Across the entirety of Trinidad, two dips in power occurred

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 29th, 2019, 11:12 pm

Experienced a dip in power tonight? Across the entirety of Trinidad, two dips in power occurred, resulting in two brief blackouts nationwide.

According to a T&TEC official, these dips resulted from Desalcott. The desalination plant has a designated line and there was an issue from the generator that supplies that line.

As a result the ring where most of the substations are connected to Islandwide will see “dips or surges”.

Note that T&TEC is aware of the situation and it will be repaired. Both dips should be the only two events for the night.

This is a developing situation, and will be updated accordingly.

https://ttweathercenter.com/news/two-po ... -desalcott

Soul Collector

Re: Across the entirety of Trinidad, two dips in power occurred

Postby Soul Collector » May 29th, 2019, 11:17 pm

I noticed one earlier for sure....but it's a regular sort of thing to be honest. I don't mix matters though, everything plugged into a UPS. Not me and T&TEC.

Postby ismithx » May 29th, 2019, 11:19 pm

Three actually, was strong enough to reboot my monitors but my PC didn't shut down... Thank goodness for good components and a line conditoner

Postby Gladiator » May 29th, 2019, 11:23 pm

Noticed that the first one affected one phase and the second affected the other.... Can anyone else confirm this?

If so.... 220v devices like AC units will get flick up bad.

Postby shogun » May 29th, 2019, 11:30 pm

Yup, folks called me like 5 minutes later to find out why their cable went off. lol

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 29th, 2019, 11:46 pm

Occurred by me too. Lights dipped and AC started to make noise. PS4 on UPS thankfully and game saved.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 29th, 2019, 11:51 pm

So power just went completely by me for 5 or 10 secs.

Anyone else or just my area (Chaguanas)?

Also experienced the 2 brief dips earlier.

Postby Les Bain » May 30th, 2019, 12:49 am

Happened twice by me. Not sure if it happened the first time but on the second, the street lights went out completely. Were back on in under 2 minutes though.

Postby The_Honourable » May 30th, 2019, 1:04 am

Happened twice in San Fernando. First one wasn't a big deal, just the one or two street lamps cut off. You can pass that one off as normal.

Second one was serious. Dryer cut off, router reset, breakermatic went on protection standby, most of the street and security lamps cut off.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 30th, 2019, 1:39 am

it affected some people more than others
ah hear the fat thing in the apartment next to me cussing
I did not understand what she meant till now .
she was shouting "it speed up , it slow down it speed up what the hell, ah woman cah fcuk sheself in peace"
Is she liable to get compensation from t&tec ?

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2019, 6:27 am

so they admitting liability to replace ppl bun fridge and ting then

rebound

Postby rebound » May 30th, 2019, 7:09 am

Power cuts now?....we really turning into Venezuela...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2019, 7:25 am

Dipped in Grande....ttec not paying for sheit...le c$nt will come up with some dumarse excuse as usual...and these days things so bad...no current translates to no water

Postby j.o.e » May 30th, 2019, 11:32 am

Allyuh appliance spoil? Hush allyuh mc nah. Swear y’all does whine over everything.

Postby rspann » May 30th, 2019, 11:38 am

j.o.e wrote:Allyuh appliance spoil? Hush allyuh mc nah. Swear y’all does whine over everything.

Agreed. The whole country spoiling and nobody doing anything about it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2019, 11:57 am

j.o.e wrote:Allyuh appliance spoil? Hush allyuh mc nah. Swear y’all does whine over everything.

Is not whining...is reality...I got a spoil tv already due to ttec and low voltage then high voltage then low again...all they said was sorry...so hush yuh kant

Postby j.o.e » May 30th, 2019, 11:59 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Is not whining...is reality...I got a spoil tv already due to ttec and low voltage then high voltage then low again...all they said was sorry...so hush yuh kant

It spoil last night again or wha ?

lnd

Postby lnd » May 30th, 2019, 12:56 pm

Some random low voltages still in the Chag area..

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2019, 4:44 pm

ismithx wrote:Three actually, was strong enough to reboot my monitors but my PC didn't shut down... Thank goodness for good components and a line conditoner
My ups battery gone tru. I felt it.

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2019, 4:46 pm

Gladiator wrote:Noticed that the first one affected one phase and the second affected the other.... Can anyone else confirm this?

If so.... 220v devices like AC units will get flick up bad.
Only noticed it on the pc. Like the lights on the other line, because they were steady.

Hmmm. I had noticed this before a number of times, the pc ups messing up, but lights normal.

It could be the desal problem has been an issue for a longer time

Postby matr1x » May 30th, 2019, 7:01 pm

My telescopic acting erratic now

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 30th, 2019, 7:23 pm

To be honest wasn't affected but, voltage dips are a regular occurrence, see it a lot at nights and you hear your UPS.

Postby rspann » May 30th, 2019, 7:56 pm

When I first saw this topic, I thought Duane talking about the two times UNC was in power.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 30th, 2019, 9:35 pm

Reports of the dip all over the country.
If the info in this link is accurate, there's a serious SPOF on the grid.

https://www.facebook.com/morasweatherne ... =3&theater
Experiencing dips/surges in electricity in your area?

The problem is stemming from Desalcott.

The desalination plant has a designated line and an issue was being experienced from the generator that supplies that line. The 'surges and dips' are being experienced because most of Trinidad's sub-stations are connected to this line.

T&TEC is aware of the issue and they are working on it as we speak.

Postby goalpost » May 30th, 2019, 9:40 pm

The two transmissions lines supplying Desalcott failed at the same time. This in itself is not common & will be investigated.
The grid is not a large one, electrically and the large short circuit led to a voltage depression felt nationwide.

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2019, 10:36 pm

goalpost wrote:The two transmissions lines supplying Desalcott failed at the same time. This in itself is not common & will be investigated.
The grid is not a large one, electrically and the large short circuit led to a voltage depression felt nationwide.

From what I understand no kinda money spending on maintenance at desal. Its why stuff keep failing

Postby teems1 » May 30th, 2019, 10:37 pm

If you can’t afford a UPS for your pc, fridge or tv then at least invest in some line conditioners. Much safer than plugging straight into the wall.

lnd

Postby lnd » May 31st, 2019, 4:50 am

Major dip in Chaguanas about 15 mins ago.

Postby goalpost » May 31st, 2019, 8:05 am

goalpost wrote:The two transmissions lines supplying Desalcott failed at the same time. This in itself is not common & will be investigated.

From what I understand no kinda money spending on maintenance at desal. Its why stuff keep failing

The two lines belong to ttec & they are generally well maintained. The failures were something that could not be identified beforehand & were not common.

Postby tr1ad » May 31st, 2019, 10:59 am

is d gyas