the doors from our microwave ovens. Because 5G is going to be passing focused beams of radiation through you at all times

Lol no no no......it's not dangerous dan, stop with the conspiracy theory. It's non ionising radiation.
The jury is still out. There are no definitive studies that prove that home or occupational exposure to normal radiation is either harmful or safe.

https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer-causes/radiation-exposure/radiofrequency-radiation.html

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » May 27th, 2019, 2:52 pm

adnj wrote:
l33t2 wrote:

The jury is still out. There are no definitive studies that prove that home or occupational exposure to normal radiation is either harmful or safe.

https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer-causes/radiation-exposure/radiofrequency-radiation.html

Which kinda means it doesn't, we're bombarded by non-ionizing radiation constantly from many sources. If there was a link it would have been discovered by now.