Really weird possible scam my friend has gotten into.....thoughts?

l33t2

Really weird possible scam my friend has gotten into.....thoughts?

Postby l33t2 » May 25th, 2019, 12:27 am

So a guy messaged her on Facebook, looked like a fake account she said, but he had a few mutual friends with her and told her he had some important info to share with her.

So told him to go ahead, and he gave her a story.

Firstly, she's an entrepreneur who takes payment via PayPal. He told her, he wants to make some bookings for her service, he'll pay her outright $4000 USD, the only catch is that when she receives payment from PayPal, and transfers it into her account, he wants her to transfer him 50%. He said, once she agrees to this, he'll start sending more money to her in the tens of thousands.

He also said, he's not really going to use her service, but she can commission something for him, it does not matter.

She was hesitant, but before she even told him no, he sent her the money.

Everything seems fine so far, no reports to PayPal from him so she tried to withdraw the money from PayPal and it was successful.

Now here's where it gets fishy, he tells her, he doesn't want it in a local account anymore (initially he was saying he had a Republic account). He tells her to wire it next week to an account in Cayman, just $2000.

When he gets the money, he'll send her more.

Alright......so wha de f*ck going here? I'm sort of confused as to what is happening.

He has the ability to pay her on PayPal....Is he using stolen credit cards? How is he guaranteeing her 10,000+ next week?

It definitely seems he has access to some dirty money. The money she received from him on PayPal looks fishy as hell, just an 8 string HEX as the name and regular email (searching google on the email name does not bring up anything).

I told her this sounds fishy AF, and they guy knows too much about her already (she's not hard to find due to her business). She hasn't wired the money yet, but I told her to wire all to him and end this.

She's tempted to continue, but I dono, it sounds too good to be true, and just like she's being setup for something.

Re: Really weird possible scam my friend has gotten into.....thoughts?

Postby janfar » May 25th, 2019, 12:49 am

Pics of friend for authenticity.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 25th, 2019, 1:45 am

What services does she offer

Postby matr1x » May 25th, 2019, 1:56 am

Seems totally legit.

Will she send money to me too?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 25th, 2019, 3:22 am

I add baileys to my morning coffee ? does this make me an alcoholic ?

powered by ?

Postby powered by ? » May 25th, 2019, 4:23 am

It's very obvious that your friend placed herself in a serious situation now, my advice would be to send it back through PayPal and let her respond to the guy letting him know she is unable to, it is possible that she is laundering stolen money for him. Nobody alive would give you money for free unless its for something in return, in this case using your friends business to wash his cash.. Just my .02¢..

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 25th, 2019, 4:39 am

Ask gary

Postby MaxPower » May 25th, 2019, 4:42 am

K

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » May 25th, 2019, 7:21 am

Stupidity never ends.

Postby A172 » May 25th, 2019, 7:31 am

Daranita

Postby nervewrecker » May 25th, 2019, 7:41 am

Your friend probably works as one of those escorts and getting paid like that.

They usually have legit stories as work they do. so you dont know they work as an escort.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 25th, 2019, 7:45 am

let me guess, yuh friend eye open big with the "sending of tens of thousands to her" ent

clearly the guy found another way to launder his money

Postby K74T » May 25th, 2019, 7:49 am

l33t2wat

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2019, 8:08 am

l33t2 wrote:He has the ability to pay her on PayPal....Is he using stolen credit cards? How is he guaranteeing her 10,000+ next week?

The merchant received payment.
There is no proof of services rendered.
Cash was wired off-shore.
Credit card payment dispute window: 60 days.
Paypal payment dispute window: 180 days.
Report the scam and merchant charged with money laundering.
Up to 20 years plus fine.
Last edited by adnj on May 25th, 2019, 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » May 25th, 2019, 8:11 am

about 3 of my friends used to do this," someone" used to send money to the bank on their accounts and western union and all they had to do was withdraw and handover to someone and get a cut,and as the person trusted them more the sums grew.What i gathered was someone in another country was money laundering and sending the money Trinidad to make investments .

Postby rspann » May 25th, 2019, 8:20 am

Op, I am a Nigerian prince who is set to inherit $700m USD but I need an account to deposit the money in since my wicked uncle wants to get rid of me after my father died is plotting to take it if I put it in the Nigerian banks. If you send me you account number, I will deposit it into your account and you will be given half for your assistance. The thing is I have no money for paying the lawyer to see about probating the estate and related fees, so if you send $5000 USD you can deduct it from my share. I'm giving you the number below and hope we get through soon so we can get the money before my uncle steals it. I assure you everything is above board. Olatunji Yawo.

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2019, 8:23 am

Simple Wire fraud laundering

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2019, 9:05 am

rspann wrote:Op, I am a Nigerian prince who is set to inherit $700m USD but I need an account to deposit the money in since my wicked uncle wants to get rid of me after my father died is plotting to take it if I put it in the Nigerian banks. If you send me you account number, I will deposit it into your account and you will be given half for your assistance. The thing is I have no money for paying the lawyer to see about probating the estate and related fees, so if you send $5000 USD you can deduct it from my share. I'm giving you the number below and hope we get through soon so we can get the money before my uncle steals it. I assure you everything is above board. Olatunji Yawo.
Classic.

Postby 88sins » May 25th, 2019, 10:25 am

Dear OP
your friend is an idiot and deserves to make a jail and have all her assets seized and liquidated as punishment for her stupidity in aiding what is most likely criminal activity.
Tell she I say doh drop d soap, and that if she pretty and have a nice shape the prison stretch eh go be too hard. d piggy and the fingers go he hard, but the lil jail time go be as easy as she willing to be.

toodles

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 25th, 2019, 10:35 am

Hoss all joke and fun aside if you really serious about the post , your friend should speak to a lawyer and make a report to a police station .
If she continue with the transaction she could end up in jail.

Postby rspann » May 25th, 2019, 10:48 am

Recently I was looking for a car to buy in the US and went through hundreds of ads. The vehicle I was looking for was about $25-$40g but some in real good condition were selling for $8- $10g seeming too good to be true. When I contacted them they said I have to send the money to a shipping company who had the car in their possession in a container ready to be shipped. The owner is out of the country and the shipper would keep the money in escrow until I'm satisfied before the seller collects any payments .if I'm not satisfied ,they would ship it back at their cost and I get refunded.

The thing is, the amount of them had the same story, and the stories were similar. On investigating I found out it was a real big scam going on and people were actually getting caught. When I google searched the pics they used were from other ads years ago that were sold for five times the amount they were asking.

Men trying all kinds of hustle so it's up to you to check. They use an intermediary to distance themselves from the actual fraud, so it's you to catch in case of prosecution.

Postby rspann » May 25th, 2019, 10:58 am

Here's one warning about it.

I'm trying to sell my car, and I posted an ad on Kijiji with my cell number. I immediately got a polite text asking me to email a Gmail address with additional photos (I'd put five on the ad). I did and got an email saying she'd buy for the price and pay via PayPal. She said a shipping agent would come by to inspect the car and do the paperwork. There were no obvious clues that it was fake – like a far-fetched sob story or weird grammar. It sounds like a scam, but I don't really get what the scam would be. Would somebody show up and steal my car and then get PayPal to reverse the charges? Should I be worried now that they have my email address and phone number? – Alex, Vancouver

In most scams involving a mysterious overseas buyer and their shipping agent, you'll likely be left waiting for the shipper to come in – after you hand over your own cash.

"Nobody's ever coming to look at it or test drive it – nobody shows up," said Allan Boomhour, spokesman for the Canadian Antifraud Centre (CAFC). "We see these every day. The whole idea is to trick you into sending your own real money."

STORY CONTINUES BELOW ADVERTISEMENT

Here's how it usually works. First, the crook sends you a payment for more than you're asking.

"They say, "we're including the shipping fee' – so if you're asking $5,000, they'll send $6,000," Boomhour said. "Then they ask you to send that difference to the shipper. It varies, it could be Western Union or MoneyGram."

That payment? Whether it's a PayPal notice or a cheque, it's probably fake, Boomhour said.

"You'll get an email that says it's been transferred, but people don't check into their actual PayPal account to see if the money is there, they're just going by that email," Boomhour said. "And with cheques, most banks will clear cheques right off the bat, and then they could be rejected weeks or months later."

If you send money via Western Union or MoneyGram – or even prepaid gift cards – there's no way to get it back, even if you report it to police, Boomhour said.

"Once, it's paid out at the other end, it's cash-in-hand; there's no tracing it," Boomhour said. "Even with prepaid gift cards, once bad guys have those card numbers, they take out the money within a minute."

Could the scammer actually deposit the money into your PayPal account and then get PayPal to reverse the charges? Yes, but that's not as common, Boomhour said.

"Usually there's no money at all but, yes, those scenarios can happen," he said. "[They] can go through the credit card company and try to get the charge back."

Canadians do fall for these scams, Boomhour said. In 2016, 39 people lost, in total, nearly $69,000. So far this year, 9 people have lost over $11,000.

And those are just the cases that have been reported to police. Because the scammers are usually in another country, it can be tough to catch them.

"As soon as it leaves the country, jurisdiction becomes an issue," Boomhour said. "They do occasionally get people. But, like drug dealers, if you arrest one at the corner, the next day there's another one."

When we asked PayPal about the scam, it said in an email, "If something sounds too good to be true – it probably is a scam.

"As with any financial services transactions, we always encourage people to be vigilant and protect themselves against criminals trying to fraudulently transact with them."

So how do you know it's a scam? Well, in "99 per cent" of cases, nobody will pay the full price for a car without seeing it first, Boomhour said.

"You want to deal with people face-to-face," he said. "If you've met in person, a wire transfer into your account is fairly safe, or if it's a certified cheque, you go with them to the bank and make sure it's good. But you have to meet them."

Also, beware of texts asking for your email address. Sites like Kijiji and AutoTrader have systems that send anonymous messages between buyers and potential sellers. They also detect automated scams, Kijiji said.

"Fraudsters will send a fake SMS message requesting to be contacted via email in an effort to stay off the radar, which they can't do if they reply through the secure Kijiji reply system," Kijiji said in an email statement. "[Your] best course of action is to ignore the ploy and block the scammer's phone number and email address, and refrain from clicking any links sent to him via email or text."

To avoid them, don't put your number in the ad, Kijiji said.

So how common are these scams? In a 2013 survey by the Automobile Consumer Coalition, 13 per cent of consumers said they'd been contacted by a buyer who offered to overpay and asked the seller to refund the difference.

We asked Kijiji for the exact number of complaints.

"The incidence of fraud or scams on Kijiji is extremely low," it said. "To put it into perspective, there are millions of new ads and emails exchanged between users on Kijiji in the average week and complaints about suspected fraud among all that communication traffic make up a tiny fraction of a percentage point."

If you've lost money in a scam, contact your local police, Boomhour said.

"If no money is lost, some police services will tell people to contact [us] and won't take a report," Boomhour said.

And there's likely no reason to worry that they have your email address and phone number. To commit ID theft, they'd need information like your social insurance number, driver's licence number and date of birth, Boomhour said.

"You may get more unwanted phone calls or junk emails – but there's nothing you can do about that," Boomhour said.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » May 25th, 2019, 12:05 pm

We seem to have an unlimited supply of stupid ppl in this country.

Postby pugboy » May 25th, 2019, 12:15 pm

just remember with fatca and wire fraud
all the parties along which the money traversed get blacklisted by uncle sam

a la jack warner, ish etc

of course for a few thousand you might be under the radar and not cause any flags raised
but if the instigator is a well known scammer and gets caught the rest will get taken down

Postby Slartibartfast » May 25th, 2019, 12:17 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:Hoss all joke and fun aside if you really serious about the post , your friend should speak to a lawyer and make a report to a police station .
If she continue with the transaction she could end up in jail.

Best advice here.

Make sure to note in the report that the money was sent without any agreement or consent from your friend.

Side note, post up some of your frienda work. You getting a little exposure for her now. Is she a local artist?

Postby toyolink » May 25th, 2019, 12:21 pm

Just don't understand why people do stuff to avoid having clean hands and a peaceful life.

rebound

Postby rebound » May 25th, 2019, 12:49 pm

Some people just plain greedy for money.....

Postby zoom rader » May 25th, 2019, 2:07 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:We seem to have an unlimited supply of stupid ppl in this country.
I get cuss everyday on tuner for stating Trinis are stupid people

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » May 25th, 2019, 2:09 pm

Greed mixed with PLENTY stupidity.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 25th, 2019, 2:25 pm

yep money laundering.

good money to make